221618 User submitted reviews online!!
Sunset Isle RV & Yacht was rated 7 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (850) 556-0051
CGID11143

Sunset Isle RV & Yacht

Camp Information
Sites
33
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$48+



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   10   7   8   7   7   8   5   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$48+
A very nice will maintained friendly condo park. $48+ first night $24+ second night. Was not told Passport America was not valid on weekends when I made reservations. Not told extra charge for 50amp electric, or extra charge for cable TV. I was told I could keep my toad connected but they have no pull throughs. No bathhouse/restrooms and loud music at bar next to park on Saturday night. OK Sunday night. The park dog runs free. Very friendly but no one picks up after her. We would stay here again if just passing through but they need to quote the full price when reservations are made. Park deserves a higher rating but they need to be honest to get it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
Well maintained, quiet and clean home site park renting empty spaces until all are sold. Wide brick roads, wide, near level, gravel sites, no shade. Friendly staff, beautiful unheated pool; hot spa broken and no indication of repair work being scheduled. Internet had typical insufficient bandwidth, so it was inconsistent. Huge open areas for dog walking. No laundry. One and a half miles to Carrabelle Beach. PA rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$48
Nice place and owner is very friendly and helpful. Sites are very spacious. Nice water views from the decks. Internet was good. Power was 50amp, but they supplied an adapter to 30amp. Nice seafood restaurant and lounge across the lane (easy walk about 300 yards). Grounds are well kept. Pool is nicely kept, but not heated. I would stay here again, hopefully for a longer stay. Rate shown was the weekend rate. Passport America rates available during weekdays. Most of the residents are longer term. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$24
Nice park. Sites were to be sold but the market changed owners mind. Roomy sites, close to town, clean. Price reflects Passport America discount. Paver block roads and pads. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$27
A very nice park along Federal 98. Management could not have been nicer or more helpful. Our site (#47) was spacious & level packed sand/gravel with adequate access. Electric was 123 volts. We did not use park water or sewer hookups. The park was about ¼ occupied during out stay, and was very quiet. The only negative were dogs off leash and barking. Rate is Passport America with 50 amp electric. Tax not included. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
We took our grandchildren camping at this park for spring break. The beach was only a mile away and the river was within walking distance. We took along kayaks and enjoyed the views along the river. Fishing was available off the docks. There are two swimming pools at this park, a deeper one for teens and adults and a more shallow on for the small children. A nice playground was also available. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Several good restaurants were available in town. We definitely plan to return to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$27
Not a bad park for the price. Quiet and picturesque setting near the water. Needs some minor maintenance. Price paid was Passport America rate which is good for full stay. Roomy sites. Wifi good except when Mediacom went out city wide. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$29
Roads were nicely bricked, but sites were hard packed sand. Sites are being sold, so they haven't done much to improve them. Did not visit pool, restrooms or showers. Overall clean and quiet. Paid PA rate of $24 plus $3 for 50A plus tax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$24
The entrance and park road were impressive with the brick paving. The swimming pool looked very nice. The sites were nothing to get excited about. This may be because the sites are for sale and the new site owner can finish it the way they want. There were two park models but they had two entry doors in each one and I would assume they were renting out bedrooms. Dogs were not on a leash including the owner's dog. Unless you are there to fish there isn't much else else in Carrabelle. A better bet would be to stay around Apalachacola if you can. As previously stated Papa Joe's restaurant is excellent. St. George Island is also easily accessed from Apalachacola area. We stayed here on a Passport America rate. We won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2012
$24
At first sight, this looks like a great campground. The owner is super friendly. The paving-stone road around the sites, looks very appealing. Don’t be fooled. When we checked in we stressed that we needed a site with good Wi-Fi. We were offered a choice of two sites where, we were told, previous RVers had reported good service. When we pulled up to the first site and I went back to unhook our tow car, I found the owner on his knees, trying to undo the cable to the car. Fortunately, I stopped him before he caused any damage, but I was shocked that he would do that. There was no Wi-Fi at the first site, or at the second site. He then suggested we try a grassy site next to the entry, where the router is located. We had to gingerly step around two piles of dog excrement (dogs are permitted to run loose) and after getting all set up, we realized we didn’t have any electricity. Fortunately, I have a control system that prevented my RV from connecting. When we analyzed the problem, we found that one side of the 50-amp service had only 84 volts. Owner’s response was: “I thought we got that fixed.” Over an hour later we finally got settled into a fourth site. We paid the Passport rate of $24. For the same price you can park at one of two nearby state parks and walk to nearby beaches. There’s a lovely swimming pool and hot tub, but both are ice cold. Half the campground has never been developed and a large swimming pool in the middle of the undeveloped area is now derelict. When you leave, be sure to drive out through the entrance. The exit has a bush sticking halfway into the driveway and if you don’t run over the curb and up onto the grass, you’ll scratch the side of your rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
This is a very nice campground, that is well kept and maintained. The fishing is great, and the Managers are very nice. It was too cold to get in the pool, but it was very clean. We have a great view of the river and the boat traffic. The access roads are beautiful brick pavers. And if you're in the area, please drive the 23 miles to Apalachicola, and eat the best fried oysters I've ever put in my mouth, at Papa Joe's Oyster Bar and Grill next to Scipio Creek Marina on Market Street. No wonder this is a favorite of locals. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$26
Despite a few flaws, we enjoyed our stay here on the island setting RV Resort. The best I could detect and after talking to the owner, this seems to be a temporary RV Park. The sites are actually lots, for sale or sold, and currently existing as RV sites to support an economic operation. There is one Park Model in place. The access roads are high cost cobblestone pavement. Unfortunately, the sites are not like the access roads. They consist of crushed packed limestone and not so level. A big rig may sink through the pad surface. There is just grass and soft sand between the sites. Some sites are spacious and some are not so spacious. Some sites have a table and some sites do not. My laptop revealed there is no Wi-Fi here or anywhere nearby. Verizon 3G worked just fine. There is a terrific view of the bay and of the river. There is no access to the bay unless one ventures into the surrounding reeds. Like wise for the river unless the dock is used. There is a giant under heated pool and a spa that was not operational. There is not much here to support a daily price tag of 48.00. We got the Passport America rate, now good seven days a week, and there is an extra charge for electric use. For a better price there is a much better RV Resort three miles west of Carrabelle. So long as the daily price remains high we will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$19
Stayed here in early April for 10 days, park is as described in the last several reviews. Great value and huge lot sizes in comparison to the other 2 in the area. Major downer are the no-see-ums. If there is no breeze then they come out of the saw grass which surrounds the area. Have to lather on deet. Limited internet signal. Only over the air TV which changes by the minute. Even drove 65 miles to get a Wingman for our new RV but that barely improved it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
This RV Park is similar to several other recent developments along the waterfront in Carrabelle. They all appear to be victims of the real estate crash several years ago. Each development, including this one, was originally intended to be deeded lots where individual owners would build a beach cottage. When the real estate market crashed and the developer was unable to sell the lots, this development installed RV utility stations in about half the sites and became an RV Park. Most of the other developments remain vacant or have only one or two homes built. The beautiful interior road is made of colorful brick pavers and there are two pools but only one is in use. Nice landscaping with palm trees along the frontage road but maintenance has been neglected. Pool maintenance has been neglected: paint is peeling off the sides of the pool and a lot of sand has accumulated on the bottom. The RV sites are gravel/sand with no improvement other that the utility station. There are no bathouses: only the restrooms at the pool. The power panels at each site have no ON/OFF switch that would allow you to shut off power when connecting and disconnecting your power cord. I had a 2 bar WiFi signal at my site but could not connect. I did not try to connect closer to the access point since I have my own air card. The interior road ends abruptly at the last site, leaving no room to pull past the last two sites and back into those sites. There is no cul-de-sac at the end of this road where one could turn around and face the correct direction and back into the last two sites. If you are assigned these two sites, you must back your RV about 100 yards down the road. But it is a wide road. There are no dumpsters: just three large garbage cans for 30 sites and each was full or overflowing. About one-third of the sites appear to be long term residents, possibly temporary workers. Two sites contain a mobile module with two units that appear to serve as small motel rooms for temporary workers. The rate is Passport America rate including tax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$36
It is apparent this park was planned to be an exclusive park, but it appears the owners ran out of money before finished. They are now selling RV sites for permanent use. The pool and cook area are very nice. The only bathroom, located at the pool, has one toilet and a showerhead located with the toilet. The sites are gravel with no slabs or outdoor furniture. We could not sit outside due to the sand fleas. There were all active ant hills at our location. There is no cable TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2011
$38
This place has potential, but just too many things not right. Big campsites, but the no-see-ems, made it almost impossible to be outside. Beautiful pool, but unheated. Lovely hot tub, but not heated and no bubbles. Internet available, but not strong enough to reach camper and no place to sit and use it where it did work. Limited cell-phone and TV reception. One John and shower (per sex) for whole campground with a small 110 hot water tank for both. (very slow recovery). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
The owners were so nice and fun. We had two cookouts with them and other campers! Nice sites, still in the building stages but getting there. Highly recommended. We will be back. Price reflects PA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$19
It is located near several very good seafood restaurants, and we were able to purchase bushels of oysters which we could steam over the fire pits located only feet away from our coach. The sites were huge, and the price was very inexpensive. The owners were most accommodating. We enjoyed it so much we stayed for almost 2 weeks. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$21
Passport America rate of $19 plus taxes. Tough to rate as it is so new. Sites are large and level, but landscaping is still needed. This area is very quiet this time of year, not much around at all. But it is a very nice setting. Verizon broadband was excellent. TV via bat wing had 7 PBS type stations, but one 40.1 did carry NBC programming for news. Basically this is a work in progress, so the ratings should trend up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$19
A wonderful campground!‎ What a nice surprise to find this new, lovely, very clean campground! Very quiet with beautiful new amenities surrounded by marsh land. The brick paver roads throughout are beautiful! The new 2 story wooden observation deck, and a new 3 story still under construction, new eating shack with a hull of a sailboat as a bar, beautiful pool and deck with whirlpool, and bath house all made for a very enjoyable camping time. The owner is very kind and friendly and his wife is an AWESOME cook!!! We really enjoyed being at this campground and hope to one day return. We visited in mid-October. The rate cited is the Camp USA discount rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
We stayed here in the middle of the BP oil spill, and the volunteers were using the marina as a staging area. I could easily have given this park a 10, if the grassy areas were kept mowed, and the marina wasn't occupied by all the oil workers equipment and boats. The park was in a great location for us, and we spent a morning over at St. George Island, and went swimming at one of the beaches. It was a 20 minute drive over to the island, and there is a lot of shops, and things to do, if you go. There was hardly anybody at the park, so it was very nice and quiet. We didn't see anybody to check us in, and the owner finally showed up the morning we were leaving, to ask for some money. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This is a brand new campground: it's quiet, has large sites, 50 amp electric, good water pressure, and sewer connections. Has a beautiful pool with cabana and deck for viewing the surrounding area, sunsets, etc. There is no laundry or bathhouse, but restrooms are available at the pool. There is no shade in the campground, but landscaping is not yet complete. Enjoyed our stay and definitely will return if we are back in this area. Passport America discount is honored. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This is a wonderful little park, with large sites, and a beautiful pool and hot tub. What is really refreshing is the location, down on the river and off the highway. The only noise is the river "traffic" and the birds. The night sky over the marsh is beautiful with no light infiltration. Due to its location on the river and marsh, there are those no seeums, so take bug spray. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Wow! Now this was our idea of a truly fantastic RV park. The owners are still in the process of a bit of construction, but spaces were large, level and most comfortable. The staff is very friendly and treat you like family, to the point of bending over backwards for you. Beautiful pool, and pool house. A lovely Tiki hut type building where the owners will clean and cook your daily catch. We attended a great oyster bake at the tiki hut during our stay. The owners definitely know how to cook seafood properly. Currently, the park appears to be more suitable for adults, not very much entertainment for children, except the pool. There is a 370 foot pier available for some serious fishing, or just to sit and watch all the boats go by. The park is not far from the small town of Carrabelle. East point, St. George Island and Apalachicola are also near by to visit. This is truly the best park we've had the pleasure to stay in a very long time. We will definitely return as often as possible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$12
Great new campground. Passport America rate is $12.50/night. Friendly hosts/owners. The sites are very large. Good Wi-Fi access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com