224124 User submitted reviews online!!
Cecil M. Harden Lake (Raccoon SRA) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (765) 344-1412
CGID1097

Cecil M. Harden Lake (Raccoon SRA)

Camp Information
Sites
327
Date of Stay
October 2011
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   6   7   7   7   5   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Stayed here over the Halloween weekend. Had a great time! Park was full with all kinds of great decorations, plus lots of fun events. Will be back next year! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
This was a very hard campground to review. As we sit here on this nice, sunny, warm weekend, in a very busy loop, I would say that we would never come back here again. We had been here off season several years ago and it was good. It is a very, very busy campground with close sites. It is very noisy at night during the busy season. Lots of yelling, etc. with little sign of any noise enforcement. Even the stated quiet hours only go from 11 pm. to 7 pm. so don't depend on a lot of quiet. Also, lots of smoke from smoldering campfires. The lake is lovely and would be great for water sports. There are some hiking trails. Biking is OK, but the traffic is very heavy and fast, again with no speed limit enforcement. Most important, many, many of the sites are very, very sloped. I would say at least 50 percent and perhaps more would not be usable my a motorhome. They will only let you change sites once and the sign says that you cannot change sites on weekends! So, what do you do when you cannot fit into a site? I left it as big rig friendly and drive through sites, but am not for sure where those would be. I would certainly not come here in a big rig. So, if it is off season, OK. During prime season, if you want some peace and quiet, find another place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
A good place to relax, a nice distance from Indianapolis. It can get real busy during the summer months. Nice facilities, and a camp store on the grounds. There is a boat launching ramp that stays busy. Hiking trails up, around, and along the shore to wear out the little legs. Beach are open onto the lake. The level of the lake can vary greatly depending on the year's rainfall. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Great park if you are into watersports. Our campsite (137) was huge and flat, but had a dirt surface. Several campsites had severely sloped pads that would not accommodate large trailers of RV's, so be careful making reservations. The staff was very friendly and helpful, even giving me the number of a nearby garage to have a blown tire repaired. Restrooms were clean, showers had good temperature and pressure. About 25 minute drive from Turkey Run and Shades State Parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
No internet access even with air card. SW view OK for satellite TV. Big sites available. Well kept grounds. Mens restroom smelled of urine. In racoon run area. Very busy on weekends and about 20% during week. Great lake for fishing/swimming/docks etc. 3rd busiest campground in Indiana. AT&T cell phone worked OK. Big Berry hamburger spot good place for quick bite and ice cream treat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
Very clean! nice place, some sites are a little close together. A very enjoyable weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This was an OK campsite. Not very secluded and really not that great for tents. It does seem like its OK for RV campers. Stayed pretty noisy until about midnight and then got noisy again around 5am when the fisherman got going. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
This park is great. There is a beach here, and huge lake for boats. The shower houses are really nice and very clean too. But what we found most enjoyable were the friendly faces of the people who worked there. The park is full of wildlife, trails, and very clean as well. We loved it and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
Nice state recreation area campground. We like the Raccoon Run loop the best. Pads have been recently paved. We have also stayed in the Whitetail loop. Pads are still gravel in this area. The showerhouses and restrooms are brand new and very nice. This park is very popular if you are a boater with the very large lake that is there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$24
This is a beautiful park. Raccoon Run seems to be the nicest loop, less cramped, roomier sites and most sites well shaded; however, all loops have some sites that are fairly sloped from front to back. Site #305 was very good, fairly level, nice shade and private. We have a 30 ft class A and found the access roads and RV sized sites to be easy to navigate. The park was very quiet when we visited mid-week after Labor Day but were told that it was sold out for the weekend, no doubt it would lose some of it's peaceful quality when full. Maybe a little bit expensive compared to some nice state parks in other areas with electric only but again, a beautiful park overall. We just stayed for an overnight stop but would like to get back there some day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$19
Very nice place to camp. Clean campsites and some campsites are fairly large. Lots of big, tall trees for shade. Clean restrooms/showerhouses. Nice lake with a beach for swimming. Other than that, not alot for kids to do except for the playgrounds. Decent hiking trails. Lots of wildlife... raccoons, deer, coyotes, birds, etc. Nice, quite, relaxing park. Open year-round. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com