221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Swinging Bridge RV Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (601) 502-1101
CGID11138

Swinging Bridge RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
137
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   2   7   2   9   6   5   2   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$31
The roads to the park are very rough. To enter the park you must drive through a shopping center. It is kind of hard to locate in the dark. This is mainly a place for permanent people. Many of these permanent RV's are in bad shape. It is located very close to a drag racing track and the railroad. However, the staff are very friendly, the sites are level with nice new wooden picnic tables. The overnight sites are easily accessible pull throughs. The drag strip closed down by 11:00. If you're just looking for a place to spend the night, it's got what you need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2013
$31
Road to park is very rough and full of holes. Roads in the park are gravel but passable. Pull thru site was level with a concrete pad. Had to find the site on our own without the aid of a park map or escort. The park seemed run down because of many permanent trailers that were in very poor condition. Permanent campers did not pick up after their pets. Office, washroom, showers, and laundry are in a trailer. There is only a shower and toilet in the men's room, and they seemed to be in rough condition. There was a pond that seemed to smell like an open sewer. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$29
Easy public road access getting into and out of the campground. There is no campground supplied free WIFI. There is a camp resident that can provide WIFI for a fee. Our AT&T hotspot worked fine. The overnight pull through sites are big rig friendly (39' fifth wheel). The concrete pads are almost level side to side. Most of the back in sites are long term residents, but they were friendly and quiet. Paid $29 plus tax with GS discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
This campground is pretty much run down, but with a little work it could be nice once again. The entrance to the park is very deceiving. Once in the park, you’ll find interior roads full of potholes and in need of serious attention. The door to one of the only two women’s showers will not close or lock. The rules are pretty much non-existent. People do not pick up after their dogs. There are many permanent residents, and they do not maintain their sites. The only time we saw anybody that worked here was when we checked in. I would suggest that you look for another campground if you are planning to come to this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
Parked recommended by the nearby RV place doing some repair work for us. Nice pull-ins and friendly office staff. Quiet except for the trains coming past regularly but we quickly got used to that. Best part of this park was the fact that it was easy walking distance to a small strip shopping center with 3 restaurants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
For a overnight it works as the pull throughs #'s 21, 22, 23, & 24 are easy for 45 footer with toad. The park has seen better days. Walking a short distance for Mex or BBQ. Power good and no tree issues in above sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
This place has the potential to be a nice campground but it's showing it's age and neglect. They have many seasonal, or permanent, residents that have a lot of clutter around their trailers. The one closest to us has a steady stream of visitors, including the police, and a 4 wheeler they used often. The Wi-Fi isn't provided by the campground but rather by a permanent resident for a fee. We paid $12.50/week per device. The campground is located right off the interstate so it's convenient for overnight or short stays. Not the worst place we've stayed but doesn't deserve more than three stars. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
THE SMELL! The area smells like raw sewage. It was disgusting. Campground was scruffy and unkempt. The staff was friendly but it just is not enough. We stayed one night but wouldn't stay here again. We were really surprised that this campground had such a high Woodall rating, I think they need go look at it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$29
Easy access from freeway. Interior roads gravel but easy to negotiate. Pull through sites as well as back in sites are level and easy to park. Concrete pads for parking but grassy area outside of doors. Trees provide shade. Basic cable in some sites but must have digital cable box (Comcast). Satellite did not work due to trees, we used antenna and received about 7 local channels. No Wi-Fi in park. Good cell phone coverage. No road noise but there are trains and a race track nearby that is especially noisy on weekends. Some sort of sewer smell every evening .Stayed here 3 nights but would not stay much longer. Restaurants within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
This is an acceptable stop-over park. The sites are cement, and large enough. The park is in some type of transition, with the backside abandoned and trashy. Nearby train and car racing are a bit noisy. The staff is very friendly and cable TV signal is quite good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
This is a junky park with much to hope for. Small tow trailers might be OK, but it is run down and not a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$21
This RV Park (A resort it ain't) has gone down hill in the last year. Holes in the roads a VW could get lost in, rest rooms are not taking care of, washers loosing water on floor. Yes they had tornado damage, but that was last year (May 2010) and the damage still evident. Broken water outlets, electric boxes laying on ground, etc. This was a GREAT park at one time and can be again with a little attention to fixing stuff. Rate reflect a weekly stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$29
Staff was nice and helpful. Has shaded concrete pads. Cable TV worked well. Wi-Fi is fee only. I saw no lighting in the park at night. Some additional signage identifying and directing one to the park may be helpful. I would suggest that when you telephone for a reservation, you ask for an alternate address that your GPS may use to take you there. Mine did not recognize the park's listed address. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$27
The park is a little rustic. It features long pull through sites with easy parking and hookups. There are some long timers but the park was quiet. It is good for a few days and close to freeway. The staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2011
$27
This is probably the worst place we have ever stayed in the years of camping. The water faucet was broken at our site and no water at the next site. We managed to get water from the site behind us. The roads leading into the park were so bad with potholes, that we literally busted one trailer tire and rushed to get into a site before all the air left the tire. The area had a tornado go through several days before our arrival, leaving debris everywhere - that was completely out of their control though. The park has lots of permanent residents, who seemed nice and friendly and the office people were quite helpful. That was the only thing positive about a very run down park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2010
$29
This campground is 1 block off I-55, but set behind some businesses, so it is not as noisy as anticipated. But starting at 5 am you can hear trains running by. It is handy to I-20, I-55, and Natchez Trace. The entrance is hard to find (you have to drive past the front of a Mexican Restaurant). Interior roads are gravel and pads are cement and level. Good satellite, cable and antenna TV. Wi-Fi is available only in office. There are only about 10 or 12 sites available to overnight campers; the rest being not seasonal but permanent residents living in campers. Biggest problem is water: the faucet outlet at our site was so loose you could lift it out of the ground, and the surrounding area was wet. And, the faucet was 3 inches from the sewer inlet. Rather than get cholera, we chose to not hook up and use the limited water in our tank and skip a morning shower. The east end of the park had a strong sewer gas odor. Lots of places to walk dogs, but no one picks up the waste. We would stay here again if no place else was available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
Nice enough park. Long pull throughs. A lot of full timers but park was quiet. Good for a few days and close to freeway. Staff was friendly. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
We stayed here for a week. More improvements were made here since our three day stay here last year. Park management is friendly and helpful. The park is clean. Even with a playground and a pool the park is still quiet and relaxing. WiFi can be spotty but we didn't have any serious issues. The cable TV is strong and it was a convenient location to our planned activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$27
Previous reviews are accurate. An adequate park for a short stay. Mostly full timers here. Upkeep of park could be greatly improved. Website photos flatter this park much more than does reality. Excellent, though nondescript, Mexican restaurant right next to park. Be very careful of unmarked speed bumps when entering and exiting park. Cable TV was not working during our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$27
Good basic park situated next door to a few "strip" malls that offer gas, restaurants, and other businesses. The extra-long pull though spaces were great. Good place for an overnight just south of Jackson. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
RV park is okay for an overnight stay, but that is about all. Only ONE shower/toilet stall combination for each gender, so if someone was taking a shower, you could not access it to use the bathroom. And these were not very clean or well maintained. Also, there are UNEXPECTED speed bumps on the road going into the park, and if you are doing anything over about 3 mph, they might actually cause damage to your rig or toad. We probably wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
Railroad tracks nearby. Can't see them, but you can hear the trains and their whistles day and night. Typical laid back Southern attitude. Told us to go get set up and come back later to pay, or the next day if we wanted to. Great water pressure. Sometimes an unpleasant sewer type smell, but I couldn't figure out what it was or where it came from. Lots of "residents in the back part of the park. Kind of run down looking. Good level concrete sites in the pull-through "daily" area, although you park your tow vehicle or toad on dirt and gravel which was a little soft from all the rain and many potholes. We would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$26
This park was very nice. It is conveniently located to stores, gas and restaurants. People were extremely friendly. Cable worked beautifully. The water pressure was great. The site was quiet and shaded. The only possible issue is that, due to prior heavy rains, there was some mud and some ruts in the pull through. All in all, this was a very nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This place is actually in Byram, MS. Easy access off I-55 for big rigs with 100+' cement pad pull-throughs. Gravel roads. Friendly staff. Great for an over nighter. You'll have to drive through a mini strip mall to get to park which is behind the mall. Almost didn't see it. BBQ, Mexican and seafood eateries within walking distance of park (in the mall). We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
We stayed here three nights (2 on the weekend) and it was a good place to stay. Easy to find, easy access to the site, fuel, restaurants and anything else. The only problem was Saturday night. Campground is close to some kind of racetrack and lots of motorcycle/car noise was hear until late. Campground is doing lots of maintenance to improve sites and increase size. We'd would stay here again, just not over a Saturday night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
We arrived to find out every full hookup site was taken. He had one electric only site that was right outside the office next to the showers/restrooms. We took this site - it was fairly level and at least we could use the air conditioner with electric. Park was easy to find - there is a sign at the entrance to the shopping center that is in front of the rv park. Right off the highway but quiet. The park roads are all gravel so that makes some noise. We would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
Signage has improved, so this place is easy to find. This is probably your best choice in Jackson, even though it's a few miles out of town. Nothing fancy, let's call it adequate. On the plus side, you can walk to restaurants (there's a BBQ, Mexican, fish house and two others within walking distance). There's a nice pet store with an excellent dog groomer, and a good grocery store just across the freeway. I Without those nearby facilities, I'd rate this place a solid "6". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
This rate reflects a Good Sam discount. Easy on/off highway but as another review indicated it is challenging to find as it is not well signed at all. Also, this campground is about 7 miles south of Jackson in Byram, MS. Mostly seasonal sites, but they are clean. Long, level pull thru site with good electric. Lots of area surrounding the "campground" to walk a dog etc. We would return here if we are back in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$26
The campgrounds are very difficult to locate. It is now located behind a new strip mall. All direction signs have been removed by the new mall. We were there early in the day and we got the only available site. It appears to be full of seasonal and yearly rigs and not for travelers. The bathrooms were clean but not well maintained. We would not stay here again. We stayed in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
Views on here won't the best, but with our size wasn't able to find anything else so decided to try it. Stayed one week. Gravel interior roads, gravel and paved sites. The best place to be is behind the office. Very little interstate noise, no problems of lights and noise from the mini-mall. The race tracks we only heard 3 out of the 7 nights. Did hear train horns maybe twice a day but never was woke up by one. There is a swimming pool but it's locked up and not being used. There is Wi-Fi for a fee. The other part of the campground the gravel roads have potholes and would be a little tight for a big rig. But, like I said behind the office is the place to be. Easy in, easy out with a HDT and 35 ft trailer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$23
Park is located behind a strip retail center. There are two race tracks near by so noise is a problem at night. The pull thru site that we were given had two separate full hook ups, which was a good thing as the hookup closest to the concrete pad had the water line broken from someone pulling off with the water hooked up. This is an OK park for an overnight, but not a destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
Sites fairly level however gravel roads generate dust. Seems to be more of permanent RV park not catering to overnight stays. Although I stayed several weeks, the water hydrant leaked constantly. The manager was notified twice for water leak to be repaired but seemed not to be interested, in fact it was never fixed. Wi-Fi was said to work but after paying for site I found out it does not. Management was not concerned about that either. Close to busy strip center makes for noise. Bath house just so-so. Although most everything could be overlooked if management was interested in customer service. Don't recommend anyone else spending their money here, I won't be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2005
$25
Sites were not as nice as what is shown on website. Located right behind a strip mall so there is significant light and noise pollution. Showers and restrooms are not centrally located and difficult to find at night. Footbridge on pull throughs really limits space and can be a hazard at night. Campground has more of a look of a trailer park. I'd be pretty unlikely to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2004
$23
Paved, level sites. Cable TV included in nightly camping fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2004
$25
We stayed at the Swinging Bridge in July of 2004, when we went to Jackson for a murder trial. The first two nights, not knowing whether or not we were going to trial, we were allowed to stay in a pull-thru, HOWEVER when the manager found out we were going to be staying through the week he demanded that we move back to the back, with the monthlys, into a back in that wasn't very easy to back into. The park is pretty nice, but the sites have steep banks, and it would be real easy for someone to have a nasty fall. The lady that was in the office help was very nice, and very understanding of our dilemma while we were there. Overall, it was a clean camp, with some of the monthlys having cement driveways, and fences, flower beds, and stuff like that...more like a mobile home park in the area where we were. We would consider staying elsewhere, if there were some place closer to where we wanted to stay in the Jackson area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$24
This park is not much more than campsites cut into the woods next to the interstate. The swimming pool was dirty when we visited. Also, you can smell what must be a water treatment plant not too far off - yuck. Also, there is a racetrack right near the campground that can be noisy. But, if you're looking for a place to park overnight, this place probably will fit the bill. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$24
No campfires allowed unless it is off the ground in a container. Permanents are allowed to have fire rings. Managers seem very nice and accommodating. Only one restroom with one shower for the entire park. The first 3 nights, the light did not work in the men's restroom. I mentioned it to the manager and he fixed it two days later. I didn't particularly like them putting another coach on my site when there were other campsites available. On my next trip to Jackson, I'll be staying at another campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Not a bad park. Its new and the owner has put a lot of work into the entrance facilities ( the park has a strip mall and service station ) but needs to put more into the sites. The landscaping etc. is lacking but it is the best in Jackson We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com