223325 User submitted reviews online!!
Colorado River Thousand Trails was rated 8 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (979) 732-8229
CGID11095

Colorado River Thousand Trails

Camp Information
Sites
138
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   8   8   9   8   6   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$3
Price shown is for TT Member with 50 amp service. The park hasn't changed much over the last year. It has nice large site offerings, gravel sites many of which do offer a clear view for DirectTV reception. However not all sites do offer a clear view of the sky so if you need it check closely. Good electrical service, good water pressure. Plenty of green grass and small deer feeding on it around the TT Preserve. Did not use the shower/bath facilities so I can't comment on those. Park Rangers were very helpful when needed. Park does show to have internet, but it is only available in the club house and is slow as a snails pace, or slower. Park is located a few miles out of town, but close enough to be there in a few minutes drive time. Roads are rough in places due to recent heavy rains, but are very drivable without problems. We enjoyed 6 very peaceful quiet nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$1
We loved this park. It's everything we always hope our next campground will be like. The sites are huge, level, and everything just about perfect. The only negative is that there wasn't more water in the river. However, that certainly is nothing they can control. Love this place!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$1
Sites are spacious in loops C and D but a little less so in loop A. Roads are rough but passable. The water is safe but has an odor. The fishing on the river is phenomenal if you have a boat or kayak, but still good from the bank. The park is quiet and peaceful with a large herd of 10-30 deer that wander through. The mini golf course is worn and needs attention. We love this park for the setting and fishing. It is more like a wide open state park in the size of the sites than a private campground. The staff are friendly and helpful. The park is kid and pet friendly with a small playground but lots of running room. We will definitely be back when we are in the area. We stayed as a part of the Thousand Trails program so the cost was actually $0 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$3
TTN rate for 50 AMP. Staff here was incredible. D section sets on the crumbling river bank well above the Colorado River. Views are awesome, but you put yourself at risk to try to climb down the bank to the river. We set up in A section with great sites, set well apart, and definitely not cramped together. Restrooms and showers are clean and functional. Laundry room clean. CG is quiet. Our Wi-Fi cards and cell phones worked well. Deer are visible but they stay away from campers and feeding isn't allowed. Boat ramp down to the river was muddy and very slick. No one had launched there in quite a long time. This is a very nice CG and we would definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$37
The park is absolutely beautiful. There are deer wandering around everywhere. The Colorado river runs along the lower campground. There are lots of beautiful sites but I'm not sure who qualifies to use them. The lower campground was closed due to potential flooding. We were put in the A loop which we hated, as most of the sites were crammed together and had no privacy. I would go back again if I could stay in the lower campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$1
Very nice park, well maintained, big rig friendly. Gracious host with lots of information. Excellent BBQ on Friday nights at Peter's in Ellinger. Heated pool and indoor spa. Would be a 10 but only outdoor showers at the pool/spa and water never heated up. Lots of room between sites. Would return again. We had a 50amp FHU site on the river. Verizon and AT&T 4bars/3/4g Rate reflects member rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$38
Rate reflects Passport America discount and $3 surcharge for 50 amp service. Roads badly in need of repaving. Ranger was helpful & pleasant. Pool was recently redone. Hot tub is inside. Pool/hot tub area are a fair distance from the campground. Bathrooms need updating. We would stay overnight again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$13
Our rate was only $3 because we are Thousand Trails members and paid the extra for 50 amps service. This park has nice large sites like a state or federal park and has deer roaming everywhere! The staff is nice but TT keeps cutting back on staff/hours (according to one of the staff) and it is starting to show. While there are great facilities like pool/hot tub/mini golf, they are looking tired. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$1
Much like the many great 1000 Trails preserves of yesteryear . . . fairly simple, well groomed, not TOO many leased sites (like so many other 1000 Trails parks are now!). Seems to be pretty good member-generated gatherings, assisted by a good park manager. Other staff members are good, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$5
I'm a Thousand Trails member, this park is very nice with large sites. It is a typical thousand trails park. My only complaint is as a member I don't feel I should have to pay extra for a premium site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$37
The roads are really bad. The access road of gravel and sand creates terrible dust that gets into every crack and covers the towed vehicle. Inside the park there are potholes everywhere. However, once into the park, the sites are pretty and level. This is a membership park that has some sites open to the public. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$3
We stayed 3 days at this TT park, which has major potential. Like many parks in the TT network, it is a little 'tired' looking. The main road through the preserve needs major repair, the preserve includes so much land that keeping it all mowed is a challenge. The Wi-Fi is in the clubhouse only, and is weak. And the buildings could use a facelift. That said, the preserve is huge, the sites are separated into river sites, lower sites, and hill sites. Sites are gravel, level, and wide. Hookups worked well. There are large trees that provide shade on many of the sites. Over air and satellite service is available from the sites on the hill. The pool just opened and was clean. There is a miniature golf putting area and a boat dock. Numerous deer roamed the preserve daily. This is one of our favorite campgrounds in the TT network due to the open, spacious feel of the preserve. The $3 per day charge was for 50 amp service with a TT membership. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Gravel roads in poor condition, sites are gravel. The grass was really high when we were there and there were ant mounds everywhere. (they did invade our trailer) The staff was nice. They park looks like it is having some renovations in the works. It could be a great park when (if) those are done. It was very quiet and dark at night. They river was really low and not flowing in areas. (yuck) Overall... an OK park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$3
First time stay at a Thousand Trails Preserve. The Staff was fantastic, informative, helpful; could not have been any better. The grounds were extremely clean and well maintained. Camp sites are very large, most of which offer gravel pads, a few offer concrete partical pads and padio. No cable service offered at the sites, matter of fact the lower sites don't receive any TV antenna broadcast reception (but then that ain't all bad) WiFi available in the Activity Center which also has a couple of TVs, pool table, ping pong, table activities and great cold A/C. Rest Rooms spotless, pool area well maintaned. Preserve also offers a few different out door court games and putt putt golf. Roads in good condition, some gravel some paved, some a combination of the two. TT Preserve does have a private boat ramp to the river. The preserve is located near town which offers a few great restaurants...great food, big helpings, reasonable prices for those times you don't feel like cooking. A word of advise, in the summer months it is HOT!! But so is the rest of Texas. Price shown is for a Thousand Trails membership offer of $0 plus $3 per night for 50 amp service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$3
This is a nice older Thousand Trails park. They have upgraded quite a few sites with 50 AMP, concrete patios and well packed gravel for the parking pad. We were able to find a site that allowed us to use our satellite and still have some shade. There were deer wandering the park and lots of areas in which to walk the dog and get some exercise. We did not use the pool or spa but they were available. The park is pretty convenient to restaurants, which is not always the case with Thousand Trails parks. We enjoyed the park and would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
This is a relatively small Thousand Trails park, but is very nice. Management obviously has put considerable money into maintenance and painting since our last visit a few months ago. The grounds are well-maintained, and the showers are very clean. Sites are large and relatively well-separated, especially in the loop nearest the river. Although there is no local Wi-Fi, Verizon connectivity is very good. The price noted is for non-members, who are now welcome at all Thousand Trails parks on a space-available basis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$0
Great Campground! We had a river front site, full hook up with 30 amp. Deer herd was fun to watch. Our ATT internet card didn't work, but there's Wi-Fi in the activity center. We will definitely stay here again! As this is one of our membership parks we did not pay for our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$1
A "membership park" that lives up to the standard expected of 1000 Trails preserves. There is a resident herd of deer that roam freely throughout the park. Well worth the 8 mile drive from I-10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$3
I enjoyed this park because it was in the country, however you could still hear the train in the distance. The sites were big enough for big rigs and slides. The preserve was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Had a great Miniature Golf Course. Verizon Wireless worked well. We were able to get satellite reception. The surrounding towns had many tourist activities and sights to see. I would return, and recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$1
This park is in a great location. The only thing i can say bad about it is does not have enough sewer sites. If you want to stay two or three weeks they have a system of getting sewer sites as they come available. We stayed five days and it was great. Had a herd of deer pass through the park in morning and night. For me i liked the non sewer sites better they were not as close together and were easier to get into. We are Thousand Trail members so it did not cost us anything to camp here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$32
This is a relaxed, member only, park with large pecan trees and many deer roaming. On this stay the hot tub and pool were closed but most other facilities were open. A new manager is in place but he is not very friendly, rarely speaks to members or guests. The maintenance staff do a great job and the housekeeping is great with clean bathrooms and buildings. We would recommend this park to all who can use it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com