223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Ellis Lakeside Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (785) 726-4812
CGID1145

Ellis Lakeside Campground

Camp Information
Sites
18
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   10   9   7   9   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$15
We stopped here en route from Colorado to Missouri for one night only. What a gem! I hate to let too many people know so it won't be full when we need to stay again. Pretty setting with the lake. Very quiet. Very inexpensive. Would highly recommend! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$15
This is a great place to stay for an evening or two. Close to the Interstate and close enough to nearby Hays to do some shopping. Very relaxed town but the restaurants are limited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$15
The word is getting out about this pleasant, shady oasis in western KS. We were there on a Tuesday night in late August, and it was almost full. All the sites are pull through and overlook the small stream that has been dammed to form a small lake. The local police came by in the evening to collect our fee. The restroom was what I would call "broom clean", and had seen better days. This was our second stay here, and as it is handy to the interstate, we will probably stay here on our next trip, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$15
Cute little town, grocery store in walking distance. Has nice wide spaces, plenty of room, shaded spots facing the water. Picnic tables and grills, playground, lots of room for kids to run around. Great value for the money. No reservations. We got there around 6 and there were several available spots. Well patrolled. Bathrooms were dated but clean and had hot showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$15
Great RV park for our overnight stay. In a small town not far from the I-70. The pull-through sites are very long so you do not need to unhook. The park is owned by the city of Ellis. We will stay at this park again, and next time we will see more of this small town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
We have stayed at this park several times and enjoyed it each time. But, this time a little less because the drought has not been kind to the lake. It is dry. But that is just ambiance lost so the park remains pleasant and a good value. Sites are long and level, 20, 30, 50A and water. A dump is available. Shower house is older but clean and odor free. The only real noise last night was the raccoon in the trash bin. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$15
Level gravel pull-through sites. Restroom/shower facilities are a little dated, but not dirty. (NOAA weather forecast broadcast on a continual basis in restroom. Interesting...) We stayed one night as we passed through from Utah back to West Michigan. Easy access from I-70, but without all the traffic noise. Quaint little Kansas town. Wish we had time to explore the history... Note that we don’t carry a TV around so no cable service is necessary nor could I assess access. We use the fifth-wheel primarily to have a comfortable place to sleep, a toilet and shower that don’t offer surprises, and someplace to store food. Other than that, we live outside! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
This was a pleasant place to stay, not far from I-70. It's run by the town, and it was an easy walk to the main street. We were hoping to eat out, but apparently only the pizza place is open at night, and we were there on a Wednesday: their night to close. But we did walk to the grocery and got something to microwave. Went back the next morning and had a pleasant breakfast at the cafe. (They are only open breakfast and lunch.) The police did not stop by for our camp fee, so we stopped by city hall to pay on our way out. Everyone was so very nice and friendly and happy to see us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
This is a quiet wonderful campground in the middle of town. There are some trains going by but I like the sound so they didn't bother me. It is walking distance to the post office, library, small laundromat, grocery store, thrift store, and museums. We have stayed here 2 weeks and it has been peaceful and the people are kind. The bathrooms are "picked up" clean but not that sanitary. We had to clean our fire pit. Because of drought, the lake was half gone but still nice. I would definitely stay here again. There is Wi-Fi and a few TV stations available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$15
Excellent one night stop over as you travel on I-70 in the middle of Kansas. This township owned park is in a shaded area east of the main road through town. The park borders a small creek which has been dammed to form a very small lake or pond. The park is clean with easily accessible pull through, level campsites which means you don't have to unhook your trailer. Restroom and showers are okay but could use cleaning more often. Very limited selection of restaurants in this town, so plan on cooking! The police will stop by around 7 PM to collect the camping fee. We wish more towns would have places like this to encourage tourism in their towns! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$15
We stopped here for just an overnight stay on our way home. We ended up not leaving Ellis till 1:00 the next day. The campsites are very long and spacious with both 30 and 50 amp hookups available. The showers were spacious and clean. The Wi-Fi was free and fast. We stopped by the train museum and ended up staying all morning and then topped it off with a miniature train ride that the kids loved. Probably the best place to camp on 70 west of Salina. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
We had a 50 amp pull thru site that faced the river and was open enough that we had satellite reception. Other sites had varying degrees of shade. As others have stated, the police come around in the evening a collect payment. Easy walk to the downtown area and to the magnificent catholic church across the river. The park really is a hidden gem, and we will definitely stay here again when passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
OK lets clear up a few items. 1. This is a city run campground. The city police not the sheriff collect fees. 2. There are trains. This was the half way point between Denver and Kansas City and a major rail hub for many years. That, along with farming was the economy for Ellis. There was a round house(gone now). There will be trains. You get used to it. Get a noise machine they work great. "Go Railroaders" or Railers now. 3. There are no "permanent residents" in the park. That is not allowed. We have stayed for a week when back for a high school reunion as others do but no one is permanent. 4. The Lake is actually a creek (Big Creek) and can be dry especially during the current drought. My wife is from Ellis. We have family there. We visit often. Many times with the 35ft 5th wheel. This campground is a jewel and the price is right whether we are there during on or off season. Keep in mind this is part of tornado alley and you could end up in the church basement if the sirens go off. Thank God for the church basement. We were escorted to the basement by the local police who came to be sure that everyone was safely in the basement. Enjoy the Canadian Geese and the foggy mornings in the Fall. And St. Mary's Catholic Church, where we were married, which is across the creek. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$15
Amazing campground in a wonderful, small community. Lots of large shade trees. Nice shower house. The local police officer comes by to collect your payment. If he doesn't get it from you, it's on the honor system! How awesome is that! Too bad the drought has lowered the lake so much. The geese are very tame and will take bread from your hand!! If you are in the area I highly recommend it!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
An excellent over nighter when traveling through Kansas. Very easy access on and off I-70. Big level pull-through sites. Shade or sun. Electric and water (dump available in front of bathrooms) in a very nice setting of huge trees lakeside. All this for 15 bucks! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
This is the best kept secret in all of Kansas! The shade is wonderful, and the people in Ellis are very friendly. I will definitely plan on stopping here in future trips across Kansas. Hays is just 13 miles away with all the cosmopolitan features. You can't make reservations so come early and pick a nice spot. You can pay at City Hall a few blocks away, or the police will stop by and collect the fee in the evening. Good 30 amp hookups and water. Free dump station nearby. Nice spacious showers and restrooms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$15
What a pleasant place to have happened upon. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer. Super quiet, friendly people, and an awesome town for photo buffs. Pleasant setting in an old train yard, super cool views, gentle running river next to your sites. The local police department serves as camp hosts. Nice level sites, no too close to your neighbors. By far the best $15 we spent on our cross country trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$15
Pleasant surprise. We saw the billboard sign on the Interstate. Needed a place to stop for the evening. Found this little jewel. We arrived on a Sunday night and there was only one other RV. A police officer came by and collected the $15 around 8 p.m. The sites were wide. The power and electrical box is between two sites so you need a long water hose. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
This is our second time in this park. It is a delightful little city park. The Deputy Sheriff arrives around 7pm to collect your payment. The sites are flat, some are 30 amp, some are 50amp. We could not get satellite in our site, due to the trees, but could get a CBS station on antenna. The campground was almost full. The rate off season is $7 and in season is $15, well worth the price. It is an easy on/off I-70. We will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
We like this little city owned RV park. Would rate higher if it had sewer. Sits on a small "lake" which actually looks more like a stream. Police office comes around at night to collect the fee. Just pull in and pick a site. Sites are large but be aware the hookups are a distance. We needed to use our electrical extension and a long water hose. Showers and bathhouse are adequate. The police officer told us that in case of tornado warnings they come to the park to notify guests. Shelter is about 600 feet away in a church basement. Easy to get to from I-70 with great signage all along the way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
Park was very clean and quiet, we heard one train. Road is paved, and the sites are gravel, mostly level. A policeman comes by at night to collect site rental. If you arrive late, the fee can be dropped off the next morning at City Hall. City Clerk was friendly and helpful when we called for directions and how to pay. Large trees and a lake with ducks made this a relaxing place to stay. Thumbs up on this one! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
Charming RV park with a peaceful setting except for the trains! We called the local police department to inquire if the trains ran during the night. He confirmed yes they did so with blowing train horns we made the decision to leave! Beware of the train noise you are so close to them you can actually here the tracks rattle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
Got lucky getting a spot here as most seemed to be filled with permanent residents. Call ahead on availability, that could save you some time. Ez-on, Ez-off I-70; huge, long sites; don't expect much from the "lake". Lots of shade; not much more than a stopover place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
A pleasant place to park over nite. Some semi-permanent residents gave us some apprehension. The police collect the park fee and cash is required. The sites are very long and level. There are huge cottonwood trees. The lake behind the creek dam was somewhat stagnant because of little rain but people were catching fish and having picnics. Our antenna got 4 Wichita TV stations which is a good thing for bad weather watching. The police officer said someone would come by to warn campers in the event of severe weather. A church across the street was the shelter. The local commercial Wi-Fi did not work. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$15
Sites were level with a view of the pond. Electricity was fine but needed a 25' cord as did the water. No sewer. Sites are arranged oddly where two sites share the hook-up and face different directions - which in our case meant our door opened up to the neighbor's picnic table 5' away (not great - no privacy). Lots of people fishing here and all but one site was taken on the Sunday we arrived. Nice police officer collected the money ~8:15pm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$7
This was a great stop for us. Most sites are long and level. All are pull through. We easily got in and out with a 36' coach and towed vehicle. A park across the street was a great place for our dog to run. Restrooms and water were closed for winter. The friendly police officer arrived at 8 p.m., to collect $7 for the night. He left his cell phone number in case we needed anything and said he would be on duty until 7 a.m. The park was less than one mile from I-70 and easy to find with a map. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$15
Loved our night here. As previously stated, the city patrolman comes by and collected the fee around 8 pm. Wi-Fi was iffy and slow but worked. AT&T air card worked well. Entire campground was quiet and we felt very secure staying here. Just behind the spot was a small lake, just wonderful for a nice walk. The dogs loved it there. The bathhouse was sufficient, think field house locker room for those that remember those days. No sewer at each site but the dump station at the bathhouse was easy to pull around to in the morning. It was easy to find from I-70. We are looking forward to coming back and staying longer than one night. We highly recommend this park for those passing by in the interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$8
We seem to stay here every time we pass through. It's water and electric and only 30 amp, but they have a dump station by the bathroom. For a city park it serves its purpose nicely. Under a heavy canopy of trees, the grass is sparse, and mostly the sites are dirt. The spots to the west are more grassy. This is along a small stream that is dammed into a lake. It is a pleasant place. The city cop comes around 8 PM and collects the fee. Its no frills but serves its purpose! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
Nice small, city owned park with lots of large trees and long level dirt sites. Very quiet and a nice stop over. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
A great small-town park right off the interstate. For only $15 you get electric, water and free Wi-Fi. The bathrooms are passable, but dated. They are standard goverment issue, so no frills. The local officer comes by around dusk to collect the fees, so just pick your spot and have a relaxing time. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
You can't beat the value of this park. It's quiet, right on the lake and in the midst of a cute little town. There's recycling nearby, and lots of room for dogs to run and play. The fee-collecting officer was extra-friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
This is a very cool campground! What a great way to experience small town Kansas. The park is spacious, level and well shaded. Wi-fi was extra, but was strong and dependable. Power and water were a stretch, but we made it work. The town police officer who stopped by to collect our fees was very friendly. We only had time to stay one night, but we'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
This is a nice campground operated by the city. The grounds are well cared for, there are large shade trees and a nice view of a small lake. It is a pleasant place to stay. Water & electric hookups are shared and the sites are wide so I had to use my extension cord and an extra length of water hose... be prepared. The police officer who came to collect our fees was very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
Nice campground. Well manicured, with excellent shade. Good water and electrical connections. It is a city park and police collect the money, so there is good security. Would definitely camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
Wonderful city park with water, power (30 & 50 amp service) right on Big Creek. We don’t know how long you can stay here since it isn’t posted anywhere, although we've been here 10 days so far. Our site is level on a packed gravel & dirt surface with lots of green grass on each side with plenty of room for all of our slides and awnings. This little gem is well maintained by the city and it’s nice to know that the police drive through at night. Wifi is available for $3.95 a day or 7 days for $15.00 and my husband said it works well. There are train tracks very close to the park and it does sound it’s whistle at night although it doesn’t wake us up. Trash cans are conveniently located along the road. A dump station is located on the south side of the bathhouse with very easy access. Verizon Cell phone & Aircard signals were excellent. There’s a market nearby and if you’re looking for a Super Wal-Mart there’s one located in Hayes, 17 miles to the east. You can see it from the I-70. We would gladly stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
This park was a great find!. There are beautiful trees and a lake. Big pull through sites. Easy to get to. I recommend this park if you are needing a place to park for the night. Police picks up the $15.00 and patrols the park a few times through the night. I'm not sure what you would do for an extended stay, but it is a great place for the night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$15
Nice partially shaded sites with huge oak trees above. Quiet campground managed by the city. Only about 1 mile from I-70. Walking distance to everything in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$15
Excellent overnight spot while on road. All sites are pull-throughs. Large shade trees with lots of open grass. Small playground for kids. Many locals were fishing or swimming in river. Grills and tables at each site. Clean & attractive. Patroled by local police (friendly) who collect fee. Felt safe there. Sound of water going over dam great for sleeping. Had awesome breakfast at Alloways Restaurant in Ellis. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$15
This is a city park in a small quiet town. Nightly fees are collected by the police each day. Campground is quiet and there is good fishing in Big Creek at your door. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com