214909 User submitted reviews online!!
South Bend / Elkhart North KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 46 user reviews. Phone: (574) 277-1335
CGID1071

South Bend / Elkhart North KOA

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   8   8   8   9   9   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
We always try to stay at this park when traveling I-80/90 in this part of the country. It is a very nice KOA, clean and well-managed. Lots of tall pine trees, but also lots of room to maneuver big rigs. Sites are roomy and well appointed with picnic tables and fire ring. Park is convenient to shopping and restaurants. The only negative is the nearby and active train tracks with trains apparently run by engineers who just can't keep their hands off the horn button. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$51
Rate is for Memorial Day weekend less KOA 10%. Rate is $13 more than the previous weekend. Fairly typical KOA with full hookups and a number of amenities. Sites can accommodate larger rigs, but the trees on some site prevent awning use. This KOA is very close to a railroad crossing and the train whistle can be quite loud at all hours of the day and night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
Rate reflects tax and value card discount. This is one of the best overall value KOA campgrounds we have experienced. The owners are very friendly and it is obvious they are taking care of the well looked after campground. Site was level and services were good. Most sites have 2 sewer connection points, but ours was one of the few that was not and thus we had an extra long run, but that was the only negative. Wi-Fi works great as does cable. Have stayed here before and will definitely stay here again when in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
This is a small, but nice campground with a lot of tent sites and cabins. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. We were in a long pull-thru site with 50 amp, water and sewer. The sites are close together and may present a problem for big rigs over 38 feet, because roads are very narrow. Roads and sites are dirt and gravel. The owners need to cut down trees and trim back a lot of branches to avoid scraping your RV. There’s a picnic table and fire pit on every site. Showers and bathrooms were very clean. Cable reception, our Verizon wireless internet, cell phone and satellite worked fine. The campground has a lot of amenities for kids including a pool, playground, wagon rides, etc. This location is great if you are visiting Notre Dame University. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$48
The staff is friendly and very accommodating. We requested a site that wasn’t surrounded by too many trees since we had spent a few nights without satellite. Our spot was perfect. There were tight turns within the park, but we were able to maneuver them and get into our space with little difficulty. Wi-Fi was spotty. Close to South Bend as advertised and close to Keystone Manufacturer. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
A storm knocked out our power at home for several days. It was hot and our home has a well so no AC or water, so we grabbed our trailer and headed to the KOA a few blocks from the house and right next to where we store the trailer. The hosts are great. The campsite was a small pull-through with full hook-up just across from the office. I left my storage bin on the picnic table next to us when hooking up, and the host collected it and found me later to tell me that he had it for me. They let us pay by the day until power was restored at home. I would recommend this KOA. Close to the Indiana Toll Road for travelers. Note there are busy train tracks nearby, but since I already live there we were not phased. Space is at a premium but sites are nicely shaded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
We were looking for a place not to far off US 31. Am glad we stopped here. We were escorted to site. Checked in after hooking up. Friendly staff. We were so happy with this place we stopped on our way back home. 2 dog parks plus a petting "zoo" are a nice touch. Place is the best run KOA we have ever stayed at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
Had flat, level, pull through, gravel site; no need to level. Good access roads were easy to maneuver. Site had grass on each side, a picnic table and fire pit. Lots of trees through out campground. Site was long enough (55 feet plus) to allow me to leave the truck attached to the trailer. Nice Italian restaurant about one block from campground. Many amenities I did not use. I would return again if in area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$49
Very clean campground in a wooded setting. Staff were very friendly. Close to area attractions and shopping. Wi-Fi was free and very strong. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$49
This is a good example of an older KOA that tries hard. We were escorted to our site. Wi-Fi was strong and free during our stay. Sites were typically close together for a KOA. If you have a big rig, be sure to scout out the site first as some of the sites have trees that make entry and exit difficult. Sites were gravel and inside roads were also gravel. Although we didn’t use it during our stay, the pool appeared to be nice. Lots of trees for shade. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$52
The campground is close to city services (restaurants, etc.) but secluded and quiet. Most sites are shady which is important to us. The staff was very helpful and friendly. While I listed the showers as "clean" they could have been a little cleaner and have more light; this was our only real criticism. The sites are not real wide, but typical for most campgrounds. Some season-lease sites were not real clean, but there were only a few of them. Wi-Fi worked very well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$47
Nice campground that is convenient to many of the areas attractions. Sites are mostly a little tight in some spots, majority gravel and grass but level and all amenities (pool, showers, restrooms) are very clean. Employees on site all weekend at gate and patrolling campground made for a safe environment. Trees provided great shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
This park required some limited navigation off tollway, and I was overwhelmed by the expansive pine tree coverage. Asked for a satellite friendly site, which was not friendly and not even close to my hook up capability. (I carry 20 fit of hose). Had to move after set up. Asked for a site behind me (sparsely populated sites) so that I could just back up and was told I would have to pay more for the patio on my already expensive stay. Overall sites are small, unlevel and not grassy. Think I will stay someplace else when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$53
We found the campground to be a great place to come for a weekend get away. They had lots of things for kids to do and it was very well run. Although it is big rig friendly the site we had was tight to allow our slide out to be out as well as the awning but it did fit. Owners are very helpful and keep things under control to maintain a nice family atmosphere. Only bad thing was that the sites do have a lot of trees so site space can be be a bit small depending on the site. We will back to stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
Excellent facility! Nice location! Yes, there is a railroad track close by but it doesn't appear these trains are high speed so the noise isn't bad. Yes, they are using the horns but it's not bad. Nice staff who seem to be interested in giving you value for your money. They hire security for Notre Dame football games and I appreciate the effort. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Nice campground. Treed sites spacious and level. Biggest complaint are the trains which are close by and whose horns are loud. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$48
I guess there is truth to the old adage that you can please some of the people some of the time but not all of the people all of the time. I don't get reviewers complaints about the size of the sites. We have a 32 ft fifth wheel. This was our second time in this KOA. Yes there are trees. Trees make shade, and provide a woodsy atmosphere. Since there are trees you need to be a bit careful driving through, but the sites are certainly bigger than some I've been in. There was also room to park the truck. My only complaint is the nearby RxR and the sound of the trains. This is a lovely, well-run KOA, with sparkling clean restrooms, and helpful, friendly management. Yes, there are lots of KOA's with no trees at all. Given a choice, I'll always go for the trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$55
Expensive, but pretty clean. Good stuff for the kids. Cramped roads and sites (not real “big rig friendly”). Reasonably centrally located. Wi-Fi very weak. Woman in office was heavily pierced: kind of creepy. Would probably stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
I used this park as an overnight stopover. The staff was very helpful. Sites are a little tight. The park was very crowded with families and activities for kids. Hook-ups and Wi-Fi worked fine. I would consider staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$41
Second event at a KOA in the past seven years. Why would they put a 32' fifth wheel with a full size truck on a 40' site between two roads? You wonder what management is thinking. Pull-through are nice and shaded and park is very clean. Security is constant riding around on their golf cart. Would stay again but never on their wish to park me on a site that is really not camper friendly. Wake up people. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$46
Camped during the camp care weekend. We have camped at Southbend East KOA several times and they do not disappoint. The park is always clean and the staff is always friendly. While the sites are smaller they are heavily wooded with pine trees. The store is well stocked and the staff is knowledgeable. This time however, we did not use any of the amenities. We have in the past and have enjoyed the pool and activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$39
Quiet campground with very friendly and helpful staff. Good services and level clean site. Good interior roads. Was escorted to site. First stay here and will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$36
We stayed mid-week and late in the season, so we had a good experience. Only a few other RVs, apparently just parked, waiting for their owners to come on game weekends - this is Notre Dame country. And because of this, we understand that this campground transforms completely on those weekends - prices almost doubling and police being called in to keep the peace. So we wouldn't plan on being there on those weekends! But during our stay, it was fine. Closer to reasonable rates, friendly staff, a fenced-in pet area, very quiet, and they have cute, friendly goats! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
This was a really nice and Friendly park. The staff was great with our every need. Always smiling, friendly and very helpful. A lot of campground cold learn a bit about customer relations from the owners and staff at this KOA. I will be back in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
This park is located in the trees and very shady. The sites and roads are gravel and level. I thought we would have a problem pulling out of our site with our 35 ft fifth wheel but we didn't. The Wi-Fi and cable work well and we enjoyed our 4 day stay. The park is just out of South Bend and there was plenty to see and do. It was a quiet nice place to stay. The only negative was the sewer connection was too high and didn't have a threaded base so a rubber ring was required. That meant having to "work" the sewer hose when dumping. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$58
Nice looking campground, with plenty of trees which look good but don't interfere with driving around. Good Wi-Fi and cable. The staff is pleasant. This weekend is a Notre Dame - BC game. So you need a wristband to walk in the campground, and there are other very strict rules... that's OK with us. Because of the game the price is $57.78, that is Fort Wilderness rates for an overnight stop!!! But it is a nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
We found this KOA to be well managed and maintained during our week stay. The pull-through sites are long enough for a big rig and the interior roads are wide enough for easy maneuvering. Spacing of sites was adequate for our 3 slides with plenty of room between neighbors. Sites and roads are gravel and can get muddy in the rain. We stayed in one of the premium pull-through sites with a concrete patio which was nice since it rained most of our stay. Lots of pine trees throughout the park which may hinder satellite systems. Cable TV worked well and antenna for network HD worked great. No problems with park's Wi-Fi. On-site owners/managers were very responsive to any problems and can really help with local points of interest around the area (lots to see). The place really fills up for Notre Dame football weekends, make sure to reserve early if they are playing. We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Overall, a friendly park. Clean and well-kept. Sites are a little close, although room for awning and slides. Restaurants within walking distance. Great price for hot deals! Family oriented. Will go again!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$59
Close to Notre Dame University. Spaces are close together. Not much around the area. Difficult to maneuver big rigs. Top of the line sites are not worth the money. Usually the prime sites at KOA's are very attractive, but not here. Will not stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
The owners of this campground were somewhat "over the top", especially the man. He drove his golf cart at 20 miles an hour through the park, not observing his own 5 MPH rule. He also used his front end loader to smash the garbage in the dumpster to get more in...repeatedly for 10 minutes at a time. The pool was extremely cold and somewhat cloudy. The lawn was mowed but not well kept. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
We just spent one night here -- overnighting on the way to Montana. The site we had was not level and we had to use a lot of leveling blocks. I'm not sure why, but the campground was very crowded (we had reservations), and we had what appeared to be seasonal campers on both sides of us, with not a lot of space in between. Normally, this would not be a problem for us, but one of our neighbors decided to have a late-night campfire and invited what seemed to be half the campground to join in. We got to sleep okay that evening, but around 1:30 a.m. we we awakened by loud talking outside. There were about 12-15 people all around a blazing campfire. Unfortunately this continued right outside our windows until around 2:30 a.m. or so before they decided to call it a night. This campground rents out recumbent bicycles and during daylight there were older kids and teens out-and-about with them sometimes creating a walking hazard. This will probably be the last time we stay here. I'll be providing both the campground and KOA with some feedback on this, and hopefully it will make your stay here a lot more pleasant than ours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
Staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. A city location with a pine tree setting. Pool was gorgeous, but a little too cold. Interior roads and sites are gravel. Sites are long, but too narrow. The trees created issues for a big rig. We had to back up to clear slide from trees. One also needs to take precautions due to tree sap. Use of awnings was not possible. Wi-Fi was excellent. Each site had a table & fire ring. Park seemed overpriced for a narrow, gravel site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
This was a really pleasant campground. The staff was courteous giving a little welcome package including dog treats. The sites were large, well shaded and reasonably convenient to the area's attractions. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$37
Attractive park (love the tall pines!) in a light-industry area near South Bend, gated for security. Sites are decent in size for a private CG, and the place is tidy and clean. Beautiful pool area, rental bikes, a frogging pond, and a few goats in a petting pen provide the on-site entertainment. Decent overnighter or base camp for visiting the area. Main complaint: the TRAIN!! (Very noisy, especially whistling for the nearby crossing.) Our rate was for a "deluxe" FHU site with paved patio, patio furniture, planters and 2 sewer dump outlets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$39
Great staff. I had a problem with the cable. Turned out to be a problem in my coach. They helped me troubleshoot without a complaint. I liked the escort to the site. My kids enjoyed the hay wagon rides. I wish the site was a little bigger as we were unable to open the awning, but that is not a complaint. We plan to go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$39
This is a nice little park with a very friendly staff. The bathrooms and showers are modern and clean. They provide treats for your dog on arrival. They have a coffee/hot chocolate machine in the store and they give you your first one free. On the weekends, they offer a pancake breakfast for $3 which was very good. We were very happy with our stay and would recommend to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$37
Park was nice and clean. Staff was friendly. Very dog friendly. Everything was great except the site next to us went far past quiet time (10 PM) with music and a gathering next to our trailer that was easily audible until 2am. This was with our AC on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
we stayed here Mother's day weekend. Had terrible weather, but the campground was great! Was pretty full, but still quiet. By the second night I was used to hearing the trains and slept much better. Make sure when making a reservation here that you let them know if you want your awning out. Some sites have to many pine trees to do this. We were in site # 21 and had no problem. Nice tent area. The kids loved the short hiking trail and the playground. We went on a short side trip to the College Football hall of fame. Great museum to see if your big football fans. Very nice folks. Would be a great campground if you are going to amish country! Will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$48
Friendly staff and guests were found here. Facilities were in good shape. Water park next door a bit spendy, but worth it. We only stayed one night, but could easily have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$39
Nice park with great wifi and cable. A little pricey, but you pay for what you get. Easy pull through. Couldn't get the awning out, but that was not a big deal for a short stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$37
Immaculate bathrooms and showers and a fabulous staff! Lots of kids activities available. Sites are a bit skimpy, but the park grounds are very nice. Area has much to offer within an hour's drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$36
Stayed 3 nights with our 6 and 8 y/o boys. They did have a lot of fun. Restrooms and showers very clean, nice little waterpark next door (With a discount for campers!), and a fenced in dog run (Nice touch). Sites are a little close together or I would rate it even higher. Trains don't bother us - we have them at home :) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$21
Clean Kampground, nice people, over nighted, kids like play ground. Nice size pull thru didn't have to unhook We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$26
Just an update for 2005. The campground remains scrupulously clean and well-kept, with FREE cable TV and WIFI. Overall an excellent choice! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2004
$29
Sites narrow with no privacy. Generally well-kept and tidy campground. Lots of trees, so most sites are shady. Encoded security gate for campers - a nice touch in this industrial area & with the waterpark next door. Popular with families, with fun things to do in the campground (nice pool, minigolf, frog pond). We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$36
A very nice campground with all full hook-up sites being pull through. Pull through sites are fairly narrow, but level. Campground is very clean with a great staff. Heated pool is maintained very well and the camp store is well stocked. Within minutes of I-80. This would be a 10 if not for the trains that go past starting at about 4:00AM. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com