224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Timberline Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (515) 987-1714
CGID1137

Timberline Campground

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   5   8   8   10   8   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
Our experience has not been as positive as others who have stayed here. I believe that the particular site assigned, as well as the length of time one stays, makes a significant difference in the quality of the site. Once we indicated that we were staying just overnight, and then on our way, no full hookups were available. Water and electric only. A dump station is present on the campground. However, our site, #81, is raised, narrow and uneven, from front to back as well as from side to side. Difficult to get our coach leveled. A positive note is that the site is out in the open, allowing our satellite dish to lock on to a signal. I doubt that we would return unless nothing else was available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
Although this park gets very high marks from Good Sam, I'm not sure they are quite that high. The cleanliness of the central bathrooms is sketchy; although, the shower had good water pressure and was clean. The first site I was in (#3) was very narrow and sloped off steeply at the back. I was barely able to get my 32' rig to fit without excessive leveling assistance. Then I had to park my toad on that downward slope. The sites are quite narrow. I had to unhook before pulling in, even though sites are advertised as pull through. The sites in the row behind #3 appear to be fine. They are longer and more level. Ask for 16-20. Those appear to be the big rig sites they assign for FHU. There was another area for FHU up on the hill, but again those sites were very close together and not very long. WiFi was good. Pool was clean. It was nice and quiet until the tent campers came in on the weekend (Fri and Sat), and then the 10pm quiet time was not enforced. Loud noises until 12:30am. So it was a nice, pretty park--just not a 9, IMO. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
Next door to shot gun range. I read reviews and asked questions about this campground. No one said anything about the shotgun range just on the other side of the tree line, yards away. When loud blasts began the first morning we were there, I actually thought we were under attack. I'm used to being around guns but since they will not tell you, I will. Other than that, it was a pretty place. A little crowded for Iowa, we thought. You look out your window and right into the next door neighbor's. Picnic tables barely fit between campers. Mature trees, well placed. Don't go into the tree lines. There's lots of poison ivy, oak and sumac. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
Nice park. Everything worked OK. Good Wi-Fi and TV. Sites are close together. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Very nice campground and staff with some shady and some very sunny spots. I would stay here again. Only a couple miles from I-80, so no road noise. Sites are gravel,but not that level. Interior roads also gravel, so there is dust, even going slow. Therefore, keeping it from a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Can't find anything wrong with this place. A short jaunt off I-80 just west of Des Moines, but well worth it. Relaxing restful place amid tall trees. Couldn't ask for more. They have a RV wash house, too. If you're traveling across Iowa, don't miss this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Park was clean and well run with friendly check in. Spaces were a little too close together for us with some confusion with alternating pull-in and back-in sites, and figuring out which fire pit and which picnic table belonged to which site. There were nice grassy open area for games, etc. The pool was clean and well maintained. The one big issue for us was the dump station -- we had an electric / water site so needed to empty out tanks before leaving; however, the location was terrible and sloped downhill, making it an almost impossible task. This needs to be changed. Overall, for one night, it was more than satisfactory. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Very pretty entrance, winding roads, many shade trees. Be careful if you want WiFi; it is not available except right up by the office. We were given a site that was very unlevel; we had to change but they let us switch. We were directed to go into the site the wrong way; the utilities would have been on the wrong side of the coach. We figures that out, too! We had planned to stay 3 nights, and paid for 3 nights, but when we discovered the lack of WiFi at the site, they let us pay one night only. We left the next morning. There is a discount for cash or check. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$37
We stayed in this park all summer and plan to again next year. Beautiful campsite. Quiet, wooded, prairie conservation areas where windflowers bloom all summer. This attracts songbirds and butterflies. No dog run as such, but there are areas away from campsites where a person can take their dog to chase a ball and plenty of places to walk. Families have a great time here, but it is quiet at night and we were not disturbed at all. The campground is just a mile off the interstate but you don't hear any traffic noise. It feels like you are in the country, but you are just minutes from the Jordan Creek Center with a huge selection of some of the best shopping selections---all the major box stores, like Walmart, Lowes, Costco, Target, etc, etc., as well as a great mall, and other outdoor shopping, movie theatre, and the best selection of restaurants you could ever wish for if you want a break from the campsite bar-b-q. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
Wow! What an RV park. Everything was wonderful except the WiFi which seemed to lean toward Apple and cough at a PC. The restrooms were wonderful. Talk about quiet and pastoral. We would stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
Overnight stop in this very pretty park. Very quiet location. Park is currently being improved and our site was pull-through, but very close to next motorhome. Very poor Wi-Fi and phone communications. Did not use any other facilities (pool, bathrooms, etc) but would stay here again. A lot of shopping nearby. Stayed here on Good Sam rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Friendly staff, super quiet and beautiful. The drive into Des Moines is easy with good access to plenty of shopping and things to do. We found the campground clean and nicely run. We would return and camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
Interior roads are gravel, and sites are mostly level. Over-the-air TV is excellent. Verizon hot spot works well. Rate was with Good Sam discount and a small cash discount, water and electricity only. A dump station is nearby and handy. We shared a pedestal with another rig - one faced east, the other west. Our slide outs were very close, but we had lots of room on the other side. Seems to be many rigs here for the summer. We were just overnight. Swimming pool was not open yet. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
Park open Apr 1 - Nov 1. Site gravel and fairly level. Strong Wi-Fi. Options for pull-thru/back-in, W&E or full hook-ups. Pleasant country setting. Very nice and helpful management. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Beautiful campground over the rolling wooded hills of Iowa. Nice pool and grounds. The WiFi works well only if you are close to the antenna. If your space is along the outer reaches of the park the WiFi will be bad. Rest rooms were just OK, clean but needed work. One toilet was so loose I almost fell off. Yes, I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Beautiful country setting with rolling hills and large, mature trees. Peaceful! Sites with full hookups were full. We had electric and water only. No problem! Other reviews report sites are not level and some may find that problematic. We leveled in our 42' pull-through with tow as we stayed in an overnight spot. It was easy in and easy out and no need to disconnect. The pool, rec-room, shower and bath facilities were nice and comfy. Management was friendly and helpful and I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
I stumbled upon this park while travelling through, and loved it. I only stayed one night, but wish I had time to stay longer. I had a pull-through site on a hill overlooking the rest of the park and the neighboring countryside, and thought it was extremely peaceful and pretty. The camp management was very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
I was traveling thru the area, and had serious transmission problems. I called in advance asking for a site until I could resolve my truck problems. I was told OK, but when I arrived was told to back my truck into a site I could not fit into. As it turns out, there were 3 rallies set for the same weekend. After explaining my problem again and asking for some help, I was basically told take it or leave it. I promptly got a refund and left. I found it very unprofessional and rude; I will not recommend this location to anyone! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
Very poor service, no concept of customer service. A strong foul order in the main office bathrooms. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
This was a very busy week-end, July 4th, campground was crowded accordingly. Staff did a good job keeping things clean, except for the pool, which got pretty yucky in the hot weather and number of people using it. Our site was level and easy to get in and out ... no shade close to our site, except for the neighbors, who were relatives and invited us under their tree, utilities were fine. Restroom/shower facilities need improvement ... they are way too small for the number of people using them and the actual stalls are like for mini-people instead of normal sized people. But overall it was OK. The location is beautiful, feels like you're in the country when you're actually within a few miles of a major metropolitan area. We'd come back, but we wouldn't stay for an extended time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
The personnel are friendly. The free Wifi is good. This campground is not flat at any site for trailers. I have seen 4x4 pieces used, a trailer driven on a 4x4 and I had to use 2 each2X4 pieces to level my pop-up. The sites are very close to one another. You basically have a picnic table between each site. The bathrooms have no fans, which make them very hot and uncomfortable. The swimming pool is only 5 ft. deep and small for the number of people in the campground. Although it has rained a lot recently, it would be nice if they would have mowed the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
This is a campground, not an RV park. First impression, very narrow entrance road that will not allow meeting another vehicle. Staff did not appear to be happy when we met them. Interior gravel roads very narrow and had deep ruts. Cross streets were partly/mostly blocked by vehicles parked behind/in-front of RV's. Most roads were one way, which helped. Park is older and was designed for small campers and tents, not todays large RV's. Full hookup sites are very short and have no place to park a vehicle other than in the street, awnings are not usuable due to the narrow sites. Large trees block satellite access but local TV antenna reception was very good. Water pressure was 10-20 psi which made showers interesting. Grass was mowed while we were here but most of the park is in need of TLC. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Was very disappointed in this campground with the other positive reviews. We would have rated higher if we had NOT been in a full-hookup site. The water/electric sites were very large, lots of space and plenty of room to enjoy. However the full-hookup sites were extremely small and un-level. We had several sites together in the full-hookup area and none of us could put out our awnings because of how narrow the sites were; the distance from my step to the neighboring slide-out was only 4'5". We did notice the nicer full-hookup sites were in use by the seasonal folks, not available for the weekender/short-stay folks. Also we nearly got sick when going into the main admin building to use the laundry; the entire facility smelled like cat urine! And the staff was extremely rude and generally unfriendly. When we used the store we stood at the counter for nearly 10 minutes while the clerk was gossiping with a seasonal camper: showed no interest in the weekenders. We would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Nice staff. Gravel roads and sites. Sites were not level, there was grass next to the site and it was fairly wide. Well cared for campground. We stayed in an area with small trees so we could use satellite, no cable TV was available. Quiet: about 1 1/2 miles from freeway, easy to find. I would stay here again for a short stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
The previous reviews from 2009 are pretty much on target. We liked this campground very much though there were some weak areas to be considered as previously mentioned in reviews. We really liked the family orientated atmosphere. There was lots to do for kids, including a nice pool, wide open spaces to play, and large trees. One negative was a long walk to the dumpster. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
This campground is difficult to rate. It is a "campground" rather than an "RV Park". Has lots of trees, and is quiet. Some of the sites might be tight for big rigs, so it might be good to walk to the assigned site in advance. The staff was a little "offish". When we were here, the weeds (not grass) had not been mowed since the prior season. One good thing, the WiFi was excellent. Antenna TV reception, for us was iffy. NBC was good, CBC bad, etc. Downtown Des Moines is about 14 miles east. We would come back, probably. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
The road into this park is not Big Rig friendly especially if you meet someone else along the way,and driving to your site or the dump station are a challenge, also. The (not friendly) staff felt we should have had no problem as she stated, she gets her 45'RV in. We got a (so called) pull-through site as they called it,but they are very close together front and sides. We had to back out as there was a coach in front of us not allowing us to pull through. The pull through area we were in had some going one way and the one next to you going the other. Who ever laid this place out must have been nuts. We paid to much for a site with no sewer and a shared water line with low pressure and a 50 amp circuit that blew a breaker on me once. They have one dumpster that I could find and it was overflowing. We stayed here one night in a Big Rig and will never return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
Timberline is an older campground that still captures the camping spirit of an earlier time. During our stay, many of the campground guests came in pop-ups and tents as well as smaller travel trailers and cab over truck campers. Because it is an older campground, the sites and interior roads are more conducive to smaller RV's and trailers. Sites are smaller and the turning radius in the campground can be a challenge. Open space that is easier to access is set aside for the larger travel trailers, motor homes and 5th wheels. Timberline appears to have repeat visitors who have been coming to the campground for several years. The campground has several farm type buildings and a wide variety of mature shade trees reflecting its original use as a boys’ ranch in the 1940’s and transition into a campground over the years since then. Large grassy areas, pavilions, and group fire pits are scattered throughout the campground. Our pad was gravel and level while on a slope to facilitate drainage from rain water. Our site had shade, a picnic table on a concrete pad, and a fire ring. The services we used worked well (30 amp electricity, water, sewer, Wi-Fi). The two bathrooms with showers under the main office were clean and air conditioned. The freestanding bathhouse by the pool was not as clean during our stay. The doors to the bathhouse don’t easily shut tight so they are often left ajar and bugs and flying insects get into the building. The toilet stalls in the main bathhouse are extremely small and tight. During our stay, the trash dumpsters filled up quickly and stayed full. We did hear sounds from the trap shooting range occasionally yet they were not bothersome to us especially inside our trailer. Timberline is participating in an effort to convert cropland into conservation cover for butterflies, birds and cleaner water. The result is that a portion of the campground has lush plantings of grasses and wildflowers that attract several varieties of birds and butterflies. The campground is very much in a country setting yet within a 10 minute drive from West Des Moines and other communities with a wide variety of services, restaurants, grocery stores, and retail. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
This campground has the potential to be a beautiful place. It does not appear to adequately maintained. We just stayed here overnight so I may be jumping to the wrong conclusion. The site we were assigned to was covered in dog droppings which was not very welcoming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This is a very nice campground but it is divided in areas of deep woods and open areas, some sites have vast areas of grass around them and others have no grass and are inches from your neighbor. I recommend that you walk through the campground and see what is available before going to the office and throwing yourself on their mercy. We have stayed here before and like the close drive to Des Moines. This time it was a bit noisy do to a tournament at the trap range next door. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$33
This campground was nice and clean. It was a holiday week-end when we were there so it was very crowded. The only complaint I had was that quiet time was suppose to be from 10 pm till 7 am. We were camped across from the playground. At 11:00 children were still playing. By midnight it finally got quiet. It was just a stop over for us while traveling through Iowa. The owners were very friendly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
Narrow sites in the sewer hookup area. They have sites that are so close together you are almost in a parking lot. They know this is the case, and only sell every other site. But on the big summer weekends I would check out a site before I committed to more than one night. The bathroom/shower for the sewer sites is under the house, with an outside entrance. It was clean enough but lacked ventilation. It was quite hot when we were there and you didn't stay to long in the shower room as it was overwhelming. Trees were very tall and we never had any sun on our site but then it was hot. Didn't even try the satellite dish, as Southern sky was out of the question. The WiFi only worked for two of the four days we were there, and the staff blamed the Geek Squad from the local Best Buy store for not being able to keep it running. This is an old farm place that is many acres, but the actual camp sites only occupy a small portion of the grounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$37
This park is nice and quiet. The staff was friendly. The pool was very nice and had enough chairs. The kids enjoyed the rec hall, with the few games to play. Level gravel sites. Nice big trees all around. I gave this place a 9 because the pretty full dumpster had maggots all over it. Aside from that, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
Big rig sites are actually separate from the rest of the treed campground. No sewer, no cable. Dump station is NOT conducive to a big rig trying to use it, unless it's on the way out. If you're considering this park and drive a big rig, make sure you go in with empty tanks. Our tow vehicle was parked at another site because the pull-thru site wasn't large enough. The drive to the campground from the interstate made us a little nervous because it looks like you're going off into nowhere without a place to turn around, but once you reach the campground I guess you could drive around inside it to get back out if you changed your mind. This campground is definitely better suited to smaller rigs and trailers, regardless of what TrailerLife says. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
The park was clean and well kept. We appreciated the lush green grass and trees. All sites seemed able to accommodate larger campers. The sites also had good sized fire pits. The bathroom facilities were clean, however the facilities were older and there was not a lot of air flow through the buildings so they were hot and stuffy. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
We were nervous about reading reviews of how close the campsites were at this park, but it really wasn't that bad at all. There are LOTS of trees in this huge campground (65 acres), so we had to do some maneuvering to get into our spot around a couple of them, but once we were hooked up, we were pretty happy. Friendly park - lots of Des Moiners and other locals like this park. Didn't see any full timers, but there were some folks camping for a month or two while they we were working nearby. Extremely well maintained park with friendly people. VERY quiet at night - no highway noise even though this park is easily accessible to I-80, you would think you were miles away. This park is in the country, surrounded by beautiful acreage homes, many of them high dollar horse farms. We came for the cycling on the Raccoon River Valley Trail - which is a beautiful trail. We were only a short 10 minute drive to the trail head and only a short drive to a modern, new Dahl's grocery store, etc. There's a nice public golf course nearby also. The weekends can get pretty cramped with tent campers and pop tops in the grassy areas. One of the draws is a well maintained stainless steel, inground swimming pool. Office has a small store with milk, eggs, RV items, etc. We really enjoyed our time at this park - ALL of the people who worked there and camped there during our visit were nice and friendly. My only minor complaint was the skeet shooting range that is on the acreage adjoining campground - they started in at 9am Sunday morning and didn't finish until 4pm. There was a championship on the 4th of July, so they tell me it was busier and nosier than normal. We never heard another peep the rest of the week while we were there. We'll camp at Timberline again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$33
Very nicely maintained, beautiful campground. The kids really enjoyed the pool and the basketball hoop, but we never did get around to going down to the rec hall. Campground staff was super nice and helpful. Best part: it's 10 minutes away from major shopping area. That may not be important to some folks, but it is when you forget your three-year-old's swim diapers at home. However, sites were very close. We did not use our awning because of this. Some of the sites were absolutely tiny, and we were informed that they were used only when there was overflow. Also, not every site had its own fire pit, we lucked out and were camped next to a teeny site that did have one and the staff said we could just use that one. Sites were gravel, but lots of grassy areas around otherwise. In addition, the fee we paid did not include extra people. So: the $33 paid for the husband and I, but not for our eight- and six-year-old (three-year-old was free). We paid $2/night per kid, and it was the same with my parents, who came up to spend the night. Got to be a pretty pricey stay, actually. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$27
This is a very attractive and well-maintained campground convenient to Living History Farm and Madison County. The owners are friendly and helpful. We were travelling with another couple and appreciated the facing sites. Even though it is convenient to the metropolitan area, it is very quiet and peaceful. There are walking trails. The website is very good and helpful. I really liked this site, and highly recommend it if you are visiting the DesMoines area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$24
Nice stop over, far enough off interstate for peace and quiet. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com