223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Tannehill Ironworks Historical State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (205) 477-5711
CGID11198

Tannehill Ironworks Historical State Park

Camp Information
Sites
256
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   9   9   7   7   7   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$22
This is a beautiful park with a museum on site. We paid $22/night for elec/water only and there is no weekly rates. We camped here to help prepare for my sister's wedding on-site in the park. There are many historic buildings and hiking trails to explore here. Halloween is a huge event, so all the RV sites in Campgrounds 1-3 are taken starting the first week of October as people reserve their spots in advance all month. The parking sites however are a bit bunched together so we may not have liked it anyway. We had to park in Farley Field for the week where we felt a bit more private, but then they kicked us out when it got closer to Trade Days (a monthly event). There was no Verizon cell or data coverage here - I could only get reception and 3G data near the registration office only. As soon as the wedding was over, we moved out of the park; it's too chaotic here in the month of October. Any other month would have been lovely, if you can disconnect from your Verizon coverage. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$23
Nice historic park, however campsites are tight and somewhat un-level. Not every site can except a big rig, many can. When you come into the full hookup area you must dodge trees and kids on bikes. Our site was very wet with leaves everywhere from last fall making it rather sloppy. The electrical system was being upgraded while we were there. Would we stay again, possibly, but will be in no real rush to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
This is a charming, woodsy campground with a museum, grist mill, pioneer farm, and other historical buildings. We were here during the week, and there were plenty of sites available. It appeared as if a few of the locals came in, parked their RVs, and left. I suspect they're coming back for the weekend. This place probably fills up quickly on the weekends. A few of the sites have 50 amp,and all in the loop we were in (#1) have sewer. The 50 amp sites are on the first driveway and have ample space between sites. Some of the sites on the water seemed closer together. The WiFi worked really well. We were unable to get satellite TV due to the trees and used our antenna, so our channel choices were limited. The sites are gravel, but ours wasn't very level. There are hiking/biking trails and lots of places to walk and take the dog. Hard to beat the price for FHU. It includes a 15% senior discount. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$17
We spent a day here to check out the restored ironworks. It's a great place for a restful stop, not too far off the highway and definitely "in the woods". FHU sites are pretty close together along a stream, but we had a 50Amp pull through (no sewer) that was roomy and outstanding. The steel/iron museum was excellent as was the ironworks blast furnace and all the restored buildings. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$21
Interesting place. We happened to be here during Spring break and the place was packed. Kids on bikes in packs like mini Hells Angels. No problems, just had to keep an eye out walking and driving. Sites are arranged with little planning and very jumbled; otherwise, level with a little compensation. We were next to a stream had ducks foraging. Restrooms were adequate, but nothing more. Would stay here again only at a less crowed time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
Very interesting historic state park with lots of appeal. We happened to stay during AL schools' spring break and the place was jammed with young families. It was refreshing to see all the activity. Perhaps that is what made the place pretty pricey for our W/ E site which was placed among the trees rather haphazardly. The iron works historic sites are worth checking out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
This is a great little rustic park and campground with numerous activities on the weekends and in the summer. The sites are well spaced with lots of trees and are level. It is like camping in the woods, but with amenities. We camped here in a 40ft motorhome with a tow vehicle without issue. It was still the off season and the restroom nearest our site was closed. However, the restrooms and showers by the office were open and well kept. All the hookups at all the sites were operational even in the off season. The office and the camp store were open. We would definitely stay here anytime on our trips north and south. Don't bypass this little gem if you are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$12
We found this little gem by accident and are very grateful! It is lovely. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and even stayed a little late to let us in. Don't take the negative comments about the mud too seriously. This is camping! All the areas were well cut out and marked off. Some of the smaller sites are just that. Smaller and not intended for a big rig. The staff allowed us to drive through and find a site that would accommodate our big rig and just report it back to them. The bathrooms do need some attention/increased budgetary consideration though. That is the only down side to this lovely campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$21
Friendly staff. Would have given a higher score if the bathrooms and showers were cleaner. They were fairly large bathhouses and the people "cleaning" them in the morning were in and out in no time. Maybe the budgets are tight at the park so they don't have the labor dollars to clean them better? Anyway, they were pretty bad. The park itself was incredible. Tons of history. Be sure and check out the ironworks museum. Well worth the $2 if you like history. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
This park is super pretty. Lots of trees and historical stuff to do. We stayed here just one night but would be great to return to see everything that this park has to offer. We have a 45 foot fifth wheel and you definitely HAVE to pay attention because the trees are very numerous. We made it through just fine, but you have to just be choosy about what pull through you take and make sure you can get out of the same spot. A guy next to us had a much smaller trailer than ours and he hit a tree so you just have to be careful no matter how big or small your rig is. They have an easily accessible dump station on your way out since our site did not have sewer. The park is pretty big and tons of stuff for kids to be occupied. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
The actual campground in this park is sad, some sites have a little gravel but most are just a dirt/gravel mixture. When it rains you are walking in mud. Very little maintenance goes on in the camping area. The camp sites and bath houses are past due for a remodel. Sewer sites are scarce and only exist in section 1. Most sites are small and hard to access due to trees. The restaurant in this park is no longer in operation. OK for an over nighter if you are passing through, but that's about it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
I loved this park! There is so much to see and do. There is a museum with a small fee that is well worth it. But the part I enjoyed the most was hiking to see the ironworks, the gristmill, the various period building, and the slave cemetery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Check in was slow. Site was tiny, too many RVs crammed into to small a space. Even with our small travel trailer it was difficult to negotiate parking. There was a tree stump in the middle of the site. The rest of the Park was great, especially the museum. Food was good at the nearby restaurant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$16
This is a good size state park with three loops. Loop 1 has sewer drops and other two loops do not. Large number of sites were 50 amp and water. Sites are like other state parks, hard to get in and out of on a number of sites. Sites were hard to find or see due to ground cover and sites were the same. Park is full of older heavy trees. Some trees are a pain to miss as you try to park so you need to use a lot of care here. This park has a 14 day limit but yet we see TT that have been here a long time. Odd to see Sat. dishes fixed on poles, fires wood in stacks five feet high, large table and tents, with no cars, trucks, or people around the sites. Also saw tents the same way. TV over the air would only pick up one channel and it was poor at best. Sat. TV is a tough trick to pick up due to the trees. Verizon cell and air card worked but very poorly. Our 3G card was working slower that a dial up. Smoke was bad all the time due to all the campfires people need to have and heat was around 90 degrees. The restaurant looked nice but we did not have time to try it. Staff gave me the wrong information on the correct way to our site and that was a problem to get out of. Other people told me this happens all the time. The museum on pig iron was nice to tour. Very large park with lots of very old homes and shops to look at. Rate was due to age 62 or over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
We set up on the Thursday before the Labor Day weekend. The place was absolutely packed by Saturday. Friendly staff. The camp store had the essentials, plus souvenirs and goodies for the kids. The campground is located in a valley with two spring fed streams merging into one, which fed the Ironworks just below. Campfire smoke has nowhere to go unless there is a strong wind. Restroom/showers were OK. Didn't try the new restaurant. Labor Day had a Moon Pie eating contest, a band, kid stuff to play on, and food vendors. Will be back next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
Very nice state park. The grounds are kept up very nice, and all of the rangers and workers were nice and professional. I think a little additional gravel on the sites should be done, but when we were there it did not rain so not a problem. All of the historic cabins and the Steel museum on site are a plus. You are within 10 minutes of all major necessities, but feel like you are a ways away. Got a few local channels over the antenna, but barely any cell service, and the air card could not connect. Highly recommend if you are between Tuscaloosa and Birmingham, AL. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Rustic, treed, family friendly campground with 195 sites divided into three separate campground loops.  Campground 2 and 3 have electric and water hookups while campground 1 has full hookups.  Electric and water sites are $20 and full hookup sites are $23 daily.  Sites vary in width and length, some pull-through but mostly back-in.  Most sites are heavily shaded.  The campground is located within the Historic Ironworks State Park with country store, sweet shop, ironworks museum and Bob Sykes BBQ restaurant on location.  Many family activities such as train rides, fishing and biking.  The campground is relatively quiet during the week, but it is heavily used by local families over the weekend.  Most of the weekend campers had a campfire which made the entire campground very smoky, and at times it smelt like there was a forest fire because there was no breeze.  We did not use the laundry or restroom facilities.  We would stay here again but only during the week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$20
Great park with lots to do in terms of outdoor hiking. We always prefer the sites in the back with no sewage. The sewage sites are packed in like a bunch of sardines, which doesn't appeal to us. They were doing some construction. I don't know if they were just making some of the sites pull throiugh, or if they were adding sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
We always enjoy going to Tannehill. There are tons of so many things to do right there in the park. Visit the ironworks grounds, play in the streams, hike, ride bikes, and ride the train. My only complaint would be that the sites are very close together, and some are too small/hard to get into for a larger camper. We like to camp in the primitive area for that reason and just use our generator. There is seldom anyone else out there with us besides a few tent campers, and we have a large area all to ourselves. Overall, this is one of our favorite places to camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
We spent 7 days here and had a wonderful time. We stayed for Spring Break and the first "Trade Days" event of the year and it was packed to capacity. Lots of bicycle riders (no helmets required), families with kids as well as campers of all ages in every type of RV. We hosted a scavenger hunt for the kids as well as a few other activities and it was a great time for everyone. Park was very clean although due to the crowds, the bath house ran out of hot water almost every day. Lots to see and do at the park itself, huge movie theater is only 8 miles away along with major retail shopping. They sell propane at the campground, have a small general store and a sweet shop that sells ice cream, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
My husband and I had ridden through the campground (or so we thought) several years ago and decided it was a place that we wouldn't be interested in. However, we recently rode through with some friends and was pleasantly surprised at the back section of the campground that we had missed on our previous visit. We decided we would try to camp for a weekend. We were thrilled with the campground! There are wide open spaces to walk with the dog or ride your bike. The only reason I don't give a 10 is because the sites are poorly laid out and can be difficult to back into. Our site was graveled, but level. Some sites are rather close together. The bath house was clean on our visit and did not have the appearance of being run down. We will be going back for a weekend visit very soon! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$17
This has been our favorite park, and still is, but with some reservations. Park no longer enforces 10MPH within the park. Parents allow kids to run without much supervision, especially during halloween 2 month camping. After labor day campers come in and park until halloween week-end. Park was packed. Teenagers almost ran down child and adults while "cruising." LOTS of traffic during week-end. Halloween decorations are something else! Management seems afraid to enforce rules for fear of making someone mad. They don't seem to realize having and enforcing good rules makes for a safer and more enjoyable camping experience. People did not pick up after pets. Soda cans and candy paper not placed in trash cans. It all comes down to "pride" in campers attitude. Some got it, some don't. Even with all this, we will return(just not during halloween). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
We love Tannehill. It is close to home and lots of fun. The kids have a blast hiking and climbing the "mountain" (it's really just a big hill!) Site are close, and there are lots of them. If you are camping in a group you will love T'hill. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Sites could use a good tidying up. Use has taken a toll. Very pretty with a stream flowing through. We arrived while a dulcimer festival was on. A magical evening with mountain music in the trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
One of our favorite places to camp. Well spaced, shady sites. Nice place to ride bikes. Friendly staff. I wish there was a pool on site for the summer, but it is a great place for the fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
We have stayed at this campground several times. It gets crowded on the weekends. The 3rd weekend of the month it has a big flea market. The people are real nice to deal with. We will stay here several more times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
We were very surprised that such a great campground existed relatively close to our home. There were many activities including hiking and craft demonstrations. We are glad we arrived early on a Friday because by that night the place was full. I highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$23
Spent "trade day" week-end here. We love this park. Staff very friendly. Kids are allowed to be more free with their actions now to which I do not agree. Parents seem to think because it has security or because it is so rustic, they can just let their children run wild. Almost got hit by several bicycles while there. Cars going into campground 3 wrong way and they didn't care it's plainly posted. What happened to common courtesy?? Best time to go is during the week after school starts. Very quiet and restful at that time. Some don't pick up after their pets but some do just like other parks. The park is wonderful but not all the patrons! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$16
Every one was friendly. Had a nice stay. Only problem we had sites were not well defined and roads were not marked with directional arrows. Tables can be moved around. Had to round one up for our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2006
$29
Not a bad campground for a few days, but some of the sites are a bit sub-par. I stayed in site #332, on the backside of the water/electric section. The sites with sewer were too close together for my taste, and was filled mostly with long-term campers (Katrina evacuees?). This section had a bit of a "trailer park" atmosphere. The water/electric section was more in line with our expectations for a state park. The park itself is very nice, with lots to do and look at. There is a new restaurant in the park that has good food. It's the better alternative compared to Oak Mountain State Park when visiting the Birmingham area. I would stay there again, but I bet it's a zoo on the weekends. I was there mid-week for a conference in Birmingham, and the water/electric section had only a half-dozen campers. The sewer section was just about full. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$19
We arrived at the registration office and requested full hook-ups. Since they were down several sites due to sewage problems, they allowed us to drive through and pick our site, get set up and then go back to the office to register and pay. Talk about hospitality!! After setting up, we returned to the registration office/store to pay. There are lots of neat things in here. Make sure you pay a visit. We are looking forward to visiting in the Spring/Summer for Trade Days and touring the historical buildings. Also: watch out for the deer. They will cross your path in the campground. We saw 7 walking through. What a great sight! This is a great place to have fun or sit back and relax! Only bad thing: no reservations. First come, first serve! We will be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2005
$20
I have stayed there on several occasions. The campground is not at all fancy but great for the price. Very secluded and safe. An okay restaurant is now open. Folks are nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$19
Stayed here on our way to Chattanooga and it was one of the highlights of our trip for our 9 year old. They offer so much that it would be impossible to list it all here, but we look forward to camping here again. You should really check out their website. We are looking forward to the re-opening of the Furnacemasters restaurant and attending Trade Days for the first time. The road to the park from I-20 is narrow in places but I really can't think of anything negative to say about the park itself. A very good place to camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2005
$22
We camped with our 6 year old son and absolutely loved it! The sites were big enough to move around in, and we had plenty of space to spread out. Campfires are permitted. Lots of things to see and do within the park itself. Nice trails. Staff very friendly. Several geocaches in the park if you are into geocaching. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Very clean park with very friendly staff. We stayed here for a total of 3 nights. There is lots to do here. A must-see for history buffs. There is a museum on site, as well as Civil War era buildings. The park has Civil War reenactments as well. There is a train for the kids. Every third Saturday and Sunday of each month there is a thing called "trade days". Park also offers trout fishing for a nominal fee. There are also rental cabins available. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2003
$20
This is one of my favorite CG's. Located in the Birmingham Metro area but you'd never know it. The CG is level with earth sites. It is very beautiful, lots of trees, a creek runs through it. Lots of squirrels. There is fishing in the creek. The staff is very friendly. There are the ruins of the old iron furnace which are actually in excellent condition. They are doing a great job of preserving them. There is a really good restaurant, a store that sells crafts, a small train, and down the road is a deer park. I always go midweek as the weekends can bring in large crowds. They also have certain weekends when they have flea markets set up and the crowds are huge. When the park is full your neighbors will be close but ok. Big rigs may have difficulty manuvering. When there are only a few campers you will be very spaced out. You can access the park from I-59 just south of the I-59/I-459 split, at exit 100 or from the I-459 by pass. Either will do fine for exiting the interstate but I prefer to get on the interstate at the I-459 ramp, exit 1, there is less traffic and you have a better run at it. There is a lot of traffic between Birmingham and Tuscaloosa. In April 2005 they are finished with the road work between Bessemer and the Mercedes plant (near Vance, AL). They are just starting construction from the Mercedes plant to Tuscaloosa. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$14
Very nice state park. Ranger Bob will welcome you with a stiff salute and he means it. Very friendly people working the park. An old iron works foundry and pioneer village with a working blacksmith shop. Close to Birmingham and just off I59/20 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com