206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Ajax Country Livin' RV Park at I-49 was rated 8 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (318) 796-2543
CGID10891

Ajax Country Livin' RV Park at I-49

Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   8   7   9   6   8   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$18
Owners were really friendly and helpful. A very pretty lake. For friendliness I give them a 10+. Site seem fairly level, not to close together. Can get Directv with satellite, there are some trees, but most sites you can receive a signal. Verizon(tracfone) had three bars and was on 4g LTE. I would tell a friend and also I will stay here again. I just stayed for the night. Didn't use shower or restrooms so can't comment on those. Getting into the drive do watch it; it is narrow, but they have it marked well. It says .30 miles to the park after coming off of I-49; it will be on the left. Their sign is not real big, but it seems most RV parks aren't. Great owners. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$16
The rate is Passport America for 30 amp service (I don't need 50). The owner is friendly and gave me a choice of sites. Sites are wide enough but as others stated, sites are not easy to level. Hook ups are good. Verizon cell & hotspot are strong and satellite is good. I couldn't pull in any local stations via the antenna. The entrance is very narrow and the drainage ditches are everywhere so proceed with caution. There is a lumber mill across the road with saws running during the day and truck traffic coming and going. I will pass this campground by if in this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$19
We stayed 2 nights in a 42 MH, with 50amp. Nineteen a night with PA. This is a nice little park, but not for big rigs. The entrance drive is very narrow coming off of a two lane road. Sites are gravel/grass, more grass than gravel and not level enough for the automatic jacks to level. There are drainage ditches which makes things even tighter. We got parked next to the only tree in the park. On our left front, no way to turn into the drive without eating the tree. Lots of open sites but we got this one?? Do these gate keepers not have any idea? Fortunately, the site across the road was open when we left, which allows us to exit on the next road. Still tight. And with rain and more anticipated we were worried we might not be able to get out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$19
A nice stop for 1 or 2 nights especially if you like to fish. Sites are easy to get in good WiFi and all power and water. Entrance is a little tricky in and out but other then that good park We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$17
A very pleasant place to camp. Very friendly owner. Good Wi-Fi and utilities. Some shade. Convenient to the interstate. A quiet, attractive campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
Right off the highway. Nice lake. Clean. OK for one night. Friendly staff. About 17 miles to Natchitoches if you want to dine out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
If you're looking for a resort with a pool you're out of luck. If you want a quiet, restful park with friendly owners, a fishing pond and beautiful views; you have hit the jackpot. It's centrally located for the areas attractions. The only negative is the saw mill across the hwy but it closes early in the day so your evenings are peaceful and quiet. The campsites are grassy with an under layer of rocks and fairly level. The owners are knowledgeable about the area and brought us homemade soup the second night we camped. We would absolutely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
We stayed here for one night on our way to Texas. Campground is easy access to the interstate. Owners are very friendly and greeted us with cookies and fudge! Campground was quiet and peaceful. Not much around the campground in the way of stores. Overall campground was very nice. Will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$16
Located at exit 155 off of I-49, the park is easy to get to and very accessible. We did not hear any highway noise. The sites are level and very long and big rig friendly. We did not have to disconnect. The park offered free Wi-Fi. We used this park as a stopping point and will stay here again. There was a snack shop across the road, which offered a daily lunch and breakfast. I was told they have craw fish during the season. The park accepts many discounts,. We used Passport America. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$17
This is a very well maintained park, just a short drive off of the interstate. You can tell the pride the owners take in their park. Water pressure is good, electrical connections and power are good, sewer connections are all in good condition. Sites are level with gravel pads. Interior roads are gravel with no pot holes. Wi-fi worked well. The owners are very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. One day of our stay the owner walked over with fresh bean soup and biscuits for lunch and a short visit. The lake is small but clean, and there is a nice mowed area all the way around the lake. There is a sawmill across the road, but the noise was not bad. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$16
Beautiful spot overlooking a lake. Owner was very nice. Big, spacious sites that were level. Nice area to stay in; lots to do, and the owners are very knowledgeable about the area. The setting here is excellent. Will definitely be back!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$17
I couldn't have been in the same park that prior reviewer's were, rating this park with 8's and 9's seems extremely generous to me, if not completely irrational. This park is a small group of RV spaces on the side of a small grassy hill with some gravel sprinkled about the drives and pull-through site areas, but mostly grass. By strictest definition the "lake" is more a small Louisiana swamp, complete with its own resident alligator. The internet / Wi-Fi is ridiculously slow even with only five other RV's in the park, but given the area it is probably the best that they have access to. Bathrooms not very impressive and had a terrible smell in both. Price paid is after Passport America discount - cash or check only. Far from the highway, but there was continuous truck noise from the logging / lumber operation across the street. Trucks and buzz saws started early in the evening and lasted all night until we left in the morning. As if the lumber operation didn't make it hard enough to sleep, the dumpster was emptied at exactly 3:58 am by one of those big diesel trash trucks that lifts the dumpster up and you can hear the lids slam as it is emptied - now I know why the owners put it at the far end of the park (such as it is in this tiny park) away from their home. Choices are few and far between in this area, but if traveling through here again I would plan my route so as to stop short or go further down the road to avoid staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$13
This is a delightful little park. We stayed here four nights and would definitely return. Very friendly, helpful hosts. Pretty little pond, well-kept grounds, picnic tables, some shade, pretty level sites. Laundry is small, but adequate. Didn't use restrooms/showers. Pretty quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$13
Price reflects Passport America rate. Nice little Mom & Pop campground, great for an overnight visit. Fairly level gravel/grass sites, mostly pull-throughs. Good Wi-Fi. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
This was a perfect for overnight stop for us. The manager was here to greet us at the front office. But, be sure to have cash or check on hand. The site was easy to get to, level, and simple to pull through. WiFi was strong. Picnic table was at our site. Lighted walkway to the bathhouse. Clean bathroom and shower although there was an slight odor. No cable, but local TV was available. Quiet campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
3/10 mile from interstate. Quiet park overlooking private lake. Bring your fishing pole no license required and they have bass. Only bad was driveway is narrow covert so arrive during daylight. friendly, helpful host. Clean park. We will overnight here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Very nice, well-maintained, easy access, nice owners on-site, fairly level sites, pretty spot, quiet and peaceful. Right off of I-49 but no road noise, I guess because of the terrain and trees. This is a great over-nighter and could be more if you explore the area, especially the fishing opportunities. Interstate 49 was in very good shape and the traffic is fairly light from Lafayette to Shreveport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$16
We are staying at the discounted rate through Passport America. What a great little park! Excellent first impression when driving into the registration area. Very nice on-site owners. The park is immaculate and well maintained. We will extend our stay just because it so nice. The owner gave us lots of local information about everything from historical sights to where to get local crawfish. Very large gassy sights - just a wonderful little park. They even have a pond stocked with fish that you may catch and release. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$12
Very scenic little RV park. Owner was very friendly and helpful (told us about the crayfish vendor down the street). Single toilet/shower combo per sex. Water was hot and bathroom set up nicely. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$13
Rate is the Passport rate. We stayed here last year when traveling through. It is a small park good for an overnight stop. Sites are a mix of grass and stone. We had a nice long pull-through. Utilities were in working order but the water on our site was a little low. It is within a half mile of I-49 but you here no road noise. If in the area we would stay again. We cannot comment on the office because no one was there during our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$16
This is a nice park overall, but water is a little awkward to get on and doesn't seen to have full pressure. The roads are a little tight especially at the entrance . We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$12
Very nice RV park. The sites are close to level and full hookup. You can fish (catch and release) at the on-site lake (bass, crappie, bream, catfish) for free. Don't swim or catch the two resident gators. One is 3 foot and the other 5 foot. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$12
Very nice park. Owner was very helpful and courteous. Full hookups, but no cable and TV reception was marginal. We were overnighting, but would stay longer if time allowed. Rate is PPA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$24
Good overnight park with clean but worn bathroom facilities. Nothing fancy, but we would stay here again if passing through the area, We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
Nice, quiet park in a country setting. Friendly staff. Nice little pond on site. Good spot for an overnight, close to the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$15
The price was right and the owner showed us site that were available. Very limited on 50 amp service, had to settle on 30 amp service. Wi-Fi is almost no service. Great pond and sunset view. Remote and a very long haul if you want go shopping or dining. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$16
A few long, good pull through sites. Most are working campers, but it was a very pleasant stay for one night. Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$16
We stayed here one night while passing thru the area. I would classify this as an overnight park. We were put in a nice long pull-thru. There are a lot of permanent RV's and a note on the office door that there are no more monthly sites left. It was quiet. The power went out for a couple minutes at least 2x but it was cold and people were probably turning on their heaters. I had our surge protection which is a must when traveling. The lady in the office was very nice and helpful. If in the area we would probably stay again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$12
Ideal spot for taking in nearby Civil War sites. Conveniently located off interstate, yet quiet. Facilities were clean, well kept. Owners were super friendly and helpful. They need to add a few more tent sites and improve the existing ones. The tent area is in a grove to the rear of the campground. Nearest stores/gas are some distance away (not at the interstate exit), so make sure you stock up before arriving. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
Nice setup. We are here on several HOT DAYS and I mean hot and very humid, No problem with the electric. I am sure that every rig had all a/c's in high gear. The drives and parking area are crushed rock I would foresee no problem if it rains.. We will come back. It is but 1/4 mile from I-45 so it is convenient to travelers. CCC We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$13
I would so love to give this park a good rating. We had a big enough spot for our 34" fifth wheel with slides, the owner was very helpful and friendly (and gave us a couple of pieces of homemade cake one evening), the little lake is charming, and the location is right off the interstate highway. There is indeed a sawmill across the road, but the noise wasn't loud or bothersome (we were in the middle of the park, not right by the road). There are a few ruts in the roads in the park, but nothing too serious. The site was grass, but we leveled our trailer easily. The birdsong around sunrise and sunset was wonderful. However, the wifi was very spotty (it was out entirely for an afternoon/night). We had a good connection to the access point in the office, but their connection isn't the greatest. Worst of all, though, were the electrical problems. Our pedestal kept dropping power (it ranged from 100 to 122v) and we had brownouts and outages of the sort that can damage appliances. I would recommend a voltage regulator/booster for stays at this park. Too bad, because otherwise we quite enjoyed it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$10
This park has plenty of good and plenty of "not so good". It’s located right next to small lake with a tranquil setting to enjoy. There is even a 5 ft alligator that resides within so swimming is not allowed. The pull-through site was easy to access with our 41'RV, including our 14' trailer. The site had some ruts and lots of dirt, which raised concern if it rained. Although very level, the sites are close together, with some room for a picnic table - but not all sites have them. There is a little highway noise, although not enough to affect sleeping. Our biggest complaint is the tight quarters and all the workers apparently camped here to work on a major project somewhere. They had a lot of "stuff" around their coaches and were up at the crack of dawn, warming up their diesel pickups to provide an annoying alarm clock. This may be a season thing. The nicest thing about the park is the lake setting and the very friendly staff. We used our CCUSA discount - cash or check ONLY. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
First, I must comment that the owners of the park are very nice and helpful people . The pull-throughs are large and we did not have to disconnect. This is a park for an overnight stay only for the following reasons: The park has gravel roads with grass/mud spaces. They did not have any overnighters while we were there, but were full of maintenance workers that work off site. No problems, but because they are long term, the sites were not kept up well. Maybe at other times of the year it is different. My biggest issues were fire ants and water. Our site was full of ants and I had to spray just for the two days we were here. I was bitten 3 times before I was set up. I believe the owners of all campgrounds should be aware of issues like these and at least warn you beforehand. Second the water quality was poor. The water had way too much iron in it to drink or even to wash clothes. This is not the first time I have run into this problem but it can be remedied by the owners. As we paid an additional $4 per night (for 50 amp) so that we could wash clothes, and found we could not, bothered me a bit. There is a saw mill across the street but the noise did not bother us as we were closed up because of the heat. I would stay here again but would have a full tank of fresh water before I arrived and plenty of fire ant killer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
What a nice park. We full time and try to use our Passport America discount when possible. This was a treat. The park does not have any real appeal at first but there is a lot to do in the area and if you like to fish the small lake will keep you busy. Sites are pretty level and makes a great place to get off the road or spend a couple of days. I did not get the name of the lady who runs the park but she is very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$10
The new owners of this park are very friendly and helpful. The Mrs. came out one evening and gave us fresh homemade cake. The sites are grassy and spacious. It is easy access to the highway. There is a logging operation across the street that starts at 7am and ends at 3:30pm so it is quiet in the evening. There are several historical towns close by. There is a lovely pond on site. Clean and well kept. We stayed here in a motor home for 6 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
Only problem was sawmill across road started up at 6:30 - 7 am every morning! But a nice, otherwise quiet, clean campground. Young couple just purchased campground in November and are trying to learn all. Very helpful and friendly! We plan on stopping in again next year! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$10
Our rate was at the Passport America rate. Most other membership rates are around $16. Great, little spot with easy freeway access and well-lit for those who arrive at night as we did. Brilliant stars at night and a cacophony of frogs and other nighttime insects gave a feeling of really being out in the boonies. While the spaces are unpaved, we had no problem getting level. Highly recommended for its location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$10
Has clean shower and toilets. Also has laundry with normal size washer and dryers. All sites have 20 amp and 30 amp with half of them being 50 amp. Small lake that a lady caught a 6 pound bass while we were there. Roads are gravel. Sites are level with gravel and grass. Some sites occupied by workers working pipeline installation and had been there for 3 months and were friendly. Spent 3 nights with friends that were headed west. Nightly rate without discounts is $20. Discounts for Good Sam, Passport America and some I had never heard of. One night visitors were common. A good place to stay for 1 night when traveling I-49. Exit # is 155 and 1/4 mile west. Nachitoches is 14 miles south and Shreveport is 40 miles north. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com