214299 User submitted reviews online!!
Shipshewana South RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 49 user reviews. Phone: (260) 768-4669
CGID1101

Shipshewana South RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
165
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   10   10   9   8   7   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
We enjoyed most things about this campground in beautiful Shipshewana. Great location, good voltage, good water pressure, friendly office staff, and long pull-thru sites. Wifi was unusable for us so we had to use data during our entire stay. Now for the negative. The old lawnmower guy needs to chill. Mowing the same areas every other day does nothing for the grass or peacefulness of the campground. When not mowing, he'd ride around the park just looking at things. The mower could be heard all over the campground and really destroyed this otherwise peaceful setting. My rating of "6" comes from unusable wifi but mostly because of mower man. Not sure we'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Nice facility easy access and close to all the shopping in Shipshewana. Lots of Amish buggies passing. First stay here. Not associated with the North campground any more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Very nice folks in the office. Laundry facility extremely nice and restrooms very clean. Sites are average in size and can accommodate any size. Very convenient to shopping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
This is a very nice park. The park staff is outstanding and the location is good. It is within walking distance of downtown Shipshewana. All utilities worked well. We will definitely return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$43
Sites were very level, gravel. People were very friendly and helpful. Bath house need to be updated but were clean and neat. Showers were large but the only thing they had was a water valve that is preset so you cannot adjust the temperature. The temperature was about 102 degrees. You had to keep pushing to keep the water on. It went off every 10 seconds. I talked to the office they said parts were on order to get them to adjust longer. I would stay there again. Nice looking park and very affordable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
Great park to enter and leave. Everything was great. WiFi and full hook up. It would be nice with cable but can't have everything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$41
Some roads are paved, some gravel. Sites are narrow. Verizon cell and hotspot worked well. No trees so rooftop dish worked good. Over the air TV stations worked well, too. We made a reservation and had no troubles. Grass was cut and campground well kept. CG is very close to downtown Shipshewana (about 1 mile). A bit pricy, but maybe due to location. Utilities all worked well. Low score due to narrow sites and price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
Rate paid reflects a week's stay which included a free night. We were here for a rally. Our site was okay, but not flat and we had a mud puddle next to our hookups. We were right next to one of their Wi-Fi antennas which apparently put us in a dead zone as we couldn't get their Wi-Fi (you only get 30 minutes per 24 hours!) to work and it killed our hotspot. The rally used a picnic pavilion and an enclosed building and both were very functional. Lots of nice dog walking areas. This is a handy location for visiting Shipshewana, Middlebury and Elkhart. There's an excellent bicycle trail, Pumpkin Vine Trail, that winds through Amish farms and goes all the way to Elkhart and the trail head is an easy mile or so ride from the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
We stayed here for a week while attending a rally. The campground did a fairly good job keeping everyone together. The grounds could have been mowed and dressed up a little better before everyone arrived. Gravel sites were fairly level and hook ups worked well. Laundry, showers and bathrooms were extremely clean and worked well. Overall a nice campground and we will return. Would have given higher rating if there was a pool and grounds maintained better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
This is a clean, well maintained campground with moderate width but generous length sites. Office and workcamper staff were friendly and helpful, and interested in solving potential problems. The campground does not take reservations, and had no Water/Electric/Sewer sites available when we arrived seeking such a site for a 5 day stay. The office worker told us that a number would be available the next day, if we wished a Water/Electric-only site for the night, and could move to the desired type of site the following day. Problem solved. The park is near to most Shipshewana attractions. Our only caveat about the park involves their WiFi setup. The 1st 30 minutes each day (starting and continuing from your 1st log-on of the day) is free. After that one faces a $3 daily or $8 for 3-day charge. This is a major irritant in an age where the majority of campgrounds offer a form of free internet connection. In fact, we went to breakfast each day at McDonald's to use their free internet....passing local eateries miles closer to the park to do so. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
This park is all about location being close to downtown Shipshewana. No shade and not "pretty". No activities, no pool. Bath house clean. Campground clean. Staff nice. Pay for internet. No cable. We would stay here again only because of it's proximity to town, although it's still too far to walk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Unique campground to say the least. Yes, there is an honor system here. There is a fence with envelopes to take that has information to fill out inside. Once filled out, you stuff the envelope in a locked box and pretty much chose whatever site wanted. The water hook-ups are shared, and it is wise to have a splitter (Y) for sharing faucets. It is a little gnarly to drive around in the campground with some good dips and some sharp turns for large rigs. The site for the most part are level and the campground is immediately adjacent to the huge Flea Market. We stayed 2 nights and didn't have any problems with anything. There are no trees to be found so know that in advance. The area is terrific and the restaurants are everywhere! Great Amish shops with great quality stuff, including furniture, cheeses, and meats. We would return again when in the area. Only 30 miles east of Elkhart if you are in need of factory service. And then there is the RV Hall of Fame that is a must for RVers to see and support. Great area that we come back to over and over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
Love this RV park. It is close to everything we wanted to see and do in this Amish community. Staff were very friendly. Sites were grassy and very level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$39
Our stay was for only two days. The park has a lot of pull through sites. They are crushed rock grass covered. However, they are level. The grass at the sites needed to be mowed. The internet is awful. We were not able to login. Beautiful country side and friendly people. We will return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
This is our RV Park of choice for visiting Shipshewana. Sites are decent, but close together. Restroom and laundry room are clean. Our sons did not like the showers because they are the push button/non-adjustable temperature type. Price is a little high for what you get, but the location is good. No discounts offered, but we do now have a free night banked from our 6-night stay. We'll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
This campground limits you to 30 minutes of internet usage in a 24 hour period. Once you disconnect, you are prohibited from connecting for the next 24 hours even if you only used 5 minutes the first time. How cheap can a campground get ? Woodalls does not show that there is limited usage of the internet. Other than the internet, the park was very good. The sites were very level, lots of width between the sites, and generally, the park was well maintained. The campground is very close to the huge flea market and to the attractions in this small town where the Amish is the main attraction. We parked the motorhome here and drove to the Newmar plant where we took a plant tour: a short drive from this campground. There was no cable at the sites but the laundry room had a TV, which we did not use. Could not get any reception using the motorhome antenna. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
Campground is close to most things is the area. Host was friendly and helpful. Due to hot weather, the campground does not look as nice as we have seen here in many years ago. Would have rated an 8 if they did not limit free usage of the internet to 1/2 hour per day. Seems a bit cheap of owner when you consider most campgrounds in this price range have no time limit. Rating beyond an 8 seems high considering no pool and other amenities. Will return in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Nice park and extremely clean wash house facility. Showers were ceramic tile floor to ceiling and very clean. Sites are on the smaller size but not a problem as the sites around us were not being used. Could use more shade trees. Large rig no problem as there were several 42' and larger motor homes there. No permanent sites. ground very clean and located very close to local attractions. Showers were the best public facility I have ever seen. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$39
Nice clean RV park that is in the heart of Shipshewana and almost next door to the flea market. Very central to restaurants, shops etc. Lots of space and grass between sites which are quite wide and long. The showers, toilets and laundry facilities are very clean. The only minor annoyance is that the showers use a push button to start the water flow for about one or two minutes, and you have to keep pushing it. You can buy a RV/car wash permit for $4. This park is affiliated with the North RV park, but the North park is quite a way out of town. A must visit is to the Guggisberg Deutsch Kase Haus Cheese Factory, Yoder's Meat and Cheese store, and the Blue Gate restaurant. We also visited the Newmar RV plant for the tour and it is well worth a visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
Easy access, big rig, near everything, good water pressure. Will do it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$44
This a clean, well laid out park with reasonable space between sites. It is conveniently located near local interests. They include 1/2 hour a day Wi-Fi and expect a camper to pay for more. Using a credit card for $3 on line is a nuisance and a security risk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
The park is large and accessible. The sites were clean as were the restrooms and showers. It is close to area attractions. I would not be willing to pay $40 again for 30 minutes of WiFi, no pool and in the off season. At a lower price, I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Very nice campground with gravel roads and sites. Sites were level and grounds were very clean and well kept. Most trees are still small so there is not a lot of shade. However weather was very comfortable while we were in the area. Laundry facilities are very nice with clean washing machines and dryers. Each campsite has a light on the electric hookup. That was very helpful at night. Located almost in the middle of everything to do in Shipshewana, you can walk to a good many businesses. Staff was very helpful. No cable TV and very few channels were received with our roof top antenna. Internet service is very good, but is not free. Cost $20 for the week we were there. Cost is a little more than we normally pay, but it was nice to be so close to the things we wanted to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
Great location... close to flea market and downtown. Staff was very friendly. Easy in and out for a Big Rig. Very well maintained. The downfalls are that you have to pay for Wi-Fi, sites are quite tight (sitting area was barely wider than our awning)! No cable and very limited local channels on the aerial. No fire-pits on the sites, only a communal pit. Lacked garbage cans, and they don't recycle. But it is a very well maintained RV park. Area is a great place to visit! Go to the restaurant "Das Dutchman Essenhaus"... family style Amish dinner. Very good! Downtown Bakery called the "Bread Box Bakery"... yum! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
There isn't anything fancy about this park, but it is a good place to stay if you are visiting the area. The roads are packed gravel and easy to navigate. The sites are also packed gravel and the pull throughs are long and very level. Staff is quite helpful and very friendly. Only real negatives are no cable, and you have to pay for wi-fi. Close to the Flea Market and downtown. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$34
There is no better place to stay for a visit to the Amish community of Shipshewana. There is a giant flea market in Shipshewana every Tuesday and Wednesday and an interesting horse auction there on Fridays. Plenty to see and do for several days. The campground had nice sized, level, very long pull throughs. The Wi-Fi was excellent. The rest rooms and laundry were immaculate. The office staff were very helpful with all our concerns, and needs. The same owners also have another campground a few miles North of town and it is also very nice, has many trees and is well shaded. The camping cabins are spotless and nicely placed in a wooded area. There is a wonderful ice-cream stand on the property. We would definitely stay at either campground in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$39
Our third stay at this campground. Nice level sites, except it's lacking trees. We come here for the Amish country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Price includes electric and water in a pull through site that was level, with a grassy space. Well kept. We went because internet access was advertised. 15 minutes was free, then you had to pay and it was very poor reception. Man on the desk was an “I only work here” grump. Close to the Amish sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Rate given for a back-in. Pull through sites are $2 extra. Site was a gravel back-in and almost level. WiFi worked well, but after 15 minutes one must pay $4 a day for the service. Campground gave a us a $1 coupon towards the admission for the Menno-Hof museum. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
My wife and I stay at this park for 2 days each summer in June. Very nice park, lots of great restaurants and a really nice laid back feeling with all of the horse drawn buggies. Nice staff and very clean park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
The park is basically in the middle of town, as others have stated. That said it was still very quiet. The campground is nicely kept, and utilities worked as they should. If they would take out every other site, it would be more desirable. The neighbors door and picnic table opens up basically at your sewer connection, which we really dislike. Someone mentioned it is like a parking lot, and that is a good description. Another thing that we didn't care for, more than half the sites were empty and yet they piled everyone up on top of each other, with the sites so close, not much room to stretch out and relax. No campfires allowed, although they have one small ring (they call community fire pit) at the pavilion, but I think most were intimidated about using it. The WiFi costs extra if you want it. The office staff nice. All in all for the money if you want to just sight-see its okay, if you want the ambiance of a camp fire and a woodsy feel, try another campground. If we return, we may look elsewhere, but would not rule this one out if need be. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$36
We stayed at this park for two nights. Overall, we were pleased and would stay here again. The facilities were very neat and clean. The people were very friendly and helpful. Ample areas for dog walking. We loved being able to bike ride to the shops. We were not there during the flea market, but there are plenty of other shops to visit! The only negative I can think of is that the Wi-Fi service is not included in the nightly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
This is a good place to stay if you are in the area. We had to move from Shipshewanna North because our space was available for only one night. We found the north campground to be much more desireable: the south being little more than a parking lot. Beware the traffic on flea market days: there is a lot of time spent waiting in traffic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
We really enjoyed this campground and the town of Shipshewana. We initially stayed here to visit the RV Hall of Fame in Elkhart. But to our surprise this town had so much to do. The Amish Flea Market each week was fantastic. Only got halfway thru it. Lots of shops and loved seeing the Amish buggies all day. Everyone at RV park was wonderful and so friendly. The sites were big and spacious. Some with trees and some with out. This place too was peaceful. The only thing you heard on Sundays was the clip clop of the horses on the Amish buggies. I have told everyone about this RV park and cannot wait for them to enjoy it as much as we did. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
A nice park, convenient to a lot of the attractions in Shipshewana. The park was clean, the staff friendly and the spaces were adequate. There was not much shade, but quiet. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
This campground is a good place to stay while in Shipshewana. We will stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$38
Great place to come! Super clean laundry & restrooms. We didn't give it a 10 only because of the advertised and told on phone WiFi "free"...what they don't say is, for the first 15 minutes then pay as you go, very inexpensive though. Level sites, no "seasonal" (live-ins) RVers and close to everything to visit in Shipshewana. Management very nice, lots of space between spots, really no bad spots here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$38
The good news: This campground is convenient to the delighful town of Shipshewana, offers very long pull through sites, and has clean and neat facilities. The bad news: The roads become swamps when it rains, sites are not level, and most sites do not have enough gravel. Most importantly, this unpaved, muddy,second rate park, with unlevel sites, charges a ridiculous $4.00 per day for wi-fi, and you must sign on each and every day you are here. Stay in Elkhart or somewhere else. It ain't worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$42
This is "THE" location for your visit to Shipshewana. A Short walk to restaurants or the comings and goings of the auctions and other activities in town. Big Pull thru's Clean bathrooms but the only bad thing was the showers are too hot for me! I just couldn't use them, but then again I do have a large Motor Home with a large shower. People were friendly and knowledgeable of the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
This work campers here were Wonderful and Friendly. It was so relaxing, quiet and clean. It would be nice to have fire rings. And there isn't a lot for kids, but my kids enjoyed seeing how the Amish lived, taking buggy rides, and spending quiet time together and being in the country. There are plenty of parks and farm tours to keep young kids entertained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
Stayed over July 4th to go to Flea Market. Nice quiet campground close to everything. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
We live about an hour from this park and had driven by and it looked very nice from the road. However, upon arrival with our 30' fiver with a single slide we discovered that it was grossly inadequate. There are no fire rings, but they couldn't possibly have them as you would burn down the unit next to you. I could not extend my slide as it would have been hitting the picnic table on the lot behind us. In other words the lots are very narrow. There is nothing for children at all. Also, we were made to feel very unwelcome with our Black Lab. And you have to pay to use the wifi. So, if you want to pull in and sleep. Good spot. If you are going to spend all of your time somewhere not here, good spot. If you want to "camp", terrible location. After much discussion I got a refund and we moved on for the weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$36
We camped here on Memorial Weekend. Arrived without reservations. Long pull throughs, easy access for big rigs. Nice laundry. Close to town, and all the Amish attractions in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$36
The people were friendly and the campground was clean. We stayed in a pull-through site which was large enough for our 5th Wheel w/ 3 slides and our truck. We did not use the bathroom or showers. They give you 15 minutes free WiFi, then they charge a fee. This campground made a great base-camp for us while visiting the local attractions and touring a RV Factory. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
Very over priced campground. No trees and not much grass. You can get WIFI but you have to pay for it. It should be free for the price they charge. The staff was very nice and the park is convenient to the big flea market and most other businesses. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
We stayed in the new section. The trees are small, but they do have a good dog walk area with a place to dispose your dog's deposit. There are quite a few pull-thru sites available. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$29
Park is being added on to, we were put in new part, very rough road, no shade. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$00
This was a terrible place to camp. No trees, no shade, nothing for children to do at this campground, nothing here but a place to rest your head. I don't recommend this place to anyone. I won't return. North campground isn't much better: only have ice cream and a community pit that no one uses. Junky place to go. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$28
Spotless restrooms and showers. Privacy is not the greatest for the showers. No activities at the campgrouds. Access to the Amish stores and flea market is its biggest draw and all within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com