218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Hidden Paradise Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (765) 525-6582
CGID1106

Hidden Paradise Campground

Camp Information
Sites
168
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   9   9   6   9   1   7   6   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
OK campground but layout was strange. Staff very friendly. Our site had, P/T W/E, hook ups on door side of trailer. No cable available and dish set up looked to be iffy. Also, looked like you could put three units in a row, one behind the other, very strange. Narrow road to get into campground, but not a real problem. Stayed one night - would stay again. Rate was a GS. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
This was our very first camping trip, in our very first travel trailer. Chose the park because of the proximity to another commitment during the weekend. The place really is a nice piece of property, and the sites are pretty big, given that you park parallel to the river on a river-front site, which means you'll get to know your neighbors, regardless. New shower house is nice, but isn't kept particularly clean. It's a dog-friendly place (we have three), and we met lots of nice folks, including the staff, who were polite and helpful. Biggest complaint is seasonal campers/campsites- some of them, including a couple along the 'premium' river-front sites, should be hauled off and burned- flat tires, rusty siding, and no inhabitants. Plus, there are a couple mobile homes in the entrance road (it's also the exit road...be careful pulling out in the 'blind left' turn) that make the place seem a bit like a mobile home park at first impression, rather than an RV park. We're going camping for scenery and serenity, and for a weekend getaway, it's fine, but we'll investigate all the other options within a couple hours of our house before we would go back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Great Park for the kids... The quarry is amazing. Nice people who run the place. Pretty clean. We would definitely camp here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Really pretty park. We stayed here two nights in a 31' Airstream, in the pull-through "Lily Pad" area. Plenty of room to turn around and was not crowded at all. Management was friendly and easy to deal with. No noise or hassles. I'm not sure they have pull-through full hookup sites: none were available when we stayed, only water/electric. But they have a dump station, so for 1-3 nights it was no huge problem. Would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
The Garmin had us go through town and we found the small town streets a bit difficult to maneuver. The campground interior roads are gravel and well maintained, restrooms were clean as were the showers. My wife and grand daughter had a large spider encounter and refused to use the facilities. Playground was modern with a dusty sand base. Utilities all worked fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
We enjoyed our stay here. There are shaded sites and the swimming area in the quarry was a lot of fun. We also rented a canoe for a trip. A nice family campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
We stayed at this campground late this summer. The campground was pretty but the ownership left a lot to be desired. We paid a month's rent and were told to park in the temporary lot until a full hookup space became available. The couple that moved in a few days after us were offered the first available full hookup spot without a word to us. The lady in the office refused to even talk to me about it and acted like I was unreasonable to even bring it up. So, after paying for a full month for full hookups at the end of four weeks I asked about refunding part of our money. The owner said, "It's the same price for no hookups." I felt we were lied to and ripped off. Beware of when you park in the temporary parking, they kept putting people in the spot under the black walnut tree. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
We decided to stay here on a weekend with my sons because of the water park that is part of the campground for an extra fee, which is listed on the site. The campground was easy to find and signs were up to guide you from the highway to the driveway. Upon arrival the lady working was very friendly and got us checked in quickly. The shop has some snacks and basic needs kind of things as well as life jackets if you choose to use them at the water park. The roads were gravel and in good shape for gravel. Our site was a river view site, which my sons enjoyed, that did not have a sewer hook up. The tote pull to the dump station is a little ways and with the gravel it was rough but not bad. The dump station was well maintained and functioned perfectly. We had some noisy neighbors across the field, which I had to approach and ask to calm down at nearly 2 AM, but they were gone the next night and it was very peaceful. Overall, the fees were not bad and my sons had a great time so we will be returning. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
We had a nice site by the river, but it's a little hard to figure out the sites and where to put your camper. It was wet when we were there, and a lot of mud (gravel was inadequate). We were there during the week, so it was very quiet. This would be a great place for kids, as there are a lot of open fields and a great (old quarry?) swimming hole with lots of floating inflated toys. It's a beautiful setting, but the physical setup leaves a little to be desired. It's older and shows it. Restrooms were reasonably clean. They are the combination toilet/shower/sing restrooms which we like a lot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
Very nice campground on river. Swimming was extra and not included with camping fees, but was well worth it with many jumping tires and items to do in swimming pond. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
We camped there in July 2006, the park was wonderful. The staff were friendly overall but took some warming up too. We camped across from the river in a patch of grass, 30amp hook up and water available there but needed a longer cord. The quarry was a blast, they have life jackets available for free just sign them in and out. Restrooms were clean for the amount of people that were there. Planning on going back alot, very much enjoyed the stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Wonderful piece of property. A small river runs alongiside one side of the campground and a lot of people were tubing. The quarry was a great way to spend the afternoon. All manner of floating items to play and rest on. Employees were OK. A little attitude, but nothing that a smile and a little firmness couldn't fix. We camped in the middle of a large field with hookups. Campsites were not marked. It was kind of a crapshoot as to which way to put the rig. The only major complaint I have was the constant parade of golf carts, mopeds, and scooters all driven by 12-15 year olds. The dust was awful although I must say that they sprayed water to keep the dust down, but it only worked until the water evaporated. Not really large rig friendly either. They commented a couple of times about how "huge" the MH was and I still had my 36" Bounder at the time. They might have passed out on seeing the new one pull in. Probably will not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$20
We have stayed at Hidden Paradise every weekend since Memorial Day weekend. I first want to correct something from one of the other comments. There are river sites available. We have stayed on the river everytime except for one. This campground is nice because there is so much for the kids to do. No, they do not have organized activities all the time, but on the holiday weekends they do. The bathrooms have all been clean except for one time and I think you could find that at any campground. There are four private bathrooms (shower, toilet, sink) and then there is an additional shared bathhouse with four toilets and four showers. They also have port-a-potties and outhouses the further you get from the main bathhouses. I would recommend this place if you'd like to have all of your activities centrally located. I know we've stayed other places and you'd either have to drive or walk a long distance in order to fish, swim, play at the park, visit the camp store. We plan on getting a seasonal site as soon as we get a camper. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$23
This campground has many seasonals. They advertise camping on the river, but all river sites are seasonals. We were put in an open grassy field. No markers or gravel. You actually camp on the grass. Would have been a mess if it rained. We experienced lots of children running around unsupervised. The campground has a nice playground and swimming in the quarry. Unfortunately the water trampoline was out of commission but looked fun. There is no planned activities. The new restrooms look to be nice. I visited 4 times in one weekend and found overflowing trash cans, no paper towels or toilet paper. There are only 4 for 186 sites. I was not impressed at all. I don't think I will go back. Overall it looked like a Hillbilly campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$23
Interesting place - very friendly Christian owners who don't mind a late arrival (although navigating in the dark was tough - this place truly is "hidden"). Many seasonal sites but they were deserted mid-week when we were there. Pull-through we chose wasn't terribly level (on a grassy field) but it was sufficient. VERY peaceful and away from it all, yet not far off the interestate. Bathhouses weren't the greatest but they are in the process of building new ones. Lots of woods and open spaces, and a pen with resident deer and a bobcat. River runs through campground - we didn't get to check it out but apparently it's good for canoeing & kayaking. No pool but there's a quarry that's filled in, and it's stocked with all kinds of play equipment - slides, water trampolines, floats etc. It was tough dragging the kids away, as this was only a quick overnight for us. We would return to this park for a peaceful getaway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com