217661 User submitted reviews online!!
Shady Creek RV Park & Storage was rated 8 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (972) 347-5384
CGID11051

Shady Creek RV Park & Storage

Camp Information
Sites
206
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   9   9   8   10   8   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
Great park. Very well-maintained, beautiful grounds, nice layout. Fantastic trails all around to walk. Great pet area. Office staff is very friendly and helpful. Level sites, plenty of room to back in. We decided to store our RV here, as they also have covered parking. Wonderful place and an easy drive from Dallas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$27
Park is a 10. Really clean. Spaces good, Water Pressure Good. Electric Good.  Parking for 2 cars in most sites.   Good Sam discounts    Black top roads and gravel sites. This is one of the better parks we have stayed in. Park has a 9.5 rating in Good Sam Camp Directory. The managers are Texas Friendly Folks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$14
This is our "home" park when we come to Dallas to visit friends and take care of our doctor visits. It's convenient to shopping and highways to get to where you need to go. This is a pretty simple property. It's got a clean laundry room. Everything is maintained well, the grounds are simple, but neat. There are two downsides to this RV Park, for us. One is the lack of a safe storm shelter (we had some severe weather while we were there and went to the local WalMart). The other is the lack of drainage (when there is heavy rain, there are often large puddles to wade through.) The roads are nicely paved and the sites have nicely packed gravel. Our price is based on the monthly rate plus electric/water. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
This is our fourth visit to Shady Creek RV Park. Each time we see great improvements during our stay. We have children close by and the North Dallas Tollway is only 4 miles from the Park. During our stay, we met some really nice people at a pot luck that we attended while there. The recreation room was so nice and handy for RVers to enjoy. I could have used the fitness room more than I did, but the laundry facility was clean and well taken care of. The staff in the office and the grounds were always helpful. I feel like they know us by now. We already have our reservations made for our return in July. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$25
Very popular place, extremely full! Many full-timers. Paved roads. Sites are gravel and level. Most are back-in with a parking spot. Well kept by active maintenance crew. They also have a propane filling station. There is a pool, but we did not go in. Laundry facilities were clean. They have a fenced dog park and an open lot to run the dogs. They offer a WiFi package that we did not purchase. Easy access to Frisco/Plano, near the Dallas tollway. Staff is friendly and helpful. They have mail boxes if you are there longer. Quiet site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
The grounds are very nice and well-kept. The office folks are great. I'm still getting used to parking my motor home, and someone from the office helped me. I had a problem with my refrigerator while I was there, and it looked like it would not be fixed by the time I needed to leave. Although they were fully booked, they were willing to work with me if I was unable to leave when I was supposed to. Fortunately, I was able to get it fixed and went on my way. I will stay here again this fall and will probably store my RV there next spring while I take a cruise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
We received a first time visitor rate of $62.50 for the first week, then paid $125 for the second week, and a total of $31 for electric, making our nightly average $15.60. This is an excellent park, very quiet, with very nice amenities. We did not use the restrooms, but the laundry room was spotless, and the pool was cleaned daily. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only reason this park did not deserve a 9 or 10 from us is that the site had very little gravel at all, and no under base, so our jacks sank in the mud, and I had to get large blocks to support them. There was almost no grass, but the weed clumps were mowed regularly. With just a little care, this could be a perfect park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
This was a great park. Very well kept grounds. Good distance between sites. Paved interior roads. We did not use the restrooms or laundry. Very friendly staff. We stayed for 4 days while visiting family in McKinney. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
Clean, friendly and well laid out park. Roomy level sites. Super clean laundry and bathrooms. We would definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
We stayed here three weeks and enjoyed the park very much. Used the laundry and showers and really appreciated the security code on the doors. Also how clean and kept up. My husband and I played cards on Tuesday evenings, but I really enjoyed playing games, cards, and laughing on Thursday afternoons with just the ladies. We will definitely return with home on the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$10
We stayed here about two months to be close to family during the Holidays. Price reflects monthly rate but did not include electric ($.14 p/kwh) and water. The office staff and other workers are professional, courteous and have that "no problem, can do" attitude. The roads are all paved and sites are gravel. They are level or close to it. Our site was hard-packed at the front and a little soft in the back but, it was an easy fix. A huge plus for this park is they sell propane on site. They can't deliver to Class A rigs but it sure beats driving miles to buy propane. In spite of many work campers in the park, it is very quite and friendly and the sites are neat and clean; management wouldn't have it any other way. We would stay again and plan on coming back around the 1st of April. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Excellent campground, very nicely laid out with plenty of room between each site. We stayed here for a week in September and were really made to feel welcome by all employees but especially by the managers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
A paved road connects to all the sites, so no dust is generated when vehicles come and go. Large rocks used for the actual trailer sites. The large gravel will not track inside the rig, but good for providing friction. The trailer slid off Lynx levelers. Shower house OK, drains not so good. Shower bottom fills up with water. Staff is definitely helpful. Wi-Fi is an extra and worked best when computer was outside the trailer. There was some renovation scheduled for the shower houses after I left. I would stay here again if I didn't need to rely on the Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$14
This park is a convenient stay when we visit our daughter in Aubrey. Shopping is convenient (convenience store on the corner, Super Wal-Mart about 3-4 miles away in Frisco). Our site was fairly level, although several are not. The staff is helpful and accommodating. The pool is nice and kept fairly clean although the furnishings at the pool need to be repaired and/or replaced. The park is quiet, the streets are paved, sites are gravel and have sufficient space between sites with enough room to park your vehicle at your site. Our biggest issue is that the management doesn't keep the grass mowed around the sites. They do a little better job of keeping the common areas mowed. The park is kid and pet friendly. Many long term residents but the sites are clean of debris. This park is a good value and we will plan to stay here regularly when visiting our daughter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
The curious thing about this RV park is the way it is laid out. The whole park is laid out just as backwards as you can get it! Every spot is situated so that you back into it from your blind side! You back into them to the right. You must use your right side mirror, which is the furthest away from the driver. And which nowadays is an infernal wide-angle mirror and makes the image even smaller. You're way into your spot before you can see your fixture on the left side. Power mirrors and a good guesstimate of distances give a huge advantage here! I give this place a 7 mainly because there's a severe lack of RV parks in the whole Dallas area and this one ain't bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$11
This park has so much that COULD be terrific with some little things, and it is very reasonable with their upfront pricing. More mowing, speed bumps, some more workers, etc. It’s the advent of ala carte camping: $10 extra for a picnic table, Wi-Fi is $50 per month, per computer, ‘cable’ was a hook up to local TV stations, you were charged for your water usage with the monthly fee. On the plus side: the pool was OK, the location is close to Little Elm, the staff is very friendly and the sites had plenty of space. On the down side: the restrooms were often in disarray, the flies were awful if the wind came from the south, the FEMA trailers made you feel as if you were camping in a bone yard, the sites were deeply rutted from heavy Class A’s, there were electric outages, and was terribly understaffed. The rate quoted was a monthly rate including water and electric. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
My wife gave this park a great review on another website 2 years ago when we visited the park. The RV park has changed to a trailer park. They have at least 100 of those FEMA (Katrina) Mobile Homes there now. I am told about half are rented out and the other half were sold. With the construction workers staying there...there is always traffic coming and going at all hours of the day and night. There is no way the poor lady in charge of the cleaning of the laundry and restrooms could keep it. They were always dirty. And they charge a high rate for water (our water bill was $36 for 2 weeks!). Internet was $50 a month and slow! Park feels unsafe to my wife. New owners are only concerned with long term customers and not friendly to daily/weekly customers. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
Bring your own internet!! $50 for a month - PER COMPUTER (or the "great bargain" of $15 for 2 hours)! We agreed to the $50 only because two days prior we broke our router and were without internet - but they failed to mention the PER COMPUTER part. NOT happening - no way no how am I paying $100 for a month of internet for the two of us. I have NEVER had ANY rv park charge for internet - much less that kind of price. Now in case you're thinking the 2 hour thing isn't so bad (and I know you're not thinking that), the clock starts when you put the code in, and if you have to get off the computer at any point before the two hours is up - you just lost the balance of your time. Sweet deal huh!? When we checked in with an extra vehicle and a freight liner, they told us they could accommodate us without problem. But after getting set up, they then tell me that the extra vehicle (suv and boat) would need to be put in another site for the weekly rate that we were paying for the site the rig was in! So the truck got parked in front of the office, the boat schooched in next to the rv, and the suv out in front of the rv. Take that! When I tried to get on the computer along with hubby, I couldn't get on. I went to the office, and guess what - they're closed on Sundays! So I suffer thru Sunday without any internet, and start calling the office at 8 on Monday. NO ONE shows up until about 10:45 am! I was told that they were having manager change over issues - well - so what!? Someone needs to take care of their customers even if it means a little inconvenience on their part - I don't care if the customer has been there 2 hours, 2 days, or 2 years - they deserve an office staff that will help. We chose this place because it was close to relatives there, but doubt very seriously that we'll come back - it's run very unprofessionally in our opinion. Water, sewer, etc were fine, but I actually care how they treat me and others who are paying customers. Rv'ers do have a choice where we stay, and why stay somewhere that's run like a hobby instead of a business? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
This place is OK for a 1 night stay. As others have stated, park has many FEMA trailers with people living in them. Spots are Spacious but back in only. Sites are gravel and after a rain they can become very muddy. I sank to my ankles trying to work with my sewer and water hookups. Utilities worked well. Close to DFW so antenna coverage was very good. No cable. Staff is friendly, but with all the "full time live ins" it had the atmosphere of a trailer park rather than a campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$15
Great park for the value. We stayed here for 2 months and our nightly rate reflects the monthly rate with water and electric usage. The facility is well managed. For example, when we needed propane they came to our site to retrieve the empty bottles, and then installed them when they returned. Overall, a well run park. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$13
We stayed for a month. Our price reflects the monthly rate with electricity and water averaged to a daily rate. A fairly new park. Clean and quiet. Many spaces are long term people working in the area, but their spots are mostly clutter free. Management and staff were friendly. Nice club house with swimming pool. It was too cold to swim while we were there, but the water and pool were clean. I did not see very many children. The shower and bathrooms needed to be cleaned. Used the laundry room and one washing machine deposited dog hair on our clothes. Management has posted signs against washing pet blankets, but someone did not comply. Many of the spaces are used to store small travel trailers, but that did not bother us. We parked next to one of those spaces, so we had no neighbors on that side. There are horse stables adjacent to the park and the flys around the park were horrible during our stay. May be better during the Winter months. There is a convenience store 1 mile away and a Walmart about 4 miles away. We have family in the area and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
We tried this park on the recommendation of a friend. It has the makings of a nice park, but the owner has purchased and is storing many used FEMA trailers for refurbishing and resale. Many of the spots had two used trailers crowded in them. This detracted from the potential beauty of the park and we feel we did not get our value for the money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Enjoyed our one night stay here. Owner was very friendly upon arrival. Pool was clean but only open until 8 pm. We loved the indoor game room and workout room. Laundry room was large with 4 washers and 4 dryers. No picnic tables and very little shade but really enjoyed our stay. Nice quiet park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
WOW!! Very nice RV Park. I found the park from the state highway sign while going to our "regular RV Park". My wife wanted to try something new and I am glad we did! The owner lives on the property and is very friendly. The showers and recreation center was very clean. Actually seemed that every time we were in there, someone was cleaning. Paved Roads. Larger than normal RV spaces. All level and lots of shade. Internet not free, but rates lower than we are used to paying. Will stay again on our next visit to N Texas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
Park was clean and quiet. Connected the water and had an issues, they came right over and fixed it. Nice size lots on gravel. I would stay here again if needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
When we arrived and check in we were told to just pick any site we liked. The sites are very unlevel. We moved twice to get a spot we could level and then the electric did not work at that site. After moving for the third time we found a suitable site. Has nice new bathrooms, laundry room and game room. Once we were settled in this is an adequate campground for a one night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Very well laid out park. No pull throughs, but easy back ins at all the sites. Very clean, with great WiFi and good TV service. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
Paved roads, gravel back-in stayed here in 40 ft fifth wheel. The regular price is $30 per night stayed here 5 night and got $18 per night. We will stay here again. It was best park that we stayed at in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
This is a fairly new park. It's very large, with over 200 spaces. None were pull-through spaces and most, if not all, were back in. The land that the RV park is built on is quite wet and all the spaces have a layer of course rock. However, in some cases even the rock was not enough: the wheels of some RVs had sunk into the underlying soil. The park has blacktop roads. Overall, the park seemed neat and tidy, although we did not visit the showers and other facilities. The park does have a pool, but it was closed during our visit in early April. The park appeared to be about 20% full and almost all the RVs in the park were permanent residents. These RVs were generally in good repair, however. If you are going to be in the area north of Dallas, this is not a bad place to stay for a night or two. It was very quiet while we were here and the management was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Very nice and very new! Wi-fi is working. It is free and it is very fast! Only about 30 other RV's here at this time. Picked our own spot. Very quiet and scenic. This place is a couple of miles off the main highway. No noise. The staff is very accommodating. We stayed 3 nights. Super clean restrooms and showers. Has a laundromat, fitness center, arcade and meeting area with pool tables and full kitchen. Also a swimming pool, basketball, volleyball and a nice nature trail with open dog play area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$30
New RV park. Paved streets, back in gravel sites, with utility towers. Sites are large and well kept. Staff is helpful and courteous. Four miles to major shopping and twenty five minutes to downtown Dallas. This is a gem. Stayed here a month and will return next year. Covered storage if needed with power!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
My family and I stayed at the park while visiting family in the area. My son actually found it driving by. The park is new, very large and open. The manager was very helpful on giving directions to places we wanted to see in the Dallas area. The park was very clean and organized. They did not have Wi-Fi while we were here. The manager said they were having it installed and he said it would be free. My wife liked the laundry area. Restrooms and recreation center was very clean. They do not have pull throughs at all. Roads are paved and easy to drive around. Most spaces were level. Propane was available and they even would sell it at night and on Sundays: which was nice! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
Beautiful, quiet park close to the city yet feels like you're out in the country. The manager was very nice and the park had great amenities. City sewer and full-service pedestals with a swimming pool and first rate recreation center. Highly recommend! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com