220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (435) 648-2700
CGID11261

Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort

Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   2   8   9   9   6   2   2   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
We came in an RV and got a spot which was one of the back-in' spots. Most others were pull-in spots. My in-laws decided to splurge on a cabin. So we spent $35'ish a night for an RV hookup and they spent $200 a night for a cabin. Here are the cons: The back-in spot which wasn't level. The sewage was FULL (eww!) so we couldn't connect and dump. No maintenance for the sewer, they never came. Breakfast was bad for the in-laws. The front desk staff were not up to standards (talking among themselves and not helping). Run down conditions in the bathroom, showers, and pool. Here are the pros: Beautiful place and views. Bathrooms received maintenance after I noticed things breaking down. So many activities for kids. Short drive into Zion. I would completely come back here for a family vacation and do more pool time, hikes, ATVing, and spend a few nights not even leaving Ponderosa Ranch. The first night, the bathroom sink faucets were broken, one soap dispenser didn't work, they have paper towels instead of dryers (save the trees!), the showers were slightly gross with hair clogging everything. However, the next night I noticed that they fixed the faucets! The morning I walked up to go to the bathroom, the cleaning crew was scrubbing out the showers. So I'm not sure if they need MORE OFTEN cleaning of the facilities or what? The pool was freezing, but it was 90 degrees out so the kids got used to it. They LOVED the slide. The pool walls were disgusting and there was notices up that they were fixing it but it was the beginning of summer. When will they fix it? When we checked in, the guy was super helpful. He didn't seem to know anything about backing in, or helping us, but he was nice. The next morning there were three people up in front and the girl sitting there didn't seem bothered to raise her head and ask how she can help. My mother in law wasn't happy with it. So for OUR price, it was great. I would come back. For $200 a night, maybe not. :) Really beautiful area though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$48
This park is not in good condition at all. It is neglected and the staff seems disinterested in whether or not you are pleased with your visit. Too much riff raff in the campground area with no rules such as other parks about laundry hanging out, junk strewn about, and trash. Couldn't wait to leave each day. Zion is a good drive from here, so be prepared. Do not expect to be impressed with this campground, there are others to choose from. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$49
The last two reviews really cover it pretty well. We camped here due to the RV Park reviews and we were not disappointed. Close to many National Parks and when we got back from a long day of hiking we could relax in the hot tub or play putt-putt golf! We extended our stay here with no problems, there is just so much to do here! Our site required some levelers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$47
Loved it! Well worth the beautiful drive from the valley to Mt. Carmel. Can't wait to go back. So many kids activities, they never wanted to leave! Pool and Jacuzzi were perfect after long day hiking. Even in the rain! We had a great spot on the end, RV 4 with a beautiful view. Quiet and private. Would like to see a bit better signage to RV area and the dirt roads are a bit rustic and muddy during the monsoon season. No Wi-Fi at our spot but strong signal at the Clubhouse. One other thing worth noting: There is a restaruant, which I heard was very good but we never tried, but no general store to purchase food such as bread, milk etc. Bring your own unless you wish to eat out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$65
This resort was a major destinations of our cross-country RV trip and it did not disappoint. Just outside Zion NP, it offered many activities for activate families with kids and especially teenagers. (Note the horseback riding, ATV, and zip-lines were weight limited to 250 lbs.) Our family really enjoyed the twin outdoor pool and hot tubs. The resort is an eclectic mix of lodges, cabins, tent, and RV sites. Overall the facilities are top notch and the shower rooms are large and individually enclosed. Effective ventilation was hit or miss amongst the shower rooms. With many more cabins and tent sites, the shower facilities are heavily used and it showed. A lot of trail dust and dirt accumulated over the day in the showers. Overall the shower facilities were not at KOA standards. We were also surprised at the limited laundry facilities. Only two washers and 4 dryers. These were the only negatives we observed during our stay. The bathrooms, within the same building but not connected to the showers, were clean and contained sufficient counter space and lighting. The RV sites are more than adequately long, and blacktopped, but were not completely level. Further grading, weeding, and landscaping around some of the RV sites would better complete this section. The on-site restaurant was top notch, although pricey. We had a great dinner and breakfast during our stay. The staff was attentive, engaged, and professional. The host was more than accommodating when my family wanted to extend a day. Even thought the RV park was completely full, they provided us a full-service employee RV site. This accommodation alone demonstrates the extent Zion Ponderosa Ranch & Resort will go to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this facility, with or without a RV, if you are visiting this part of Utah. I was really glad I could leave my trailer behind when visiting Zion National Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
The back in sites were not level. In fact, they slope back causing problems with the black tank draining. If we had parked our trailer (30ft) where we wouldn't slope, we'd have no room for our car whatsoever. The pull through sites sit out in the middle of the camping area with no shade and are narrow. The road that leads to the RV sites is also narrow with lots of curves. This resort is expensive for camping. It's very close to Zion National Park which is convenient. The pool is not heated, but is very big and about the only activity that is free. The park is well maintained and the staff are helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$47
If you are a family with young kids, you will undoubtedly love it. With tons of activities (over-priced as they are) your kids will beg you to come back. The RV sites, however, are without a doubt the worst (if there was an award for this kind of thing, for sure they would win). Stuck off to the side, these have got to be the most unlevel, rocky sites known to mankind. The guy across from us had to raise his wheels on blocks a good eight to ten inches off the ground. Not sure that was enough, but he ran out of blocks. Trash was trapped in the surrounding bushes and remained there for the two weeks we stayed here. Now, I get rustic, but to charge this much, for this kind of site with no pad, no cable TV, no WiFi (only at office), is bad. Bathroom and showers are nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$47
This is a ranch, not a resort - especially an RV resort. I didn't even take the trouble to film the activities that would make this desirable for those families who rent houses or cabins. I did take photos of the unlevel dirt they call sites. Beautiful mountains in the distance but trash all around and mud on the picnic table. Offering massages doesn't make you a resort - at least not the quality of RV Resort we are searching for across the country. On the up side, Zion is amazing. You can stay there for weeks. Should we return next year on our way across the U.S., we plan on staying elsewhere. Also, eat at Oscar's. Amazing! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$47
They claim to have big rig sites, and they will accommodate a 40' but our site was unlevel and our jacks sunk in 6" in the soft unpacked dirt; not to mention we had only inches to spare for the slides. The road to get to the site was dirt and full of very large pot holes. I would not come in here with any thing over 20'. They only have 6 sites so not much to choose from. Very over priced for what you get. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com