223558 User submitted reviews online!!
Adventureland Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (515) 265-7321
CGID1110

Adventureland Campground

Camp Information
Sites
310
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   6   10   7   7   6   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$45
Large park with asphalt roads and pads. Entry to park very near to busy intersection making left turns into park hazardous. Most pads are very narrow and asphalt is cracked and uneven. Great park for pet owners, with lots of grassy areas, however, the grass is very infrequently mowed, so may be 12"-14" high. Site maintenance is severely lacking with muddy holes beside pads, little grass between some pads and very uneven pads. Lots of trees, multiple restroom/laundry sites. Was not willing to use the washing machines in the laundry as they all had a horrible odor. Motorhome owners would be well advised to unhitch the toad, then drive around and pick your own pull-through spot. Park caters to "workampers" who work next door at Adventureland, most of whom, are friendly good neighbors. Lots of families visit on the weekends for obvious reasons. Near to restaurants, grocery stores & Walmart. Casino & horse track a plus for some. From our experience, the park is a bit pricey given the maintenance issues. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
Part of the Adventureland Resort/Hotel/ Amusement Park complex. (Fun park is seasonal). RV park has all hard sites with grass "yards". Most sites have a fire ring, none have cable. Wi-Fi is LinknGo $ub$cription. Off-season and late arrivals must check in at the adjacent hotel. Geared for us to "bring the family and stay a week" but come-n-go overnighters are also welcome. Prairie Meadows Casino & Race Track is directly across the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$60
Nice campground, just looks and feels old. Plenty of space between sites and is situated on a large parcel of land. Amusement park is within walking distance but they do provide trolley service. Pool is nice and open late. Camp store is limited. This campground could use a fenced in pet walk area. Price is just an estimate. I don't recall what I paid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This campground was part of the campus that is the amusement park in Altoona. After registering in a smallish staging area to register, there is a long, one-way, loop that takes you through the large park. The pull throughs were all taken, so we had no choice but to disconnect for the overnight stay. We circled more than 3 quarters of the loop before finding our lettered loop section. The 6-8 site loop was very tight for our big rig and several of the cars in the loop were parked partially in the paved drive, making it even more of a squeeze. Our site was level, but tight and short. We actually had to pull forward enough to keep the jacks on a solid surface, with 10 or more feet hanging over the wet sod in the rear. You are asked not to park on the grass, rather in front of your RV, however we would have blocked the circle impeding traffic. I had to pull the toad immediately alongside the living room slide being careful not to back over the very forward sewer drain. We half expected someone knocking on our door asking us to move, but no one did. The park seemed to have many seasonals throughout and some of the sites were quite cluttered with stuff that looked like it had been there a long time. It was just OK for us to overnight. There was a good choice of restaurants and a Flying J right in the immediate area. We would more than likely look for a better option if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
We stayed here two nights and this RV park is very nice. Nicely mowed, grassy spots with paved pads (very little leveling needed). The hosts were all very nice, friendly and helpful. It is a large park next to Adventureland, which means there were a lot of kids in the park. It is not the park's responsibility to manage them, it is their parents'. My only complaint is that they put a family with six kids next to us and they were slamming doors constantly. Overall, I would recommend this park highly. We spent most of our time across the street at the casino/horse racing track. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
We was here visiting friends in the area and attending the Iowa State Fair, that is the only reasons we would come to this park. Sites was tight and they have lots of extended stay. Really over priced! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
We stayed here for five days while we were visiting friends who working at the amusement park. This is a noisy park due to being right next door to the amusement park. The shrieking of excited riders starts at 10 AM and ends anywhere between 9 & 10 PM. Sites were clean. The park is laid out almost in circular neighborhoods which make it feel less like a large city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$39
This is an old campground kept in nice shape. Sites are fairly level & far enough apart. Nice thing about campground is how close it is to amusement park & race track/casino. Easy on/off interstate. Laundry & showers old, but clean. We stayed on our way to & from Alaska in May & Sept. Wasn't very busy then, but probably full during the summer months. We'd stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This is an urban RV park located next to a casino/racetrack and a theme/water park. The park was really easy to find and well-signed. They have security at the gate and security drives around the park in golf carts to keep an eye on things. Nothing heavy, just nice friendly people who make sure the only people coming into the park have a legitimate reason to be there. Our daughter lives in Des Moines and came to visit us several times during our stay. She had no trouble getting in by providing our name and site number. This is a busy park and there are lots of kids here. The pool was often busy but we didn't take the time to use it. The park is nicely treed, with lots of green grass. The sites are a combination of pull-through and back-ins and despite the number, offer plenty of room. The only issue I had were with the water bugs or roaches depending on what you call them. I didn't notice them at our site until we were leaving and picking things up off the ground. We have since killed a two in our RV and I hate to say it but we will probably have to take the time to bug bomb because I'm not taking them home as a memento. The laundry room at the park was clean but the roaches were an issue there too. Whoever used the washer/dryers ahead of us probably didn't take the time to look inside the washers before using them because we found a number of dead and dried roaches in the lint catchers before we used the dryers. I had to go into the restroom to get some toilet paper to get the bugs out of the washer before using them. If we had known about them in advance, we would have sprayed the RV legs when we were setting up. The bugs were the worst thing about our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This campground is showing its age. Restrooms need updating. You have to pay for Wi-Fi, and there is no cable TV. So the $35 is a little steep for what you get or don't get. Many of the sites are taken by workcampers who work in the Adventureland park. Recommend you make a reservation if you plan on stopping here in June, July, or August. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Very good park. Really liked there was a trolley to Adventureland. Family took very convenient trolley, and I had use of car for other activities. It rained very heavy both nights (tornado sirens one night!). Water pooled by trailer, but was gone by 9:00 am, so not bad considering amount of rain. Only one negative - sewer was at front of sight and everyone knows the sewer is at BACK of trailer. Neighbors went to store to buy extensions (very long extensions and expensive). As I was only staying 2 nights, I stowed sewerage and dumped when I pulled trailer forward at end of 2-day stay. Good pool. You will enjoy the campground. Definitely would recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Easy access from I-80. Interior roads are easy. Fair amount of space between sites. A lot of seasonal units. Long pull throughs. Grounds are kept up, however, roads and pads are sinking with age, making leveling a little more difficult. Some large puddles with heavy rain. Electric hook ups could use updating. A good overnight stop or if staying a few days. Casino across the street. Wal-mart about 1 mile away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
The park has nice pull throughs for big rigs. Everything is paved with full hook-ups and 50 amp. One complaint is that the pavement is starting to need repair. Part of our site was caving in so it was not very level. We had heavy rains every night and our sewer connection was underwater the entire time due to poor drainage. The back in campsites are in small cul-de-sacs. Most will not work for a larger RV, so keep that in mind when making reservations. The restrooms were clean but very dated. We would recommend this park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This campground needs to update their electrical system. When it was busy, our air conditioner kept shutting down. We had tickets to the Iowa Speedway but were not able to attend because we had our dog with us, it was hot, and we could not depend on the air conditioner to continue to work while we were gone. Won't stay here again until they update. Maintenance said they have had complaints, they have recommended that the system be updated but the owners don't want to spend the $$. Sad because it otherwise is a very nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Very clean everything at this park, with very friendly staff and security. Restrooms and showers were very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
An "okay" campground. Large, a bit noises at times, pool not very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
The sites here were all paved as well as the roads. It is a nice park for the family as it has a park nearby. It is also close to a casino. There seemed to be a lot of RVs that were staying for an extended time but everything was nice and neat. It had some shade trees and a lot of grass. We weren't able to get a pull thru so we were assigned a back in site that was located in a circle. The angle of the back in made it easy to back in however getting around the circle with the trucks that were parked there was very tight. We had to go up over the curb coming and going. We felt we were given a site that was more meant for smaller rigs. There wasn't any cable. We would stay again but make reservations earlier for a pull thru site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Large park with paved roads and sites, lots of grass and trees. Sites have a picnic table. Many sites open enough for satellite TV. Electricity generally OK but at times did drop to 116vac with heavy park useage. The back-in sites are too short for most motorhomes, the pull through sites are OK. We were here in heavy rains and there was ponding in some sites and roads. Check-in friendly and efficient. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
The RV campground is enormous with pretty lawns. Good place to stay for a few days, especially with a family because it adjoins the large Adventureland Amusement Park, a large casino, and a race track. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
A nice park for an overnight stay. Laundry room is clean but only two washers and dryers. The office staff was helpful in parking us near the laundry. Security patrols the park continually. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Nice campground with a nice looking pool and playground area, but we did not use either. The site that we were in had the sewer hookup way up toward the front of the site so I was unable to hookup my sewer. I was only here for one night so that was not an issue. I would stay here again when passing through the area as there is much to do around the campground. It was a nice quiet area for the campground not to far off the Interstates 80 and 35. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Nice place. Our site is not exactly level, but doable. Good 50 amp power. Nice neighbors. WIFI is extra cost, but Verizon aircard works very well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
the park was very nice and clean We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
We were really disappointed in this campground. They advertise themselves as a "five star camping resort" but we noticed that several stars were definitely missing. To begin with, the office closed at 7:00 PM on Friday night Memorial Day weekend, which made check in at the nearby hotel very inconvenient. Upon check in we learned that the pool and game room were not available. Our site had pools of water from the previous day's rain. The picnic table was old, with peeling paint...practically unusable. The playground was also very old, and to get to it, you had to cut through the sites of several very junky looking seasonal campsites. I would say that 80% of the campground was seasonal campers. We spoke to the manager about the fact that we were paying "high season" rates but the park was clearly not up and running for the season. We would have felt much better had we been charged the off season rate. The manager made it clear that he didn't care whether we were happy or not. With so many seasonal campers, I guess one or two unhappy weekend campers doesn't make a dent in the profits. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
Our first night camping in our new 38 foot motor home. We loved it. Will camp there again soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$23
Stayed 1 week. Restrooms & Showers were clean and well placed. Sites were level, paved and a little close together. Park roads are paved. We stayed here because we wanted to do sight seeing in Des Moines not because of the Casino or Park. It was the best park we could find in the area. It is definitely geared for the casino and theme park. Lots of families and kids, but not a problem. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
This campground was very nice. It is clean and the sites are laid out well. All the sites were concrete, and ours was a long, level pull-thru. The casino and horse racing track is across the street on one side, and an amusement park is on the other. Would definitely return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
We spent a weekend at this campsite and were pleasantly surprised. The restrooms left something to be desired but other than that we really enjoyed the campground. We were in a circular campsite with plenty of space, the pool was nice and the staff was helpful. You are within walking distance to the Park and if you didn't feel like making the walk they have a shuttle that takes you in and out of the Park. We are planning another outing to this campground next summer with some friends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
Nice paved site with grass and shade trees and picnic table. Well organized but crowded park. It is next door to amusement park but we had a great view of the ferris wheel at night from our site. We could hear the park noise during the day but the park does close early, 9pm. No screaming kids near us. The bathrooms were well kept but could be updated. The pool looked nice and grounds were well cared for. The park seemed to be used mainly by work kampers working at Adventureland. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
After reading the other reviews of this park, I was disappointed upon arrival. Roads and pads are paved, thank God! There is so much continual traffic going through this place that it would be a giant dust bowl if it were gravel. Of course, gravel roads would be impassible with the large pools of water that collect over them. The paved site pads are just about wide enough for your RV, which means you get to step out of your rig and into the mud when it rains. Just a warning, it's an Amusement Park, so there are screaming kids everywhere! Wifi is available in the park for an additional $5 a day. I would for another campground if I were in this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$25
Very nice park with numerous clean toilet/shower houses throughout the park. I stayed here in winter, a few days after snowfall and the number of cleared sites were limited. They probably only clean a limited number of sites in the winter. The staff was friendly, although winter hours were limited to a couple hours a day. They have a shuttle service to take you to the casino. The park is close to I-80, so it is convenient but also can be a little noisy. I enjoyed the park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
Although there are low places that collect water after a hard rain, the campground is one of the better values in the upper midwest. Excellent park for big rigs that are towing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
We overnighted here and found it to be a great spot. We called ahead with reservations and arrived after office hours. We were greated by security and escourted to our site. They even shined flashlights on the site to help us back in. Restrooms are dated but clean. Sites are spaced nicely. We didn't stay to play at the park, but found it to be a very nice stop over. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$29
Nice campground with hard-surfaced roads located within walking distance of Adventureland park. Pool house could use some updating as well as the playground equipment, but overall, we were very pleased with our campsite and would return again if in the area. We camped here 2 nights. Some freeway noise may bother some folks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$29
The only thing that keeps this from getting a 10 is the interstate noise. It can get a little noisy during rush hour, but it may or may not bother some folks. The campground is great to stay at while doing the Adventureland amusement park. The sites are hard-surfaced and level and easily accessible off of I-80. We would stay there again if in the area. There were a few workkampers, but they all seemed pretty friendly. The playground could use a little updating, but again, if you're in the area, this is a pretty nice place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$23
Although we only stayed overnight, we were quite impressed with cleanliness and sites. Sites were very level and paved. Amusement park is within walking distance of site. Limited supplies. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$24
Nice park, paved sites and friendly staff. Office building showing signs of age and needs some maintenance. Park just east of Des Moines, closest RV Park. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$22
Many pull thrus handling a 40' 5th and toter. Level, paved sites with nice landscaping. Adjacent to Prarie Meadows Race Track and Casino We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com