220520 User submitted reviews online!!
Shipshewana Campground North Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (260) 768-7770
CGID1100

Shipshewana Campground North Park

Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   9   8   5   6   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
We enjoyed our time at this beautiful campground, which is close to Shipshewana. We were welcomed by friendly staff. Ice cream/Frozen Custard stand is located within the park. Campsites are large and streets are big rig friendly. The cabins located within this park are nested within the tress. Our campsite needed some minor leveling. DirecTV (free standing satellite) had no issue getting a signal. Wi-Fi was weak and not reliable. Verizon phones got a strong 4g signal. Campground is close to town with many shops, restaurants and gas stations. Campground is about 10 min. from I-80 highway. The surrounding street noise which leads into town is heard throughout the park, but was minor. Campground had large open fields for tent camping and picnics. Bathroom could use some TLC. We recommend visiting the RV Hall of Fame, which is nearby, and the Blue Gate Restaurant. Amish stores, farms and restaurants surround the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
Rate reflectsa group rate. Came here for a Rally. This was a good choice for our Rally because the sites are at angles making socializing easy. The pavilion had electricity for our Pot Luck dinner. Roads are gravel, sites gravel and grass. Electric is on the passenger side, water & sewer on the driver's side. An extra electric cord is advisable. Power & water were fine, Sprint MiFi & cell signal poor, good signal with roof mounted DirecTV SD satellite dish, no fire rings, WiFi is $3 a day. Employees are friendly, professional, and helpful without being intrusive. Can hear the clip-clop of the Amish buggies as they go by. Definitely big friendly, pull-thru sites are plenty long enough. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
We have stayed here several times. The park is well maintained, and they have a friendly staff. Our site only had 30 amp, but that was not an issue for us. We enjoyed the convenience to the Amish attractions, shopping, and the RV Surplus businesses. National RV Appliance repair is a few hundred yards away. There is an ice cream shop on grounds. We had a small rally here in June, and we will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
Nice park with shady sites that are mostly level. Staff is very friendly. When I voiced concern about the tree problem mentioned in earlier reviews, they advised they were trimming limbs and when we arrived there was no problem with trees scratching the sides or top. Not all sites have full hook ups, and very few have 50 amp but in our 32 foot rig, this was no problem. There are a few pull throughs but the backin sites were easy to access. Our site was 32 and was very nice. If you have children you may want to stay in their south park which has more sites and amenities. I would rate this park a 9.5 just because of the lack of 50 amp service at all the sites, but we couldn't ask for a better place to stay and we will return. As an added bonus, there is an ice cream stand in the park that has frozen custard and ice cream: both of which are fabulous. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
The staff at this campground are extremely friendly and very accommodating. They were very helpful with all sorts of local information. We were in site 27 which is close to the office and the restrooms. The showers and restrooms were extremely clean and very well maintained. The campground itself is also very well maintained. The interior roads were level but a bit on the narrow side. Our site was level, a bit narrow but was located between some huge spruce Christmas trees, which were delightful to view out our windows. The campground is very close to the highway but as a previous reviewer wrote, it is very pleasant to listen to clop, clop of the horses. We were not able to get any local TV reception with our antennae, but had no problem with satellite reception. Our Verizon cell phone had good reception also. My only negative is that the Wi-Fi was only free for 1/2 per day. As another reviewer wrote, for the site rate there should be free unlimited Wi-Fi, especially since there are no other amenities such as a pool. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
This park is small and pretty. The staff were extremely nice. However, we got major scratches on our motor home when we drove out! The Blue Spruce trees were huge, and the road was not wide enough to make a proper turn to avoid the branches (for our 40' rig). If you have a large motorhome, I would avoid this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
This is a pretty little campground located next to Hwy. 20. The only time it was noisy was early in the morning. The rest of the time we enjoyed hearing the clop clop of the Amish horses and buggies passing by the campground. We had a pull through campsite, #48, that was easy enough to pull into but impossible to pull out of due to the very close proximity of big Spruce trees and a very narrow driveway and the 35' length of our rig. We had to back up to get out and had the campsites not been empty behind us, it would have been a challenge. This is a very handy location for visiting the many things to see and do in Shipshewana. We would stay here again but hopefully in a different site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
This campground was very convenient to be "up close and personal" to the flea market. No amenities, but for a place to camp within walking distance for the flea market it was the ideal spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
This is a nice little RV park with lots of grass and Spruce trees. There is adequate space between sites and plenty of trees to provide shade. We were in a pull-through in the first row and we didn't experience any power problems that others have mentioned. Our power pedestal was not shared and the voltage was solid. Be sure to ask if you want a satellite friendly site since many of the sites are in the trees. We enjoyed our stay here as well as the culture and history of the surrounding area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
This is our second time camping here and we like it a lot. Lots of small trees between the sites gives privacy but doesn't interfere with our satellite view. A little noisy since it is on the intersection of two state routes but it quiets down at night. Wi-Fi is free for 30 minutes a day and then there is a charge for over the 30 minutes. Close enough to Shipshewana for easy access but far enough from the town to give a rural feel. We will return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
Nice quiet park but nothing for kids to do, not even a playground. Sites are tight and could be difficult to get into. Power posts are shared, and during a hot day the voltage dipped down to 106v. No fire rings either. They have a common area with a fire ring and firewood for a donation. Nice ice-cream stand in the campground and nice to hear the clip-clop of horses going down the road. Close to Shipshewana but their sister campground is in the town next to the flea market. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
Quiet park, despite being close to an intersection. Very few people around on a weekday, as they all flock to the nearby flea market. Evenings are quiet as well. Large ornamental trees shield one site from another. There is a fee for Wi-Fi. Convenient to the nearby RV factories. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Nice location, well maintained park, but we had so many problems here that I would not recommend the place to anyone. Most problems were electrical, but were compounded by a lack of communication among park staff. Only 3 full hook up 50amp pull-through sites in the park, and the power pedestals are shared. The 50 connection goes to the first person to hook up, regardless of reservation. We had to move three times in two days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
This is a great place to camp in Shipshewanna: if you get a pull through. The back-ins are difficult to maneuver and crowded. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$49
Great campground, very clean facilities, professional staff. It is a very quiet part of the Amish area of the state. Wi-Fi worked great, cabins were well kept. Have been here on a yearly basis and will return again. There is a community campfire ring that gives a closeness to all that stay here. Not much for kids to do, but there is a water park in town just a few miles away. Great place!!!! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
Very clean and well kept campground. Peaceful and very relaxing area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$36
We have been here many times and it is always pleasant and quiet. I will admit there is nothing for kids to do but, sometimes just relaxing is all we need. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
This was a lovely park with pleasant enough help. There is nothing for children to do but for retirees was nice enough. Easy access into sites. Free coffee in the morning. Clip clop of horses and carriages offset the traffic noise. Very convenient to Shipshewana, Elkhart, Nappanee, Middlebury, etc. We would camp here again when visiting the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
Clean and well maintained. Without the grand kids we didn't need a lot of entertainment features in CG. Ice cream stand made for nice dessert. Their occupancy is higher on the days when the "flea market" is open. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2006
$34
Disappointed, Management/Owner unprofessional, while the campground was adequately clean, water/sewer, the lots were small (40’ Motorhome), 30/50/amp service questionable. Disappointed in service form arriving until departure. Management/Owner was rude uncaring and their price did not reflect the service rendered. We asked for full refund and departed as quickly as we had setup camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
I would not bring my family here again. The restrooms were not clean. The staff was not friendly. They certainly did not go out of their way to accommodate the needs of my family. The campground itself was very boring and bare. It would have been more exciting to sleep in the car. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$32
Very clean and friendly campground. Gravel roads and site pads. 4 miles from Shipshewana stores and Auction barn. Has a community campfire area with firewood. No other fire allowed. Great Ice Cream store in front of park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$26
We stayed at the North campground, much better than the South one which only has electric and water. Friendly staff, but no amenities other than an ice cream shop. It's about 5 miles from the flea market. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$28
This park is well taken care of, and accommodates big rigs with no problem. Our pull-through site was long enough to park our 38 foot motorhome, and our car directly behind it, with room to spare. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$26
We stayed at the "North" campgrounds. There is also a "South" unit. Very clean, friendly campground. Gravel roads and site pads. Short distance (5 miles) from Shipshewana stores and Auction site. Restrooms/Showers are clean and require a "code" to unlock. Community campfire area with firewood (none at sites). Great Ice Cream store in front of park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$24
Very clean and friendly campground. Gravel roads and site pads. Short distance from Shipshewana stores and Auction site. Restrooms / Showers are clean and require a "code" to unlock. No campfires at sites, but have a community campfire area with firewood. Great Ice Cream store in front of park. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$26
Nice small campground in the heart of Indiana Amish country. Well kept, excellent staff, and well run. Small number of sites, but excellent size lots and sparkling clean amenities. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com