223325 User submitted reviews online!!
Joint Base San Antonio RV Park (Military Camping Only) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (210) 221-5502
CGID11061

Joint Base San Antonio RV Park (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   10   9   9   10   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$22
Great location to visit San Antonio. The roads around the base and on the base are horrible. Base is nice. No Wi-Fi. In this day and age their is no reason not to have WiFi available. Thank goodness there was a Starbucks right outside the gate were you can get online. Nothing special but great location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
This military park has 68 pull-through full hook up RV sites with 30/50 amp hookups. Biggest sites I have ever seen. Sites have concrete pads and includes a patio, picnic table, and a grill. Restroom and shower facilities and overall cleanliness of the park is among the best we have ever used. The office staff and camp host were top of the line and very helpful. Our late arrival, because of RV tire problem, was not a problem and the lady in the office called (after office hours) to check and see if she could help in anyway. We really enjoyed our stay at the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Excellent weekend. Concrete level sites, Lots of space between sites. A gem, we will absolutely be back. 50 amp, full hookups,late arrivals. Beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$11
The nightly rate is based on a monthly rate; we stayed for the whole month. The staff is always nice and ready to help. This is the neatest military RV park we have ever visited. Nice interior roads and all sites are pull-throughs, cement pads and patios. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
The base itself-camping facility- was very nice. The sites were level, long, with all amenities. It was the getting there that was arduous. Much construction was taking place on roads outside the base with many in/out road cones/markers, and some lanes not marked at all - a real "free-for-all". Couple that with coming into San Antonio on a Friday afternoon at rush hour - should have known better. For a few bucks more I think I'll be staying outside town in a few other places known to be bettter and easier to get into. It's a shame cause a great many other military bases I've experienced have been very pleasant experiences. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$15
Rate is based on weekly stay. This is a military family campground, so you’ll need an ID card to access the post. Large, level sites, full hook ups, plenty of space between them. Nice large picnic table and grill at each site, level concrete pads and large concrete patio area. Very clean park, staff was friendly and helpful. Two camp hosts in attendance but didn’t see them much. We didn’t use the bathhouses, but laundry rooms looked very clean. Water pressure is good, electric was steady, no wi-fi or cable but our Verizon card worked very well. Park has a fenced in dog run. Park is great for big rigs. Great location for visiting San Antonio attractions and a lot of the lower/eastern hill country. If trains bother you, you probably won’t like it here. There is a very busy track that runs between the hospital and the RV park; it didn’t bother us but the horns will get your attention. If they had wi-fi I would have given them a 10. We would definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$17
This is a very nice military park with a friendly staff. The RV spaces are huge and concrete. Very hot in the summer and no shade. Easy to access all of the base facilities from the park. We have stayed here multiple times and have always enjoyed our stay. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$17
Large pull through sites. Paved. Big sites. Well maintained. Enclosed dog run. Nice staff. Nice little park area. Equips for kids. Close to river walk and Alamo. Commissary and exchange were really nice. We stayed 4 nights. You do hear the train but it didn't bother us. Earplugs help. We would definitely stay here again. It is a military facility so not available to everyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$12
Rate is based on a monthly stay. Getting to the park is an exercise in pothole and maintenance cone avoidance, but once on the post the roads, while bumpy, are fairly well maintained. The park itself is extremely well maintained; level concrete pull-through sites and large patio with table and grill, convenient hookups, and lots of room. Propane is available M-F and there are a few RV items in the store. There is no park Wi-Fi or cable, but you're in the middle of a metropolitan area so there is plenty of broadcast TV, and our Verizon data card was on 4G during our stay. If you have mail forwarded, be prepared to navigate a maze of warehouses and loading docks to find the mail room - we opted for the main post office instead. It's one of the best parks in the military, but what makes it less desirable for us is the the train noise. Be prepared for all day, all night trains loudly sounding their horns as they pass within 1/2 mile of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$11
Rate is based on staying for one month. Large pull through sites, considerable space between sites. Always stay here when coming through San Antonio for our annual medical appointments. Easy accessibility to gym, commissary and PX - lots of construction around the entrance gates, but getting better with every visit. Will definitely stay here again. Very friendly and helpful office personnel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
The campground is okay. It used to be really great but with all the cutbacks it is getting seedy. There is suppose to be a 30 day limit and extended if medical is needed. There is one camper there that has an upside down satellite dish on top of it and I know its been there over 4 years as I check it out each year when I come back for the winter and it is always in the same spot month after month. Guess it's all in who you know. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
A little hard to find, but there are signs that direct you to the RV park. Follow the GPS coordinates to the front gate given at the military campgrounds. They will take you right here, and the directions are accurate. Roads are terrible, but once inside the park, it's nice. Concrete level pads with patio and picnic table. Super friendly hosts with small store in the office for RV essentials; propane on site as well. Yes, there are trains about every 45 minutes; little odd for a base, but not a show stopper for us. Easy access to downtown and base commissary and exchange. Hookups in good repair, lots of space between neighbors. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
Hard to find but glad we stayed here. Clean washers/dryers, bathrooms, showers. Secluded very quit area behind the hospital. Large dog run area. Friendly staff. Pretty close to the downtown Riverwalk, about 10-15 minutes . I noticed pull through sites don't have shade trees. Good level sites with tables and lots of room for slides. Nice place and would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$15
This is a nice military campground. The staff is friendly and helpful. Good roads and concrete pads to park on. Excellent Verizon 4G air card service. I am surprise that there have not been many comments on the noisiness of the campground. Trains run frequently and if you are bothered by noise, you will not like it here. Roads on the base (not the campground) are some of the worst I have encountered. Laundry is $.75 per load wash/dry but there is no place to fold clothes. We would happily return here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$17
Wonderful park with long, level sites with lots of room. Only problem was sand spurs. But that's Texas in general. Great military facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$11
All the reviews that are posted are true still. The Verizon air card is very fast in evo and the Sprint air card is very slow in 1x. Still can't understand why this place has no wi-fi. There is still lots of people that stay over the 30 day limit. It's like most other places as in who you know. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$11
This park is well maintained and the staff always helpful and friendly. Two camp hosts so if you need something you can always find someone. Rate is monthly rate. One of the best military parks we have visited. Will always use when in San Antonio. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$11
Very nicely maintained park with large, concrete pads with adjoining picnic tables on large concrete pads. Paved roadways with easy access for the largest rigs. Friendly staff with 24 hour on-site hosts. If you like the sound of trains, welcome to San Antonio! Nearby tracks (couple of hundred yards away) have frequent train traffic with grade crossings that lead to whistle calls frequently. High water pressure. Need a regulator! Price was based on one month stay ($334/month). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$11
Rate is normally $16/night, but stay a month and the rate decreases. Great location, near to downtown and medical faciities, and nice, large sites on cement. Grounds needed more work, grass allowed to grow entirely too long, asked office if we could take care of our site and were told we couldn't. Office staff though was very nice and worked with you on site choices. Definitely would stay here again, big rig friendly and can't beat the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$16
This is a great campground to utilize if you are active or retired military. Reservations are accepted. Close to downtown San Antonio and all attractions. Sites are huge - nearest RV was approximately 50' away on each side. Roads, pads and patios are all paved and very level. Sites and common areas are well kept. Campground is on post, so you have access to all post facilities (pool, bowling alley, commissary, PX, etc.). Campers are from all over the US - very friendly and helpful. We stayed for two weeks and would have stayed longer if we hadn't had a previous commitment. We will return here if in the area! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com