214623 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (812) 937-4458
CGID1098

Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
270
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   7   8   8   8   10   10   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$55
We chose this campground for the pull-through site as we would be late and did not want to unhook the toad. Check-in was easy but we had no escort or directions to the site. Roads are narrow and not well lit or marked after dark. Might be fine in daylight, but took almost 30 minutes to get on the site. Bathrooms were nice, park seemed to be nice if you were going to the amusement park. Would never recommend for a stopover. Very pricey for coming in late and leaving early with no assistance. Would be very tight for large rigs. We would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$48
Staff was top notch friendly and helpful. New bathhouse by pool is as nice as any seen. Impressed that even campground pool fully staffed by lifeguards. Sites were pretty tight getting in and out and would be VERY tight if area had been full. Love shuttle to Holiday World. Although area is remote, there is Dollar General, hardware store and grocery right outside main gate but nothing else for 20+ miles. Enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
We stayed here in the off season, so I feel that I can't accurately judge. The staff woman was clueless. I told her my trailer was 34 feet and she asked me if I wanted a 30 foot site. Then she did not know how to run my credit card so I had to go and get cash from the car to pay here. The place was huge, but it was all closed up for the winter. I can see how this could be overrun with kids in season. The park was fine. The Wi-Fi was terrible! No AT&T cell service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$44
We stayed here when the theme park next door was closed. As a result, it was very quiet and pleasant. We didn't get time to use the pool, but the kids enjoyed the playground. This park is huge, and golf carts are available to rent in order to cover the distances. From what I was told, you can reserve one, and it will be waiting at your site. Over all, this is a nice place with several things to do in the area that focus around the theme park. However, I can see the park getting hectic during the busy season when it is packed with families. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
We stayed here after the summer rush and it was quiet. Only 2 pull throughs that are really back to back back ins. Not very level and tight fit so we took another spot and disconnected our toad. Once you figured out how to access Wi-Fi, it worked well. TV on the antenna was good. Plenty of shade trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
This is a large campground and for its size was quiet! Bathrooms/shower houses were clean and nice. Campground store very nice and well stocked with all kinds of stuff. You can buy tickets here for Holiday world, and they are $5 discounted through the campground. Wi-Fi is fairly decent. Swimming pool in the park was very nice. Video game room for kids, games are pretty outdated, but ok for small kids. Shuttle available to Holiday World, but can be very crowded, so we just drove over to the park. Free parking and only a 2 minute trip there from the campground, so just drive over. There is golf cart rentals in the campground. The only problem with the campground while we were here, was that with all of the teenagers here for Holiday World, there was A LOT of traffic with the golf carts. Mostly teenagers, and they drive way too fast. We saw a bunch of near miss accidents while here, and would not let our 7 year old ride his bike because of the high golf cart traffic. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$48
This is our second time at this park and it won't be our last. The staff was very helpful as usual and the amenities are great. The bathrooms were clean, the pool was great, and the convenience of the bus stop for Holiday world is great. They also have many daily activities for the kids. This is just a great all around campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$54
Very nice park. Comments on golf carts are valid, but we didn't find them to be a problem. Security guards continually monitor the golf cart traffic. The staff were helpful and worked with us to find a new site when the assigned site was too small. The campground is large but offers very nice sites that are not overly tight. The park is next door and shuttles run continually, although its a short walk. Would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$49
I think this park is fairly rated by both Woodall's and Trailer Life (one of the few I might add) The park is nice and the staff was very friendly. The only warning I would have is if you have a big rig (we have a 43ft) when they reserve a spot for you they go strictly by length and power (30/50 etc) and not whether you can actually get into the spot. Most of the young people who work there (including phone reservations) have no clue how a motor home or long 5th wheel maneuvers. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Great place to camp. Fun things for everyone to do. Unfortunately, they do not allow you to bring you own golf cart. They do rent them, but it is pricey. They do have shuttles running through the campground, which is really nice. The shuttles will even take you right to the gate at Holiday World and then pick you up and take you right back to your site. Very nice! Large pool, nice large updated play areas. Lake for fishing or canoeing. Large general store. Overall, great place to stay! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$49
This is a great campground. Check in was fast and easy. Our site was clean and very nice. We were a short walk from the pool and snack shop. The bus stop was also a short walk. They have a shuttle service to Holiday World and other locations around the park, it is a fairly large park and this comes in handy if you don’t have a golf cart. There was plenty of activities for the kids; crafts, bingo, movie nights, karaoke. The staff was mostly teenagers but they were very helpful and courteous. Holiday World and Splashing Safari were great! We all had a blast. The town of Santa Claus is pretty small but there is a nice grocery store that has just about anything you would need. The combination of a great campground and the amusement /water parks make this a perfect destination for families. We can’t wait till our next visit! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
This is a huge park. Check-in was very efficient. Our site was secluded and very nice with a concrete pad. There is so much to do here. Pool was great. Restrooms/showers were very clean. Camp store is huge! The only problem is tons of golf carts. They are a huge money maker as they were all sold out when we were there. They are useful, but it seemed that there were many teens driving them and after dark too. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. Besides being close to Holiday World and the free shuttle, Lincoln's boyhood home is closeby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
The previous reviews of this campground are spot on! If there were a higher rating than 10, we would give it to them. Very family friendly. The campground was neat and clean, personnel were friendly and helpful. Our daughter rented one of their rental trailers, and was impressed with it. She did have a small problem in the rental, but it was taken care of quickly. Someone had spilled grease on the bottom of the oven, and it caught on fire. We put the fire out with the fire extinguisher then called the Welcome Center. They sent maintenance right out to check things out. He replaced the smoke alarm, and called housekeeping. The young gal from housekeeping came down, cleaned the oven, and replaced the fire extinguisher. And this was in the evening. When there, don't miss Holiday World. The best bang for your buck as far as amusement parks go. Can's say enough good things about that place. Free fountain drinks and sunscreen while you are there. Also, our 2 yr old grandson was deathly afraid of Santa. But the Santa there worked and worked with him, and actually got the little guy to let him hold him. That in itself is worth the price of admission. As much as we love our kids and grand kids, tho, we are looking forward to coming back again so that we can relax and shop in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$49
This is the second time we have stayed at this campground. I still feel it has a very friendly staff and is exceptionally clean. It is also fairly tight for larger units. We had a very good time, and aside from a lax attitude towards someone using fireworks, I feel as though this is still one of the better RV parks in Indiana. I do wish they would add an additional pool near the campstore. There are a lot of kids and a lot of activity up until quiet hours so don't expect a calm little get away. We will certainly stay here again, and look forward to our next visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Great campground. We stayed three nights but wished we would have planned a couple more days. We walked to Holiday World both days but it seemed like there were plenty of shuttle buses. Camp store was really nice. Nice lake to fish in. We did not go to the pool, but we wished we had more time because it seemed to be really nice. Free mini golf was a bonus. Planning to go again next summer as Holiday World was a great family friendly place to visit. Had a great time and will stay longer next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$49
After reading reviews here we lowered our expectations for our first visit to Lake Rudolph. We even considered leaving the kids' bikes at home so as to not worry about them being hit by reckless golf carts. But our stay here was a complete and pleasant surprise and we were very glad we took the kids' bikes! This is a family campground with tons of kids. It is not a quiet get-away. The golf cart issue deserves mention. Kids are NOT allowed to drive golf carts unless they have a valid state driver's license. We never saw youngsters driving carts; it was always an adult or older teen driving with a pack of kids riding along. There are security guards riding is red carts driving around to monitor things but we never saw a reckless driver or even bike-rider. All of the carts are electric so there is NO noise. At dusk the security guards send bike-riders with no lights back to their sites because they don't want to risk kids being hit by carts. Don't let the complaints here about the golf carts scare you away from this great park! Check in was a breeze. There are two lanes of check-ins at the entrance and although we were third in line to register our wait was only about 15 minutes. Their system is well-organized and everyone moves quickly. The attendants were very nice and offered us a golf-cart escort to our site, but the map is clear enough that we didn't need it. All the roads are paved and the drive to our site was no problem at all, despite some minor hills along the way. Golf carts share the roads so speeds are naturally kept low, which we were glad for. A few turns seemed tight but we had no issues even towing. I found our spot and, with a little forethought, was able to back in on the first attempt (and our MH turns like the Queen Mary). Our first night we stayed at site 37 in Dasher. It backs up to the woods and is nicely shaded until mid-afternoon (it faces west-southwest). It is a 50amp site with a level concrete pad. Our second day we had to move due to another camper reserving our site prior to us making reservations. I had scoped out our new site, number 31, prior to moving so I knew how I was going to get my 40' MH into it. I had no problems at all. Site 31 is wide open with no trees so it was hot during the day but would be perfect for MH's with a satellite dish (which we don't have). Space between sites was about 15' beyond our awning. It was 50amp with pad as well, with plenty of room to park my truck in front of the MH off the road. We walked all around the campground and made notes of sites we'll request in the future. There were many nice sites to choose from that we put on our list (and we're pretty picky). Both site 37 and 31 are about a two minute walk to the pool, which is very big and nicely heated. It is kept clean with salt, not chlorine, and it was very nice to not need a shower after swimming. There were always two lifeguards on duty. It appears all the sites in the Dasher area are, at most, a 5 minute walk from the pool. Next to the pool is the kitchen, which sells cold drinks, ice drinks, pizza, and about a dozen flavors of ice cream. Prices were very reasonable; a large pizza is $14, ice cream is $1.50 a single scoop, and ice drinks are $1.75. A refreshing stop after a hot day at the pool or amusement park. The shuttles to Holiday World run every 15 minutes starting about 9:00am and going until 8:00pm. They're air conditioned and most are packed standing-room only but they run frequently enough that no wait was too long. The walk from the Dasher area to the Camp Store is about 15 minutes up hill so we drove up instead. The store is overstocked with groceries, camp supplies, gifts, etc. and the prices were the same as at the grocery store across the street from the campground. At no time did we feel gouged by prices. Our kids enjoyed the game room once and said it was "fun". The lake is about 75 yards from the store. We were told, and saw for ourselves, that the lakefront sites are not big enough for our 40 footer. We did notice that the noise from Holiday World is slightly louder in the store area than the Dasher area where we camped. Fishing is allowed in the lake but we didn't have time (or energy) to fish. They say it's well-stocked. The rental campers are all up in the area north of the pool and there are tons of them. But we walked and rode the shuttle through the area and it appeared well-kept and very organized with lots of trees and shade. Management did a very good job of giving each renter a nice unit with lots of space between neighbors. The roads were always clear and no junk littered any of the campground. The grocery store across the street from the campground is, literally, 5 minutes away and is a typical IGA-type store. They had fresh corn and vegetables and prices for milk, juice, etc are the same as we pay at home in Ohio. Again, never did we feel gouged. The campground staff were all very, very nice with smiles, thank you's, and lots of "May I help you?". The security and maintenance people stopped to chat several times and asked how they could make our stay better, always with a smile and pleasant voices. We never once worried about the kids (ages 7 and 9) as they rode their bikes and they made friends quickly. Parents seem to look out for all the kids and even came by our site to ASK if it was OK for our kids to go for a cart ride. Overall, we were highly impressed with Lake Rudolph and we're already planning our trip back next year. The only negative I will state is that there is no cable TV so news-junkies like ourselves will have to go without unless you have satellite. There were four over-the-air channels (all digital) and none were worth watching. But we were so busy going to the park, or exhausted from it, that we didn't miss not having the tube on at all. Holiday World was the most clean, family-fun, "had an absolute ball" amusement/water park we've ever been to. And if you're going to stay close don't pass up the chance to stay at Lake Rudolph in your RV or rental. It is a gem of a place that we can't wait to return to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$49
We go here a couple of times a year. This is not a quiet campground. Most of the campers are there to go to Holiday World with their families. There are a lot of golf carts but that is part of the fun. If you are looking for a quiet, secluded campground with nobody around this will not be your cup of tea. If you want a fun place to take the family for a unique camping experience then this is the place. Your kids will love it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
Just returned from this park. Despite reading many poor reviews, I really liked this park and had an enjoyable visit. The staff is very nice. Yes, there are golf carts, but it wasn't overwhelming. The park is very hilly so be aware of that. The shuttle to Holiday World is great, and the pool was nice. We were there for July 4th so it was full. There is a full grocery store across the street (Holiday Foods). We also visited the Lincoln Memorial. We really enjoyed the campground along with some great family fun at Holiday World! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
If you want to stay here, make reservations- it's likely to be busy. We saw the sign for the campground on the interstate, went there and we were able to get the last space available for the size of our trailer. Even still, because of the trees at the campsite, we had to really jockey around to get backed in. There was a bit of litter in our campsite. All staff members were professional and helpful. If you are in the area, it definitely would be worth it to stay a few days. There is LOTS to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$53
Terrible experience. We DID NOT stay here. Was there for 30 minutes and left. The staff was not helpful at all. We were given a site that had broken tree limbs hanging over the site. I asked to move to another site and it had limbs hanging and could not get our 37' 5th wheel in the site. Was put on hold for 26 minutes only to get very upset and leave. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$42
Very clean and well maintained campground. We stayed here in September so there were only a few units in the campground. Many full hookup sites with concrete pads. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and night and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
This is possibly the nicest park we have ever stayed in. It rivals Disney. The staff was outstanding, and the facilities were awesome. Not to mention that Holiday World is one of the neatest theme parks I have been to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$48
Wow, this is a very difficult campground to rate. If you like staying in a theme park, or during spring break at Pompano Beach, with all of the the noise and teenage hi-jinx that this implies, then you might like this campground. There are clearly people who do like it a lot, and maybe in my 20's without kids and a desire to sleep at night I might have liked it also. It is huge, which doesn't explain a dismal number of showers (3) in the bath house by the pool, packed up on the women's side by teenagers and 40 year old wanna-be's getting ready for cruising. The amber flashing light of the security golf carts lit up the area in the evening, punctuated by the muttering of a gaggle of teen-age girls complaining about being busted for racing around too fast. It is hard to be negative about the actual facilities because the sites were level, the campground had enough woods to give shade, the pool was large with lifeguards (but absolutely packed), and the kids' play area was modern and nice. But the overall experience is poor if you have young kids and you are terrified that they will be mowed down by a golf cart, or will simply get lost in the maze of streets. Oh, and it helps to have a noisy AC unit that you can use to try and drown out the noisy revelers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Sites are not very wide and are somewhat difficult to back into. Great pool and bathhouse.You can't beat the location if you are visiting Holiday World but otherwise not much to do. Great for me since my wife and kid can visit the park and I can hang out and fish in their pond! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
Rate varies by site. We paid $40 (midweek) for 30amp with concrete pad. Price goes up to $45 for 50amp and down to $35 for 30amp gravel. Prices increase by $5 for weekend and holidays. Roads are good, but a bit narrow, which makes for some precision backing. Lots of golf carts running around, but you cannot bring your own. You have to rent theirs if you want one. Most of the campground is shaded except for a handful near the pool. WiFi worked great. I would have given a little higher rating, but I think this place is a bit overpriced. I guess they can get awaywith that since they are the only camprgound here and right nest to HolidayWorld amusement park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$37
We just stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights. The park is very clean and very family-oriented. We liked that security constantly drove through the park. The camp store was nice and well-stocked and the bathrooms were always clean. I would recommend renting a golf cart because the campground is large and it can be far from one place to another. The site we had was tight and not too level, but we reserved at the last minute. There were lots of better sites. The park is right next to Holiday World amusement park and is the real reason to go. It is really geared towards families. There really isn't much else in Santa Claus. Shuttles go back and forth to the park all day. We did drive down to Lincoln's childhood home which was about 5 miles away and the kids really liked the working farm there. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Very, very large campground is well staffed and maintained. They have as many rental RVs and cabins as sites, large pool with lifeguards, rental golf carts, rental boats, and frequent free shuttles to Holiday World. The roads are somewhat narrow and there are too many dangerous, unsigned intersections that make it unfriendly for kids on bikes/scooters (my main reason for a 9 rating). Go ahead and rent a cart as soon as you arrive or you will never survive the walk from the camp store/game room/lake to the pool! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
I was disappointed in this campground. It seemed unkept to me, and very over-crowded. There were golf carts buzzing around the campground at all hours of the night and someone actually flipped one over close to our site. Too big and too busy for us to consider this a relaxing getaway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
Sites are small and not very well maintained. Restrooms were not attended to and showers were backed up. Water connection at the site had a leak at the faucet and ran downhill into our site and ended up a muddy mess. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$32
We were there in Nov. We had virtually the entire park to ourselves. The park itself was very nice, although they had a lot of golf carts for rent. I don't know how that might go during the busy season. Everything on the Internet about the city is exaggerated. The WiFi didn't work during our visit. Connection to water might be too far for some at some sites. We carry extra lengths on everything and had no problem. The RV park staff couldn't possibly have been nicer. We enjoyed our "RV Park" visit, but the city has virtually nothing to offer at this time. We were told they are trying to work on that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$42
This is a wonderful place. We stayed on one of their deluxe sites. It was a big site with full hookups. There are lots of things for children to do at the campground and there is an amusement park almost next door. It's clean and picturesque. Easy to get into and out of. We had a great time and would recommend this campground to others. We already made reservations for 2007. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$38
We have camped here for the past 5 years. And this will be our last year camping here. This camp ground has gone down hill they are not taking care of the grounds very dirty. Teenagers running this place. Oh and 1 more thing the golf carts are totally out of control. Walking with our 4 year old daughter she almost got hit by a boy driving a golf cart not paying attention. They just don't care anymore it's a shame this used to be a nice campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$36
The rave reviews that I had been given about this park were a little over rated. There was a fair bit of trash lying around. The restrooms were a little grungy. The park did not enforce their "no fireworks" rule. They offer rental golf carts and there were way too many of them. It is clear that this used to be a very nice park and could be again if they would do a little more maintenance. To be fair, it is still a nice park. The pool is new. The playground areas are nice. They really need to do some sprucing up before the place really runs down. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Park is extremely overcrowded and overrun with golf carts. I can see how some may find it fun -- numerous campers seemed to be having a great time -- but the campground was loud, we were in a tiny campsite (probably 15' between our camper and the next), and golf carts were loud and very frequently passed our site. Next time, we're staying at Lincoln state park down the road (5 miles). The shuttles to/from Holiday World were nearly impossible to catch due to our group size (6) and a large trailer. Holiday World has free parking, so I'll just drive the tow vehicle to the park when I want to go... Really disapointing campground considering the awards it's won. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2005
$28
We've camped the last three years during the October Halloweekends. We always have a great time. This year, our camp site was very disappointing. It was in a tree shaded area, but many trees had dead overhanging limbs. I could see one falling through our awning. The camp site was absolutely littered with cigarette butts. Someone had filled a plastic soft drink bottle with rocks and inserted into the sewer connection. Glad I noticed before hooking up and dumping. It is obvious the park is focused on expansion of rental RVs and not paying attention to maintenance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$29
This is an excellent campground, but could be heading in the wrong direction fast. They have added so many new rental units (and all that comes with that), that is a definite concern to us, but we will go back, cause it does offer so much and it connects to holiday world. You must try it once and then make your own opinion. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2005
$34
Three years ago this was one of our favorite campsites, bar none. Recently management has ruined the campground. The camp is over crowded, and the clients have changed from campers to trailer renters. The camp has become a pig sty. Its dirty, and loud, and you have only two chances of getting a good nights sleep slim and none. Stay somewhere else! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$30
First, let me say if you're staying here for peace and quiet, you're in the wrong place. That said, this campground is FUN. Super nice sites and very well kept. The owners obviously care a lot about this campground. Many golfcarts on the roads, so my advice is, when in Rome, do as the Roman's do, rent a golf cart--they're a ton of fun. It's a big park, so they're nice to run around in. They have added MANY more golf carts--if you're there on a holiday weekend, they will all be reserved, so that gives you an idea of how many there are running around. There are MANY rental units here, and they've about doubled what was here a year ago, and there is still construction going on at the top of the hill. The rental units are very nice a well kept, from travel trailers to cabins. This really is a resort type campground, especially for kids. Very close proximity to Holiday World. We stayed during one of their Halloweekends in October and had a ball. I'd definitely recommend their deluxe RV site. We were on site 34, right on the end and had a concrete driveway and patio that was dead level, 50 amp hookup, sewer and nightlight. Very nice. So nice we've reserved it for next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$29
We had a terrible time here. The campground was nice enough, but it was absolutely overrun with their rental golf carts. We spent the entire weekend smelling exhaust fumes and listening to zooming golf carts and honking horns. We couldn't even walk to the Camp Store without being practically run down by a golf cart. We couldn't hear a bird chirp if it was in the tree above us and we couldn't let the kids walk to the playground for fear they would be run over. The proximity of this park to Holiday World is fantastic, but we will choose to stay just about anywhere but here on our next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$38
THis was our third time here and I think the park is starting to become just a bit rundown, mostly because it seems to stay busy. The owners have put in probably 100 permanent rental trailers and most of their focus seems to be on these rather than the camp sites themselves. If you do go, request a site in the 'Dasher' loop, as the sites close to the lake and campstore resemble a refugee camp. Campground is VERY busy, with lots of kids and rented golf carts buzzing around. If you are looking for peace and quiet, this is NOT the place. If you have kids and want them entertained, then go. We probably won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$39
The main attraction of this campground is Holiday World, an amusement park next door. We spent Labor Day weekend here and as you can imagine this place was packed and rockin'. If you have kids this is a great campground. Choose one of the 'deluxe sites', which have level, concrete pads to park on. There are lots of activities, along with a pretty well stocked camp store (although there is a grocery directly across the street). My recommendation would be to try and secure a place in the 'D' section, as the ones on top of the hill are not as nice. Not a lot else around to do, although the Abraham Lincoln Boyhood Memorial is close by and worth seeing, as well as the St. Meinrad Monastery, which has free self-guided tours. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$35
This is a very nice park. If you stay, I recommend the deluxe RV site. It's concrete paved, completely level with full hookups and even a nightlight on the electrical pedestal. We stayed there during one of their Halloween Weekends, so the price was a bit higher, but we had a great time. You can rent golf cars for $25 for a 24 hour period. That was a lot of fun and recommended if you're staying down in the lower end of the campground. They also have many, MANY trailer rental units and cabins, so this could be a great choice for a family reunion or other get together where not everyone has an RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com