206553 User submitted reviews online!!
Onawa Blue Lake KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (712) 423-1633
CGID1129

Onawa Blue Lake KOA

Camp Information
Sites
114
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   9   10   7   8   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
friendly staff. lots of beautiful trees which means lots of shade! the lake was beautiful. stayed just one night but kids were disappointed that we didn't stay longer. nice dog walk. convenient location We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
Narrow two lane road to get to campground. Sits on Blue Lake across from State Park. Have to use the boat launch within State Park. RV park has a short dock with a bench that you can sit on. Grounds are gravel and sites are on grass. Sites 21-52 overlook a cornfield. Sites 7-19 are next to the road. The pool was sufficient for about 20 people. The store had essentials you may need. Twenty four hour laundry and rec room were attached to office. They have a nice playground and horseshoe pit. Narrow roads and lots of trees. Due to grass sites, they do not allow mats or carpet on ground. Campground appeared busy so reserve early. They have 10 50 amp sites only. Two dog walk areas. Another small area for boat parking. They have a half basketball court and a volleyball court. We stayed here overnight. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$1
Probably the nicest KOA we have ever stayed in. Long pull through site that accommodated our truck and 35' fiver without unhooking. Level, shaded and graveled site including a picnic table and fire pit. Clean and reasonably priced laundry. Nice pool as well. Permanents appeared kept up. Price quoted reflects a KOA coupon we had for one night free. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again if in the area. Millions of fireflies came out at dusk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
We enjoyed our 2 night stay here. It was over one of their busiest weekends of the year. We had a reservation, but when we arrived a few hours early, and our site was still occupied, they let us park in a shaded site, and helped expedite the previous campers' exit, (they had "forgotten" check out time). We had a beautiful spot right on the lake. It was a little tight getting in and out of for a 33 foot 5th wheel. The sewer was in the middle and the water and electric were at the rear, but the orientation and view were perfect. The entire park was tidy and the bathrooms, showers and laundry were extremely clean. The camp hosts were great. The only reason we didn't give it a 10 is because the Wi-Fi worked ok at first, but by the 2nd day was unusable. Our Verizon 3g worked well. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$31
We stayed for 5 nights in this lovely, super well maintained campground. Despite being easy to access from highway, it is very quiet. Facilities were cleanest we ever have seen. Owners certainly take pride in this property and servicing their customers. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
Quiet, friendly park. We stayed here one night while traveling west. Generally level sites of gravel/dirt. We did a late check-in so didn't really get to interact with the staff much. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Park about 2 miles from interstate in farm land area. No highway noise very quiet. Gravel and grass sites. Level wide sites. No cable but satellite worked but be sure to ask for a clear site. Verizon signal good. Wi-Fi from camp not so good. Office is not always open which can be a problem if you have questions. When we arrived at least an hour after checkout time for guests the site we had been assigned still had someone in the space. We waited about 30 minutes for them to leave. Since no one was in the office we just had to wait. We used this as an overnight stop but we would probably choose somewhere else for just overnight that is more convenient. This park is on a lake so is a good weekend getaway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Nice campground on pretty lake. Level, fairly wide sites. No cable TV. Wi-Fi was off-and-on, mostly off. Far enough away from the highway to be quiet. Clean bathrooms, showers and very reasonably priced laundry room. A lot of flies and mosquitos. Short drive into Onawa for groceries and dining. Office seemed to be closed a lot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
This is a very nice park. Full of trees and on a pretty lake. The sites are fairly wide and level. The staff is extremely courteous: they even changed their mowing schedule to fit our odd rest needs. Like other reviewers said, there are mosquitos, but was not a big problem if you use your repellent. We'll definitely stay here again if we're in the area. The price reflects KOA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Park has good access from I-29, and nice sites. Only issue when we stayed was mosquitos. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Nice staff. The park is right on a lake. There was apparently a youth camp underway across the lake and the speakers were quite loud with announcements and music - we didn't mind but if you're looking for silence that could be an issue. Lovely setting on the lake with nice pool and a few other recreational things. Also, a fairly nice store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
This is an ok spot for an overnight stop. The bathrooms were very clean. Our site was level. The sites were very close. I felt on top of our neighbors on both sides. The WiFi never worked. I tried for two days. The only spot to walk our two active dogs was around the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Clean pool and nice playground for the kids. Camp sites are level and easy to access. Our site was right at the lake and was very large. Many seasonal campers, although it appears they are there only on weekends, and we stayed on a weekday. Very quiet campground. Physical appearance is very attractive, with flowers and landscaping all around. Would certainly stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Very pretty, quiet campground well off the highway but easy to get to. Big level sites, good 50amp, good WiFi. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
This was a very nice park with lots of shade right next to a lake. The showers and rest rooms were very clean and there was no additional charge. The Wi-Fi also worked fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
This is one of the nicer KOA campgrounds. It is wooded and on a lake, although accessible for a large motorhome. We stayed for one night in a pull-through, grassy site that could easily accommodate our rig with tow vehicle attached. The location was good with easy on and off access to the interstate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Great value for money. Nice campground on a lake. The kids loved the playground and pool and they were both nice facilities. The pull-thru was level and shaded; only quirk was that the electric was way up at the front of the site while the water & sewer were in the middle of the site. Since we weren't planning to unhitch, I was glad I had an extension cable for the electric or I would have had to unhitch. Restroom/shower facilities were nice and clean. Staff was helpful and nice. I would be happy to stay here again for more than an overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
This is one of the best KOA campgrounds we have stayed in. Being just off of I-29, we used it to overnight on the way home from the Black Hills. However, it also being right on Blue Lake makes it a weekend destination in its own right. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. The restrooms and showers were immaculate. We had a nice pull-through lakefront site. We arrived just in time to see a great sunset over the lake. I highly recommend it. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We have been on the road for 6 weeks and have stayed in a dozen or more KOAs. This is the cleanest of them all! Now wish we had time to stay longer, enjoying the cool shade trees and the beautiful lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
This is a small but nice campground located on Blue Lake. The site was just the right size and level. They did ask that you not put out outdoor rugs on the grass which was everywhere and since it had rained it was slightly muddy. The Lewis & Clark State Park was only 2 miles from the campground which is great to bicycle to and ride around. There were some permanent sites but not too many. The area was located beside a soybean field and away from traffic noise. We stayed 2 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Nice quiet KOA. Clean park and staff helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
This is the quietest KOA I have been in. The usual train track must be miles away! The freeway, a mile away, is not a problem. Midweek there are no other campers in this park that is dedicated to annual lot holders. It must be a hoot on holidays. I am trying to find a way to post that the RV park in the Winni-Vegas Casino, Solon, IA is still in operation. $7 a night which has not changed since we were there in 1999. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
Nice shaded campground, convenient to I-29 but quiet. Seasonal s but it is obvious the management holds a high standard on upkeep of seasonal sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$16
We really enjoyed our visit to this campground. I used to live in Onawa but we'd sold our home and were in town to visit family. The park made a great place for everyone to come out with their kids. They could run around and have fun while the grownups sat around the fire and cooked out. It was quiet and we had plenty of room. It's got a nice location, close to water and town but not IN town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
Usually quiet, clean campground on Blue Lake. Needed better staff policing of grounds during the weekend than during the week as seasonal campers tend to be less than perfect on the weekends. State park immediately across lake has keel boat exhibits and Lewis and Clark Trail information, all for free. Loess Hills State Forest area is a great 2-hour car trip with some very excellent scenery. We would stay here again. Casino four miles away. Slight downgrade because we did hear some I-29 traffic at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
Typical KOA on a small pond type lake. Nothing special, but all facilities advertised worked. Stayed here on the way out West. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
This was a great spot for us to unwind for a couple days. Easy access from I-29, yet far enough from the freeway to enjoy quiet evenings. Close to new Lewis and Clark visitor's center, expansive lake and the little community of Onawa for groceries, fuel and restaurants. Had good cel phone, computer air-card and satellite TV reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
This is a pleasant lake-side park with lots of trees for shade. The pull-thrus are on grass, shaded and have picnic tables and a good separation from the next site. The park is about a quarter of a mile from the Interstate so noise in minimal. The Lake-side sites may all be long-term or seasonal but since they are spaced far apart all sites have nice lake views. Overall, very nice, especially for a KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
Heavily wooded campground on a lake with lots of shade. Seems to be a favorite spot for locals, many of whom have set up seasonal units that occupy the waterfront sites. We were there on Saturday and many folks had come for the weekend and brought boats on trailers and things got pretty crowded. Not the best place if you want peace and quiet, but probably better during the week and in the off-season. Nearby state park, at the location of Lewis and Clark campsite, has replicas of the expedition keelboat and is worth a visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
The koa book made it sound so picturesque, but not so much. I have to say though, go across the bridge to Nebraska and head north. Very beautiful! Campground was o.k., the sights were a little too close together to suit me. Also, we picked a bad weekend to go. The campground was very busy because of the rally up in Sturgis. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$26
One of the finest KOAs we have ever stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$36
Clean, quiet & staff very helpful. Pleasant lakefront location close to interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2005
$28
Heavily treed, dirt, grass and some gravel. Owners were friendly, however, the sites were VERY VERY tight for a big rig-NOT recommended even though it says Big Rig Friendly it really is NOT. I did not realize the water was bad and it ruined a washload and my new filters which I had to toss. It was full of iron and I had to flush my system several times to get it out. DON'T use the water if you stay here. Overall, this was a very unpleasant experience as I could not get my satellite TV or internet reception under the canopy of trees and then I discovered the water problem at night, too late to do anything. The owners refunded my fee, but refused to replace my filters because I complained to KOA corporate after I left due to time constraints (NOT that they bothered to reply to me or assist me.) I would NOT stay there again and they have made it clear I would not be welcome there. They denied a problem with the water, but I see another camper complained about it last year as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$26
Owner was very helpful. The former owner was also helping and very friendly. This is a well-maintained campground and is very clean. We had a nice level pull-through site that was well-shaded. The best sites (including almost all waterfronts) are taken by seasonal campers. The road that goes by the campground (Dogwood) used to be a quiet county road, according to the former owner. However, this road now goes to a casino, and traffice is constant, 24 hours a day. Sites 7-20, while nice sites, are very close to this road. The water was brown at times - owner told us they were correcting the problem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Very friendly and shaded, with clean restrooms. A nice surprise after a long days drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$24
Shady, well kept, friendly staff. Far enough from highway to be quiet. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com