218135 User submitted reviews online!!
Sunset Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (435) 834-5322
CGID10871

Sunset Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
101
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$7.5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   7   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$7.5
Hubby and I drove through here in late afternoon, hoping to find a vacancy, and there were several. You drive through and pick your site, then go back up and deposit your payment in the envelope provided. Very quiet and peaceful with tall pines and brush. The site had a picnic table and firepit. You have to drive across the main road to go to the General Store to buy firewood and take showers. Nice, well-stocked store, and the shower was $2 for 8 minutes, very ample. You can walk to the shuttle pick-up station and see all the best sights from there. Would love to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$8
Quiet campground, with sites well-spaced. Rate reflects senior discount. Dry camping, but unthreaded water spigots are available. Free Wi-Fi available at three nearby places: the lodge, the general store and the visitor center. Handy free shuttle bus takes you wherever you want to go in the Canyon, with a bus stop within easy walking distance of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$7.5
We alternated between Sunset Campground and Ruby's RV Park. There are no RV hook-ups in Bryce at all and RV's are only allowed in Sunset CG. We asked an employee how early the next morning we'd need to be there (no advance reserve) and he said it rarely fills up entirely, even in high season which it is. Nice quiet part-shaded park and we had our choice of many sites at noon. Once you reserve you can have the the same spot as long as you want. The best part is the location, just 2 minutes from Sunset Point which is one of the very best locations for both sunrise and sunset viewing and photography. Sunset Point has a smaller parking area than Sunrise Point but because we were so close we always got a good spot. Showers are below par, cost $2/8 minutes and located at the General Store nearby. Watch out on park roads for the crazies driving rental RV's too fast and as if it was a sports car, most with CA tags. We also filled water jugs at the picnic areas (filled water tank at Ruby's). There is a dump station at the campground with a honor pay of $5. Well worth it to support this fabulous park. I'd definitely stay here again in good weather (not requiring A/C). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
When we got here, the other campground was closed due to a scheduled burn going on. So the campground was very crowded; we got the next to last spot about 3:00 pm on a Wednesday afternoon. Consequently, our site was just large enough for us to perch on the side of the road, and we are in a 21' Class C. Would not recommend for bigger rigs, unless you can reserve a more appropriate spot. Registration was at a self-pay booth. One of the hosts was less than helpful; she seemed frazzled by the number of campers looking for spots. However, once we made contact with the host in our area, he was friendly and pointed out the last two available sites to us. Shuttles were not nearly as accessible or self-explanatory as we have seen at other national parks. We much preferred our stay at Zion, but maybe if both campgrounds had been open, we would have had a better stay. Bryce Canyon is beautiful, though! We just drove it ourselves instead of depending on the shuttle. Don't miss it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$15
As mentioned elsewhere, no hookups and Park restrooms lacks showers. Verizon MiFi card did not really work. Bathrooms were clean if not terribly well appointed. I'm new to RV'ing so I find it a bit claustrophobic to have so many large vehicles intermingling with nature - it's not the kind of camping I grew up with. However, in comparison to Ruby's outside the park, this campground was positively "in nature" and as such, my favorite stop on our whirlwind tour. We expected more trouble getting a space; however we got into the park mid-day/mid week in late June and there were ample choices. Our RV was relatively small and maneuverable so it was easy to level the rig just by angling it correctly in the allocated space; others seem to have slightly more challenging conditions. We seemed to have stopped in Bryce in the high season and there was a fair amount of traffic and road noise, so there was no fantasy of being in remote wilderness. But, the location was good and the stars at night were brilliant. Just a short stroll from the campground entrance (10 mins max) to the trail-heads for some of the most popular hikes... and the park shuttle stops in front of the campground entrance, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
Some sites were set aside for RV's and a few were pull-through. Typical NRA park with no facilities. Great place to stay when visiting the park. The camping fee does not include the $ 25 entrance fee. Prefer this to North Park. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$15
Both Sunset Campground and North Campground are within Bryce Canyon National Park. The North Campground is reviewed elsewhere. In Sunset CG, Loop A is for RV's. Loops B & C are for tests only. Sunset CG has fewer RV sites than North and the sites tend to be smaller and not as level but it is still a great CG. It is a little more out of the way, so tends to be a bit quite. It is actually more convenient for the shuttle than North CG and it is quite easy to walk a short distance and be on the rim where most of the hikes start. It is a little more removed from laundry and showers, both in the General Store, than the North CG, but you would likely want to drive in either case. Sunset is not recommended for really large rigs, for that go to North. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com