223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Copake KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (518) 329-2811
CGID11279

Copake KOA

Camp Information
Sites
250
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$62



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   10   9   7   8   10   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$62
It is a difficult park to review in that in some respects it was very nice where in others it was strange. I felt as if I was "nickeled and dimed" more than I usually am at a campground. Wi-Fi was only for 2 consecutive hours without a hefty surcharge and even after paying on one occasion, the service was spotty. The hot water service in the showers are a pain in the rear end (there are not enough for that size campground either), especially when considering what they charge. The pool times are also pretty tight for the middle of summer. However, the campground is clean, the owners live there, and given how clean and together the campground looks, they seem to work hard. In short, given the price I payed for less than a week's stay, I feel as I did not quite get enough for the premium dollars I paid. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
This is a very well maintained RV park and great care is made to keep it that way. There are a lot of permanent sites but most of them are located in the outer perimeter in more wooded areas. Each site was very level with lots of room to spread out. When you check in you are taken via golf cart to your site and shown where to pull or back in. Lovely pool, very clean. Many planned activities on weekends and holidays. Be aware that you are only allowed 2 hours/day on the wifi. Once you signed on -- even if for only 20 minutes -- your time was gone for that 24 hrs. Would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
Absolutely wonderful KOA. Grounds were well maintained. Facilities clean and up to date. High marks for availability, attentiveness and helpfulness of staff. Camped for 5 nights in early July 2014. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$62
Rate is average rate over an 11 night stay and includes KOA 10% discount. The rate also included special rates for weekend, holiday (4th of July) and special event (fireworks display). This is a nice campground to use as a home base when visiting the Hudson Valley area. Full hookups including cable. Wi-Fi is free for only one connection per day with a 2-hour limit. It is $5/day for full Wi-Fi access. Owners are quite friendly and helpful. Laundry was $2.25 per wash load and dryer load. Several of the dryers were inefficient and did not do a good job of drying. We will stay here again to visit family in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$70
Like this campground. Very nice sites. The Wi-Fi is really silly the way you have to pay and the "two hours free time". Also loads of seasonals and their golf carts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$55
Rate is KOA Value Card rate. Seems although there is a lot to do at this campground. We were assigned a site in the T section --- no shade at all and grassy site which is likely to be soggy or muddy when it rains. Office staff was nice. Security looks to be great. Difficult to get to when traveling north on I-81 unless you connect with I-90 and then take Route 22 which is a two lane road into Copake. Facility offers themed weekends which seems to go over well with campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$65
Nothing about this campground we didn't like. Very nice place and we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$62
The staff was friendly and helpful. They helped us to our site. Since the site was really level, we were able to leave our trailer connected. When we departed they filled our propane tank quickly for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$60
This is our 2nd stay here. The people are so nice, and the sites are pretty big. I would say that 80% of the sites are very level, and the others are nothing that is too bad. The campground is VERY well kept, all the lawns mowed, never see a paper or anything on the ground. We are coming again at the end of June for another weekend, and probably again before the end of the season! Actually, we are seriously thinking of getting a seasonal site here for next year!! You won't go wrong staying at the Copake KOA!!! On the border of Connecticut & Massachusetts in New York, so lots to do in the area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$56
Outstanding KOA--Founders Award winner given to top 10% of KOAs. They have everything--plenty of stuff for the kids to do, a variety of sites, activities on weekends, cable, WiFi, well stocked camp store & more. The weekend I was there they had a live band and the campground was full with families. My only complaints are there is not much nearby and the KOA is pricy, charging even more on weekends. This KOA is a destination campground. Weak ATT data signal, moderate Verizon data signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
The park is well maintained. There are many large spaces (and some not so large). The spaces could be a bit rutted but were generally flat. Overall, not a bad campground but a bit pricy. My main complaint was with the lady that owned it. Had a few incidences: 1. When we got there we requested that we see the site first so we could verify it would fit our 40' rig and to figure out the best approach. She wouldn't let us and said it would fit and it was the only space they had. Also we would not need to see the approach as their helpers would guide us completely. I relented, we got to the spot and it was too small. After having 3 of their helpers try for 15 minutes to get our rig in around the trees they called up and told her they were moving me to a bigger spot. The new spot worked great. But the issue could have been avoided had they let us walk the site first. When I asked about their "no more spots" statements they said everybody says they have a 40' rig even if they don't. So if they think they can get you on a smaller spot then basically the bigger spot is not available for you. So they did have other spots (many in fact). They just thought they could cram my 40' rig on a small one. 2. My second issue was I had a friend who was moving to Albany with his dad and wanted to stop by and see our rig. I told the lady he would only be there for an hour or less. She still wanted to charge my $14 for my friend to stop by my rig quickly. Seems she could have had a little more leeway so I wouldn't feel so nickel and dime. 3. My final issue was my cat disappeared about an hour before check-out time. Although I was pretty sure the cat was in the rig I didn't want to leave just-in-case. Also I didn't want to risk her getting caught in the slides. I told the lady that we might run a bit past our checkout time to find our cat (she is hard to find). The extent of her sympathy was that she would only charge me for half-a-day if I didn't stay the following night but did stay after checkout. More nickel and dimes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
Haven't been here in awhile. Love this park. Spotlessly clean, super friendly staff. Wi-fi and 50amp electric at every site. Gets better and better infrastructure wise every time we come. This family owned parked loves what they do and it shows. Great people. Great actvities. Great Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
EXCELLENT campground. Very friendly staff...clean sites and pool. Good location to all local foods and shopping. Will go again next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$67
Unbelievably beautiful. We parked in the big open pull through area across from the pavilion. The staff was awesome, the grounds are well kept. This weekend there was a band playing and they too were amazing. The night sky view from this campground is stunning. We will definitely be returning. In fact we already booked. See you then. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$52
Very nice quiet campground . Spacious pull throughs and utilities were top notch . Interesting area to visit . We will return . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$52
We have camped at this camp ground for the past three years. The campgrounds are kept very well and clean. The hosts are the best as is the rest of there staff. They are always pleasant and eager to help in anyway they can to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. The themed weekends are great, and all the other activities and live entertainment. I would recommend this KOA to everyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
This campground is lovely. The sites are large enough that you aren't on top of each other, large immaculate pool, grounds very nicely kept and lots of activities during the season. The staff was friendly and helpful. The Wi-Fi was strong although the cable TV was a bit fuzzy at times. Highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$49
We have camped over the past two years at Copake KOA on the big holiday weekends and have had a wonderful time each stay. The owners are very friendly as well as the staff and they are willing to accommodate each guest to the best of their ability. They make every attempt to give returning guests the site they request and they have many fun activities that appeal to all age campers. On the holiday weekends they have had a band on Saturday night and a DJ on Sunday night and you see campers of all ages dancing the night away. We love camping at Copake KOA and recommend it to family and friends often. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$49
Huge amount of work done to campground. New pet walk area with equipment to play on for dogs. Have cleaned up the sites (nice large sites with new electric/cable hookup). Fun activities for kids and adults. Great store. Clean game room. Felt very safe and secure with gate and staff patrol. Playground good for little kids. Nice pool area. Staff very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to camp there next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Every visit the place gets better! The owners, employees and their family work non-stop to make this one of the best KOA's around. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$50
Memorial Day weekend was our first visit to this campground. We were so impressed that we booked Labor Day weekend (2011) and Memorial Day weekend (2012). We had my parents with us when returned for Labor day weekend, and, they could not believe how clean and quiet the campground was. My parents live an hour away and this is a great campground to stay, and be able to have family come. We are looking forward to returning for Memorial Day (2012). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$49
Stayed one night at the Copake KOA. Not too far from Bash Bish Falls in Western, MA. Lots of seasonal sites, some that appear to have been here for a very long time. As previous reviewers have mentioned, the campground seems to have been undergoing some renovations in the last few years; looks like there is still a bit of work to do. Nice new bathrooms. Wi-Fi was a bit weak. There were lots of family activities going on the night we were here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$79
New owners have taken what looked like a disaster and are clearly on their way to great things. Stayed in a mini lodge. Nice new bathhouse. It was very clean. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$48
Love This place! Owners and Staff are so helpful. Have completed so many projects since we were here in May. So nice to camp at a family owned park. Great activities for families. They have adult only activities as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
Very nice campground that gets better each time we go. We have camped here twice this year: Memorial Day and Labor Day and the park continues to get nicer and nicer. The owners could not be more friendly and accommodating. They go out of their way to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. Sites are very large, with new connections and hook-ups. The new owners continue to work hard to rebuild this campground in to a first class facility. Lots of things to do for families, the showers were probably the nicest I have seen at any campground, super clean and roomy. There is still work to be done, however I am sure that by this time next year this will be one of the nicest campgrounds in the northeast! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
New owners, new name. Campground had a complete overhaul. The owners are great and will make your stay a pleasant one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$49
Excellent campground. Friendly and helpful staff. Huge sites. New electrical boxes and picnic tables. Site was level. Good location to visit Tanglewood Music Festival. Would stay here again. Rate reflects weekly stay and KOA Value card discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
We have camped here twice, two weeks apart. The park was just purchased by new owners. In those two weeks time the campground has made a transformation. More sites are becoming available as the staff works hard clearing them. This weekend alone I watched as they transformed five sites from not so hot to spectacular. They are really working hard to make this a nice place. I hope to they succeed and I truly believe they will. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
This campground is presently being converted into a KOA. You can see all of the work they have done and it should be fabulous once it is completed. The staff were excellent, couldn't of been nicer. Look forward to returning once all work has been completed. We enjoyed a very restful weekend here as it is one of the quietest campground we have ever been to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$49
We were at this KOA on Memorial Day weekend with our puppy and grand daughter. We did not pick our site but let the owners pick one for us. the site we were put in was a little tight and we would not be able to deploy our awning and screen room, and because of this the owners purposely did not book the site next to us so we had 2 sites all to ourselves! This was the first time we were in a site on the "safari field" and we were about 20 feet away from the activities. The showers and bathrooms were actually the trailer kind. They were brand new and each bathroom had a toilet sink and shower and A/C! The owners are new to KOA and they are really working hard to get this park up to par and fix things up, and it shows. I would not hesitate to go back again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$47
Just got back and this campground used to be owned by a private family and had been called a different name (can't remember the name) and it got a lot of bad reviews. The husband and wife that own it now, just became part of KOA campgrounds a couple of months ago. They said that they are still working on it and have 1 year to get it up to KOA standards. I have to say that the staff were EXTREMELY nice and helpful and there was a lot of activities for the little ones, and the adults too. I took a walk around the place and they have made a lot of new campsites, and also are upgrading the existing ones, both seasonal and the ones for us "weekenders". The bathrooms are modular and are "Unisex". There are 8 individual units with a toilet, sink, and shower, AND AIR CONDITIONING!!! The staff comes by 3 times a day and cleans them, and I never saw a dirty one the entire time i was there. This campground is a work in progress and as such still has some things to fix. The only thing that I can think of that I would change right now is that the roads are dirt. This is not a problem if you are camping back away from the safari field because there is not a lot of traffic, but if you have a site at the safari field like I did, every time a car goes by, there is a cloud of dust that follows it and coats everything in its path with dust. If they had a water truck go by 2-3 times a day to wet down the road it would help A LOT. But I have to give this campground a good rating, they are working hard to bring it up to a higher level, and still have some work to do. I would go back again without hesitation. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$50
Incredibly friendly owners who have put a lot of time and money into refurbishing this campground. Still a lot to do, but the owners were very accommodating and interested in making our stay as pleasant as possible. Sites were very large and spread out, plenty of room to spread out. Downsides: the pool was somewhat small and the dirt road made things very dusty. Some of the facilities still need updating although you can see that the new owners are working very hard to get things right. Probably the quietest campground we have ever stayed at. Once 10pm rolled around the only sound you hear are the crickets. We will definitely return to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
Campground is under new ownership and a new conversion to KOA. This was their opening weekend. You can tell they have done a lot of work, but they still have a fair amount to do. Really friendly helpful staff. Really liked the new modular bathhouse and we had a great time playing family kickball. They had super planned activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2008
$36
I will keep this as short as possible. I was a seasonal camper in this park for a number of years under the previous owner and the park was a very clean and peaceful place one I looked forward to every week end and also in the winter. The owner and his wife were very nice people and made sure the park was always up to excellent standards and offered many different things for the seniors and children. Howerver once it was sold to the current owner, the place turned into a junk yard with a dirty pool, lake, and so on. I moved my trailer out after the first summer and moved on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$26
We were totally disappointed in this campground. The web site makes it sound great - don't believe it. We camped there on a very, very hot and muggy weekend and walked over to the pool only to find a green, slimy half empty mess. So we inquired about the private beach they advertise and we given directions to it, it's about a mile down the road. The beach had so many weeds my kids would even go in the water. And there was garbage like an old rusty bed spring on the beach. Needless to say we didn't swim. The bathrooms were very dirty as well. The playground equipment is very outdated and in need of paint. The tennis courts had plywood strown all over them and there are old run down cars and campers throughout the place. Although our site was large and shady, that's the only GOOD thing I can say about this place. I will never go back. There is a sign on the office wall that says absolutely no refunds will be given, and now I know why! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com