223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Clifty Falls State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (812) 273-8885
CGID1083

Clifty Falls State Park

Camp Information
Sites
169
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   8   9   10   8   10   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$29
Flat, level sites. Bathrooms in electric were surprisingly clean during Labor Day weekend. Very few water hookups at bath houses and was afraid hose wouldn't reach to fill trailer, but it did. Playgrounds could use a bit more equipment. No camp store, only firewood sales at gate. Best sites are 24, 40, 9, 11. If with a group, consider 54/55, 87/88 or 69/70. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$19
The restrooms and showers in the main electric loop campground are a bit dated, and feel dirty. Since they do not have water at each site, you are almost forced to use the restrooms for at least showers, or you'll be spending a lot of time filling up your freshwater tank. However, if you feel like walking over to the non-electric loop, they have a very new and modern bathhouse there. It seems much cleaner than the bathhouses in the electric loop. The campground is very clean, people are friendly, and they are not obnoxious about patrolling the campground, they are around, but not overbearing. AT&T cell service is pretty good around the park. Don't forget that IN state parks charge $7.00 to enter the park no matter if your camping there or not. The pool cost $3.00 per person and is open from noon to 6:00 daily. No 50 amp service, and if you have a taller rig, be aware that the trees are mature and you may have an issue fitting into some of the sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
The approach to back-in sites is very narrow, requiring precision backing for longer rigs. The gate staff at the campground were not knowledgeable enough to help with problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
The campground is nice, but the lack of water spigots is a bit annoying. The shower houses need to be redone. They have a new, very nice, one in the tent area. The RV area needs the same style. The sites are very large. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Would give this park a "10” if it had water hookups. Also hated paying $7.00 to enter the park, even if you are camping there. Park is meticulously maintained and the sites are huge. We had site 74 which was extremely shaded and we loved it. The whole campground is paved and very flat. Two playgrounds for the kids. I only used the bathhouse once, and used the non-electric loop bathhouse, and it seemed to be brand new. Very nice and clean. Only drawback is the pool which is about a 5 minute drive from the campground, costs an additional $5.00 per person and opens at 11:00 if I remember correctly. Get there early as they only have about 50 chairs around the pool, and they go quick. We will definitely be back. Loved it despite not having water at our site! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
We stayed here over Memorial Day Weekend and even with the packed park and numerous once-a-year campers the park staff were exceptionally polite and all facilities we used were clean and well cared for. We were unable to get an electric spot due to making late reservations, so I can't comment on the electric hookups, but our spot had no issues at all. The grass had been recently cut, but with a wide space of tall grass between the spots on either side of us, which was nice. There was also plenty of room to setup a 10’x10’ screen room on one side of our camper, and lots of room on the other side to play bocce. The fire pit was in great shape and was not overly filled with trash or ashes from previous campers. The parking areas in the non-electric loop lots were all gravel, but not overly dusty. Ours had a slight slope, especially toward the road end, but this was easily dealt with and the slope did not cause any issues. Most of the other lots in the park appeared to be mostly level to completely level, as far as we could see anyway. There are a few pull-through spots in the non-electric loop, but most were pull in – back out, and at a slight angle to the road, for easier backing in. We did not have an issue with this since our camper is a van conversion and fairly easy to maneuver. The bathrooms were clean and in great condition (we only used the non-electric loop restrooms), had a good number of facilities (showers, toilets, sinks, etc.) so that even with the full park we never had to wait for anything. The park sold wood ($5.50 a bundle), there were numerous locations to get water (but no hook-ups in the non-electric loop), and trash containers were both large and well monitored. The park roads were all well maintained, and the staff were all friendly and courteous at all times and we never saw any trash or litter of any kind on the ground while we were there, in any part of the park. The nature center was small, but well laid out with lots of interesting information to see and decent literature (checklists, info about the area, history, etc.) The trails were all well marked and there was plenty to do in the park. We were there for three nights and were able to hike all the trails, see four waterfalls, play games in camp, and do a lot of wildlife viewing. Many people rode bicycles around the campground area, and a few rode on the park roads. Speed limits were 30 on park roads and 15 in camp. We put this park on our “must visit again” list and would recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
Roomy sites. Liked #'s 98 & 99, large, level pull-throughs with shade. Showers a bit dated, but clean. Awesome hiking with beautiful waterfalls. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$13
Excellent experience. Park has a restaurant that is fine. Close to Madison. Also close (30 miles) to Butler State Park, Carrolton, KY. But check for Ohio River bridge (rt 421) outage summer 2012. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Excellent park. Very, very large sites. They could easily double the occupancy by splitting the sites but I hope they don't. All sites are mostly level. Nice hiking in the park. Very close to downtown Madison which is a neat river town. This is great park. Only reason I didn't give it a 10 is for no water hook-ups, but there are stil plenty of places to get water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Campground and campsites are RV friendly and generally level. A good mix of sun and shade for sites. Showerhouses are dated but generally maintained well (modern showerhouse is located in primitive section of campground). Beautiful hiking and historic downtown Madison in the area. The drive aisles were freshly paved, so biking in the campground for children was enjoyable. Playground was okay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$11
Very good Autumn camping! Access to Clifty Falls trails is a 5-minute walk. A 20-minute walk gets you to Clifty Falls Inn, which has a restaurant and spectacular views of the Ohio River. Sites are electric only, well spaced, and easy to park. The bathhouse was closed in November, but a potable water faucet is available at the check-in station. Campers were friendly & quiet at nighttime. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
This is a very nice State Park. The road is winding to the campground but we didn't have a problem with a 39' coach and Suburban toad. The park staff is friendly and helpful. The sites don't offer any 50 amp or sewer but it's worth getting by without. It was not too crowded during the week but the weekend was packed. The sites are fairly large though and you are not on top of each other. There were a lot of kids but the noise was not unruly. Easy access to the nice little city of Madison. We will return for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
We stayed at campsite #29. It is full sun, but the location was good for us. The site was very unlevel and was mostly on grass. Make sure that you visit the pool. It has an incredible beach type entrance, water slide and diving board at the 12 foot end. Nice playground and the restrooms were fine. The staff was friendly and the camp store was adequate. Madison is just a few miles up the road if you need extra supplies. My only complaint is that they have a raccoon problem at night. The raccoons are obviously used to humans and walk right up to you to beg for food. I kept chasing them away but every few minutes more would come out of the brush. The kids were getting scared because they were so bold. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Pretty park with large sites and lots of trails and picnic areas. Restrooms were OK, but showers could use some updating. Park staff/hosts were very friendly, but other campers were noisy at times. Town of Madison is wonderful--lots of historic buildings and nice riverfront. All and all, would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Many sites need quite a bit more gravel for the parking pad. It was raining when we were here and out TT was sinking into our site due to lack of gravel. Nice location, CG just needs a little more upkeep to make it nicer. Not sure if we will return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
This is a nice state campground. The sites could use a little more work, but over all it is a nice area that has good hiking with lots to do. The park lodge is very nice and has good food on their buffet. It would also be a nice place to stay. The park is very kid and pet friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
The available showers are completely inadequate for the size of campground, so plan to shower at off peak times. The park is gorgeous and the campground is one of the better layed out ones. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$19
Nice and spacious campsites. We were on site 62. Restrooms were clean but shower areas could use some updating. Plenty of hot water. The water fill-up areas are attached to the restrooms but can be difficult to see at night. The DNR staff was fair. We camp at other Indiana State Parks and the staff at Clifty Falls were not as friendly as other state parks. The Campground Hosts (do not know their names) were excellent. Looks like they are getting to re-open the camp store. The trails are super! Very well marked and provide a spectacular view of the falls. The Nightly Rate is average daily rate for 6 nights (Sat-Thur.) We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
We really enjoyed this park. The campground doesn't have water hook up but there are water faucets placed throughout the park so it wasn't a problem. We just filled up our 7 gallon portable tank and it was fine. We had site number 66 and loved it. Lots of grassy areas for the kids to play in. Great campground for the kids to ride their bikes too. The state park also has a VERY nice pool with a fun water slide and diving board. ($2.00 per person per day) The campground store is closed but you can purchase ice and firewood at the campground entrance. If you are looking for a great place to eat in Madison, check out the "Downtowner". Yummy food! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$23
We loved the campground. Lots of shade trees, level sites, grassy areas, lots of room between sites. The pool is adjacent to the CG. Cost $3.00 for the day, large pool with slides and lifeguards. Reason for rating 9: Men's showers are open (locker style). Women's showers were very nice with individual changing rooms. Wonderful trails to walk. We took scooters and had lots of places to ride. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$20
The park is great, with miles of hiking trails and spectacular scenery. The campground is only so so. The staff are friendly and the park is clean. But there are tall weeds between some of the sites and there are none with a sewer connection. Some sites have no hook-ups. It is great for a week end or a short visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$23
Very nice campground with paved interior roads and gravel parking pads. Electric hookups only, but there are a number of water faucets in good locations and a dump station. Most of the sites are wide, fairly level, and the number of shade trees varies from none to heavily wooded. The fire rings have a nice sturdy cooking grate built-in on one side. We didn't use the restrooms or showers, but when I checked for the purposes of this review the facilities were clean. There was only one private shower, which didn't have hooks or a bench in it's changing area. The other showers were an open locker room style, which I thought was unusual to see at a State Park. Attractions in the park include several waterfalls, plenty of hiking trails, and a nice pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2000
$15
Sites are level and fairly well separated. Some sites can accommodate large rigs, but may have some difficulty in accessing. Campground has water available, swim pool, playground(s) and hiking trails. Dump Station is available. As the name implies, the park's focal points are the water falls, four of them. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com