223589 User submitted reviews online!!
West Lake Park, Summit Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (563) 328-3281
CGID1119

West Lake Park, Summit Campground

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   9   9   8   9   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Gravel sites that aren't very level. It's a first come basis. Gates to park are locked 10PM. If you come back after that you leave your car in the parking lot. We stayed at the Park Terrace campground, which is at gate 5. They have full hookups. If you go to Summit, you have to come back to gate 5 to register. Summit has water and electric. If GPS tells you to make a left on 110th Avenue.... Don't, go RIGHT if coming off the highway. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$15
Very clean park family friendly nice hosts. Nice lake beach to swim in with very good life guards boats and paddle boats for rent. Nice fishing. I rated 9 because I wish my youngest could have worn a life jacket in the pond for safety and to give her more independence in the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$22
This is a relatively small area with lots of mature trees. Very well maintained. Level, gravel sites. Excellent bathrooms: clean, lots of hooks and racks for your stuff. Trails accessed from the campground. Quiet. There are 2 campgrounds - pull-through sites at Summit and back-ins at Terrace. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
The lady in the office was very helpful. The park is wooded with hardwood and a few conifers, and shade in the August heat was more welcome than having DirecTV from our dome through the trees. We couldn't get a satellite, but we got lots of local channels on our crank up antenna. You cannot make reservations so it is first come first served. It was a bit dicey since we were here ahead of the Labor Day holiday. Our spot was level. The water is quite a distance from some sites so you may need to have a longer hose and the sewer hookups in some sites may need a longer hose as well. The electric service was spot on. There is a picnic table and fire pit in each site. We really do like this park and definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
This was an overnight stop for us. It is part of a very nice county park and our type of campground. Paved roads; level, gravel sites; sites are well spaced with grass and trees. Plenty of room to walk the dog, our Verizon/Sprint phone/hot spot worked well. Not a whole lot to do in the area, but would be a nice place to stay for a few days to rest. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
This is an awesome CG, just our kind of place. Easy parking for our 45 ft MH. All sites have full hook ups and 30 and 50 amp poles. At $21 per night hard to complain. They don't take reservations. We came on a Monday before 2 pm and there were many available sites, 1/2 full by evening. On Tuesday the CG was 3/4 full. All are back ins. Water connection is far and you may need 2 hoses. Many hiking trails and a lake (about a 3/4 mile walk or a 5 min drive) with many activities including boat rental and swimming. If you like frisbee golf there is a very challenging course. We would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$19
Very clean park, very quiet. The pull through sites are water and electric only, but a dump station is available. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$19
This is one of the nicest parks you will ever stay in. The grounds are well taken care of and the sites are very wide with large grass areas and each with fire pit with grill stand along with patio and picnic table. They do not have laundry facilities so plan ahead. There are two parks to choose from one with full hookup and the other with water and electric. The difference in $2.00. We stayed here 3-night and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$19
This is a very nice place, we spent only 1 night, the site was just perfect, we walked about 300 yards to the lake, the Ranger and Staff Lady were very helpful, we will stay there again if were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$19
West Lakes is a beautiful county park located in Scott County, Iowa. The roads are blacktopped and the pads are either crushed limestone or blacktop. All sites have a concrete patio, picnic table and a fire ring. A majority of the sites have trees. There are a few sites that are open. The sites are a mix of electricity, electricity/water, and full hookups. Any size of rig can be accommodated. The grounds were very well maintained and the bathrooms were clean. The one curious thing about the park is the gates are locked between 10:30 P.M. and 6:00 A.M. Between these hours you may leave through an automatic gate. If you arrive after closing, you must park your vehicle in the paved parking lot near the entrance and walk in. West Lakes is a great place to camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$19
This is a gem of a campground just off I280 loop around Davenport. I entered through Gate 5, where there are full connections including excellent 50A electrical. My site had an asphalt pad, almost perfectly level. There is a combination of sites with and without treas (for those with satellite systems). I saw one bath house at the front and it was clean and well kept. It didn't have individual dressing areas, which my wife prefers. I asked for the senior discount and the rate was only $19. Our 41 foot motorhome and had no problems parking or leaving. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
We stayed 1 night and it was very nice. 50 amp, water, sewer for $20. Everything was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Our site was a gravel back in with a concrete pad for the picnic table. There were trees and we did not try to put out our dish. Our only problem was finding the entrance. No Wi-Fi at the park but our Verizon 3G worked well. We were in a 33 foot rig and would stay again for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Very nice park. I wish that we could have stayed longer. Gate 1 has pull through sites with water and electric while gate 5 has back in sites with sewer as well. The park was nearly full on Thursday and we were told that it will fill up late Thursday or Friday. They do not take reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Very nice park with excellent full hook up sites. Yes the sewer and water are in odd locations, but not a deal breaker. Stayed here 2 nights and suit our needs fine. The park hadn't officially opened yet so we had quite a time trying to pay someone. Finally on our last day we flagged down a park ranger and he opened the office so we could pay. Great stay, we will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$19
We have stayed here before and love it here. Very friendly and helpful staff. Only thing we don't like is they don't take reservations but if you get there before Friday afternoon, you probably won't have a problem. It is a beautiful park with lots to experience and enjoy and several different camping areas. They went up on their price from last year but still very reasonable. Very busy on weekends with lots of families getting together for cookouts. Nicely kept and peaceful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
We went in at Gate 5 and had Site 27, which had full hook-ups and was level. If you enter at Gate 1, they have more RV sies, but no sewer. The gates close at 10:30 PM and if you come back later than that, you must leave your vehicle in the parking lot outside the gates. GPS will tell you to take a left at 110th street: DON'T. Instead, make a right and the park is approximately 3/4 miles on right. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$19
Wonderful park, immaculate with very large, nice sites. County run park and staff were very friendly and helpful. WIll stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
This is a great value. Paved roads, gravel pads. The gravel could use a little work to make the sites excellent. Sites are wide and plenty deep, but the drawback is the sewer hookup is about 15' off the back of the pad, a real stretch for most rigs. Some of the water hookups are shared and a distance as well. Overall, a very nice park for a night or a week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
This is a beautiful park and was a life saver after our reservations at another independent campground were not honored. The people were very nice and helpful. I'd love to stay here again, but my only complaint is that they do not take reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$19
This pleasant park is part of a 620-acre complex which includes 4 lakes. It is located across the street from an upscale rural residential neighborhood. Chain grocery stores and a Wal-Mart are located within a several miles. When I visited, there was work in progress to upgrade the power service to 50-amps for all sites in the campground. The major drawback of this park is that dump locations are located at rear of each pad. At many of the sites 20’ (or more) of hose is required to reach the drain location. This park served nicely as a base for exploring the Quad Cities area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Outstanding staff at check-in. Wide, level, long sites. Very well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$19
A great place for the money. Lots of shade and fairly decent size spaces. We have a 42 ft tt with 50 amp and 3 slides and had no problems, had to use3 sewer hoses and 3 water hoses but other than that no problems setting up. Sprint and Verizon air cards worked and were fairly fast. We stayed 5 days in the terrace section. They have full hook ups in the terrace section. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$19
This is one of our favorite parks ever, and we will return. The sites are large and well cared for. Water and sewer stretch your supply of hose, but it's do-able. Great fire rings with double decker grates. Nice mix of people from tents up to very fancy motor homes -- friendly and courteous, as are the management folks. Acres of fun space and good bike paths. Quad cities are very interesting and close. No reservations, don't try to go in on a Friday night! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$16
We stayed two nights at the Summit campground and would stay again if we were ever in the area. At the Summit campground we had a large paved, shaded pull through site with water and electric. You have to pick your campsite before you register. The distance between the Summit and the Terrace, which is where the registration is, is too far for most to walk. It was very quiet and was patrolled by the ranger quite often. Great value for the money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
We stayed here for 14 days at Sumitt Ridge. They have water and electric hookups. (full hookups at Terrace Park) The camp host and his wife are very friendly and helpful. We were during the 4th of July and again the 1st of August. Had a great time. The playground is nice for the kids or grand kids, there is a swimming beach and a 26 or 27 hole disc golf course as well. I would recommend this campground for everyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
Great campground! Well laid out sites. Back-ins are angled off the paved road, and gravel pads relatively level. Concrete patios at most sites. Only fault is that the hookups for water and sewer are a stretch, but we made it, and some tree branches could be trimmed. Mature shade trees provide great shade at most every site. Clean, appealing, and inexpensive! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
Very clean, nice full hook up sites. Restrooms very clean and showers were great. They do lock the gates at night, so that was a bit of a pain. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
This park was very clean, quiet, and gorgeous. Most sites have plenty of shade and are surrounded by grass. It was rainy when we visited, so the area was a little muddy, but not too bad. The staff was friendly and the area was very quiet at night. Easy access to the freeway. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$17
Every year we stop at this park for a week during our cross country migration. A clean, aesthetically pleasing and quiet park, it is designed with a lot of space between the level sites. In the Park Terrace section, some of the back-in spaces are in a forest-like setting with gravel pads and some are in a grassed area with concrete pads that is roof-top internet satellite dish friendly. All have fire-rings and picnic tables. Water and sewer are shut off from mid/late October until spring. When arriving you go and pick out your space, set up and then go to the office to register. Park is packed full on weekends and reservations are not accepted. We are full-time RVers and lived here for a week. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$17
We had a very nice corner lot. The campground was completely full for the weekend, yet was quiet at night. My family and I had a very enjoyable time here. Lots of room between campers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
This is a nice campground with two different areas. Reservations are not accepted and at times it can be full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
We have stayed at this park every time in the area. Just love it's nice quiet location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$17
Great family campground. Would be a 10 if it had 50 amp power. No reservations. Crowded on weekends. Worth the 4 miles off I-80 for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$16
Lovely park with spacious grassy areas between sites. Two campgrounds, Summit and Park Terrace areas. Summit is w/e only with pull thrus. Park Terrace has back in sites with FHU's and a new section that has asphalt paved sites and concrete picnic pads and fire rings. Several Lakes, hiking trails, swimming, paddle boats, fishing, canoeing, just about every fun thing you can think of outside without a motor. No reservations, first come, first serve. To get the best site come Sun-Thurs. Open all year. 2 week limit. We had mechanical problems with our engine and the ranger allowed us to stay an additional week. Very nice folks. The Quad City area also had extensive paved road bike trails between Iowa and Illinois. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$16
This park is just off I80 and I280 but far enough away to be quiet. Easy access for big rig. Large sites and good 30 amp power. Some sites paved. No access to modem is only problem. Important to us but not all. Clean, level and quiet.Will come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$15
This was a wonderful county park. Additional discount for seniors. Lots of grass, large sites, lots of trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com