218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Colony Country Campground (Closed) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 52 user reviews. Phone: (319) 626-2221
CGID1120

Colony Country Campground (Closed)

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   9   8   8   8   8   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
ALERT: This campground will be closing permanently on June 1, 2014. We wish every park had their 4 individual restroom/shower combination. Nice, clean, large, good pressure, etc. Small, quiet, lovely park with great friendly staff. Between Cedar Rapids & Iowa City & lots to do. Hookups were good, roads & grass with trees. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
If you want a campground that is excellent this is it. It's not a resort with all the noise just a clean, friendly, quiet campground. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We stayed overnight in this campground when returning from vacation. I requested and was provided a long pull-through so that I did not have to unhook my camper. Campground was clean and well cared for and the office staff was friendly, making this a good campground for an overnight stay. The campground does have one strange feature : The entry road to the larger sites is before the office making it necessary to back up to make the turn into the road. While it is a straight back-up with longer units your camper will end up backing onto the main road so it is important to watch for traffic (fortunately it is a rural road with little traffic). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
I have stayed here 2 - 3 weeks at a time in back-in sites the last 2 summers. The whole property is very neat and clean. Owner and staff are friendly and helpful. I will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This is a small park that works well for large rig stop overs. Some are longer term workers in the area with neatly kept RVs. Very convenient for those visiting the area. Caters more to adults than families. Extremely clean and maintained to the point of being groomed. Good shade. There is a lot of development in the area. In five years the park will feel closed in by ticky tacky, but for now it is in the cornfields. Moderate water pressure in back ins. Poor in pull throughs. Water well occasionally produces some H2S gas. Power is moderately clean. Showers are ample, spotless and personalized with vanity and dressing areas behind closed doors. Wi-Fi is metered, so you are only going to get 0.150G down and ridiculously low uploads. Personal Verizon hotspot is excellent. All pads are incredibly small, wide only for rim to rim, mostly gravel. Good space between back ins, but quite close for the pull-throughs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
We stayed here two nights, price reflexes Good Sam discount. This park is located just outside of town in a quiet area and close to any store/restaurant you might want to find. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We did not use the laundry facility, but the restrooms are by far the nicest we've seen. Our site was relatively level and spacious. Over the air TV was good and the Wi-Fi worked well. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Colony is a well maintained campground located in a suburban setting. Everything is clean and green and QUIET. No road noise, no trains. If you are looking for just a nice time, this is the place. We stayed there overnight and would stay again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
We stayed here overnight and I wasn't sure what we would get. I couldn't find them in RV Park reviews because they are actually in North Liberty according to their address. My husband made the reservation and I was pleasantly surprised when we got here. Everything is clean and green and QUIET. No road noise, no trains. It truly is a gem. It is not a resort by any means... no pool, no cable, but if you are looking for just a nice time, this is the place. Verizon wi-fi worked great and so did their free wi-fi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
No cable. Site was fairly level. WiFi was iffy. We didn't see anything for little ones to do - no pool or other activities. Office was not open until 3PM but occupants of fifth wheel across from the office will get you settled. We would probably look elsewhere to camp if we were in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
Top notch RV Park. Smaller park set in the woods, was part of a large family farm. Owner set aside a large wooded area for use as an RV park. Spaces are reasonably level and are accessed off a long circular drive. Didn't see any spaces that would be tough to get into, even though most of them are back-in spaces. We had no difficulty putting our 30' RV into a back-in space. Park is quiet. is a couple of miles off a main highway Access to Iowa City and area attractions is really good. We're planning to take a long weekend and go back in several months - it was that pleasurable and relaxing. If you have dogs, be prepared for an extra pleasurable time. The owner mows wide trails through the woods every spring, giving you great places to walk your dogs where they can be in nature's good smells. Our rottweiler and doberman sniffed up a couple of rabbits the day we left and had an absolute ball tracking them! The dogs thoroughly enjoyed the whole weekend we stayed there! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
Outstanding camping experience! The owner is as nice a person as you could hope for. She takes great care of the park, even cutting trails through the woods that surround the park. We enjoyed the trails immensely, but our dogs told us they enjoyed them more! Relaxed country atmosphere on the edge of a college town urban area - best of both worlds! Shady sites, all services/utilities were great and excellent OTA TV reception. Tons of stuff to do (we enjoyed the fossil beds, Hoover Museum). We'll definitely be back for many more visits! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Colony is a well maintained campground located in a suburban setting. The roads and pads are crushed limestone. Any size rig can be accommodated. A majority of the pads are level; a very few need front to back leveling. The newly renovated restrooms are very clean. There is free WiFi. OTA television is satisfactory, depending on where you’re located. The owners are actively involved in the operation of the campgrounds. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Nice park a few miles off the highway. Very quiet and long pull throughs so you do not have to disconnect the toad. Great pet walking areas and very friendly host campers. Lots of trees and grass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
Quiet park, convenient to the Amana Colonies and Iowa State University. Friendly staff and residents. The pull-through sites are designated for short-term stays, so easy in and out. The shower/rest rooms are private and very nice. They have a 'homestyle' laundry with newer household machines, so you just pay by the load at the front desk and no searching your pockets for quarters. We enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
This is a wonderful little RV park. We stayed one night here in our fifth wheel. Management was very friendly and helpful. Our site was level on a gravel pad with an easy approach. The bathroom/showers were immaculate. We prefer being able to put down an outside mat by our door to prevent dirt getting into our unit, but this was not allowed to protect the grass. This was the only negative about the park and I must say the grass was thick and well maintained and looked lovely. The rate reflects Good Sam Discount. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
We were traveling across country and it was about 6:00PM when we pulled into this little gem. The management couldn't have been nicer. The park was clean, tidy and well maintained. I was Impressed. Although there was no cable TV available, all four major networks were easily picked up on-air with the antenna. We stayed only one night, but would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
This is a great little park. It is easy access from the interstate. We had a site that allowed satellite view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pull through site was a little tight but the water, sewer, and electric were easily accessible. The park is well kept and neat. We will stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
What a delightful diamond in the rough. We stumbled upon this on our way back to Oregon and couldn't have been more pleased. Check in was easy and quick. The showers are spotless and huge. Our site was level and large. Plenty of room to enjoy the peace and quite and sounds of nature. If in this area again, I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Delightful park with great mature shade trees and grass at every site. The restrooms and showers were very private, new and clean; luxurious compared to most RV parks we have been in. Very friendly and helpful owner/manager and camp host. Staff made every effort to make certain we were comfortable and had all the help we needed, including directions and tips of touring the Amana Colonies nearby. We had a most pleasant 3-night stay and would highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Very friendly-smaller park. We enjoyed our stay. Staff constantly working to maintain the park. Awesome bathrooms/showers. Great dog walk area through their mowed grass maze & it was also lots of fun for our 7 y/o grandson. Lots of shade and if you are into feeding birds--you will see many. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
Park is small, but decent. Woman in office was very nice. Not much in the playground for kids. We would stay here again if in the area. Some sites looked like they required rig to be leveled, but our pull through was flat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
Nice, quiet, neat campground with shady sites a few miles from I-80 or I-380. Near shopping centers. About 30 minutes from Amana Colonies. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
After battling the wind all day we were worn out when we checked into this little place. We received such a friendly welcome, it perked us right up! Our site accommodated our 40 footer just fine. As others have mentioned, the water was a stretch, but not a concern. We enjoyed this friendly, quiet spot and will return the next time we pass this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Rate quoted is with Good Sam discount and includes taxes. Pleasant park with friendly staff. Mature trees and nice green grass. Well maintained. Satellite OK on some sites. Access a little tight for big rigs but we were fine with our 40' and "toad" and didn't have to unhook. Water spigots only every other site so might need to stretch extra hose across to reach it. Also a stretch for the electrical cord. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Nice Mom and Pop campground. Small, grassy sites, some utilities are placed wrong because it is an older park. Our water was on the right front side, long way from our hook up. Gentleman who met be at the gate was extremely nice and helpful and had extra water hose to insure you made your hook up (no charge). Wi-Fi worked great. Good Sam rate of 24.80. Nice value for an overnight while you are traveling. Near I-80 great place to stop and rest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Cute clean campground with lots of grass for dogs, as well as mowed trails through the field. Laundry was household type where you pay $1/load when finished. Friendly staff and good WiFi. One night of rain with mud. Will return if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Cost is based on a weekly rate. A pleasant quiet park, during our stay. A long stretch for water and electric hook up. Nice front desk help, friendly and very helpful. Shower was nice and roomy, but if you didn't get in early in the morning, it was hot during our visit, due to no air conditioning. Very small laundry, more than one person in there is a crowd. We were lucky with the trees to get satellite reception. Showers and laundry could use a deep cleaning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
This is a very nice park that gives you a quiet and relaxing atmosphere to spend one or several days at. Management was very friendly and kept everything neat and clean. I would stay here again and definitely recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
This is a quiet,clean small RV park located in a suburb of Iowa City. The sites are typical width for a commercial RV park. There are a number of long-term campers in the park. The RV sites are gravel with gravel interior roads. Some sites could be more level; however, they are sufficiently level to permit a rig to be leveled. I thought that the price was a little high considering the amenities provided. WI-FI worked great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
This is a most pleasant little RV park. The gravel sites are pretty level, there are many beautiful trees, and except for the site pads, the entire park is grass. It's a little oasis of mature shade trees in the midst of farm fields becoming sub divisions. It is well cared for, and the staff is friendly and helpful. It seems that most of the full hook-up sites are occupied by long term residents. I myself stayed for two months. I didn't meet anyone who was not cordial. There are a few pull-through for overnight. I will happily stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Really friendly staff and a great location. Although they officially didn't open until April 1, when we arrived on March 31 they made us feel very welcome, and didn't charge us for that day. We had our granddaughter with us and she loved the park and the nearby creek. They had firepits and hardwood was available for sale at a reasonable price. The laundry facilities are on the honour system. You use them and then tell the office how many loads and you are charged $1/load. Sites were level, well treed and spacious. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
Lovely campground in excellent location with nice scenery adjacent. Leaf and evergreen trees throughout campground amid sites. All sites are very spacious and thoughtfully laid out. Nice picnic tables and sturdy fire ring at each site. Good roads, good signage, easy to find. Many owners would put 150 sites in the area this campground has 36. Cordial, helpful, friendly owner. Excellent laundry/bathrooms and amenities with guest enjoyment in mind. Definitely will visit here again. Excellent free Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
More than a mile from I-80 but a good place to stay. Very pleasant check-in with the owner cordial and helpful. Have been here before and certainly would stay again. Wi-Fi worked fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
We had a very good experience at this campground. We were there for just one night but were happy to have Wi-Fi. The laundry was clean and office was very clean and well kept. The grounds were very nice and well maintained. The personnel were very friendly! Had a slight problem with the Wi-Fi connection that was taken care of immediately. For the price, can't beat this place. We'd definitely stay here again. Very pet friendly. Only negative is no cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
We found this park to be a pleasant stop for visiting the Amana Colonies and the Village of Kolona. The park was well maintained. The manager and staff were very pleasant and helpful. There are several short mowed trails to walk pets. The back in water/electric sites on the outside perimeter appeared to be a little larger than the full hookup sites which were in the middle. The Wi-Fi worked well and satellite TV setup was surprisingly easy given the number of large shade trees. This park seems to have a number of repeat customers that come numerous times a season, some every weekend. We were told it is also popular during University of Iowa home football game weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
We were only there for one night, but could have easily stayed longer. They only had 4 pull-thru sites but the back-ins where easy-in-and-out. The grounds were well manicured and facilities well maintained. Add it’s respectful distance from Iowa City, a visit with some friendly full-timers, and we’re left with a quiet, and pleasant, overnight stay. As an over nighter, it’s a 4 star, but there amenities are limited, so I give it a solid 3 stars overall. Our price reflects a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
Good overnight stop for us. Our back-in site was level and we didn’t have to unhitch our tow vehicle. The sites around us had a decent amount of space between them. The campground is an older, established campground that has been in the same family for several years. It has gravel interior roads, good grass coverage, and mature trees and shrubs. The services we used worked well (water, electric, Wi-Fi). The campground has common water hydrants that are centrally located and can be a bit long to reach from some sites. Bath and toilet facilities were very clean though the facilities were older and not well lit. The host was welcoming and our reservation and check-in went smoothly. The mile of Forevergreen Road leading to the campground is rough in patches. We would stay at Colony Country again as an overnight stop or as a destination. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
This park has gravel roads and sites, many trees with grass. Well maintained, friendly and helpful staff. We were in a back-in site with 30 amp and water only. The dump station is quite tight with a camp site on one side and a dumpster on the other, be careful. Air card worked well, didn't use their wifi. Staff can direct you to a diesel fuel truck stop about 2 miles away with very adequate room to get in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Nice park with well spaced campsites. The shower heads were so-so, but the restrooms were very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
We stayed for Memorial weekend. The lady that runs it is very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and showers are clean. She posts the weather on the window everyday. Free Wi-Fi that works great. We will stay here again if ever in area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$21
Have stayed here before. Still the small town atmosphere type campground. Nice, fairly level sites and super clean restrooms and showers. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
Love this park. The road in is under construction but it is paved and has patches from the rains. The campground it tight but we got our 42 footer in without a problem. We have 30 amp though and wish it was 50 amp and it would be a 10 in my opinion,. They had wifi free and the staff was great. Would stay here again... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Last 0.6 miles to the CG was over very bumpy road. Long, wide pull throughs, well-kept grounds, tall shade trees, but no cable TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
Very nice little park. The water is a good 30 feet from your rig. Very quiet and the owners are super. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Lovely Campground. Only 30 amp so I marked it down a bit and the water is far apart though not on our site. It is shady and quiet and the owners very nice. I can say after being on the road for 4 weeks this is one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed at. Very peaceful and while the sites are a bit tight to get in they are not that difficult. I just backed up a few feet and swung in the pull-through. The sewer dump station is in an odd place and tight from one side to get into. Most of the bigger sites have a dump so the smaller trailer sites will only have to use it. there are a few really long back in sites that do not have a sewer but if you approach the dump from the left you will not have a problem getting into it. While the power is only thirty amp I will say we tripped a breaker with the Aqua-Hot and that means they need to replace them as they are getting weak. We will stay here again when we are passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Very clean and quiet campground. Very friendly staff. Bathrooms are old, but clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
Very nicely kept up and grassy with lots of nice trees. Owners very friendly and helpful, treat guests like family. We have stayed here many times for a month or longer. Close to large mall but still has a quiet country atmosphere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$23
Several miles off I-80. Beautiful RV Park with level pads. Sewer and electrical at site though it would take a very long hose for water. Owner very pleasant. Rest room facilities spotless though dated. I would rate this park at least a 9 if they updated rest room facilities and offered WiFi and cable TV. Nice place to stop as an overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Wonderful, quiet and clean - "adult" park. Children allowed and there is a playground, but nothing else. Back in sites are shaded and roomy. Some sites a bit tricky to get into with a large rig (room and slight slope) but there are more easy and beautiful sites. Friendly owner run. In North Liberty - close to Coralville, Iowa City and Cedar Rapids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$28
Access roads and sites were big enough for our 40-footer and toad. There are about five pull-through sites with full hookups; the rest are back-ins. Not all sites have all utilities. Level gravel sites. Nicely maintained grass between sites, it appeared (ground was covered with snow). Mature trees. About 2.5 miles north of I-80, so there was no highway noise. We would happily use this park again either for an overnighter or if we wanted to stay in Iowa City. There is a Super-WalMart and other major shopping between the park and I-80. The dump station could be difficult to use with a big rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$20
Nice people, nice campground We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2001
$20
Friendly staff and owner, but hard to manuver, especially for big rigs and small sites. Pull thru's very limited and difficult also without sewer hook-up's. Very poor placement and entry for dump station. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com