219820 User submitted reviews online!!
Hill Shade RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (830) 437-2428
CGID11147

Hill Shade RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
23
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   8   10   10   8   10   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
This park is not a destination, but it is a very good place for a night or two. The sites were well kept and neat,the electric and water pressure were low but useable. Very good wi-fi ,tv reception and cell phone (verizon) .The RR and Shower were old and needed a good cleaning,didn't use them. The laundry was OK,$1.00 / machine. Management was great, very nice, but there were no discounts PERIOD. Easy to get to and leave and we will be back in our 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$28
This is a very basic campground but the gravel pads are level and it is quiet (there are lots of trees around). The Wi-Fi is the best we have had since we left home at the beginning of November. The couple that own the park are very friendly. This was a one-night stop over for us and we could come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$14
I totally agree with one of the other reviewers, the Wi-Fi is one of the "best" we have had in an RV park. The owners as others have stated are great people, with a very good set of people skills. We stopped here planning on staying for two days and extended it to four. While there we had the pleasure of meeting the parents. It is easy to see why the kids are so easy to get along with. The campground is a work in progress and still needs more work but as new owners they are trying. If you are passing through the area please give this park a try, I don't think you will find a much more friendly place to drop your jacks.There is more than enough Texas History in this area to keep you from getting bored. The $14 fee reflects Passport America discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
Price reflects CCUSA discount which is valid for up to seven nights of camping. We came for a night and stayed all week long! The owners are just about the nicest folks you'll meet anywhere. They live on site with their children, so it's very important to them to maintain a safe, welcoming community. They are working hard to renovate the park and rebuild its reputation, and they are succeeding. The park itself is quite small, and some of the campers are long-term residents, but it is clean and well maintained (the tree trimmers came out while we were there). The park is located 11 miles from the nearest town, so be prepared to drive a bit for gas and groceries. This can be a plus, too, as the park is very quiet and the skies are nice and dark at night. There is also access to a nearby lake and docks thanks to the cooperation of a private property owner next door. There are even Texas longhorns in the pasture right next to the park! The laundromat is air conditioned and reasonably priced. The staff work very hard to make sure their campers are happy ones. During the week we stayed, They brought us peaches and fresh eggs! Did I mention the Wi-Fi? It kicks butt! This is one of the reasons for our extended stay. We've had some lame Internet connections on our journey this summer, so when we ran into a fast, stable network, we were thrilled! Note that the park is well outside 3G range, though, so you'll need to rely on their Wi-Fi unless you have satellite Internet. Do check out Goss' barbecue in nearby Belmont while you are here. Well worth the short drive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
We just loved this little park tucked away in the neck of the woods near the Guadalupe river. The park staff was very friendly and accommodating. The surroundings are breathtaking with tons of shade from the beautiful trees. We took a short trip to the town of Shiner and a tour of Texas's oldest brewery: Spoetzl Brewery the tour and tastings were free. We would definitely visit this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
The owners of this park are amazing. They will tell you anything you want to know about the area. I was there for an RV rally and the owners were trying to give us our space, while we were wishing they would hang out with us more. That's not the usual for most RV parks. In fact, we now keep in contact via facebook and twitter. We stayed at the park right when they were upgrading their Wi-Fi setup and they ended up with a system that could handle our overly tech-savvy rally. I will return to this park anytime I'm passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$10
Definitely a favorite place to stay! It's off the beaten path a bit, worth the short drive to stay at this hidden gem. We stayed for a month for $300, with full hookups and WiFi. The park owners live on-site with their family and are amazingly accommodating and friendly. Our son had the best time with their kids and now considers them great friends. We were attending a rally at the time and they truly went above and beyond for everyone there. The surrounding area is equally gorgeous with rolling hills, cattle that stroll by and a beautiful walk down a pier to a nearby river. We look forward to the next time we pull through the area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We've been fulltiming for 3 years now, and have seen a lot of good and bad RV parks. Hill Shade falls in the "Great" end of the scale, as far as we're concerned. When the Texas sun is beating down hard, head to Hill Shade for respite underneath their canopy of trees and beautiful scenery. Centrally located between San Antonio and Houston, Hill Shade offers a relaxing place to hang out, get to know the area and experience true Texan hospitality in a rustic setting. Although the park lacks some conveniences, like concrete pads and a clubhouse, the friendliness of the owners and locals more than makes up for it. At first it appeared that the back-in sites would be difficult and tight, but they weren't bad compared to some. The laundry is sparkling clean, the campground is tidy, and the wireless signal can't be beat. Our phone service worked too (Verizon), with an occasional drop but was overall just fine. If you need something, the new owners are more than accommodating. They are two genuine good hearted folks with awesome kids who enjoy having RVers over as guests. We love Hill Shade and plan on returning again and again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
I camped here during a Rally and everything about this campground worked well for me and my children. The owners are wonderful people and are 90% of the reason that I will probably return here. And next best, was the speed of the internet. It had been recently upgraded and was superfast. It even worked well for gaming and watching movies. Hill Shade is the type of RV Park that is interested in creating and being part of a community. So even the nearby neighbors are open to accommodating campers. This is one of the most enjoyable campgrounds that we have stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$10
Hill Shade RV Park is a gem of a find: we're almost reluctant to post this review for fear of it becoming too popular to get into in the future. It's run by an incredible family homeschooling their five kids, who are all involved with the management of the park. The staff is extremely accommodating, welcoming and friendly. This family purchased the park in Aug 2009 as their dream, and it shows in everything about the park: from the signage to the cleanliness. The location is perfect: fairly remote and very peaceful, but yet a reasonable drive into San Antonio, Austin, Sequin, Houston, etc. There are docks nearby, and the neighbors appreciate the park and its visitors. The sunsets are amazing to watch. The park itself is small, and the sites a bit close together. But most sites back up to huge fields, so it doesn't feel too crowded. There's a nice common area with horseshoes, swing chairs and a BBQ grill. WiFi works fantastically, and good AT&T, Sprint & Verizon signal (T-mobile was not so great). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$28
We love Hill Shade! The owners are so friendly and the atmosphere is one of "family". The park is active but still relaxing, and is away from busy traffic. There is a large green pasture on one side...we loved the picturesque sunsets and watching the cows graze. There is a river nearby with fishing available as well. They have both pull-thrus and back-in sites available. It's a great place to overnight or stay a month! We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com