223371 User submitted reviews online!!
River Forest Park Campground was rated 4 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (315) 834-9458
CGID10700

River Forest Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
200+
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   2   4   1   3   3   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
Despite the large number of seasonal campers, this entire campground needs some love in my opinion. As other reviews say, the roads are rough, the bathrooms and restrooms need a make over and sites are just out in the open, for weekenders, from what I saw. At least my site was level. The campground was noisy most nights but one night very loud music was going until after 2 AM. I and the person in the next site complained and while management "apologized" for the noise, the loud campers seemed to know exactly who complained and were obnoxious about it. Besides the noise I saw an unusual amount inconsiderate behavior like cleaning fish on the picnic tables that belong to other sites. To me that and the general condition tell me that management does not run a very tight ship. When we go back to the area, we will look for a different campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
What a joke! Miniature golf??? Looks to have been closed for years. Overgrown and not usable. Showers/restrooms right out of the 70's. Infested with flying bugs (no screen doors) If you have a seasonal site there is shade, if not, good luck. We were in the middle of a grassy field. Our MH sunk in about 3 inches before we left. NO SHADE AT ALL! Pool looks ok, but lots of kids splashing around. No night patrol or lights. Laundry also directly out of the 70's. This whole place needs huge amount of TLC. What sewer hookups there were (none in the non-seasonal sites) were just a corrugated plastic pipe sticking out of the ground. Scummy pond is still there. Who knows, perhaps this is where the sewer does go. You can find MUCH BETTER parks fairly close by. I will not be back and suggest you do not go there as well. THIS WAS THE PITTS!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
We booked this campground stay prior to reading the other reviews. Needless to say we were a bit worried considering the negative comments. This is certainly a campground that is best utilized for those wishing to park their RV while actually being out exploring the area and offerings within the Central NY area. Such things as wineries, state fairs, malls and such ease of access to NYS Thruway make this campground a viable option. That being said, this is a campground that has over 200 sites as listed, but a very large majority of them are held by perms or seasonal campers. The main area for the weekend transient camper is a large field with no shade options and the utilities are based upon a single pole shared for 4 sites. With this type of set up you will need to be sure to have a very long power cord and water hose in which to connect. The bathrooms were in need of light though maybe they were kept dark to ensure those who use the bathrooms are not easily able to see how dirty and buggy they are. But in the days of so many trailers having their own bathrooms this isn't such a large deal. Now as for the pool, it is large and in ground and water was clean. I would suggest bringing your own chair as very few are provided by park. Additionally, I would say that there is not much in the way of quiet hours for those in range of restraurant and bar due to the nice outside deck that attracts many bar goers to hang out and talk, laugh, and enjoy themselves till last call. Over all, this is a campground that has potential, but could use a store (must drive to town for ice, wood, etc) and some more attention to detail, but is a place should I need to park my trailer to sleep in, I would think about going back to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
I booked for a week and left after 3 days of motorcycles revving, loud patrons all night long, disgusting pool, a pond that looks like it collects the sewage from the place, dirty bathrooms, etc. I should have known when I arrived and the male at the gate was rude and did not seem to know about the campground. It looks nice online, but stay away! There is not one redeeming quality about this place. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
I really wanted to like this campground, I really did. It is an easy location off the highway, close to my family and also close to a bunch of wineries, has a pool and a bar/restaurant. First off, I booked a "deluxe full hook up" site on their website (as opposed to standard water/electric or deluxe river front). Full hook up to them means water and electric. (They have since changed this on their website.) We burned up 3 electrical plugs while at this campground. On checking the service we found the electrical to be running around 97v on the bad, 105v on the good. Luckily we did not destroy any of our equipment! Saturday we decided to hit the pool. While there we noticed that the water level was a good 3" under the filters: quite nasty with all of the kids in the pool. We notified the office who told us they thought it had been taken care of. The pool remained under filled (and therefore unfiltered) the whole 5 days we were here. Monday we returned after hiking in one of the parks to find we had just a trickle of water. We thought that maybe we clogged our filter (the water coming from the spigot was brownish). It was not our filter and after checking several spigots came to find that it was the campground. We figured that with all of the people leaving maybe their pressure was low. Tuesday was more of the same. We were told that the campground "ran out of water" and they were working on the problem. We were leaving anyway so we packed up and got out as quickly as possible. On a good note, the restaurant turned out some pretty good food and the fireworks display was impressive for a campground. This is the first time in 15 years of camping that I said "NEVER AGAIN" about a campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
The roads in this place are terrible--our tow vehicle bottomed out more than once. The wild parties start on Thursday and end Saturday night. We could not sit outside because of the mosquitoes. The seasonal campers were not friendly at all. For an overnight stay it is OK but not for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
We have been there several times. Most of the time it is a great place to camp. The only exception is on holidays. During this time the overflow area is like a parking lot, with almost no room to open your awnings. Very nice family park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
There weren’t any previous reviews for this campground so we went in blind. This is a huge campground, about three minutes from Interstate 90; and spread over a large area. In the transient area, the lots are a decent size. We reserved a full hookup site three weeks in advance via Reserveamerica and received confirmation of a full hookup site. Be aware that the full fee is placed against your charge card as soon you make the reservation, unlike most campgrounds that put a partial payment fee against the card with you paying the balance upon arrival. I did feel the fee was a bit steep for just water and 30-amp electric. Speaking of arrival, the gravel entrance road and interior gravel campground roads are in very bad shape and in dire need of grading and filling. The speed limit is 5 mph but even that is too fast for these roads. I guess all the full hookup sites must be saved for the seasonals because there weren’t any available when we arrived. We were sited in the trailer/boat storage area about 100 yards from the river/Erie Canal which was nice. The sites are grass and nice and level with picnic tables and fire rings. We got very good Verizon broadband connection and about 12 TV channels on the antenna. And even though it is convenient to I-90, there is no highway noise although there is a train somewhere nearby that you can hear every so often. There is a large bar/restaurant and they were having a fish fry the night we arrived. We were tired, though, and didn’t go. There’s a boat ramp that will get your boat on the Erie Barge Canal and two cranes to lift you out although I don’t know if they’re working or not. The one crane is holding a small, rather old houseboat. I drove through the upper campground and decided this overflow area was much nicer. Basically a nice quiet private type area except when partying campers from other sections come parading through on their golf carts playing music loud enough to wake the dead, or when the same campers use the tree line 50’ from your window as their private bathroom! You definitely need a golf cart to get from the lower area to the restaurant or restrooms. It appears the owners are expanding the campground and hopefully, they’ll put restrooms and a shower in the lower area. However, negatives aside, we would stay here again and would recommend it to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com