221782 User submitted reviews online!!
Newton KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (641) 792-2428
CGID1128

Newton KOA

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   8   6   5   5   8   3   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$44
This was a last-minute stop for the night and we were very happy that they had a large pull-through available. We were in a 42' motorhome towing a 12' trailer. A staff member took us directly to our site, turned on a night-light by the hookups (nice touch!), and stopped by later in the evening to explain some noise and reassure us that the large motorhome he put next to us would not inhibit our ability to exit easily. Traveling with such a large rig, we greatly appreciated this information. We also appreciated being given a military discount. The only drawback we found to this campground was that it backed right up to Hwy 80, so we listened to trucks going by all night. Other than that, they provided welcome refuge for these weary travelers! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
Price includes tax. Was a pull-through with full services. Power was good. Water pressure requires a pressure regulator. They informed us that their park pressure is at 85 PSI. That's very good of them. Wi-Fi worked good at our site (we were close to the antenna). Sites are very close together. Park was very clean. This park is right next to the interstate so it is very noisy. Fortunately the big truck noise subsided at 11:00 PM and didn't start up until 5:00 AM. We just stayed the one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
We stayed two nights here and the staff were friendly and helpful. We were directed to campsite by a very nice gentleman. The grounds are right next to the interstate so there was loud road noise at night when trying to get to sleep. The sites are close together. Kids enjoyed the pool and game room lots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Pretty nice KOA with a good pool, good working Wi-Fi (hard to believe isn't it). Sites were a little closer than I like, but are doable. Appears to be a good selection of eating places about a mile away, but we did not try, mexican, chinese, and hometown restaurant types. Would stay again if in the area. By the way (BTW), water pressure is posted as 85 psi; believe it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Wonderful staff helped us get to our site. We were lucky to have a wide site with lots of room outside our door. Most sites barely have room for a picnic table between the trailers. Next time I will be sure to ask for a roomy site. This is an established campground that is now a KOA, for with yellow and black signs, but no A-Frame office building. The pool was sparkly clean. The private pond is stocked for campers-only fishing. The restrooms are very clean. The store is small but has all the essentials, and a Walmart is only 1 mile away. This is a easy place to camp if traveling on I-80 through Iowa. The new Iowa Speedyway is a good distance away on the opposite side of the interstate. Trees shade the trailers here making it very popular during race weekends. The interstate noise was too much for me to sleep well the first night even with the windows closed, but I have slept more soundly at other really loud locations such as the Pittsburgh area KOA, so I will want to stay again before commenting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
The site we had was not level. Unfortunately we were traveling through on the one weekend that night that racing was going on at the nearby track. We were lucky to get the spot as there were only 2 left. The park is near the freeway but the race cars were louder than the freeway. Quiet time starts at 10:00 pm and is "strictly enforced." Much to our amazement there were kids running around screaming at 11:00 pm. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Easy on and off. Clean park. Lost power during a pretty big storm but our generator came through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$49
We love this campground. It is the 3rd time we have stayed here. It is clean with free showers. The pool is nice. It was 100 degrees when we pulled in but we got a site under a tree which was quite nice. Staff is friendly. They have a nice trail around a pond across the street where you can walk your dog. Sites are spacious enough. Ours was perfectly level. Yes the highway is noisy, but this is not a place where you would come to spend a week. This is a nice respite off I-80. We enjoyed sitting outside. It is very quiet - people wise. The scenery is very pretty and wooded. We will always stay at this place while passing through and I highly recommend it if you need a place to spend the night on your way out west. Price includes an extra nine dollars was for three kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Campground was easy off and on to I-80. Grounds well kept, Wi-Fi worked. Sites were a bit close. My biggest negative was all the noise from I-80. Stayed at other KOAs close to the highway but this one is definitely noisy. Maybe because the highway is above the campground and the campground sits low to it. The town of Newton was a fun town to see. Probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
The campground itself was fine but the road noise from I-80 was the worst we have ever encountered. Maybe the other reviewers had their A/C running all night and that's why the noise didn't seem too bad. I would never stay here again because of the noise level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
This is a typical KOA CG. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. The roads and sites are gravel with some grass between each site. There is some road noise from the Interstate. The entrance road is in need of some major repairs. The speedway is very close but no races were scheduled on our one night stopover. I'm not sure I would want to be there if races were scheduled. They do not recycle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
Very nice place. Paid $31.00 per night with KOA card for a water and electric back-in site. The back-in sites are a little bigger than the pull throughs. Very good Wi-Fi connection. Very nice pool and fishing pond. Clean restrooms and showers. Close to the interstate, so there is a little road noise but not too bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
Sites are level but narrow when your neighbor has his slide outs out open. It has to be one of the noisiest parks we have stayed in. It sounds like you are parked right on the side of the road. For over nite it's ok but we wouldn't want to stay long term. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Friendly staff and well kept grounds, but the spaces were so narrow that I was not able to open my awning. Had to wake up the people next to me at 6am to ask them to put their awning up before I left or I would have hit it. The Wi-Fi was also so weak that it was unusable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
We have stayed here before and will continue staying when in the area. The grounds are well maintained and the staff is very nice and friendly. The rate reflects KOA membership. We had no problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
This is an OK KOA. This was an overnight stay, and it was a race weekend. So, the park was filled with face fans. However, it was quiet after 10 PM, and the road noise did not bother us. Lots are tight: we are 40' but made it fine taking the turns out of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
Nice CG with most amenities. Lots of entertainment available for children. Friendly staff. A little confusing to find, but worth the stay. Sites with a little elbow room, nicely landscaped. Would stay again if in area. Near the speedway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$29
Pretty much agree with the previous reviewer. The downsides are the road noise (I-80 runs right by the campground) and the tight sites and campground roads. Nice folks running the place. Didn't expect much as we were here the first night they opened for the season; store wasn't yet fully stocked, understandably. Only 2 other rigs in the place when we were there in early April. Decent overnight, but there are quieter ones in central Iowa. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
This park’s official name is Newton KOA. Only the park’s name has changed, not the ownership. The roads and sites are gravel. The biggest negatives are the constant noise from the interstate, the narrow lots and narrow roads. The turning radius when leaving your site is very tight, so caution must be used to avoid hitting picnic tables, utilities, other rigs, etc. The positives are it’s a clean park, family friendly, and has a friendly staff. The park was full the two nights we stayed. Our rate reflects a group camping club discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
This is a very noisy park, and should only be considered for overnight or access to the race track. We stayed here for the close proximity to Knoxville Speedway, but you would do yourself a favour and phone the track to see if you can get a spot by the Fairgrounds. The web site says its not always open, but it was for a regular Saturday night show. The only way you will get any sleep here is if you run your a/c for the white noise. Don't let the entrance fool you, its not actually in a wrecking yard. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$47
The campground is now a KOA as the owners wanted to increase business, can't blame them for that, but now as is the normal with KOA the fees Keep On Adding up. Extra fee for 50 AMP, kids, dogs, etc., by the time I paid it was almost $50 for one night. The park itself is nice enough, seemingly long pull through, but very close together. In addition we wanted to get an early start in the morning due to weather, and due to the width between sites we could not pull out of our site because of the packed in sites next to us and across that made maneuvering a 40 foot motorhome with toad impossible. We ended up having to disconnect the toad, back up out of the pull through site, pull up to the main road and reconnect just to leave by 9 am. The folks that work there were extremely nice, the owners have made that decision right. Overall a decent place is you need to stop for a night and want what you know you can expect from a KOA We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
We made reservations 2-1/2 weeks prior to arrival for a space with Wi-Fi and satellite accessible. We we given a space quite far from the office where the Wi-Fi antenna was, although there were several spaces available closer to the office. WI-Fi signal when available was quite weak. This was extremely frustrating, as we were there for a week. We were continually kicked off. Our satellite did work well. The spaces for the row we were in, AGAIN other spaces were available throughout our stay, were extremely close. Having two RVs with slides side by side was very cramped. Slides nearly touching. Forget putting awnings out. The proximity to the highway does make for a lot of noise. Warm weather and A/C helped mute the noise. Doubt we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
Friendly hosts. Neat, clean park that has gravel roads and pads. Has picnic tables. There is a lot of highway noise but not enough to disturb my sleep. Every space was taken in my area. CAUTION: They have 85 psi of water pressure. Pressure regulator highly recommended unless you are just filling your tank. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$29
This park converted to a KOA on April 1 of this year, as reflected in the I-80 highway signage. We stayed here on a Sunday night while passing through. No reservation, and just a handful of other rigs in the park. Manager was friendly and helpful, pointing out the one mile "nature trail" on the property for a walk with our dogs (no fenced pet area). Trail was a nice way to stretch the human and animal legs at the end of a long day's drive. Unfortunately, tick season had already started and we had to do a thorough policing of the the fur before letting the hounds back into the RV. Not the park's fault, obviously. Just be aware if you have dogs. I don't suppose it's fair to criticize the new management about the state of the facilities since they just took over and need time to upgrade, but the bathrooms were pretty dated and neither well-lighted nor well-heated. The other criticism is something KOA won't be able to do anything about: the park's location, which is a chip-shot from I-80. We were so tired we didn't notice all that much, but that traffic, especially the trucks, absolutely ROARED all night long. We would stay here again only as a last resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
Very friendly staff and nice grounds. We did not have television reception at all. It is conveniently located but has constant highway noise which makes it difficult or sleeping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Very clean well kept campground showing it's age as quite old. Management very helpful and made us feel very welcome; if only the location was further away from I-80. We are so close to the highway we can read the signs on the big trucks going by. The noise is so loud you cannot hear anything but road noise with the door or windows open. Not a place for a good night's sleep. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
Nice RV park with pool and clean bathrooms. Large areas for the kids to play and even a play ground. One set back is this park is near a race track and on Friday night we heard sounds of races going on and they were pretty loud but didnt last all night. Over all this is a nice park. Walmart and other stores are nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$50
Park adjacent to interstate 80 and very noisy. They double the prices during the Newton Speedway events. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
Everyone was friendly. We had a spot right near the bathrooms. The facilities were older, but well maintained and clean. The pool was inviting. There was lots of room to take a walk and enjoy the surroundings. As has been mentioned in other reviews it is noisy due to I-80 being so close. For many of the big rigs that have good insulation and noise buffering, this shouldn't be a huge problem. We were camping in a Aliner Alite, so we have solid insulated walls. We had the windows open as it was a cool night. We didn't have any fans or the air on. It was noisy, but we had a good night's sleep. We live in a busy city area with the airport nearby, so we might be less bothered by the noise than others. Very nice park. We definitely would stay again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
If you like the noise from large semi trucks, then this is the park for you. It is presented as .7 miles off Interstate #80. But I can almost feel the wind from the passing trucks as I write this, as well as see them clearly from our slide-out. We are inside the 5'er with the A/C on high and we can still hear the traffic noise. As long as you have a "white noise" alternative, this may be an okay place. But I worry what will happen tonight when the A/C goes off. The park is clean and green. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
Excellent campground. Friendly staff. Very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Some serious work needs to be done on the sites and roads. They are very un-level, not enough gravel on the sites and some kind of dust control needs to be done. Impossible to have your windows open when the rigs are on the move. The sites are very narrow and if you park near a tree, you might loose your antennae. Satellite is not available in the sites by the Interstate. Too many trees. WiFi is not accessible in the whole park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$26
Clean and well maintained. Friendly and helpful staff. WiFi weak on the edges of the campground. Private fishing pond. Next to I-80, noise could be problem for some but was not for us. Somewhat narrow sites, but enough room for slides. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
We stayed one night here. We were not happy. It is too near the interstate highway. Wi-Fi does not work very well, and no one seems to know anything about it. Parks owners said it was OK because their daughter's computer picked it up 2 feet from the router. We could not pick up the signal from anywhere on the campground. Campground was very neat with lots of green grass but the owner's service was not great. We will not stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
Campground was close to the interstate, but that's why we chose it. Now, in 6/06, there was a detour getting into the park so call ahead for instructions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
Friendly, helpful staff, nice facilities in a pleasant setting. We would have rated higher except the noise from heavy trucks and other traffic on the interstate was almost unbearable all night long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$23
Beautiful park but not paved. Staff was very friendly. Laundry service was okay, machines were very old. Wireless service was pretty good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$21
Very nice site, clean washrooms and showers. Pool was well looked after and staff very friendly. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$21
Very narrow sites, roads, dusty, had to keep doors and windows closed due to dust. Lots of road noise, right beside interstate 80. One guy had to have neighbor retract his slide so he could get into his site, some could not extend awnings, too close. Stopped overnight in 40' motorhome w/toad in 2003. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$16
Found campground more than acceptable for 1 nite - and perhaps more. Bathrooms clean and bright - noise from highway I80 acceptable - easy on and off from I80. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2001
$18
OK cg for overnight. Interstate noise. Pull thrus handled 40' 5th and toter We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2000
$22
Tight, close sites. Big rocks in curves limit manuevering with toad, will damage your coach. Poor electric power. The rudest, unfriendly owner and staff we have ever encountered in 15 years of RV traveling. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com