218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Low-Key Hideaway Motel and RV Resort (Adults only) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (352) 543-0700
CGID11165

Low-Key Hideaway Motel and RV Resort (Adults only)

Camp Information
Sites
3
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   9   10   10   7   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$55
This is a very well maintained and very unique place, adults only and just 3 RV sites. Staff were helpful and friendly at check in. Just drive onto your sand site straight off the main road, traffic has to be stopped on the main road for you, just one of the quirks of this unique place. Remember to unhook your towed just up the road at an old garage. Fairly quiet, not a lot of privacy, space to park the towed, lovely landscaping, barbecue, plenty of places to sit and take in the wonderful view of the water. Road can be a little noisy during the day, but is quieter at night. Full hookups, 50 amp, no pull-throughs, big rig access is okay, spotless bathrooms, no laundry, very pet friendly, and very laid back. Wi-Fi poor but cell good. Lovely fishing pier and The Hideaway Tiki Bar right on the water, open 4-9 PM but closed on Wednesdays. Lots of local  restaurants, but only one small grocery store, stock up in Chiefland before you arrive; they have Walmart, Winn Dixie.  We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
If we could only pick one RV Park to visit, this would be it. It’s a small place (5 motel rooms, 4 RV spots, and the awesome Tiki Bar), but well worth the trip. The owners have created a great place to unwind and enjoy. Guests and locals gather in the evening at the Tiki and everyone makes new friends. It’s not a “resort” and you won’t find concrete pads and fancy patios, but you’ll leave more relaxed than you could have imagined. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$50
A difficult park to rate, can't quite justify a 10, because it does not have all the facilities typical of a resort RV park -- but the unusual ambience and friendliness of this small park make it totally unique. Imagine pulling off the main road through the center of this small town of Cedar Key directly into a site that fronts on the water, with a friendly tiki bar right outside your door, and a small suite motel on the premises. Quirky decorations and Key West style ambience abound. The owners and front desk manager could not be more helpful and directly involved in the running of the motel and RV sites, and also handle the bartending chores. The tiki bar, closed Wednesdays, serves no food but attracts many of the local residents as well as those from a second RV park within walking distance. It's a fun watering hole before heading for one of the local restaurants for dinner. We have actually stayed here twice recently, once in mid December and again after the first of the year. Electric/water/sewer access has recently been upgraded to modern 50 amp pedestals. Our 40' class A fit in the first site (which is fairly soft sand so big rigs should go straight in, without turning your wheels), but anything much larger might be a stretch. On arrival/departure, staff will help stop traffic so you can pull into/back out of your site. All you have to do is ask. We really loved this park and look forward to our next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
We stayed here for 5 nights over my husband's birthday. The couple that manages the property were very friendly and helped us back into our spot. This is a roadside hotel with 4 campsites next to the hotel. The spots are fairly close and there is no privacy, but we didn't mind. Each has a waterfront feature, ours had a deck with two chairs. You are just off of the main road, but traffic noise is not a problem since there is very little traffic here. The Tiki bar was great fun and we were there each evening to watch the sunset. We even had a nightly visit from a hummingbird moth with a preference for Captain Morgan. We brought our bikes and rode into town and to the State Park. It was an easy ride and traffic was never an issue. You cannot launch kayaks from here, the tide gets too low. We launched in town and also drove to Manatee Springs State Park. Both were good options. The noseeums can get bad, but that's Florida. We enjoyed it so much we are hoping to make it an annual trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
My wife, two dogs, and myself had a fantastic stay of seven all-too-short days at Lowkey Hideaway. Being able to drive into the RV site and look out of the water (and the sunsets) through the large windshield was cool. The sites are a little close to each other but the area in front area of the RV more than makes up for it. The front area consists of green grass, nicely tended plants, for our site, a nice deck area with chairs and a lounge that made the site feel spacious. The owner are very friendly and helpful (also veteran RVers). Being newbies we asked lots of RVing questions each evening at the Tiki Bar, and they gave us a lot of good information. They are also quite the entertainers. We will definitely go back. Seems like I've forgotten something. Oh yes, the town of Ceder Key was a treat as well! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
Warning: Stay away from this place!!! (Because you know, we want to come back!) Former full time RV'ers run this unique motel, RV Park and Tiki Bar. (Yes, you read that right: TIKI BAR!!!) It's really hard to describe this place, and we just didn't believe it until we were here. There are 4 RV slots: all water front. There are 5 motel suites on site: each with color coordinated parking curbs and front porch lights. Seriously. And a Tiki Bar. Oh: there is a dock out on the water for amazing sunset views and DOLPHINS!!!! There is so much care and attention that has gone into this place, it's unbelievable. The resort is adult only: absolutely no kids allowed. It is refreshing to see a place take a stand and be a dedicated couple's retreat. And nice that 'adult only' doesn't mean 55+. The RV spots are decent in size and setup so that hook-ups can be reached if you back in or go noise in: a nice touch! (Ok Ok: got to find some bad stuff so you'll stay away, and we can get in later.) But really, these are just 'slots' to pull your rig into and not much distinction between spots: we felt little privacy. There are decks, hammocks and chairs along the water front for lounging. (Wait: that's a good thing. Oh no! You're calling to book now, right??) Hwy 24 runs right by this location, and there is considerable highway noise: as nothing is blocking it. That car or truck traveling 35mph every 30 minutes is going to drive you crazy!!! Horrible, horrible: stay away!!! The other downside is that if there's a lot of folks at the Tiki Bar. (Open Thur - Sun evenings, but the bartender is whimsical and opens it anytime he can sell a beer.) Your RV site can feel a bit like a party. OMG: the people! Friendly, awesome, amazing people! They'll want to "talk" with you! You don't want that. Ok: here we go. This will make you stay way. The Wi-Fi was not configured to work with our Macs, which was disappointing. Yeah: that was miserable. You don't want to stay here. We had to resort to using our solid AT&T & Verizon 3G signal to get online. It was pure torture to have have to be online with amazing views like that. All and all, we'll return: if only for the friendly service and unique atmosphere. You know: because the rest is terrible! If you stay away, our spot stays open. But if you do book here, give them all a hug for us, ok? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$35
If you are immune to being bitten then this place is ideal. Only 4 or 5 sites right on the water in a quiet area not for from Cedar Key bars and restaurants. The bugs were awful. The 2nd day we were there we did not go out. The Wi-Fi stopped working for 12 hours before we left which was not great. And when we arrived, we got hooked up and immediately told to move even though the trailer with slideouts was only staying 1 night and had just turned up on spec. We had booked months in advance. The staff were pleasant enough about it, but it bugged me. I would not go back because of the insects. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
I really like this little place it is laid back and is run by a very nice couple, so I hate to only give an 8 but they have changed policy and the owner has made it a new rule. If you try to check in before 3pm or you check out after the 11am time: you have to pay $5 (five dollars) an hour extra. So if you arrive at 1pm and want to check in there is an extra $10 charge. This is not a good thing. I also heard that the little resort is up for sale and the couple that have been running the place for the last couple of years, is going to be moving on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Very nice location. Seems to be a bit of a hidden gem. Cedar Key does not have the kind of beaches you could swim, etc. at, but it has a great ocean view. The sites are fairly close together, but worth it for the view and location. There were some bugs also. The hookups are very new and in great shape. The managers were great. I came out and the guy was parking and leveling my rig for me. Wow, I'm usually shocked to even get an escort to the site. They set up a hammock for us and found a gecko to show our daughter. Very genuinely friendly and welcoming folks, who obviously love what they do. I hate to say it, because it will make it harder to get a spot here in the future, but there is a reason everyone is giving this place a "9" or "10". We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
The name says it all. Tiny resort, parked right overlooking the bay, great sunsets. The owners are super friendly and helpful and have added all kinds of great touches to give it a old key west kind of feeling. Nice hammocks. We enjoyed meeting other campers at the Tiki Bar and exchanging travel info. Very close to the town of Cedar Keys. We'd definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
I have to add my two cents worth about this nice campground. The water view is great. We had a sweeping view of water, small islands, water birds and the occasional fish jumping, all right out the front window of our motorhome. The resort Tiki bar and the pier are both good places to watch the sunsets. A community gas grill is available to grill a steak or maybe your catch of the day, and plenty of chairs and even a hammock are available for relaxing. The managers are friendly and personable. This is a great place to relax, maybe do some fishing and a little sightseeing. It is not for people that have to have a pool and organized activities. The highway is very close by but we were not bothered by noise and there is very little traffic at night. The campground is very small so be sure and make a reservation and don't miss it. We give it two thumbs up! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$39
What a slice of heaven this little park is. The hosts were the friendliest and nicest couple we have come across in our 3 years of full timing. Although there were only 5 RV spots, and they were pretty close together, you were backed up on the water with a lovely "yard" to relax in. The owners have created a funky little garden world of colorful sitting areas for each RV and outside each motel room. There was an adorable Tiki Bar serving wine & beer to enjoy the fantastic sunsets each evening. The owners have created a special place to sit back and relax, and strive hard to make you feel at home. The only reason I didn't give this place a 10 is because you are parked right off the road. But I'd give it a 9.9 if I could. We already made our reservations for next year! The town of Cedar Key is charming,picturesque and has wonderful seafood offerings. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
The sunset view from rustic tiki bar on the water is breath taking. Clean Clean Clean bath and shower. Small grass sites right on the water. Good cell service. My wife and I love the unique area and special camp ground. We are already planning our return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$45
Wow, what a great little park! Sunsets right outside the front window. Excellent friendly staff who made us feel right at home> Tiki bar on site. Would definitely stay here again. We stayed 4 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$42
There is a lot of good and not so good stuff about this resort. The good: nice managers, great views (when the tide is in), lots of charm, and close to town. Definitely the best park in the area. The down side: small sites, only 1 with 50 amp, the road runs about 30' behind your rig so noise can be an issue, no pool or spa, minimal space to walk a pet, all grass sites, and kind of isolated from any nearby amenities. The town itself is rustic to say the least. With only 5 RV spots, pre-planning is essential. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
We just stayed at Cedar Key for the weekend. We stayed at Low-Key Motel, it has 5 RV sites and a 5 room motel, cost $36 a night. It is on the water and from the MH you can see water in all directions. VERY RELAXING and friendly place, the owners are great and you are 1.5 miles from downtown. There are also 3 other campgrounds within 9 miles, but the only other one worth staying at is a brand new one called Cedar Key RV (http://www.cedarkeyrvresort.com/aboutrv.html): it is new, has a pool and large club house and would be a great place for one of our NFCC get a ways. The cost is $30 a night FU. The town its self is OLD FLORIDA and very laid back, we really like the place. If Low-Key had a pool it would have a 10+ from us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Tiny CG. Right on the main road, so back-in is required. Fabulous water view. Two young managers who are working hard with sweat equity and making the place look great. Road is noisy during the day, but quiet at night. Wi-Fi is spotty. Stock up with food before you visit, few food shops in the area. There is nowhere to eat on a Sunday night, everything closes down. Only negatives: little privacy and very noisy air boats. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
Perfect campground to enjoy the quiet beauty of Cedar Key. Rode our bikes all over the key without any problems. Great park for photography and taking it easy. Kayaks are available to explore the bayou behind the park. Owners are terrific: friendly, helpful and hardworking. They are constantly doing things to improve the place with plans to do alot more. We can't wait for the tiki bar to get fully up and running. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$38
Very nice tiny park, directly alongside the road. Very friendly and helpful owners, who are doing a good job restoring the place. No paving so I can't give it a 10, but a very pleasant place to stay. Beautiful sunsets. A short drive into town, which is very old Florida and generally laid-back and casual. If your unit (trailer) is big you will have to back it in directly from the road, and they block traffic on the road as you do so, but it would be best if you're comfortable with your ability to maneuver your rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$38
Unique 5-site CG (along with 5-room Motel and Tiki Bar) nestled up to west-facing tidal flats (sunsets!) filled with tiny islands, oyster beds and sea birds. Palm trees dot the site. Scene is constantly changing. Check out setting via their website and Google maps. Wonderful young owners investing sweat equity to spruce everything up. One mile from tiny town with lots of activities. Bring a full fridge and pantry. Would return in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$26
A unique and wonderful experience. Owner actually backed us in and hooked us up. Hospitality +++. Amazing sunsets can be viewed from your own RV, or better still, from the Tiki Bar. We planned to stay 3 days, liked it so much we stayed a week. We'd still be here if we had no responsibilities at home! Definitely will return. The sooner the better! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$38
There were lots of 40 footers when I was here, mine too! I had a great waterview site. The campground has new electric and sewer, apparently a problem in recent years. The feel is like being back in 1971: very laid-back and peaceful. I saw no signs of tough guys or tough dogs (read previous reviews). Cedar Key is wonderful: check the YouTubes about it! Loved the $20. airplane rides! This is like no place else in Florida: a must see. This RV Park is perfect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
Only 5 sites but what a great little campground. We watched the sun rise over the bay out our windshield and the sunsets into the bay behind our motorhome. The owners couldn't be nicer hosts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com