215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Clear Lake State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (641) 357-4212
CGID10896

Clear Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
176
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   7   5   9   7   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$16
Wonderfully located on Clear Lake, a mere block walking downhill through the mature oak trees through park to the sandy beach. The campground is easy to miss; the entrance is right on a curve in the road. The green grassy sites are on a very small slope. No gravel site looked level, needing blocks under one side of the trailer. The long pull-through sites with grassy areas separating the trailers are designed with electricity in the center so that two families can park with doors facing, to share the central space. We stayed after beach season and the campground was quiet. Downtown Clear Lake's small shops of independent retailers is a short drive north. Most weekends feature a festival of some type. The campground is also conveniently located within a few miles of historic Surf Ballroom which hosts local and national talent. The Surf Ballroom is also where 3 talented musicians played their last concerts on night of the 2/3/1959 "the day the music died" - Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens, and The Big Bopper. I will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
Busy park on weekends, but nice with security and police presence visible. Bathrooms are clean and sites are big enough to enjoy yourself. Self-registration and nice walks along the huge lake. Great place for families. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
Nice park. Great rates. Too many sites taken by "squatters with nobody home or there for days. There seems to be different rules for some on length of stay, etc. Need a few more full hook up sites. For a huge campground I think there are 2 or 3 full hook ups and those are only for hosts. Overall a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$12
Nice campgrounds but there are only six with water and they weren't completely done. Otherwise the camp sites are too close together. Not much grass at the camp sites either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$19
We enjoyed friendly and helpful hosts. Appreciated clean restrooms and showers. Not all sites are level, we needed to drive around. Will certainly return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$14
It is close to the lake, where there is a large beach. There are new shower houses under construction. The price is good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This campground is across the road from a large lake off I-35 north of Des Moines, Iowa. You cannot see the lake from the campground. The campground roads are gravel and so are the sites. The campground is surrounded by cornfields and very quiet. If you are looking for a pool or activities this is not the campground for you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$11
Large park just a few miles from I-35. The dump station and rest rooms were closed due to the time of year. Park has access to lake, but we didn't explore a lot because we were just here for a quick over night. Many sites open enough for satellite and our Verizon air card and phone worked great. Sites were not real level, but long pull throughs for easy access. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com