223371 User submitted reviews online!!
BLM - La Posa Long Term Visitor Area was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (928) 317-3200
CGID11053

BLM - La Posa Long Term Visitor Area

Camp Information
Sites
10000
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   9   8   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$3
A really fun place to stay. You are in the desert with no facilities, but you can get water and dump a couple of miles away. Of course the atmosphere and the people you are with make a huge impact on the enjoyment of your experience here. We camped with eight other rigs and had a great time. Enjoyed the RV show and all of the other venues around the area. We like to come back every year for the fun and frivolity. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$3
Stayed at both the La Posa North and La Posa South LTVA's. This is desert boondocking in a gravel desert area. The north LTVA is close to the vendor area, while the south LTVA has the water and dump stations. The number of RV's here during the show weeks in late January is awesome, making it one of those, you have to do it at least once in your RV life type of happenings. The areas are so huge you can park in a crowd or go out to where you are pretty much by yourself as there are no defined sites, you just park wherever you want. Just be forewarned that there will be wind and there will be dust. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$3
This is the first year we have stayed here and actually liked it far better than the free BLM we stayed at in the past on the north end of town. One of my biggest gripes is dust, but remember where your at and with saying that if people will slow down, dust can be reduced by 50 percent. One of the things you can do is park in a rock query and the dust can almost be non existent and stay off the main road quiet a ways. We like it here and stay our 14 days for 40 dollars. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$3
What a fun place to camp with friends and family. We were in Quartzsite for the RV show and have been coming for the last three years. There are no services except for you can get water and there is a dump station on the premises. It is dusty but you have to expect that in the desert. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$15
OMG another wonderful campground. Couldn't believe how much fun this is. Staying where there is so much action and costing so little. Having to move to dump was not big thing. Water in faucets clean and tastes good. Will come again at next Quartzite show. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$2
We have spent from one to three months at a time here almost every year since we started fulltiming in 2002. We like camping out at the far edge of the LTVA, where our nearest neighbor is almost a quarter mile away even during the busiest time. The main gravel roads that wind through the LTVA are navigable by any size rig. During January, tens of THOUSANDS of RV show up in Quartzsite, so expect heavy traffic in town during that time. Each of the four La Posa areas has dumpsters, but fresh water and dump stations are only in La Posa South. As long as you have the LTVA permit displayed on your vehicle, you can park anywhere and still use the water and dump stations in La Posa South. I use a small blue boy for our gray water and have a honey wagon come out every couple weeks to pump the black tank. This year they raised their rates from $20 to $25, but they will come out to the remotest parts of the 11,400-acre LTVA. The closer you park to the highway, the dustier it will be. If you drive farther out in the desert, there is a lot more gravel than dust. It is often windy in Quartzsite, so keep that in mind. Tents and RVs that are not self-contained (defined as having at least a 10-gallon permanently mounted waste tank) can camp only within proximity to the few potable toilets there. There are also free BLM areas in the area. You can stay only two weeks in those areas, and there are no dumpsters, water, or sewer services in them. There are places in town to dump and fill for about $10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$3
Our favorite La Posa area is the La Posa North area with dry camping in the desert on BLM land just south of the Rice Ranch area in Quartzsite. There are no designated sites, and only a short section of the entrance road is paved. "Roads" are are actually tracks in the native material which is a mixture of rock and dirt. It is located on US-95 just south of Quartzsite and directly across from the La Posa West LTVA. This is a fee area, 14 days are $40.00 (2009-10 season), which can be renewed. There is also a 7 month rate which is $140 (2009-10 season). While there are dumpsters for garbage, you must either leave the La Posa North LTVA for water or to dump, driving to the La Posa South LTVA, which has both water and a dump station, or going into Quartzsite to the aptly named Pit Stop. There are also water and pump-out services that will come to you location within the LTVA if you prefer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$3
This report is on the BLM's dry camping area just South of Quartzsite, AZ. It is sometimes abbreviated as "La Posa LTVA". During the big RV and gem show in late January, many thousands of RVs converge on the city, creating traffic jams for those getting to and from the shows by road. The La Posa LTVA solves this problem, since you can walk to the shows from here. The LTVA is basically just a big area of brush and that has had some dirt roads carved into it over the years. The procedure for camping here is to arrive, purchase one of two types of permits, and then find a place that looks comfortable to camp. Then set up camp there. When finished, leave. It's that simple. There are no "lots" or "spot numbers" -- it's just open land. A Youtube or Google search will get you lots of pictures or movies of it. The permits are either for up-to-14-days or whole-season. The up-to-14 day permits are $40, regardless of how few nights you stay. The longer permits are $180 for up to 7 months. There are garbage bins, dump stations, a water station, and "vault toilets". Also, 3rd party trucks come around to pump you out if you like, and to sell propane. There are also numerous dump/fill stations in Quartzsite. We had a great time here, enjoying the RV show, rock show, local colorful personalities, and just the general "Wild West" feeling of the place. ATVs abound, but there was never any rowdiness of any kind. Indeed, perhaps due to the demographics. This is what you would call the "Old West", in terms of demographics. Will repeat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com