219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Elk City State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (620) 331-6295
CGID1144

Elk City State Park

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   8   8   8   7   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
Caution if you are not sure of where to find this park, especially coming in from the north on highway 75. There is a brown sign indicating a turn, which we took, and ended up way out of our way. The park is really in Independence not Elk City. When we got to Independence in a round about way, followed a turn sign and came to a T with no indication of which way to go. Had to call twice for help. But, it is a very nice park with nice grass and shade, level well spaced sites. Nice lake. Just beware of the signage. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$19
We were really impressed with this state park. First, bathrooms were clean with free hot showers. We came in on Wednesday and left on Friday. We were lucky to have a site in a protected area. The park manager was helpful and gave us radio stations to listen to for the weather was predicting a storm that night and a worse one the next day. We drove through the park and debated where to stay. We could have water front spots out on a massive lake, or another area that was is sun and grass, or another area that was away from the view but felt more protected. My husband really wanted on the waterfront, but safety won out. During the night we could hear the wind, but we did not feel it. When my husband took the dogs out for their walk in the morning, he went to the waterfront loop and discovered several trees uprooted including one over the site he wanted to camp in. Elk City no longer exists. It was a trading post in the 1860s-1880s. Now the address is Independence, KS. We will definitely keep this park on our must stay list. 4825 Squaw Creek Rd Independence, KS 67301 County/Counties: Montgomery GPS: N37 15.415 W95 46.487 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
Rate includes daily fee. Spacious sites with shade. Dump hole covered with grate and not cap. Saw ranger multiple times a day. Hotspot worked. There is pay Wi-Fi available. Park closer to Independence than Elk City. Will stay again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$21
Well maintained park. You have to pay a (one-time) registration fee and you have to pay to get Wi-Fi. They have about 30 pull thrus and a beautiful lake. There are some prime sites you can reserve, others first come. They have 50 amp. A section on this park called Comfort cove is open year-round with full service. We will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
We decided at the last minute to camp over the Memorial Day weekend, and this was the only campground for miles that had a spot open. We enjoyed our stay. This is a nice park with fun things for the family to do; there is a nice playground with play equipment, basketball court, tether ball, horseshoes, and volleyball. There are several hiking trails. There is also a small golf course and a frisbee golf course. The bathrooms were cleaned daily, and most of the time, hot showers were available. The lake is pretty. They have a designated swimming area. And the fireflies in Kansas are nothing like the lazy, yellow flashers we have in Oklahoma; they are large, fast, and filled the tree-tops like Christmas lights! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
Beautiful State Park with roomy sites. There are several sections to the park. We discovered an area almost empty on our walk around the park. The section on the lake was full. Very quiet at night. Dish worked well. Verizon Aircard worked well. Nice level, long spots. Cable TV and WiFi would have been a 10. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
Nice campground. Heavy rain in the region, had the water high in the reservoir and some sites were underwater when we were there. Very nice staff, and the grounds are well kept. We were going to stay two nights and ended up staying four. You must have a vehicle permit to enter the park. That was an additional cost. Roads into the park are in very poor condition, but repaving was taking place, before the water had gotten high. They may have started work on them again by now. We will visit this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$17
Stayed overnight on a Saturday night, with practically no one in our camp ground so it was very quiet. We had water and electric only as there are only eleven sewer sites and they were all filled. We stayed away from the lake campgrounds because of the very windy conditions that day and really enjoyed being back in the back of the park, so to speak. The showers were clean but be forewarned, state park showers can have cold water. Our water was warm but don't expect hot in a state park. A clean well cared for park. We will return when in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$12
This is a very nice state park right on Elk Lake and seconds from Independence, KS and is one of the suggested parks for seasonal Amazon employees. The roads and sites are all paved and there are many trees but they rarely intrude on the sites. As previously stated, there are only 11 full hookup sites - all in Comfort Cove. There are 83 sites with water and electric around the park and the rest are primitive. Wi-Fi can be purchased but is slow. AT&T air is very, very slow but the Verizon card works well. iPhone voice service is inconsistent but Verizon voice is good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$10
Sites range from primitive to FHU 50 amp. Rate quotes above is FHU site, . CG has frisbee golf course and many hiking trails. All roads and sites are paved. 83 sites W/E only (some are 30 amp), 11 FHU 50 amp sites, and 56 primitive sites with no utilities. Park is busy on weekends. Wi-Fi costs $45/mo. Super Wal-Mart within 5 miles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
This park is nearer Independence, KS than Elk City. Only sites 1-11 of the Comfort Cove section have full hookups and you can only stay 14 days without an extension. We were able to get a week extension but to get more we would have had to leave the campground then come back and hope a site was available. Other than a rising lake from torrential rains which did not pose a risk in the Comfort Cove section, but did some of the other sections, the park is really nice with ample size sites and friendly staff. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
This is a great campground. We were attending a festival in nearby Independence this weekend and chose to camp at this state park. It is on a beautiful lake surrounded by hills and trees. There are several choices for campsites from primitive to full hookups. Lots of shade. The site we camped in was in Prairie Meadow, which offers very spacious pull through sites as well as some back in. The sites are spaced far apart which allows for great privacy. Independence is a very nice town with all the necessities available in a 5 minute drive. (aka Walmart) We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$23
Nice, clean park with many pull-through sites. The lake front sites were full, but we found several large, treed sites available that were quiet and comfortable. Some site have sewer hook-ups, and dump stations are available. Good hiking trails are located in the park and a Walmart is just 10 minutes away in Independence if you need supplies. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$18
This campground was a very nice find. A little tight for a big rig, but the trees are well trimmed. 15/30/50 amps at sites as well as water. A few sewer sites. 2 dump stations. Very clean. On a large reservior. Sites are very large. Pads are asphalt with concrete table pads. All roads are paved. Boat launch and swim area. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$
Very nice state park. Good roads, 3 separate camping areas, concrete pads,lake-front sites, 50 AMP service. Very unusual fee structure - Basic cost, then additional if water/electric, sewer and if you drive your toad in the park. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com