214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Potato Creek State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (574) 656-8186
CGID1093

Potato Creek State Park

Camp Information
Sites
287
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   9   8   10   9   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
Potato Creek is another of Indiana's great state parks. Big park on a lake that had a swimming beach, great bicycle trails on and off road, nature center, camp store, boat rental just to mention a few of the things offered. Lots of mature trees in campground. The showers and restrooms were very clean. Saw lots of campground personnel constantly check on the restrooms and the garbage. Like most campgrounds on a weekend there were lots of kids and barking dogs. There was not a lot of privacy between campsites so all that became very obvious once the weekend began. During the week it was very peaceful and quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$23
Rate cited is the discounted Sunday through Thursday rate. Very quiet park for a four night stay during the week. Nice paved road through the park and campground, but the sites are gravel (handicapped sites are paved). Some sites have a slope, but most look level. We camped on site #74, which is level. Sites have lots of space in between one another. We have stayed here often and will continue to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
This is a lovely state park campground and although there were no amenities, only power, it is a very popular place. There are wonderful bicycle paths and trails and very large campsites. It was very cool while we were here, since we were trying to conserve our water supply, I tried out the showers. At first I had hot water, but within a few minutes it was cold. All the windows were left open all day and night so it was freezing in the bath house. It is a very family friendly campground and was almost full when we arrived. Since it is close to Notre Dame, you may need to have reservations on a ball game weekend. The grounds are well kept and we saw several turkeys during our stay. I would definitely stay here again if visiting the South Bend, Indiana area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
A big park with lots of RV spaces, but there is very adequate space between each site. Park is off the beaten path and campground is several miles inside the park. Level sites with adequate space to back into. There are some pull-throughs. Very quiet atmosphere. Regular patrols by park personnel. Bathhouses were cleaned regularly. Some sites are heavily treed and some fairly open. We had 3-4 trees, but satellite reception was not a problem. Limited cellular reception. Overall, nice park, friendly staff. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
We stay at this state park often, and have never had a problem with it. The park itself is huge, with a wonderful lake to take small watercraft on. No gas motors. The nature center is great if you have little kids, and the general store is well stocked. The people that work in the store are very helpful and knowledgeable. You can purchase day fishing licenses from the general store, which is very helpful. This trip we chose a pull through site since we were camping with another couple. They had a back in site right next to ours so we were able to buddy camp with a wonderful grassy area for us to share. We did have some loud young adults across from us, but one mention to them that they were a bit loud was all it took for them to quiet down. The park has great ranger presence, which gives nice peace of mind if you are traveling with little ones. We will always pick this as our place to go when we don't want to travel to far from home. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
Sites are large, grassy and have adequate shade. Many trees have seasoned since park opened. A large playground in center of loops with smaller ones in surrounding areas. There is a scenic bike trail and a moderately challenging mountain bike trail, plus several hiking trails. Lake is clean, but fished out. Beach is nice and there is boat and canoe rental and a large fishing pier. Roads are wide and well-marked and staff is friendly and helpful. Restrooms and showers cleaned and well-maintained. One of our favorite destinations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
We have camped twice this year in our pop up and will be returning next weekend with our new travel trailer. This state park was a nice surprise. The sites a bit more grassy than most state parks. Large sites with lots of shade. Very clean. Nice beach area with concessions. Fishing and canoe rentals are nice. Bring a bike, lots of places to ride. Nature center is nice for the kids. Still wish more state parks had full hookups, we would stay more often. We will return for sure. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
Avoid site 54 like the plague: they have allowed a mulberry tree to overlap the entry to the site and it's a mess. Please remove! The park has developed beautifully into a mecca for the locals. Nice beach by Indiana standards. Well maintained park (except for the aforementioned mulberry tree). Hospitable former Marine at the entry to the camping area, check in lady was a bit of a crank. Has a nice size lake for kayaking, etc. Located near any shopping you want in South Bend or Amish area. Biking was excellent as was any Amish place for food. Will stay here again, just not site 54. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
A well rounded state park with a wide variety of activities. The campsites are mostly level. There are only a few pull-thru sites. Very few sites are well shaded. The comfort stations are clean. Sites are pretty large. One large playground in the campground and several in the park. There is a wonderful 3.3 mile paved bike trail around Worster Lake. The 6.6 mile mountain bike trail was a blast. Two boat launches and two fishing piers, but the lake is really over fished. Decent beach. Nice nature center. Bridal trails and horseman's campground. Several miles of hiking trails. In the fall there is a prairie maze. Osprey nest is always worth a look. The ospreys can often be seen catching fish. Really a lot to do here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
Nice sites and pretty big place. Wish the bathroom had better water pressure and decent heads on the showers. Lots of things to do here. Great fishing and bike trails especially. Kids loved the playground by our site. Sites could be leveled out a little better for us pop up campers with the lousy leveling jacks. Overall we have been there numerous times and will be returning soon. Fun place! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
If this was the only campground I had ever been to, I'd probably think it was acceptable but fortunately, I have a variety of places for comparison. The site we had was very challenging to get leveled on. The sites across the street from ours had drainage issues as there was ankle deep, standing water from recent rain. The electric posts were not conveniently located and no on site water was a major downer. There were an abundance of sites which also meant an abundance of noisy children, barking dogs, clothes lines, bikes, slow walking people that wouldn't get out of the way for oncoming traffic and just generally all the related crap. I was very irritated that you have to pay an additional park entrance fee. I would not stay at this location again unless it was an absolute necessity. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$17
As previously mentioned, the sites are very large. Not all are level - getting our 34' trailer level front-to-back in our site was a bit of a challenge - but most are level enough for most rigs. No privacy between sites, but with lots of elbow room, it didn't matter too much. The park is popular; it was almost 1/2 full during the week. Seems popular with groups (family/friends). Lots of trails, a nice lake to fish in (and with a swimming beach as well), and within an hour or so of many attractions: Amish country, RV factories, etc. Bathhouse capacity a bit inadequate for the number of sites, but kept clean enough. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$17
We had a very nice camping experience at this park. This was our first time to camp here, and have only good things to say about it. We camped just before labor day, and hardly anyone was around midweek. The facilities were great: nice campsites, a nice lake with walking trails, fishing doc, and boat rentals. The bike trails were a highlight. The camp is under firewood restriction, so only construction type lumber can be brought into the park for firewood. We look forward to a return trip! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Potato Creek is at the top of our list of places to camp. The sites are huge, we camped with our tenter friends and our TT is 37'. We still had room for a screenroom, tho it wasn't necessary-no bugs. We had 2 cars too. Some sites are shadier then others. Plenty of room, that's why we love this park, along with the great bike path and the beach. My only complaint with Potato Creek is the shower houses. There are plenty of facilities, but they lack routine and consistent cleaning and were always running out of toilet paper. Some of the showers need repair, there is always a problem with the water pressure or tempature. Either too hot or too cold or not enough pressure. If the bathrooms were better tended I would give it a ten. There is a Wal-mart 20 minutes away on Rt. 31 towards South Bend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2004
$23
This is a wonderful campground and very busy. They have a large lake for fishing,swimming etc. Lots of trails. The staff goes above and beyond the call of duty. On the Labor Day Weekend they found us a spot to stay even though they were booked full. We arrived a couple of days before and checked with them daily to see if they had a cancellation but they didn't then the day before we were to leave they came down to our site to pick one of us up, they had found a spot for us. We needed to reregister but that was ok we stays for several more days, the sites are huge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$16
This is a great place for kids, and there are lots of them here. The park has an excellent bike trail, lots of bike riding on campground roads, numerous playgrounds, hiking/walking trails, a nature center with good programs, a small beach and a nice lake with good fishing. No water or sewer hookups, but potable water throughout the park. Some of the electrical boxes are far back on the site - we needed a 50' extension cord. Sites aren't particularly private - no understory - but you're not on top of your neighbor. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$18
I'm from Michigan. I'll pick Indiana Parks in a heartbeat. Potato Creek State Park is one of our favorites. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com