220367 User submitted reviews online!!
City of Madison Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (812) 265-8308
CGID1082

City of Madison Campground

Camp Information
Sites
34
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   8   10   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Check-in very smooth. Friendly campground host. Sites VERY tight! Mostly level pads. $5.00 key deposit for shower/restrooms, refundable upon check-out. Clean but peeling paint. Ok for shower, plenty of pressure and hot water. Additional fee for Wi-Fi. $1day/$5week. Signal for Wi-Fi did not reach site, but short walk to Gazebo for excellent signal. Campground was at capacity during our stay. With that getting into some spots could prove to be difficult with awnings. The views of the river are second to none. Watching the river traffic was a great way to relax from our trip into Downtown Madison. Just a short drive away. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
The rating is based on the view and surrounding beauty - Madison is a great little town. CG sites are narrow, back-in only (not pull-throughs listed on RVParkReviews), electrical and water (you will need long hoses), and there is a dump station. Paved site to park on; slight inclines. Bathrooms are older with peeling paint but okay for a shower. Host is very helpful. If you are energetic, you can walk into town. Vaughn Street is blocked due to construction on the bridge so you will need to drive on 56 to the far east side of town (past the bridge) and then turn right on Ferry St. The CG is at the bottom of the hill, on the left, next to the river. We would definitely camp here again. FYI: there is a good laundry facility on Main St, west end of town. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This is a little gem on the Ohio River. Would be a 10 if it had full hook up. Host extremely friendly and helpful. Great area with small town atmosphere. Good restaurants very close by. Relaxing watching river traffic. There is some question about being open next year due to new bridge construction. Supposedly is going to be done over the winter. Hope this park doesn't go away. Needs a little upgrading, but the views and town make up for it. Will definitely be back again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Main reason for writing is: This park will NOT, repeat NOT, be open in 2011, because it will become the staging area for the ferry which will operate while the bridge, right next to this park, is being enlarged. It will take at least 18 months to complete that project. At this time, it is not known if this park will reopen after that. I suggest calling just in case things change. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
What a spot on the river!!!! Watching the barges with a view of the bridge at night with a huge campfire was a great way to end our 3.5 month southern trip. The town is so full of history and incredible architecture, outstanding!!! Of course, we'd like cable TV and Wi-Fi, but the aesthetics blew us away and we didn't need the techy stuff. We'll stop here every year on our way back to MI. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
We had a nice campsite right on the Ohio River. We were here with only 7 or 8 other campers. Things might get pretty tight if the campground is full, as camp sites are close together. Eighteen sites are right on the banks of the Ohio River, where we could sit and watch barges go by. The campground is pretty quiet for an urban setting. The bathrooms are so old, it is hard to tell whether or not they were clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2004
$15
A great place to camp if you like the River. There are 18 riverfont sites that are clean, level ,paved sites with mature trees. The owners/Managers are extremely nice and very helpful. It's always a pleasure to stay here. I visit at least once a year. Madison itself is a very neat town with lots of stores and restaurants. North Madison has the big stores such as Walmart, etc. , but the old town is preserved to historical value. I plan to stay again, and again. My Teardrop camper is always a conversation piece. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$15
Very nice, but small campground, it is kept nice and clean, has 18 sites right on the Ohio River. There are mature trees, fire rings, shower house/restrooms, most sites are nice and level. They do have a dump station. There is nothing to do here on the campground property (pool, mini golf, etc.), but the town of Madison has a nice big pool near the campground, as well as shopping and sightseeing in Madison. There's also a few nice wineries, and great restaurants, be sure to try out the Key West Shrimp House. The owner is super nice! Also check out Clifty Falls State Park nearby Madison. The river-front sites are very pretty! We enjoyed having a campfire and sitting in our lawnchairs watching the boats and barges. Keep in mind that no tents are allowed. This is a great place to camp in your RV, very relaxing and quiet. We've stayed here twice, and will return. The campgrounds are open from April 1st through October 31st but you should call ahead of time to make a reservation, or to see if there are sites available since this is a small campground. Especially during holidays and Regatta week (boat races) or during festivals, so definitely call ahead! I do know that payment is required in full at the time of reservation. We rented a pontoon boat one of the days we were here, from a marina down the road. That was fun, and they also rent other boats and jet-ski's. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com