224123 User submitted reviews online!!
Michigan City Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (219) 872-7600
CGID1085

Michigan City Campground

Camp Information
Sites
147
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   9   9   9   6   2   5   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
Nice park but the sites are tight especially the pull thrus & pool side sites. The pool is cold, Friendly staff.... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$42
This is a reasonably small campground but well kept up. The pool is very large and the grounds are lovely with flowers. There is a small pond with geese. Our site was gravel but level. We shared a patio with the trailer next door which is a new set up for us. Camp ground was a bit loud but quieted down when quiet time started. Would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
Nice campground that is full of seasonal campers. Not that many sites for transient campers. Totally family oriented with playground for kids, pool, and nice grounds. Pull through site we stayed in shares a concrete pad with your neighbor. Sewer placement can require extra hose depending on where your hookups are located. For the nightly rate, they should have cable TV, and this is one reason I didn't rate them higher. They offer no discounts at all. We would look for a less expensive park next time we're in the area as we don't need the playground or swimming pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
This is a nice park and well maintained. We stayed on a premium site which was a pull-through with a concrete pad and large yard. The utilities worked well and the Wi-Fi was one of the fastest we have seen. They don't have cable TV but we were able to pick up several over the air channels. The campground and sites are easy to get in and out of. The office personnel was friendly and helpful and told us about the things to do in the area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
This is a very quiet park; the trains are barely audible and it's near enough to the interstate for easy access, but far enough away that there is no truck noise. Since we were camping early in the season, there very many vacant spots which made it even quieter. The shower stall changing area is a bit cramped but clean. The trees make it an attractive site. We camped in the area in back of the office. I don't know about the front campground sites which are nearer the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$34
We were surprised that this park was open this time of year; but very grateful. It was very windy and then the rain started. The owner was very friendly and wanted to help us. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$19
This campground has a lot of people living here full time that are working construction jobs in the area. Some of these permanent RVs are older and run down. Our site had a nice grassy area in between the site next to ours but no concrete pad. The concrete pad sites are more expensive. All campgrounds get noisy on the weekends with kids and weekend warriors. It wasn't a problem for us and during the week it was very quiet. The campground is family run and the owners are extremely nice and accommodating to the best of their ability. The only complaint we had was that they only had one dumpster for the entire campground and by Sunday it was overflowing with trash piled up on the ground around it. The gravel/dirt road made for a lot of dust but not a big deal if drivers would go slow. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
This is a tale of two campgrounds. There's the new section (sites 201-228), older section (29-93), and the oldest section (1-28). We were in a site that had just been converted from a semi-permanent site. I tried to level the trailer, but the front jack was at its max lift. The view was of 2 old trailers, an old dump truck, and 4 unused propane tanks. This section of the campground (sites 1 & 14-19) appears to be semi-permanents, that are not well maintained. The front section has no shade but is much nicer with adequate room between sites and grass. Unless you can get into the new section, I would recommend going to one of the other campgrounds 30 minutes away. I tried to connect to Wi-Fi all weekend (3 different devices and was "unable to connect"). The campground is 5 minutes from Patriot Park, (Michigan City Parks & Recreation). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
We booked our site 6 months in advance and told the women on the phone the size of our fifth wheel, 36 feet. When we arrived they had us in a site between to 20 year old campers that people lived in year round. The site was so tight I could not make the turn, beyond that the site itself was only 30 feet long meaning 6 feet of my camper was in the road. The staff finally found me a bigger site but that to was in the "trashy section" both neighbors live year round and had loud drinking parties every night we stayed. We used this CG as a base to take the train to Chicago every day so we were only there late evening to early mornings. My son's wanted to play ping pong in the game room when we first arrived but they wanted to charge $2.00 to rent the paddle and ball. I was disappointed in the site we got even when we booked over 6 months in advance. This was the most expensive place I stayed on my 3 week summer trip through Indian and Michigan and was by far the worst. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Too much money for what you received. We would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
This campground is all gravel with rather narrow lots. The front area is without trees and there are only a few in the area close to the office. The grounds are in need of upgrading and the Wi-Fi is very poor. There is no cable, therefor I felt that the price was too high given the lack of quality. It was OK for a one night stay, since we were just passing through. We will choose another campground when coming this way again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
We were not happy here because we couldn't connect to WiFi the entire two days, though there were towers right next to us. Also, their online reservation system didn't work. An upgrade is needed. Overnight sites appeared to be in the front area, no trees, but large grassy lots and long pull-through sites. No discounts given. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We actually settled on this campground after we found our original choice had been unmaintained for quite some time. They worked very hard to shuffle incoming campers so that we could have 2 w/s/e beside each other and an additional electric site nearby. All of this on short notice too! The new addition was not impressive. It was a hunk of land that they bulldozed and added w/s/e sites. There were NO trees, it's RIGHT by the road and was gravel. The pond was more like a large puddle and we didn't see anyone pull a thing from it. The office and its staff was all very nice and helpful. The bathhouse was air conditioned They recently painted the shower bricks in a textured paint which looks really nice. The only complaint is that it's very confined and there's no bench. The pool is nice and well maintained. The campsites is where we had our problems. You park on gravel, there's a small slab of cement and even less grass. Our campsites were probably 40 feet long- barely enough to park a 30ft trailer and the tow truck. If you're wanting a lawn, don't expect it here. Shade is also something that was hard to come by. But our chief complaint would be the site sizes. They are tight to begin and then once you let out the slide outs and get stuff unpacked there's barely enough room for the neighbor to get through on their "grass". Due to the size, the fire pits are also very close to either the trailer of the car. I think we would definitely stay here again, but only because we are usually out seeing the sites. I cannot imagine being stuck on the tiny site with 12 people around a fire. Next time we would get reservations in early so we can get a shady grass spot where we can face the 2 trailers to each other and the tent on a site nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Park has an old section, a less-old section, and a new section, closer to the entry. We were in the new section, which has generous pull-through sites, level, well laid out, quiet. Has nice, friendly owners. Has nice landscaping and flowers in park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
This is a nice park, and the owners are putting money into the park. There are some permanents, their sites are clean. The owner was laying sod in a new section near the entrance when we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Owners were nice, even after owning this place for 8 years, there is a ton of work still to done at this park. The bathrooms need a serious upgrade. Only 3 showers, no place for soap or shampoo, if you leave your shoes on the floor in the extremely small dressing area, they will get soaked. I cannot imagine that these showers will be adequate when it gets busy in the summer, especially since they allow tenters. The RV sites out front were nice and wide. It's close to the road, but not a lot of road noise. This park is close to public transportation, so we took the train to Chicago. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
Not a friendly place. We used to like it here, but they have gotten so strict that we have our tent for privacy and the kids each have their own, one boy teen and one girl teen. Our adult kids are not welcome to visit us without paying. We should have gone to a state campground. Restrooms are not up to date and we wonder when they were cleaned last. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
We had reservations for the better area of the park, but when we checked in we were told it wasn't available. They only let us into the front area next to the highway on a dirt/gravel road with a lot of highway noise. The "grass" was really weeds and was full of dog waste. The "trees" are just planted so there's no shade. Might as well be in a Wal-mart parking lot. The garbage dumpsters were completely full and overflowing onto the ground, with piles of three garbage bags deep on the ground. At least at Wal-mart they keep it clean. We brought our grand-kids with us and during our campfire the check-in person drove into our site and told us we owed him more money: he made a mistake at check-in, then treated us like we were criminals. Oh yes: construction tractors began work 50 feet from our site at nine in the morning and the dust and dirt were a real mess. Good luck: maybe in another life this will be a good campground. I spend about 200 days a year in my RV and this is not a friendly or happy place to enjoy a vacation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
Negatives: NONE Positives: Owner operated, and very friendly and helpful. WIFI worked great. They have worked very hard on updating an older campground, and recently added a new row of pull-thrus and are adding still another new section of pull-thrus. Park is just off I-80, and close to major servicing in Michigan City. I would not hesitate to recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$37
The park is small, and the bathrooms were not clean. There were leaves on the ground when I walked in. The facilities looked OK, but not the shower! I showered in our RV instead. The hosts were nice, but the campground is not a good value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
The owner-operators are extremely friendly, outgoing and helpful. The campground is a short distance from the highway and very quiet. The gravel sites are reasonably level with easy access for big rigs. The restrooms, showers and laundry area are clean. One of the most outstanding features of this campground is the water. They have a large water softener system that delivers soft water to every site. We are full time RVers in a Class A motor home and will definitely recommend this campground to everyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Internal roads are gravel and bumpy. Sites gravel and some are not very level. Sites are 20' apart (close). Large enough for big rigs (pull-thrus). Was an old KOA, so facilities are old, but maintained. Staff is helpful and cheerful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2006
$32
Very rough roads, site not level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2005
$31
This is probably the most expensive campground I've stayed in period, except for Florida in the winter. It is also the most trashy looking campground I have ever stayed in. Many perm. units with trash all around them. We didn't feel very secure here. I would stay away from this place at all cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$31
We stayed here for 2 nights to recuperate from driving long distance. It was quiet but busy. People stopping in for night and gone early next morning. Was not disturbed by any noise. Don't use the laundry room. It was absolutely clean and updated but had sulfur in the water. Stained some clothes and smelled horrible. The drinking water we had no problem with. For an overnighter I'd stop here again but will not use their laundry facilities again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
This has to be one of the worst campgrounds that I have ever had the displeasure of attending. The campsites are extremely small and tight and very unlevel. A pig farm has gone in right next door to the campground-you can imagine what that smells like. The rooster from that farm crowes at all hours of the day and night. The showers were clean, but so small, that I felt like I was showering in a small dark closet! I even ran out of hot water, which has never happened before, not even in a State Park. What is worse is that I was talking to a park ranger in the Dunes area and was told that out of all of the private run campgrounds, that this one was the best. If you want to go to the Dunes, please try to go to the State Park. If you go here, you are not going to be a happy camper. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$28
The park Looks Good We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2000
$21
OK overnighter campground north of the tollroad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com