206561 User submitted reviews online!!
Southern Oaks Luxury RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (361) 758-1249
CGID11137

Southern Oaks Luxury RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   3   7   9   5   8   9   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$40
I've read the other reviews and will agree about a few things. Ants, burrs and garbage cans. Other then that we had a great time there. there is a new manager, Mrs. Smith, very friendly and accommodating. The people in the park were also very friendly as well. We were invited to more then 1 4 o'clock. Good power, Open skies for Sat. AT&T good, good water pressure. We stayed here in a MH , loved the long pull thru. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2012
$20
Rate reflects "Rally" rate. Not impressed with the park. Reservations "very" difficult to make. Phone calls never returned. Took 3-4 calls to talk to someone. Owner very accommodating. Office Manager seems to know nothing about RVing & refused to assist us several times. Most people in the park were friendly, but some actually said we were not welcome. Sites were good sized, but grass is covered with sand burrs, so much so that pets could not walk on the grass. The pet run was also covered in burrs. Expensive "pay by the drink" WI-FI is the only thing available & no cable available. This is the furthest thing from a Luxury Resort. Will not return. There are plenty of other new parks in the area to choose from. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
We stayed here for a couple of days. Overall its a nice and clean park, and would certainly stay here again, however, there are some big things to overcome. There is no internet service so to speak, yes there is a really over priced, hourly rate service managed by a 3rd party company that one can use. For the price of this place, they need to have free Wi-Fi. For me, this is a deal breaker, that come next time, we will probably try out another location in the area, before coming back here. The pool & club house on the property are nice, we used both. Showers were nice and clean, did not do any laundry, so can't speak to that. The other big complaint we had: no trash cans. There was no where for us to throw our trash. Asked, they said just put trash out on the street, we will come by and pick it up. Come morning, we find a stray dog neck deep into the trash bags making a mess. Another problem are the ants. In this area of Texas, its kind of a hard thing to control, but something needs to be done. The ants are everywhere. We did not have any get into our MH, however the couple next door to us had them get into their Travel Trailer while they were gone at beach for the day: what a mess that was. As for small complaint, no cable is kind of bad. Was able to pick up a few channels OTA but for a "Luxury" park, they need to offer cable TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
We stayed here for 3 months. The park is still under development, but the management is working hard to make this a luxury park. Very convenient to Corpus, Rockport, shopping and highways. IMO best park in Aransas Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$15
We have stayed here two winters in a row. It is a very nice park. In March of 2012 I made a reservation for 2013 with a $200 deposit. A couple of weeks before arriving I heard some comments in the RV community about management, or lack of, problems at Southern Oaks, Aransas Pass. I wont go into what I heard, because it was second hand information and I cannot vouch for it's accuracy. Although I experienced some of what I heard. So I call the park to be sure that my reserved site is waiting for me and I was told they were filled up and I did not have a spot. What about my deposit and reservation? Glad I made the call, it would not have been a good thing to pull in and find out I didn't have a spot at the last minute. I had to scramble to find a park to stay at. Owner was very rude on the phone. He kept telling me that he was in customer service for 30 years. That didn't mean much to me as I kept thinking 30 years of poor customer service. Anyway, I did recover my $200 deposit, and although under correct management this would be a very nice place to stay, I will not go back till that changes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$32
The quoted rate reflects a weekly rate. This park is only 3 years old so much of the vegetation is still young. All of the streets,sites & patios are paved, and the sites are spacious with ample room on both sides. The registration office is still in a temporary building, but there is a very nice laundry and community center in the park. The park hosts were very friendly. There are nice walking trails and a fenced-in dog run area. The only negatives were the lack of cable TV, fee-driven Wi-Fi and only one laundry/rest room area which was quite a way from the camping area. Perhaps once the park is more "mature", ratings will improve. The park is about a mile from the coast but easily accessible (but not clearly marked) via Hwy 35 Bypass. I would return to this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$60
It is new and nice. Not a destination but easy in and out for 45 footer. Paved level sites. Office was helpful when we asked to extend. Many spend winter here and I can see why. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$32
As stated below, this a new park and facilities are continuously being added. The grand opening for the large Activity Building (club house) is March 24 with free food and dance and tour of the full project. Pool, billiards, weight room, library, gathering room with wet bar and a Great Room along side a full kitchen are all included. Off the road, neat and tidy. New laundry and showers to be built in the surveyed expansion which may take it to around 75 spacious sites. The golf course will have 5 active holes this spring and the other 4 by fall (already set in place and being rejuvenated). Driving range in place. The owners community has had a surge of sales and then building, but this has not bothered the rental community at all. Come this fall this place will be THE PLACE TO BE. Dances, season/holiday meals, special gatherings are already being planned. We will be back for 5 months. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$18
Rate is based on a monthly stay plus electricity. While improvements are ongoing, this park is still a ways from being a "resort" and is overpriced for the quality of services. Sites are level concrete pads with patio and table; however, there is no cable TV and the Wi-Fi is not only not free, but is priced much too high. Far enough off the highway to be quiet while fairly convenient to Port Aransas, Rockport, and Corpus Christi. Verizon cell and Aircard service were good. Most residents are returning snowbirds so there is a clique, but most residents were friendly. The new management is upgrading the park, and many of the "owner" lots have been sold, which resulted in construction vehicles and noise starting each day. There are other parks in the area with comparable or better facilities that are more reasonably priced, and if we return to the area, we'll look elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
Rate reflects Passport America rate, which is good for a maximum of 3 nights. This is a very nice park and is on its way to becoming a great park. It is still being developed, but the pool is done now. The laundry, library, restrooms and showers are done also. The rest of the community center is under construction. We parked on a pull-through site, which was level and long. Part of the development is for owners and part is for visiting RVers. Additional RV sites have been staked out, also. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$17
This may well become a luxury RV park in the future, but for now it's a work in progress. The staff is very friendly and the park has full services. Lots of concrete, including a huge parking area at the office and concrete pads and parking sites. WiFi cost us $12 for the week and worked well. The big activities center is still under construction but the showers, library, washrooms and laundry are open and functioning. The swimming pool is still a big hole. They started work on a golf course but it will take a lot of money to finish. They let us wash our RV: once. We got the PA rate of $17.50. We did notice that the long-term residents in the park are a tad cliquish. It was hard to get anything more than a "hello" from anyone. We wouldn't hesitate to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
Very clean and except for some highway traffic, quiet. If you're a light sleeper, better move on. I am; we should have. Also they need to take the word "Luxury" our of their title; it's just a plain ole RV park. Staff is friendly but not very knowledgeable about local things to see and do. We did go to Corpus Christie and go aboard the USS Lexington. Great Verizon cell & data, and I saw the WI-FI, but we we use Motosat. All in all there are several other local RV spots that looked as good but are much less pricey. Mind you, we did use our PA discount for the noted rate. Sites on the row we were put in were VERY narrow, just enough for slides to go out I sat in chair outside and looked right in the neighbors rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
This resort is growing every year. Twice as many sites this season and they will double for next season. The pool will be constructed in spring 2011. Huge activity building; part completed with the rest of the interior being completed soon. Spatial, nice sites, planned activities, full services, good management. The gated community has lots for sale, and is beautiful. Lot owners, pad renters and management get along very well, making our stay enjoyable. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$14
Nice, new, clean park with concrete pads and roads. New management is trying very hard to make it a go. Rate is based on monthly. Very good internet (GTEK $20 a month). Definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$14
This campground is in the process of construction; however, they currently have about 15 sites. In addition there are privately-owned sites available for rent in certain months. The sites and the road are cement, which is rare in this part of Texas. The sites are also very wide. Although the sites are back-in only, they are angled from the road and very easy to back in to. The clubhouse is currently under construction. If a restroom and laundry are important to you, then you should call ahead to see if it's completed. There are also plans for a pool, although construction has not started on this yet. The daily rate reflects the monthly rate of $350 plus electricity. This campground is located between Corpus Christi and Rockport, TX, so there are plenty of activities nearby. We looked at several campgrounds in the area, and almost all have either gravel roads and/or sites, and many have deferred maintenance. Southern Oaks is new and clean. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com