206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Twin Mills Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (260) 562-3212
CGID1077

Twin Mills Resort

Camp Information
Sites
570
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   8   8   7   4   5   7   2   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
Nice place out in the middle of no where. We stopped here to visit the DRV factory. Beautiful campground, lots of trees and very large. The office staff is very friendly. Opened the store up during closed time so I could pick up a needed item which was very nice of them. The sites are a little unlevel at times, but overall a very nice. Well laid out camp ground. Handles large MH with ease. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
Our site was level, electricity good, very quiet campground. We enjoyed our stay. That said, no TV because of the trees, Verizon broadband only 1 or 2 bars. They have WiFi but it is Tengo, meaning you have to pay. The restrooms were very dirty: looked like they hadn't been cleaned in days. That improved on Friday: once a week cleaning. Campground needs some TLC. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$1
Rate was actually $0 since we are members. Large membership campground that is now open to the public. Many level wooded sites. Some sites require work to level. Because of the trees, satellite TV is impossible. Over the air TV is iffy. Verizon is 4G 2 bars. Very clean. Rest rooms are dated but clean. There is a swimming pool but it was closed because it was near the end of the season. They close November 1. Lots of seasonal units scattered throughout the park. Nice place if you want to get away from the TV and just relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$11
What a nice park. Clean and friendly. The only reason for an 8 instead of a 10 is the club house/office is rather old and not real nice and there is no cable TV. Our RV would not fit on the site originally assigned to us, and at check in, the lady upgraded us at no additional charge. Nice grassy wooded sites with fire rings and picnic tables. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
Nice campground with lots to do. Quiet and peaceful during the week. Lots of activity on the weekend. Fairly good access. The problem we ran into is that the non-grassy sites are really messy with pine straw. It was wet when we were there and tracking into the RV was a mess. We had some confusion about our reservations, but they rectified the problem easily. We would come here again. Our dog knows campgrounds...she liked this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
This is a large park, quiet during the week, but very busy on the weekends. Local residents take advantage of their weekend activities. They have a large lake for boating, and a small lake for fishing, catch and release. They have a large pool and kiddie pool, large playground, and basketball. Many other planned activities. We stayed 7 days. We would not revisit this park due to the high volume on the weekend, and dirt ground RV site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
This is a kid-oriented destination park. It is heavily wooded and some of the turns and tree branches require careful navigating with a big rig. The interior roads are paved with some gravel at the sites. There was 30A/water/sewer at our pull-through sites. The entry gate width is close for a large motor home. There are many park models and long-term occupants. Good Verizon service but cannot get satellite TV due to the trees. The park is clean and well maintained. There are lots of kids on bicycles. It rained while we were there, but I suspect that the swimming pool in the entrance area gets pretty busy and the area congested. There is continuously loud music at the office area. If you are looking for a placed for kids, this could be the park for you, If not, you might want to look elsewhere. We paid ~$21/night under the Passport program that includes a $3/night resort fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
We used the discount through Thousand Trails for our rate and was good for water and electric site which was fine. Site was grassy and had some shade. Easy to get in and out, dump station was easy to use but had to turn around as you left the park to get to it, there was another station but harder to get to from the site we were in. The place was very clean and kept up nice. Looked like a small pool for the size of the place. I am sure they are packed on weekends. We stayed here on a week day so the place was quiet. We will plan to use this place again when heading west. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
We stayed in this campground for a weekend, in a full hook up site. Our site and many sites are generally shady which was nice, as was the new gravel on the drive-through parking surface. The rest of the site was dirt. Site size was small, to average. The campground was very busy. There are many season lease sites and a lot of golf cart activity as well as lots of kids on bicycles. The pool is located right at the main gate which makes entrance and exit from the campground tricky with all the pedestrians, kids, and bicycles that congregate around the pool. What greets you on the main road leading to the campsites is old trailer storage, which is very unattractive. The bathrooms are old, small, few, and need updating. We were glad to not need to use them much. When asking about WiFi we were told we need to be close to the office to get it. At times we could get it at our site, but not regularly. There are a lot of activities if you like those (we don't). The price was high for the park appearance and condition. It is unlikely we will stay at this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$14
Price reflects Passport America and "off season" rate. Whew! Had to jump through hoops to get into this park. You can't just show up and expect a site. Had to call a central booking number and that took over 6 minutes to confirm a site. When we got to camp, it took almost 10 minutes to do the paperwork. And the park was almost empty! The site we had was a dirt pull through, full hookups and fairly level. During the night it rained and our trailer sank into the dirt a bit. This campground would be good if visiting Shipshewana or the surrounding area. We'd stay here again as long as it wasn't on a weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
I found a coupon in the Shippsawana Flea Market magazine that had a free night when you stayed over a Tues.. Rate went up to $48. on the weekend. This is an Encore Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
Stayed there for Labor Day weekend. It was just an OK campground. During the stay i couldn't once find their Wi-Fi. They don't have enough amenities for all the people that were there. The pool and playgrounds were always packed. Also too many kids on bicycles, a few times we had to leave Twin Mills Resort and kids would just dart in front of the car. Lastly our first night there all you could smell was sewage but after it rain the next day the smell went away. If you are looking for a spot for a day I suppose this place will do. But if you looking for fun for the family look for somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
I was disappointed with the restrooms. They were clean, but need to be updated. People had to pass through the restrooms to get to the pool which made it like Grand Central Station. Some didn't even pay any attention which was men's and which was women's. Need seperate showers for the pool and larger signs for the restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$70
This is a fairly good campground if you plan to spend a short time here, but you do not want to become a seasonal here. Overnight and short term guests are treated well and given a lot of leeway in rule enforcement. Staff here spends a great majority of their time watching for rule violations and you will be caught. Eight short years ago you were wait listed to get a seasonal site here, but today you can have your pick of over 150 empty seasonal sites. Since the change from family owned to a big corporation take over the management has run this campground into the ground. Holiday weekends tend to be very busy and with one small pool you will have a hard time using it. Enjoy your weekend here but you will be disappointed as a seasonal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
What a wonderful campground. You have the fun of the pool, lake and river. Paved drives make for lot's of bike riding. Lot's of activites and wonderful staff! The security gates make you feel safe and it's a quiet family campground. We LOVE Twin Mills! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$50
We camped here over the Memorial Day weekend. The campground is split in half with a pretty busy road in the middle. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The sign at the pool states "no sun tan preparations" and they want you to take a soap shower before entering the pool. I've never heard of a pool where you can't protect yourself from the damaging sun. Overall we had a great time and we would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Twin Mills is a heavily treed, family oriented RV park. It seems to have wonderful amenities for family activities and is in the scenic Amish country of Northern Indiana. I would have rated the park a 10 instead of a 7 if only we had been given the correct information about our site. I asked to be placed on an OPEN site so that we would be able to use our DISH and we also were told the Wireless internet worked well throughout the park (both items are very important to us). The park had NO open sites -- although beautiful, it was not what we needed. Also, the first day we were there we were on a site where the Tengo ($15 for 7 days) worked great. On the second day, we moved to a site that would not bring in any wireless, DISH or local TV stations. If these amenities are what you're looking for, I doubt this park would work for you either. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
Nice CG near the Amish Shipshewana Flea Market (6-7 miles away). There are two sides to this park. The CG side closer to the pool, mini-golf, and the office are very small and although we drove our 40' MH through this side looking for a site (with very low tree branches, etc.). We elected to the side across the street. We found a large site on the corner of where mostly seasonals (very nice set-up) spend the summer. Our rate was for electric and water only. The rate was via our TT ELS membership. We would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This is by far one of the nicer campgrounds we have stayed in. The grounds were well kept, bath houses were clean, staff was helpful and the other campers were very friendly. The park is split into two sections, making it tough to cross over if you're out walking/biking around, but it would not deter me from staying here again. As a matter of fact we are already planning next years trip. One downside is the vehicle traffic, posted limits are 5 mph which are completely ignored. This makes watching the little ones a bit nerve racking. We could not access wi-fi, but I did not ask about it either, after all I was camping. All in all, a great place to stay in a beautiful part of the country. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
This campground is very nice, there is a pool, shuffleboard, basketball, volleyball, playgrounds, boat rentals, mini-golf rental, rec-room with activities and a game room. The resort is split in half with the registration and main activity's on the north side and the balance on the south side of the roadway. We love this park, the downfall is the price is a bit expensive compared to other resorts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$42
Really expensive, especially for off-season. A LOT of permanent/seasonal sites, but the vast majority were well-maintained, nice looking, and the few "residents" we saw seemed friendly enough and even us transients were invited to the potluck dinner/breakfasts. Sites are really small, KOA-esque. We were on one of the "lakefront" sites. Grass sites, not paved, kind of unlevel, but the hookups were in good shape. No cable, but we picked up 7 or 8 broadcast channels. We were there in mid-October, so the place was very quiet. However, I could see where the lakefront sites would be an absolute circus in the summer, what with all the folks coming down to the beach, etc. All in all, "OK", but if you're in the area for the Amish-stuff and RV/MH Hall of Fame, check out the campgrounds closer to Shipshewanan - we saw some really nice looking ones. On a related note, do NOT miss the RV/MH Hall of Fame. Well worth the short drive to Elkhart and the $8 admission. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
This park is run by a very rude staff. Beware of their reservation/cancellation policy. They will not make any exceptions. They are impossible to work with. When we arrived we decided we would rather take a full hookup then the electric/water we had reserved over the phone. Even though they would make more money each night they still charged us a $25 fee to change sites! The sites in "campers cove" are shaded and can get muddy and flooded if it rains. The pool is old and needs some repairs. The baby pool is a joke. The office closes so early you cant even go up and rent a putter to play a game of mini golf in the evening. I will NEVER return or recommend this park to anyone. They do not appreciate or deserve your business. ALSO...avoid their rentals. My sisters family rented one for 2 nights. They are near the worst looking seasonals I have ever seen...creepy, deserted and a mess. The trailers are newer...but worn out and filthy. The black tank was obviously not emptying into the sewer hook up. They called for service. The man said it was fixed and ready to go...but by night 2 they had flies (yes..flies..yuck) coming out of the toilet when ever they flushed it. I could go on and on with examples about why to avoid this park...but I won't waste your time...save your self the hassle and go some place different. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2007
$48
Under new ownership. Priced extreme. Grass not well maintained, office closes by 5 pm during weeknights and could not even buy a bag of ice. We saw others coming in after hours to camp and turned away because no one in office to accept reservation. We saw a big change from previous years of camping there, no activities on Friday evenings for kids anymore, and the friendly family atmosphere feeling is gone. Would not recommend to friends, prices too high, would stay somewhere else in the other area campgrounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$39
Very nice park, obviously well maintained and managed. That said, they charged $39 for a one night stayover in late October. I felt this was excessive for off-season, especially since all we wanted was a place to spend the night. There was just my wife and myself, no kids. We did not even use the restroom/ shower facilities as we always use the ones in our trailer. All the amenities were not available, the pool was closed and we arrived late and left early. I could see charging that amount during the summer season, but to charge someone that amount that late in the season is unfair. We will probably not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$36
Twin Mills is a great family park. Tons of things for the kids to do. They have a decent swimming pool, volleyball court, dodgeball court, basketball courts and plenty of riding trails. The beach by the lake is a great place for the kids to hang out. The Wagon Wheels make great sites for large groups. I believe that each of the Wagon wheels have 12 sites. My only complaints are that some of the sites are not very level and they vary in size. Some of the sites can be difficult to get into on the north side of the road. Also, we had exposed wires from our electrical hookup and it took three visits to the office and approximately 1-1/2 hours to get a maintenance man to fix it. Would recommend and we will be going back at end of summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$40
The site we were given on the south side of the "resort" would hardly fit a small tent let alone our big 40 foot RV. The roads were dangerously narrow and there was no room for us to back into our spot. Although they assured me upon reservation that our site was no problem to get into, that was definitely not the case. We left without camping there and would never try Twin Mills again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
Loud and crowded. Forget about quiet at night even on south side of park. Golf carts everywhere speeding around. Not worth the money!!! Paid $25 for a TENT site which was one of 8 sites when there was only room for 3 sites. Would NEVER go back. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$33
Stayed over a weekend, and lots to do for the kids. Everything was clean and well kept. Some sites were grassy, but others were mostly sand. If you have kids, stay on the north side of Rt. 120 (The campground is split by Rt. 120), as this is where the pool and arcade are located. The southern part of the campground is very quiet... We will go back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$39
We stayed for a week and really enjoy this campground. Lots of shade trees and enough room between sites so you don't feel too close to your neighbors. A lot of seasonals but the campground does not look trashy in any way. The seasonals seem to take pride in keeping their sites attractive. A bit of a drive to get to the tourist attractions in Shipshewana, Middlebury, etc. Very dark and quiet at night...great for sleeping. There were a lot of other campers there but we did not experience even one instance of unacceptable noise. Cable hookups would have been nice. I recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$39
Very Nice campground, lots to do in the area! Lots for kids to do! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com