223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Congdon Creek Campground (Yukon Government) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (867) 667-5648
CGID10980

Congdon Creek Campground (Yukon Government)

Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   8   9   6   9   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$12
This is a stunningly beautiful Yukon Government campground on massive Kluane Lake. For the $12 nightly fee you get a huge site, unlimited firewood, and spotlessly clean outhouses. There are 8 sites on the lake, 31 more in the forest, about 1/3 of which are pull-throughs. The beach offers great walking for miles in either direction, and an old abandoned section of the campground adjacent to the east has a very nice interpretive trail. Tenting is no longer allowed due to problems with grizzly bears. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$12
We stayed here in both June and August. This was by far the best campground we stayed at on our Alaska journey. This is a self pay, dry camping government campground right on the shores of Kluane Lake. No generator hours were posted in the park. Tenters are occasionally allowed depending on bear activity. Grizzlies were spotted right outside the campground. We had spectacular views out the rear window of our 5th wheel. Nice, rocky beach on the lake for walking. We did not use the bathhouse and did not have our cell phones on so cannot comment on type of phone signal one would receive. There is a small restaurant/fuel station/hotel/grocery located in nearby Destruction Bay. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$12
This is a very nice Yukon Government Campground on beautiful Kluane Lake. As with all Yukon Government Campgrounds there is no dump station. There is water from a hand pump, but would not be useful for filling a tank, so plan to bring whatever water you need and haul out whatever water you use. There is free campfire wood: a nice touch. There are pit toilets. There are a few campsites along the lake and many more in the trees away from the lake. When we were here, no tent camping was allowed because of bear activity. We did see a bear along the road a couple of miles from the campground, but did not see any bear activity in the campground. The campground is very convenient to the Alaska Highway, but far enough away that we did not have any highway noise. We did not have any signal on our Verizon phone. Most sites would not have satellite access, but we did have one of the few where we could get a signal through the trees for our Hughes internet satellite. We loved our stay here and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Stated we would not use the dump so $2 was deducted from the $32 rate. Somewhat of a challenge to get cord in the 15 amp service. We got a pull-through overlooking the lake. Office has some canned goods if you are completely out. Free Wi-Fi on the deck. However, there are two SSIDs the same so it is hard to tell which one works. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$12
Tents are not always allowed because of a habituated grizzly bear. She is an aggressive bear. Do not approach. Maintain a BARE campsite at all times. Do not leave animals out or alone. Do not leave food unattended. We did have an encounter with the bear. Brush control has been completed which removed a significant number of the berries she was foraging on in the campsite. The campsite is clean and well maintained. There are about 10 lake side sites and numerous treed sites. Free fire wood. The pit toilets were clean. Good value. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$12
Quiet provincial park on Kluane Lake. One loop in the pine trees, the other loop along the lake. Lots of shade available. Pit toilets were clean. Water pump available, though sign said to boil the water. Big rig friendly, with some pull-thru sites. Each site had a picnic table and fire pit. Fire pits and sites were clean. We would recommend this park and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$12
No facilities here but pit toilets, but oh, the beautiful view! Not all the sites face the lake, so get here early for one of them. Free firewood is provided with site. The sites are nicely graveled. Do bring mosquito repellant. The morning we left, a grizzly ambled through the playground. It munched some greens - bothered no one – and left after being much-photographed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$12
Dry camping at its finest. Huge sites, lots of pull throughs as well as back-ins. Our 35' fifth wheel had no problem at all. Lots of trees, free firewood, very well maintained facilities. About 12 or so sites along the lake shore that seemed the more popular sites the two days we were there. We camped in the more wooded section and pretty much had the place to ourselves. Lots of wildlife, including bears (although we didn't see any). They close the park to tent camping later in the summer when the berries are ripe and the bear activity picks up. Would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$14
A great, no frills provincial park. Free firewood but you need to split the logs. Not true waterfront sites but just a short walk to the lake. Has hiking trails. Tents are not allowed in late summer due to bears but we did see a couple. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
A true Gem along the Alaska highway. Along Kluane Lake and the Great Destruction Bay area. Located approximately at the 1666.1 km marker. About 1/4 mile off the highway. Well signed. Many pull through sites. Many big rig sites (ours is 45' and we had no issues). Some water front sites. One of the very best campgrounds on our entire 4 month journey to Alaska. We would highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com