223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Oak Lake Family Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (219) 306-8223
CGID10905

Oak Lake Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
290
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   7   6   8   6   9   9   7   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$39
Campground had volleyball court, jumpshot, fun cycles, jumping pillow, playground, and a pond with inflatables. They charged $15/kid for the weekend for the use of the jumpshot, jumping pillow, fun cycles, and inflatables. The camp store had some hot food and soft serve ice cream, along with miscellaneous food items, candy, pop, etc. They had a glow in the dark parade on Saturday, which the kids loved. There were a lot of kids around during the day, but it was pretty quiet at night. The seasonals were newer trailers, and were toward the back of the campground. Some of the seasonals were all gravel instead of grass, but maybe that's less maintenance? There weren't a lot of golf carts, which was nice. If the wind shifted, you got a whiff of cow manure, but there are a lot of farms in the area. There was also the occasional train whistle. The owner and staff were very friendly. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
We stayed in site #50 in this charming RV park. From our front door, we looked about 50 feet to the edge of their "lake" (large pond) with its fountain. Wi-Fi worked well, as did our Verizon and T-Mobile devices. Good interior roads, level sites, many seasonal campers. This place is so serene - we hated to leave. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
This campground was nice. We stayed here through the winter and found that ALL amenities were shut down, including the plowing of the campground roads. The owners are nice, accommodating people. They are a little testy about the payments. If you stay for a month and leave early you will not be getting a refund even with giving notice. They then put you on a weekly rate and charge you money for leaving early. We came to a fair arrangement. But still a little frustrating. The fall leaves were beautiful and the campsites level. Very sandy and muddy...so the inside of the RV's get dirty quickly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$37
This park served the purpose for a place to stay while visiting friends for 3 nights in the Chicago area. Pickings for an RV park around here are almost nonexistent. Sites are gravel/grass and fairly level. Voltage was good but water pressure fluctuated quite a bit. We were lucky to get the best site in the park for transients. We had a clear shot for my sat TV tripod/dish. We would stay here again but would probably keep searching for a better place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$37
This was a nice campground. The people were very nice. We checked in and they escorted us to our site. There are quite a few seasonal sites, but it looked like some dropped off their RV never to return. However, most were well kept. We were assigned a wonderful pull-through site with a view of the beach and easy access to fishing. Marked trails, which we didn't take advantage of due to rain. Nice general store, which also served as a small gathering place and game room. Hot baked bread on Saturday morning for a small price. We would have given this park a 10 if they had a pool and an organized activity for Saturday night. Close to gas stations, grocery store and ice cream parlor. We will go back!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
Oak Lake Family Campground was our very first campground where we tried out our new hybrid trailer. The site was very clean, quiet, and small (which we liked). Unfortunately, because the site is small, there is only one bathroom/shower house available ( which is very clean). The staff was very nice and helpful. We did not have any children with us on this trip, but it appeared that they had a lake, bikes, and basketball court. We loved the price- $37. However, we did not like their nets (bugs). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
What a find!! This is clearly an older, established campground that acts like one!! Loads of tall trees for a very woodsy feel, lots of connected winding roads for walking and biking, lovely lake with swim beach and pier and island for catch and release fishing. Surrounded by farmland -- classic Hoosierland!! I love pools, and they don't have one - the only thing that keeps my rating from being a 10! The owner came out to our rig to get her "dog fix" when she found out we had two large and friendly pooches. Very welcoming and helpful staff. Not much entertainment in the area, but if you want a true camping experience, don't miss this one!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
We camped over Memorial Day weekend. The park was clean and the staff was friendly. On Saturday and Sunday they offered activities for kids and adults. They also offered homemade waffles, bread, biscuits and gravy for a $. It was very good. On Sunday they had a lighted parade which was the best I've seen. The site we had was very accommodating for our large travel trailer. Very wooded and quiet. The only cons were no pool, they have a nice lake with toys in it and no storm shelter. We would definitely stay again. Would have given a 10 if they had a pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$13
We stayed 5 weeks in site 1. Has full 50amp hookups. Owners are great and will help in anyway possible, including having people bring out propane. There's a dump on site if needed. Has new restrooms and laundry. They have owned the campground one year and trying to bring it up to higher standards. The lake has a trampoline which makes it a lot of fun for all ages. Kids playground is great too. We will stay here often while visiting family in Chicago. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
The good - friendly staff. The bad: Not big rig friendly - impossible turn into pull through site when hooked with tow and hit a tree with awning. The owner was leading us in on a bicycle. Needed heavy duty wrecker to bend tree away from motor home to proceed without further damage. We asked for and paid for a 50 amp site but when hooking up found two 30 amp outlets - no 50! (Site 56). Needed our extension cord to reach next door site which had an unused 50 amp. Needed our sewer hose extension to reach sewer 20" from our connection. Current owner has owned this only one year and acknowledged he has to cut some trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
We camped here with a camping group. The park is clean, the hosts are nice and helpful. The price is rather high for a campground w/out a pool. They do not allow one to bring in any kind of campfire wood. You must buy wood from them @ $90.00 a pick-up full. If you don't burn it you must leave it, cannot take it with you. Wi-Fi?? Only if you are willing to go up to the office (when it's open) to use it. One of our campers had their two daughters come on Saturday and leave Sunday morning: they charged them $8.00 a piece to stay overnight. We, all 12 families, will not be going back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
Older park under new management/ownership. They are really cleaning up the park. It is heavily wooded. They have had organized group activities. There are several cabins. It looks like the new owners will make this into a first class park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com