206789 User submitted reviews online!!
Turkey Run State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (765) 597-2635
CGID1084

Turkey Run State Park

Camp Information
Sites
213
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   9   9   9   8   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
We love Turkey Run State Park we have stayed at the INN and or camped there as a family for the past 6 or 7 years staying a week every time. This year the suspension bridge was closed which added a lot of distance to the walking trails as the only access is from the far East end of the park. The campground is great be sure to verify the size of the lot with your unit as there are several sites in this park that are tent camping only due to size. The restrooms were OK they were not as clean as they could be and are definitely in need of updating / replacement. The trash dumpsters are close to the entry and can get nasty when the rain washes out the juice and the smell combines with the nearby dump station. Use the dump site on the opposite end of the entry it is in the sun and dries out between uses. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
The second most famous and the second oldest state park in Indiana, Turkey Run is an institution in this area of the country. Situated on the Sugar Creek the area is wooded, natural with many activities from tubing to hiking. There is an historic lodge with surprisingly good food. We stayed in the 50 amp part of the campground because the sites are level and larger with the electric post in the correct spot within a few feet of the RV. Many of the wooded sites the post is too far away to use with an RV. Expect the campground to be full and pack with people each weekend of summer and fall. The restrooms/showers were cleaned daily and spotless. We were at a family reunion so we learned that Verizon was on extended coverage with slow internet; ATT worked best both cell/Internet; Sprint did not work at all; T-Mobile worked in certain spots. There is a one-time $5 in-state; $7 out-state vehicle charge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
Great hiking trails. This is a great campground to stay at but can be very busy at times. Facilities are very clean and well maintained. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Knowing nothing about this park we stumbled in on a Friday just after noon and as we left early the next day the park was full. Very popular, but nice park. Plenty of sites in the full sun and plenty in the woods/shade. Park attendee assigned us a site, but it worked out fine. Facilities were very well maintained and clean. The Lodge has excellent food at very affordable prices. Camping fee for a B was $25 and a non-resident park pass was $7. Camp store was typical and nice. Never got to try the trails on this trip, but heard nothing but good things about them.We could see a couple of days here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
Great park; we stayed in lot 68 which was very private compared to others. Lot was level side to side but on a slight hill from to rear but not a problem at all. Several big rigs on the grounds. Turkey Run State park is great for hiking and canoeing. Will definitely return. State run park so no permanent sites. This was our first time camping; our previous 5 years were spent at the Turkey Run Inn and Cabins which are very nice as well and only a short 20 min hike from the campground or 5 min drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
This is a great camping spot. It has excellent hiking and canoeing, or tubing on scenic Sugar creek. There are two covered bridges one at each end of the park, also has a suspension bridge crossing over the creek. The campground has a good mixture of shady and sunny sites. Campground does sell out on summer weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Nice little park and campground. 1st loop closest to the guard house have more open sites and was a little noisy during our visit but not too bad. The other loop which is to the left of the main campground entrance had more secluded sites in the woods; drawback to these though is they are all dirt surface so could be messy if it rains. Great hiking trails in the park that will really give you a good work out! Will definitely return here for another trip and maybe take a canoe trip down the river. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
This was our first time to the park. We had heard very good things about it and all the things we heard were true. The camp sites were nice. We had a pull through on asphalt. We were lucky with this because as we pulled in there was a torrent of rain that flooded other camp sites. The sites are electric only, but there are fresh water spigots throughout the campground and a dump station near the entrance. We drove over to the lodge which is about a mile from the campground. This is where the activities are located. They had a nice pool, tennis courts, basketball courts, horseback riding, and multiple walking trails. It is a very clean well maintained State Park with plenty of activities. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$17
Great old Indiana state park campground. Note that the CG entrance is down the road from the main park entrance. We remembered to fill our water tank on the way in, before we got set up for the night. (Not having water at each site is understandable, since the park stays open all year. We were glad for that!) Staying off season also meant that we were out there almost by ourselves (just one other camper). It also meant that the bathhouse (and storm shelter) was closed for the season, and we were in a tornado watch. In off season, the ranger comes by to collect your fee (our was, to be precise, $17.42!) after 5PM. I'm not a fan of this practice, as who wants to open their door at night? But it worked out. He showed us where the alternate storm shelter was and told us he'd come get us if the tornado watch turned into a warning. That provided some peace of mind. The next day, we intended to go for a hike, but the soggy ground and downed branches from the storm made that a bad idea. We will definitely be back, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Wonderful park. Quiet and scenic. Employees were friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
As others have mentioned, Turkey Run is a nice park for lots of outdoor activities including camping. We concur with most of the positive comments. The campground as a variety of sites for all types of tents, travel trailers, and motorhomes. We drive a 40 ft motorhome so we look for long sites with pads AND satellite exposure. Although there are lots of trees, many sites were satellite friendly. If you are making a reservation (important on most weekends) for a large motorhome with satellite view look at 41R, 48R, 252, 47, 48, 48R, 52R, 50R, 54R, 108R, 107R, 106R, 116, 103, 10T, 101, 18R, 100, 17R, 94, 124, 58R. This campground is very typical for Indiana state parks; nice layout hard surface pads, and good electric. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
The campground was nice, however we stayed in Shady Lane, and it was tough to get our 29 foot travel trailer in here! It was nice, however because we didnt' have a lot of traffic coming through. We camped with a group, and had 4 sites. It was wooded, which was nice. The kids played at the playground, and rode bikes up and down the steep hill. We hiked trail 3 on Saturday, and it was gorgeous! Great views and sites! Climbing the ladders was fun, but tiring. The 140 steps up were a killer too, but so worth it! Can't wait to come back and do more trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
It is unfortunate that this campground does not have a water faucet at each site. We stayed at site 159 in a class C, and our electric hookup was way back in the woods so we had to add an extension cord to reach it. Fortunately we had enough water hoses to reach past the next campsite and fill up our holding tank. The hiking trail through huge rock formations and up a waterfall was fabulous. The buffet at the lodge was delicious. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Turkey Run is a wonderful state park (my favorite in Indiana) with a mediocre campground. The park has a wide variety of beautiful trails varying from forest to canyon and stream bed. Trail 7 connects the campground to the park, which is a fun trail to hike. There is a suspension bridge over Sugar Creek to access most of the trails. The nature center has a planetarium, bee hive and bird observation area, and clean restrooms. The pool is huge, very welcoming after a long hike, but expensive ($2 per person per visit). The campground has a wide variety of sites from wide open sun to full shade. Please check site description prior to making your reservation: some of the wooded sites are very difficult to access with a large RV. We had a heavy rainstorm pass through that flooded several neighboring sites, leaving them with standing water the entire next day. The restrooms are cleaned only once daily (ours was scheduled for cleaning at a very inconvenient 8am to 9am daily) so don't expect good conditions later in the day. The showers had poor temperature control and were also pretty bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Wide variety of sites available, from heavily wooded to full sun all day. Hiking and nature trails are absolutely wonderful, it can be a 90* day and some of the trails will take you through canyons that never get over 60*. Swimming pool has no shade and very few umbrellas available. Plan on bringing an extension cord. Have yet to be at a site that doesn't need it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Can't go wrong with Turkey Run. They have so much to offer. My only complaint would be the lack of bike paths. But the hiking makes up for it. The canoe trips are excellent, highly recommend it. We camped with another family of 4 and we rented 3 canoes for the 8 of us. We saw others with coolers in their canoes, and they would stop along the way and wade in the shallows and picnic on the sand. The pool is nice but I wish they let you bring in a cooler. Remember when hiking if you take the path with the 140 steps that you start from the West so that you are going down them and not up! The campstore sells icecream which is a nice treat for the kids. One area with sites is nice and open and good for group trips, near the playground and wide-open spaces, good for beanbags, frisbee, etc. Great campground! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
This park is nice, but campsites are a bit cramped We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$23
Huge campground for a state park. Sites vary widely, from sun-baked pullthroughs to large wooded sites with long distances to electric hookups. Definitely plan on using an extension cord in most sites! The bathrooms are too small, with too few showers for the number of campers; they were ok, but not quite as clean as we'd like, and the shower conditions varied as well (some had curtains missing, etc.) Almost all sites are paved, with quite a few pullthroughs, though only a very small number will accommodate really big rigs. The main draw is the park itself - fantastic hiking trails, lots of water fun in the park pool and the river. Staff vary as well, from bureaucratic to friendly. Campstore on the premises, plus several just outside the campground. Access to the main part of the park is by a hilly trail (20 minutes minimum) or by driving & parking in public lots in the park. Bicycles popular in the park and campground. This campground is very popular; reservations will be needed for summer and fall weekends, and often during the week as well, especially if you want a specific site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$23
Great State Park. One of the best I've been too. While we camped in April 04 (still a little cold) the scenery was wonderful. Has excellent hiking trails. Will definitely visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com