223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Wellington KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 46 user reviews. Phone: (800) 562-7572
CGID10995

Wellington KOA

Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   8   6   8   8   7   9   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$32
This park served me well as a one-night stopover. Very convenient to the Kansas Turnpike. Site was easy to maneuver into and hook-ups worked well. Wi-Fi was better than I typically experience at KOA. Restrooms were spotless. I arrived after the office closed, but because I had called ahead all the paperwork and directions to my site were available at "self" check-in. Only downside for me was train noise. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$36
Very nice and well maintained park. All sites are gravel with lots of grass on both sides. Plenty of room on both sides. Our site was level. Bathrooms and showers were new, clean, and well maintained. There were six showers. There is a well maintained enclosed dog run. We had a problem with our 30 amp connection tripping. The owner came by within a few hours and fixed the problem. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$36
We chose this KOA because of previous reviews and in particular "shade" was mentioned. It seems there was an attack by a chain saw in this park. There are very few trees left...don't know what in the world happened that all the trees were cut with just stumps remaining. There is no privacy, although sites are large enough. It's a big parking lot with strips of dry grass between sites. Certainly not a welcome site on a blistering September day. We would have rather stayed in a nice shady rest stop but needed the facilities for one night. We would not stay again now that all the trees are gone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$33
Rate is with 10% KOA discount. Easy access from I-35, but there is not much road noise. A very basic KOA park with limited amenities. A good park for a night or two while visiting the area. Our 33' motor home and tow vehicle fit within the pull-through site length. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Good wifi, nice dog park, swimming pool, right off highway, friendly staff. Very nice cabins/park models. Got free tickets to the local semi-pro baseball game. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
Very nice park in the small Kansas town of Wellington, which is approx. 2-3 west of I-35. We stay here 1-2 times a year when in the area. Owners are great, price is very reasonable, nice pool/shower rooms and Wi-Fi works surprisingly well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$31
Stopped here because of severe weather forecast. Smaller KOA park close to I-35 Kansas Turnpike exit 19. Park was in decent shape and hookups worked properly with cable tv available. Manager put us north of the pool in the permanent locals area. Some rigs need some care and cleanup in this area. OK and quiet for overnight but will probably not come back. Price is with KOA card. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
This is our second time to stay here. It is an excellent KOA or campground. The restrooms, showers, and laundry room were spotless. Owners friendly and helpful. Our gravel side was not level so reason for a 9. We will always stay here when traveling in this area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
Nice folks, overall clean park with level gravel sites, ours a pull-through! Wi-Fi and cable TV very good. We stayed here in a 37' motorhome with a toad and a cat. Accessible to I-35 (toll) and good country roads throughout area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
Wellington KOA is not up to KOA standards in our opinion. It's fine for an overnight stay. People are nice enough, but it's not a destination stay or even a 2 night stay. Business was slow in late April; probably, 2 to 4 permanent party and 2 others overnight with us. You can do better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$37
Basic and overpriced, but KOAs are always too expensive compared to other parks. But it was the location we needed for a night. The 50 amp power, water and sewer OK. No trees to interfere with rooftop dish. Quiet. Wi-Fi was poor in the afternoon but fine in the evening. Verizon cell and hotspot worked OK. Pretty quiet but can hear trains. Gravel roads and sites, some grass between. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$30
We called ahead to check availability and asked for full hookups. We were told the office would be open until 6pm. When we arrived it was just barely past 6 pm and they were closed. We had to self check in and there was a red note on all maps saying not to hookup water since it would be "below freezing." The actual low that night was 37. So, we were frustrated to not be able to use water, especially since we called first. The electric and sewage was located in the middle location, which was difficult for us to hookup since our hookups are on the back of the rig. The bathroom/showers and laundry were all clean and appeared fairly new. However, we were unable to get quarters for laundry (office was closed) and the showers were so small that in order to wash my hair I had to literally keep my nose against the wall. Overall, we would not return here again, but the park is nicely maintained and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$32
Very nice park. Roomy, easy access off interstate, long spaces, clean, quiet. Good cable TV. Friendly and helpful staff. Lots are gravel, but very level. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Fairly new park in a small country town. Staff is friendly. Our site was overlooking a small pond, which was nice. I have no negative response on this park! We stayed for 2 weeks! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
Present owners bought this campground 4 years ago and built a brand new office/restrooms/showers all of which are super clean and attractive. They built a new campground area further from the highway (little if any noise) that is level with mostly pull throughs, with electric,water, sewer, cable TV, and WiFi that was fast. A swimming pool, a fishing pond, playground, horseshoe pits are among the amenities. The original campsites were on the highway side. A total of 37 RV sites plus tent and 3 cabins. A Walmart is a half mile away. The owner was very pleasant and helpful. A class act campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
This is a very nice park, located less than a mile off the Kansas Turnpike. The staff was very friendly and the restrooms were absolutely spotless. WiFi worked well. Only "negative" for me was the location of the sewer hook-up in the site I was assigned. There is a big WalMart about 1/4 mile away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
The owners are the most helpful of any campground we have ever visited. The restrooms are spotless! We needed an oil change on our vehicle. The owner gave us the information and then while we were setting up, she printed a coupon off the internet for us to use. All of the sites have frost free water supply so that it can be used year round. We will be staying here, the next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
Nice enough park. Sites are somewhat unlevel front to back but also slightly side to side. Wal-Mart within walking distance. Limited cable. Clean HOT showers. It looks like they are trying to make improvements. Might return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
We stayed at this park February 14-15, 2013. The park was very nice and all was great! The owner of this park was awesome! We have never been to a park where they were so helpful. She even came to our site and picked up our empty propane bottles, filled them, and returned them. What great customer service! We will stay there again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Beautiful, well-maintained park. Rate is with a KOA card. Long, very wide level sites, lots of grass. One of the best KOAs we've ever stayed at. The owners obviously take great pride in keeping up the park. We'll definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Very nice for an overnighter or longer. About 1-2 miles west of the interstate - very quiet. They now have cable TV although the over the air TV works well also. We usually stay her several times during the year when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Conveniently located off the KS tollway and near the local Walmart. Park has gravel roads and the gravel RV spots were fairly level. Campground host was friendly. This was a nice little campground for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This was our first KOA RV park stay. It is what made me search for other KOA parks the rest of our trip. I liked the size of it, very well kept and individual, private shower rooms were really nice and appreciated. Nice layout. Great hosts. We'd stay here again and for a longer time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Nice, clean park. Seems to be mainly overnight park ,but no reason you can't stay longer. Pull through sites are gravel. Some satellite friendly sites. No TV otherwise. Above ground pool ,but clean and the kids enjoyed it. Small pond for fishing, but water low when we were there. Nice friendly staff. Would stay again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
We stayed 1 night. Swimming Pool is above ground, away from campsites. Staff was helpful when I needed to borrow a ladder. Park was clean & well maintained. Good stopover for a night. No playground for the kids when we were there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
This was a really pleasant place to stay. It is about a mile off the interstate and peaceful. The pool was the above ground type, clean and cool. Gravel spots that had tons of room. Owners were very friendly. Well taken care of place! Kids fished in the pond for 2 hours till sunset and had lots of berries to pick during the day. I would for sure stop here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$31
We stopped here for an one night on our way to Carlsbad,NM. We thought this was a very nice campground and would stay here again. They had a road that you could walk your dogs. The bathrooms were very clean, and the campground was quiet. There was a Wal-Mart next door. The staff was very helpful and courteous. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
Nice park, well maintained, friendly staff. Sites are long, level pull-throughs with adequate spacing. Many trees but does not impact rigs and many sites are satellite friendly. Easy access to the Kansas Turnpike, and Wal-Mart is within walking distance. Seems mostly used as an overnight stop but we stayed for 4 days and were very pleased. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$35
Stayed here two nights, this is an excellent KOA campground 1 mile west of interstate 35. The restrooms and bath house are the cleanest facilities I have ever seen in any campground I have ever been in. I would have rated this campground a 10 except the camp sites are fairly narrow and close together otherwise the this is one of the best campgrounds I have been in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
Rate is with KOA card and $10 off with 8000 KOA points. New CG. Easy on and off the freeway (which is a toll road). Lots of nearby train horns. Friendly check in person who led us to our site. Grass between gravel sites. Wal-Mart is close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
New park, firm gravel, and well laid out. The couple (owners) really work at making you welcome and is professionally run, complete with on line reservation confirmation and on line follow up rating inquiry. A 45' footer will fit in several spots. Even though Woodalls claims park is limited to 40' and under, this is just not true. We stayed here two nights and the town of Wellington is quite pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
Staff excellent: escorted us to site, cheerful, and professional. Sites graveled, level, and spotless. Pull through was long enough so we didn't have to disconnect tow vehicle. Good water pressure. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Very nice park. Easy to get to, easy to get around and super nice people that work there. Lots of grass between sites and very level sites. Super clean bathrooms and showers. Very nice laundry facilities also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
Easy to get to, facilities are clean and appear new. We met the owner, very nice and helpful about surroundings. Walmart super center less than a mile away. The pool is sparkling clean as are the restrooms and showers. The park is not very large but it doesn't matter. There is a playground for kids and each site has green grass...amazing considering it's 104 degrees in July. Good job KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Price was with KOA Kard discount. Good utilities, level sites, nice clean laundry room. Very basic KOA (no cable) but the pool looked nice. Easy stop off of the interstate. There is a utility easement at the back of the property and my dog enjoyed his walks there on the dirt road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Nice campground. Some sites with lots of shade. Gravel sites, but level. Staff was friendly and helpful. Good Wi-Fi. Did not miss not having Cable TV, just read book instead. We definitely will stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
Nice little park with a pond up front. Sites long and wide, Good Wi-Fi, the only thing missing was cable. Friendly and helpful staff. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
Wonderful owner, extremely helpful. The restrooms and showers were absolutely wonderful. This is a developing campground. Still needs some work on the pads which are gravel. However, that being said a great place to stay. Notice another reviewer mentioned the trains. We did not find them disruptive as they did not use their horns and were far enough away to really not be noticeable. We had a great night sleep! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
This KOA gets our award for "The Worst Train Noise of our Entire Trip". We traveled for nearly 2 months in our travel trailer. This campground appears to be surrounded by woods, but, in fact, the train tracks wrap around the area just beyond the woods. The trains ran all night so we got minimal sleep. Even though everything else about the campground was fine, we'd never stay there again. Why pay for a sleepless night? By the way, their bathrooms are beautiful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
We stayed at this park years ago. New owners have built new buildings and put in new sites. The pull-throughs in the front were plenty wide, long, and level. The only stick was I needed propane, had to leave the park, down to Wal-Mart, turn around and return to the park. The tank is by the entrance and off to the side of the road. They do not have enough hose to reach you if you are on the road. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
This is a clean park. We have stayed here several times for an overnight stay. It is not a destination but is very handy when you need a place to stay for the night. The front desk people have always been friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Used this camp ground as a stopping point between Louisiana and Colorado. So, we arrived late and left early. Brand new facility, excellent accommodations, Wi-Fi worked well. No complaints at all. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This is a new park with riendly hosts. They just had torrential rains but the roads were in good shape. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
Beautiful, brand new park with easy access to sites. The bath, restroom, laundry and store facilities were wonderfully set up. Showers are individual stalls with complete privacy. The hosts were very accommodating and pleasant to visit with. They are very close to Wal-Mart and a great Vet who took care of the hurt foot on our beagle mix. Lovely area and we'd recommend this park to everyone. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$29
We stopped here for a couple of nights during our winter migration south. The new owners are very friendly and have put a lot of work into bringing this park back to life. It's conveniently located just 1 mile from the turnpike. Easy access for our 40' MH and toad. Sites are level, power is great and Wi-Fi is strong and dependable. It's a great place to kick back for a night or two. We would definitely stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
I am new to this review website and as you can see by my screen name, I prefer KOA's. This KOA has new owners and a new main building. The bathrooms were amazingly clean and beautiful. The owners were both very nice people. It was raining while I was here, so I didn't get out much. I enjoyed my stay with my kids. We would definitely go again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com