218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Whispering Oaks Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (515) 733-4663
CGID1136

Whispering Oaks Campground

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   8   10   6   7   9   6   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$24
Stopped for one night at Whispering Oaks Campground, pull-thru site 15. Cost reflects Good Sam discount. They accept cash, checks and cc; however, there is a surcharge for using cc. Site was level. Wi-Fi worked at the site, though not high speed. Electric ok. Quiet despite proximity to I-35. Unable to use our satellite. Young man at the front desk was professionally friendly and helpful. We had no trouble maneuvering our 40’ rig with tow from the office to site 15. The one truly distressing aspect of our stay was our line of sight view of the garbage receptacle which was overflowing with garbage. There was at least another receptacle’s worth of garbage stacked outside the dumpster. Definitely an attraction for rats and other vermin. The rating reflects this most distasteful garbage situation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
The cautions: There are only "a few" sewer hookups and located in the front. If you are big you will be without one. Wi-Fi works in laundry room only. Big trees, well trimmed, but doubtful your satellite will work, we requested pull thru site it would work in, they said it would, it did not, even though we repositioned several times to shoot thru the trees. PARK: Tree people will love this place. Electric OK at 118 VAC, water pressure is fine. It is quiet in spite of near I-35. Gravel and grass with some deferred maintenance, but sites are level. Our 45' bus and large tow worked out fine here, but no sewer for big rigs nor satellite unless you are very lucky. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
We stopped here overnight on our way from WI to TX. The park is a real jewel. Nice shady pull thru sites. Even though it is right off the interstate it was very quiet and relaxing. We never stay in the area but would stay here again when going north or south. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
Whispering Oaks Campground was one of the nicer places we've been, I have to say. And we travel quite a bit. It was very easy to find and convenient to the interstate and a nice town, too. But you know, it felt like being in the country, somehow. Lots of trees everywhere and a sweet vintage-style playground...it felt like being "away from it all". The things I most appreciated about this place was the customer service and friendliness...you just don't find that much these days. The young couple running the front desk were so considerate and helpful...whether it was answering my questions about how to get around the town or helping me with change for the laundry. I would definitely return to this place...in fact, I hope we do. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
We overnighted here on our way to Minnesota. A little close to the interstate, but handy. Nice shady area, wi-fi was very good. No personal care as owners were not there when we were there. Left a sheet with our reservation on it, and we put our money in an envelope to pay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Overnight here was OK. Paid $28.00 which included $2.00 charge for using a credit card. They prefer cash or check. Wi-Fi too weak to be useful. Restrooms clean but aging. Plenty of shade throughout the park. I have overnighted here in the past and would probably stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
We have stayed here 3 times now to visit family in Ames, Iowa (20 minutes away.) You can take I-35, but we prefer Hwy 69 from Story City to Ames. Our most recent stay was for 5 nights. No discounts available, was $25 a night water & electric. This is a nice campground and we'd recommend it. We also have had to call a couple times to reach the managers sometimes, but they are always very nice and very helpful. This weekend they were outside in the yard and very available. The sites are nice, water pressure good and the free WiFi worked great. Well lit at night. There are only a few sewer hookups in the front. We've only found a vacancy once. This time we stayed in site #14 & found it to be level and a nice location right next to the office, shower house and laundry building. This campground is literally right next to Story City: Subway, McDonalds, Pizza Ranch, etc., are actually within walking distance. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
This campground is up for sale. There was no staff on site and didnt even make their office hours. Self register and required cash only. This is an older park and finding their 50 amp sites was like a scavenger hunt with no clues. The front 6 sites had 2-50 amp plugin's, one occupied and the other broke. Further in, I had to go down the row and look in each box to finally find one. Grounds are beautiful with lots of grass and mature trees and space to develop even more sites. Park is sufficently far enough away from I-35 to minimally hear traffic. Satellite didnt work because of trees, but TV antenna brought in about 9 stations clearly. I would have given this park a higher rating if it were not for the absentee ownership. I would probably return again as Iowa has few decent RV parks along I-35. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
This campground was convenient to our route and we stayed for an overnight. There are sewer hookups, but only at a limited number of sites. The rest of us were invited to use the dump station. Part of the park is heavily wooded and some of the turns were difficult for our longer vehicle. There are a small number of sites at the front of the park that do not require venturing back into the wooded part. The kids enjoyed the playground and it was a quiet place to stop for the night. When we came back through a week later, we tried to contact this campground for several hours in the morning with it just being answered by an answering machine without a current message. When we finally got a human on the phone and tried to make a reservation, he didn't seem all the interested in taking one. We elected to drive an hour further down the road before stopping where we were able to make a reservation. Also, this campground charges $2 for using a credit card, but are more than willing to take cash or a check. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Easy access from I-35. Sites vary from long pull through to small back in. Self check in this time of year. Sites seemed to be level for the most part. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
We camped here for two months so we had a monthly rate which is less than the posted rate. This is a small, quiet, campground with gas, groceries, etc only 5 min away. The owners are nice and helpful. There aren't a lot of sewer sites, so we stayed in an electric/water for approx 2 weeks (the owner will pump out your RV once per wk),until a site with sewer opened up. This was a very easy, pleasant place to stay and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
Quiet shaded campground with very little road noise. We pulled off the highway with out a reservation and had our choice of pull through or back in. Very friendly folks in the office. Rate was $24 for water/electricity. Only stayed one night but will probably stay there again when we travel north to see grand-kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
Paid $24.00 for water and electric pull-through with Good Sam discount. Good utilities. Wi-Fi worked OK most of the time. Restroom/shower facility although aging was very clean and air conditioned. Gravel roads and sites. Could use a little more gravel to take up some of the standing water. The sites were good sized with plenty of big shade trees and well manicured grass. Close to the interstate but far enough away that there was no noticeable noise. Overall, a good overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
There was no one in the office when we arrived. We chose a site and left the money in the drop box. Still no one around as we left the next day, so we couldn't get a receipt. The grass had not been mowed in some time and several sites appeared to need maintenance very badly. Most sites were muddy and needed more gravel for better drainage. Our site did not have a sewer hookup. Pull throughs did not appear to have full hookups that we could see. This campground was shady and with a little care, could be quite beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Not very many sites with all facilities. I mean combined water/sewer/50amp/wifi-accessible. Otherwise would have given a 9 or 10. This is a beautiful campground that looks like a NICE county park or something. VERY pleasant. Well maintained. Would highly recommend. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Park is within half mile of Story City; a very clean small town that is about 15 minutes north of Ames. Antique Carousel with beautiful park and suspension bridge about 4 miles from campground. Campground has heated & clean shower/bathroom facilities; laundry room with exercise equipment. Small river/creek runs through the back of the grounds; playground; lots of trees & shade. Campground is lighted at night. Very nice place that we plan to use again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
We have stayed here before. It is easy on and off the interstate. The whole campground is shaded with large sites. Very nice place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
Is this a campground or a city park? Beautiful park-like area, lots of mowed grass, gravel sites, mostly pull-thorough. The owners travel around at night with a fogger to keep down the mosquitos. BUT, only ten of their 30 or so RV sites have full hook-ups, including sewer. We had reservations for full-hook-ups but the idiot in the front office (a know-it-all teenager) put the folks before us in our reserved site which had full hook-ups, so we had a site with no sewer, but we went to the dump station the next day. We would have given this a ten but the no sewer thing was an issue. No specific dog run, but lots of grass for it to play in and you just pick up after it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
Price reflects Good Sam discount. Campground is no frills, gravel, with grass between fairly narrow but level sites. We visited following heavy rains and were bothered with mosquitoes. A few sites are satellite friendly. We received a good Verizon signal and were not too bothered by highway noise even though it has very good access and proximity to I-35. The campground is being offered by sale at the time of our visit. We will consider staying again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
We have family in the area and this is the second time we have stayed here. Both times was just after the area had flooded. We stayed up by the office building this time so it wasn't so wet. Owners are friendly and helpful. Not much contact with them after check-in. Sites are gravel and level. Even the upper level was wet and muddy. Sites are close together on the upper level. Hook-ups were ok. Campground is just off I-35, you can see the traffic from the campground but I did not notice any noise from it while we were here. Easy to find and easy to get off and on the freeway. We will probably stay here again because of the family. A nice campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
Very neat RV park, most of it was closed off because of a heavy down poor of rain this last few days. This once was a KOA, by the looks of it. Very easy to find from the highway and easy to pull in and out of. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
We were only here one night and stayed up by the office. Our site was a pull thru and was spacious compared to where we had been the night before. The internet/Wi-Fi was not available to us. It was a beautiful, park like setting but the mosquitoes were bad. Because we were just passing through the fact that we didn't have sewer hook ups was not an issue. We just dumped prior to leaving. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Our price was off season, night registration. The camp was wooded and quiet. Wi-Fi was great in the laundry room, and the machines were new and clean. We arrived late and left early, stayed one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$14
Lovely park-like setting with lots of mature shade trees. Showers and laundry facilities are good. Limited sewer hookups but a "honey wagon" comes around weekly to drain your holding tanks. My only complaint about this park is there is not nearly enough crushed rock on the interior roads and sites. When it rains it is just one big mud hole. With a little upgrading this would be a really nice park. We camped here for a month. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$21
This is a lovely campground run by really nice people. It's mostly wooded but I found a break in the trees for my satellite. Unfortunately the Wi-Fi only reaches the rigs parked closest to the office, but my Verizon cellphone worked fine to get online. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the Ames area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Not a bad park for just an overnight stay. Easy access on and off I-35. Lots of tall trees, so, satellite service will be an issue at some sites. Nice folks to deal with. I came in after closing time and just hooked up to the site of my choice and paid the next morning. Can't ask for more accommodations than that. No swimming pool; no Wi-Fi except at the office. But, not over priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
A very pretty and quiet RV park. We head for this one any time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
Though advertised, WiFi available only in the vicinity of the office. Campers drained gray water on the ground. Site design required one to drive on grass (mud) when entering/departing site. Would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
We camped here 2 days after the park had been underwater - flooded by a nearby river. Our pull-thru spot was doable, but there was lots of mud. The people seemed nice, and if the weather clears this could be a nice place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
Priced way to high for what you get. The playground has not been updated since 1985? It is very old and has 3 swings, a slide and teeter totter. The restroom/shower was not clean at all. We had to ask for the paper towels to be refilled. My site had no fire ring. Although when we asked for it, we did get it. The staff was friendly. But to much $$. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
This is a quiet little park right off of the freeway. There is some limited seasonal access and some quick pull through sites near the interstate that the ownership group leaves open for the quick overnight stay. The campground has spacious open areas in the back that are seldom used for camping. (Occasional primitive tenting). There is a playground and the staff was very courteous and friendly. (New ownership in 2005). Restrooms were clean with mens room recently remodeled. Although no pool is available at the campground, there is a pool located less than 1/2 mile into town along with a nice 9 hole golf course. It does boarder a river but none of the sites are on the river. Overall a great little place to stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
The staff was very friendly. We had a nice level pull thru site and were able to get good TV reception with our antenna. Campground is very easy to get to from I-35, but the truck noise at night was very noticeable. Would definitely use again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$27
A very nice, clean park. Limited sewer availability, but a nice stay in a very clean little town. The library not far away had great wifi availablity. A gorgeous 9 hole golf course is a few blocks away. Great stopping point headed north from Des Moines to Minneapolis. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$21
The park has areas that are beautiful with grass and shady trees, too bad that if you are an overnight guest with a motorhome you won't be placed there. Rather you get the unlevel sites 100' feet from the freeway with all the noise and an unobstructed view of lots of traffic. Office has very limited hours, even in season, staff was not too friendly and modem hook-up hard to access. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com