206485 User submitted reviews online!!
Statesville East I-40 Winston-Salem KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (704) 546-7615
CGID11371

Statesville East I-40 Winston-Salem KOA

Camp Information
Sites
83
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   2   8   2   9   6   9   10   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
I got last minute reservations so I can't complain much about the spot I got , but it was too small for my rig and too close to the neighbors. I was afraid to make a fire, it was so close. Pool is clean, but they must allow the public to pay to swim as all chairs are full with towels and people. Late night fireworks are tough on the dog. They have a few decent looking sites. It's overpriced for what you get here. Wi-Fi is extremely throttled to the point it's barely usable. The people seemed nice enough, but be careful here, you can really do some damage to your rig by dragging. I don't think I will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
As others have mentioned, this is a great campground if you are just passing through the area and need a place to stop the night. We arrived very late and I was surprised to find a very friendly gentleman waiting for us. He signed us in and guided us to our site, a pull through in a pretty much open field. We spent several days, visiting friends in the area, and all staff encounters were great, very nice people. The sites are mostly pull throughs in an open area. They are level, all have picnic tables, some have grills, but there are no fire rings and sites are close together. The highway is right next to the campground, and can be very noisy, though it did not bother us in the trailer with the A/C on. Bathhouses were nice, clean and well ventilated, with good lighting. The entire park was very clean and well kept. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
The only reason I can give this a 2 rating is because the pool and the area surrounding it is one of the best that I have seen for a KOA. The store and the area surrounding is old and out of date. The putt putt area has seen better days. Check in was satisfactory. We stayed in this campground a couple of years ago and was dismayed to see that nothing has been done to the campsites. We were assigned the very same one as before and leveling was very difficult. It was a pull through site and to get anywhere near level you have to place the RV at the edge of the parking pad. There are lots of tall trees so satellite access can be difficult. The interior roads are full of potholes and have deep long tracks made in them by rain runoff. OK for a one night stay but certainly not a destination for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
My kids love it here and we return for a few days each summer. The pool is large and clean, there is a jumping pillow, playground and Saturday activities planned. The "lake" is really a small pond and the sites that are considered lake front might be hard for a large motorhome but no problem for our 31 ft travel trailer. Owners are friendly and helpful, some permanent site need a lot of TLC but others are fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2012
$39
This park is very steep. Sites are on tiers. Maneuverability could be very difficult due to trees. Interior roads are poorly graveled & steep. Not satellite friendly. Lake is more a holding pond. Fire ring on most sites. Our Patio site had wooden deck with wood bench table on it & were both unclean. Office staff /owner has poor attitude to paying customers, who have been long time KOA members. We were here one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Pricing reflects KOA discount. We only stayed here overnight and didn’t get to check out all of the cool stuff this campground has to offer. They had hayrides in full swing when we arrived around 8pm, but the owners took the time to show us to our site. The site was large, level, and long enough for our motorhome plus toad. Our site also had a stone patio with a fire ring, patio table and chairs as well as bench. The patio was perfect for unwinding after a long day on the road. The restrooms and showers were large and clean and required a code to enter. By Quiet Time the hayrides were over, and a staff member was patrolling in a golf cart. We would definitely go back when we had more time to enjoy ourselves. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
We came here for the annual Statesville hot air balloon festival. It was pretty cool if you have never been to one. It was our first. We were going to camp at the I-77 KOA, but the reviews were pretty bad. This one was all right, but had some things that could have been better. Our site was a pull through, but on the way out we had to turn very sharp and the drivers side trailer tires had to go in a ditch. No damage but could have been better. I walked through the park and some of the campers looked abandoned in place. They didn't look dangerous, just unsightly. I walked through the bathhouse just to look, not very clean. Our site was 11. Some sites had a patio but not much space between sites. It was OK for 2 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
We spent 4 days here over a weekend and loved it. They had some activities for the kids on Sat and the jumping pillow and pool was a big hit. The pool was well kept and clean. We didn't use the bath house but it has been newly updated and looked very nice. My only complaint, the pond needs a good clean up. The fishing was possible but your lines kept getting tangled from all the debris. A few of the sites could use a little TLC, but the one we were on was just fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$49
We spent Memorial Weekend 2011 here and loved it. They had activities each day, the owners/staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The grounds were well kept, sites clean and level. We had a wonderful stay here. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$39
I can't give this any better rating as the sites are not level and the pull-thru site that we had, we had to unhitch as it was so unlevel. The laundry was supposed to have 2 washers and 2 dryers, one was not working and was sitting outside and the one dryer had an out of order sign on it and then all of a sudden that disappears, but I was afraid to use it. The laundry was filthy, to say the least. We will not return there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Very quiet, very clean. Friendly staff. The restrooms were locked and we were given a code to enter the bathroom/shower room. Appeared that the restrooms were not open to the public while we were there. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
The park in a whole was nice. I do, however, have some complaints. Everything they sold in the store was out of date. The chips, milk, eggs, everything had expired. I could understand if it was winter, but this is the middle of June,. Get fresh products to sell. Also, my son went to play on the jumping pillow, and it was deflated by 8pm when it's suppose to be open until 10pm. He went back the next morning and at 11am; it still wasn't open. Owners do not adhere to posted schedules. Also, this KOA lets the public use the pool, which is fine but they also give public access to the shower rooms. There was a specific group of people who were there most of the time we were from the general public, not camping, and they trashed the shower rooms, where you couldn't even go in there. The shower rooms should be reserved for registered camping guests only, not the general public. You could compare them to a normal city Walmart restrooms. Very nasty. Also they have putt-putt there, but it costs extra to play. Most places include this with your camping fee so you don't have to pay extra to play. If you're there a few days, I recommend seeing the North Carolina State Zoo. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Site a pull thru gravel and not level. Wi-Fi worked fine. Large pool with game room and some other kids playground equipment. Private fishing lake. Great staff who sure helped me out with a mechanical problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
We stayed here in our 40' motorhome, sites were fairly level and it was nice for a site near the interstate. The park was clean, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The park is far enough off the interstate that there is no road noise and it was easy to find. We were able to get verizon aircard signal and direct TV as well. We stayed during the week, so there were no children around, but it appeared to be a very kid friendly park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
We had a wonderful site down by the Lake, we camped for 5 nights. Went fishing (no luck!) and swimming. The Pool is very clean and Olympic size. They also have a great playground and jump pillow for the kids along with miniature golf. The staff was great, very helpful. They are improving this campground everyday to KOA Standards. Getting rid of the 'older model' monthly's and only allowing 'new models' to become monthly's. We will stay there again if we are in the area. I am only rating it a 9 because of being charged extra for electric and having no cable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
We made reservations to camp here. When we had to call and cancel, the man at the front desk of the campground was very rude. He argued with me about why I was cancelling, and after five minutes of this told me he was not in front of a computer he would have to call me back. I just could not believe how unprofessional he was, and we are very glad we chose not to stay there. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$33
Management staff was very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were very clean!!! Some improvements such as the installation of grills are needed. Management did notify me that the campground is currently being renovated to meet KOA standards and that the addition of grills at each campsite was on the list. We'll camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
We came in after hours, and the night registration instructions said to park under the light pole. This was a powerful arc light that turns everything underneath (like our RV) into daylight. Mud covered gravel was everywhere. We were unable to receive satellite in that location with automatic dish. There was no septic or cable TV in that spot; only 30 amp, too. This place is now a KOA. How did that happen? We will not come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2009
$37
The name of the campground is also "Statesville East/Winston Salem KOA". The monthly rate does not include electric which is metered. The owners overcharged us six cents per kilowatt hour over the power company rate and we could only get a partial refund from them when we found this out from other campers. The interior roads are dirt which are deeply rutted, the facilities are in poor condition, the sites are small and not level, and the bathrooms are dirty. There's no cable in the park. We stayed 3-1/2 months in 2007/2008 and 3 months in 2008/2009 and will will definitely not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
Friendly and accommodating owners. Our site was at the lower half of the campground near the lake. Nice pool and jumping pillow. Arcade and shower facilities could use some TLC. A few of the "seasonal" need to be cleaned up. Two issues you should know about - (1) the flies are unbelievable (made it impossible to enjoy a meal outside), and (2) we had a pretty intense rain storm that created a mudslide down the hill directly behind us. Our RV moved slightly which was a little unsettling. Owners did repair the roads the day after the storm. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$36
We stayed here as a stopover night on the way to our destination. The staff was very friendly. We were in a pull-thru site which was not very level and almost impossible to level the MH. Low hanging trees and lots of shade, so TV reception was poor. Campground was okay for a stopover with easy off/easy on the Interstate, but too pricey for a lengthy stay. We didn't use any of the amenities and only stayed one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2008
$34
Not at all what I'd call a "Resort". O.K. for an overnight stop. Overpriced for the setting and facilities. Even though the web site and brochure promise 12% to 20% discounts during the off -season, we were charged full summer rates for an overnight stop on a snowy mid-February night. Wife says I'm being charitable. The only comment in her logbook is "awful". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2007
$39
From the attitude of the person taking us to our site to the actual site itself this was not a good campground. The rear of my trailer was over 24" off the ground, while the front was only 9" off the ground. Trees prevented us from putting out the awning, and from pulling through the site, since we would have hit the rear of the trailer making the turn out of the site. Had to back out of the site downhill. Glad I had 4WD. Won't come back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
We camped here for one night on our way to our final destination. Park attendant acted as if we were bothering him and then proceeded to take us to our site - and I use the word "site" loosely. Basically we were just off the road near the lake, we seemed to be a source of entertainment for the locals - as we settled in - including the park attendant who stayed around and drank beer and smoked cigs with his pals - the permanent residents. We were barely off the road and felt very uncomfortable and unsafe all night. Morning revealed a very dirty, stinky lake. Other people's kids everywhere except at their sites. Very bad experience and was ready to pull out ASAP the next morning. Do not recommend to anyone! Why would Good Sam's lend their name to such a place? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
Where do we start ? This campground was quite expensive considering we even received a "teacher's weekend" discount. There are many activities for kids: game room, huge pool, (which is also the "community" pool), jumping pillow, etc. Bingo night was fun. On the other hand, it was not very well maintained. We arrived to a fire pit full of trash. We went to sit on the sun deck only to have my daughter trip over one of the pieces of wood that was sticking up. She ended up with a bleeding knee! There were several spots on the deck that were loose or sticking up! The trash cans around the pool stayed full (and overflowing) until Sunday morning, (all weekend basically). Smoking is permitted everywhere: pool, game room (with kids), pavilion (during bingo), etc. Most sites are mostly dirt with a mix of gravel: very messy. There are many "permanent" residents that make the campground look rundown. This place could be really nice if more care was taken in keeping it up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
My husband, daughter and I stayed at Midway for a few days before the 4th of July. We have 3 poodles that camp with us also. This CG is in very good condition. The staff was great and very courteous. We actually stayed here twice. One of our stays was lake front and our site had a deck and we had no problems leveling our travel trailer. The pool is one of the nicest ones I have ever seen in a CG. The mini golf is a bit run down, not sure how well it plays, we didn't do any of the activities, except swimming. If you are located at the bottom of the hill, do watch out for snakes. We saw snakes on each of trips there. Be sure to walk around the road and not cut up the hill. All in all we would stay there again! We had a great time! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
Bathrooms were very bad, the roads are very bad, there are a lot of seasonal campers with lots of junk on their sites. The exit road is a steep climb with a very tight corner. I had problems with my 28ft trailer to get out. It is for sure over rated in the big Good Sam's book. The "permanent" campers were weird looking and my wife didn't felt safe.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$32
OK campground - sites are around one the side of a hill and it may take some work to get level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$32
We stayed here during the winter for 4 months, but also for one night on the return trip south. Some spaces are tight, but it's a good spot on I40 because it feels safe even for long term. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$34
We stayed there twice during August 2006. Both times we had a nice lake site. The first time with patio overlooking the lake. The second time just overlooking the lake. Wi-fi was very good and free with the site. The only negative was that it rained really hard the second time we were there and the site was muddy due to drainage from the hill above. Not a big deal. We will stay here again. They were very nice. Had a nice play area for the children, good pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2006
$34
After arriving and paying for 5 nights,we were taken to a spot without grass, just dirt, under the trees. It had been raining and the ground was soggy. The site was very unattractive. At night it rained again, resulting in a disaster area of our site. We were standing ankle deep in the mud. We decided to pull out because there was no other site available according to the park attendant. Before leaving I went to the office and informed the attendant of the site situation. His comment was: "We had a lot of rain". Then I mentioned that I had paid for 5 nights, and only stayed for one, because of the condition of the site. His only answer was:"UH-HU". Needless to say, we will never go there again, and we will not recommend this place to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$34
We had a pull through site which was fairly level and shaded. The hook ups were in a convenient location. The guy that led us to our site was not very helpful and in a bad mood. We had to move our MH from where he originally had us park otherwise our door would open up right into a tree and we would not be able to use our awning. We had enough shade from the trees around our site so we did not use the awning anyway. I'd rate this campground a little above average. It is an older campground that needs some updating. They have a nice fishing lake, horse shoe pits, badmitten nets, basketball court, playground, jumping pillow, game room, and a very old miniature golf course. The pool was not open yet but it looked nice. The bath house needed to be cleaned when I used it. There are a lot of seasonal sites. Since we could not use many of the amenities because of the time of year, I thought they were overpriced. And I despise campgrounds that charge extra if you have an air conditioner. With the exception of a few pop up campers, there are few RV's with out air conditioning. Just build it into the price instead of irritating people with an extra charge. Because of the weather, we did not have to run our's at all but still had to pay an extra $2 a day. And after charging that fee, they have the audacity to have in their rules to be conservative with your air conditioning. We had no problems with noise from people or cows. It was very quiet and peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$30
Its fairly nice. The COWS down the road were crazy! In the middle of the night you would hear Moo, so loud the sound goes though a hard sided trailer. The bathrooms are old and the gravel roads wash away when it rains. Nice for a short visit. The cool part was the jumping pillow, it was really fun. Bunch of permanent sites though. Might stay again if we are in the area for a short amount of time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$33
I thought it was a great campground if you have small children and like to fish. The staff was very helpful and kind. The pool was clean and well maintained. The pond they had for fishing was small, but adequate for the size of the campground. It was very quiet and there was very little traffic. They escorted you to your site which I thought was nice, and seemed to make the effort to give you a site large enough for your camper. They have activities every Saturday night during the summer. I guess Bingo is played every Sat night. We were close to the pavilion and I didn't find it disruptive or loud at all. They strictly enforce the 11:00-7 quiet time, so we had a restful 2 nights. I wouldn't recommend this campground if you are looking for a lot of activities, but for a few days of relaxation it is nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2004
$31
This is probably a great place if you have kids and stay in the summer. In the dead of winter, however, we felt that it's terribly overpriced. Well maintained, but sites are not level at all, and a bit close together. Lots of permanent trailers parked here, but most are kept up well, and don't look like trailer trash. We didn't know how to get to the only other CG in the area, or would definitely have checked it out for a quick overnight, rather than pay the somewhat exorbitant fee here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$28
A nice little friendly campground, they don't give the best sites to the "fulltimers" so you get the "pond" sites if available. It rained the two days we were here, but we can't control the rain. We did NOT have a mud problem. Campgrounds are "outdoors." Sure this one might not be great for "big rigs" but if you want a nice quiet place to drown a few worms, take a dip in the pool or sit by a campfire, this is it! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$31
We just camped at Midway a couple of weeks ago, we were very disappointed. We couldn't use our awning, a tree was just feet from our door, the sites were dirt and gravel, it rained the whole time there, so was a issue of tracking mud in our unit and vehicle. The sites were very unlevel We Will probably not go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$36
They rented us a site for our 30 foot motorhome where our door opened onto the campground road. No room for awning or gas grill, unless you wanted to risk getting it hit by a vehicle. Had to walk across this drive to get to our picnic table that everyone seemed to think was a common area. When we complained, we were offered a tight site where we could not open our slide (Take a choice!) We and our little dog had to look both ways when going outside.(Very dangerous) They allow arriving campers to be setting up at midnight. Hammering stakes and all. Loud music and drunks party until 2:30am.(No problem for them) Lots of less than desirable permanent sites. If you are in this area, avoid this place. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com