224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Tuxbury Pond RV Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (603) 394-7660
CGID11467

Tuxbury Pond RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
318
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   4   5   2   4   7   3   1   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
We stayed here in a 42' rig. When we reserved our stay we requested a large site. When we arrived, we were assigned a site that was small and we could not have used our back stabilizer jacks because of the hill drop-off. They did accommodate us and give us a wonderfully large site (begrudgingly). It is a fairly nice park with the majority reserved for seasonals. As soon as it got a bit dark, the mosquitoes came out by literally the millions, it was amazing. We used our ReadyCampGo card and Thousand Trails membership to pay the $33/night rate. Probably wouldn't go back, staff not overly friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30+
This is our 2nd season here, mixed emotions. Last year the prices were reasonable but management and landscaping were nonexistent. This year brings a new manger and a LOT of landscaping & improvements... but due to 50% + rate increases, many will never experience the improvements due to WAY, WAY over pricing. We had family wanting to stop in for the 4th but they were quoted $59 a night which is simply nuts for what you receive. Kiddie pool still closed, WiFi is only available in two locations and none to the actual campground. Cable is provided but no HD and satellite is not possible in 95% of the campground due to heavy tree cover ... dust from the road in and around the grounds from vehicles and golf carts spews all over and covers you from head to toe in just a day. Potholes on the way into the campground and through the gate will gobble up a true 4X4. Setting that aside, the campground is mostly peaceful and tranquil (other than some prime weekends)POWER and water pressure is excellent, and again new management is a welcome change over last year, however, are the 50+% price increases worth it? So much potential ... but the new price increases have us looking elsewhere next year they are just overbearing for what you receive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
Former Boy Scout camp that kept the large fields and incredibly dusty roads. Although the open areas are nice, the park is sadly in need of a maintenance staff that actually bends over to pick up litter. No road maintenance. Deep holes. Sites are not level with depressions and ruts. Water pressure was very good, Wi-Fi only in 2 hot spots near lodge and office, Verizon signal was okay but only 2G service for data. Pool water is clean and refreshing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$9
This is our first year here as seasonal campers. The campground looked real nice from the website and the person on the phone told us about all the great features, but unfortunately we were disappointed. This could be a real nice campground if they kept up with the maintenance. The pool slide was broken, as well as a couple handrails. The lights in the mens room near the pool are all burned out, so you have to stumble around in the dark. Other restrooms had showers that have been out of order all summer. The arcade is a joke - just a couple shoddy older games. The adult fitness room does not exist. The store hours are unpredictable. There have been Saturdays during the summer where the store was closed! Really, on a Saturday!? The dirt road into the campground is in very bad shape. There are several deep ruts and gullies from erosion in the road. You almost need a four wheel drive to make it over the long dirt road. They need to empty the dumpsters more often. They wait for them to overflow onto the ground before they are emptied. This campground has some of the highest rates in the area so I expected more. I can say that most of the staff are very nice and friendly. This campground could be real nice if they would keep up with maintenance and pay attention to a few details. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
The road to the campground was very long and bumpy. The sites were hard to hook up to with sewer being too far away making us spend an extra $45.00 for a 40 foot sewer hose. The pool was dirty, and the slide on the pool was broken. The dumpsters were located very far away and were overflowing with garbage. There were bags stacked all around each dumpster. The store was not well stocked. We were so disappointed that we ended our vacation a day early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
We stayed during the July 4th week and during the heat wave. So the campground was full and the weather was 90+ for several days. We were escorted to our site and arrived on a very spacious site. There was a problem getting to the electrical outlet and the sewer hookups, as they were set back from the main site. We had a difficult time getting our 26ft travel trailer into the site, so that we could reach the hookups. We had to thread the needle between trees and settle on not the flattest of ground. The campground could not provide enough electricity in the loop that we were staying in and as a result we did not have power for 4-5 hours per day. People around us left the campground altogether as the heat was very uncomfortable. The campground did rectify the power situation by bringing in a big generator after 2 afternoons without power. When we asked to be moved, the campground was sold out and no other spaces were available. However, there were sites that were not occupied throughout the campground. It was truly disheartening that we kept being referred to as "transients" by staff and the full timers. We even heard that having so many "transients" in their part of the campground attributed to their power outage. The bathrooms were not cleaned on a regular basis. The tile floors were full of sand and mud in the showers. I never saw anyone cleaning the bathrooms. The pool was a crazy unorganized mess. Rules posted everywhere but no one to enforce the rules. Kids were jumping on each other, an other people trying to cool off. We had to pick a corner of the pool and ask people to play on the other end. We will not be returning for our free night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$50
The entry road was a little unsettling, but I found it easy to navigate through the park and into my site. There wasn't much going on since it was the last weekend of the season, but I still found it relaxing and easily enjoyable. Salisbury beach was not far away and the weather being as good as it was we took full advantage of this. I would go back to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
We camped here for a few night in late September, in a 33 foot rig. Park has full-hookup sites with electric, water and sewer. The campsites are a nice size. Staff was very friendly. Dog waste disposal receptacles are conveniently located throughout the park. There are lots of facilities for kids. This is primarily a seasonal campground and most of the sites are very well maintained. It’s a very big campground. There are no special paths for the dog, but plenty of roads for walking. The dumpsters are located too far away from the campsites. We noted that most people drove their trash to them. A big con: the ¾ mile entry road is in VERY bad condition. It’s so full of potholes that you can’t avoid hitting them. We were concerned about how it would affect our RV suspension. It’s unfortunate, but we cannot recommend this campground due to the condition of entry road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
When we were shown the park at the beginning of the season there was supposed to be activities and were shown a camp store, and a food service business. These items won out over another local campground. We paid for the month of August and made our plans. After checking in, we set up and decided to walk around. The camp store had closed along with the food service business. We complained to the office stating these items had been important in our decision to stay there. SORRY was what we were told. I asked for a discount on the rate but no go-if we didn't like it we could check out and get "some kind of refund". There were no structured activities and no evening adult activities. The pool area was a free for all with children with no supervision on site. VERY DISAPPOINTED. Will do my best to discourage others from going there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$49
Located on the New Hampshire side of the New Hampshire Massachusetts border, this park has offered an enjoyable stay and visit to the surrounding areas. The campground is nestled between Tuxbury Pond and some beautiful country roads flanked by some very old, but still elegant houses. The location is really fantastic -- it is very close to all the NH & MA seacoast/beach areas, not far from Portsmouth, NH or the Maine border and about 40 miles from Boston (it took us about 35-45 mins to drive into Boston without traffic). Amesbury, MA is conveniently located only about 4 miles from the campground and there you can find plenty of shopping and dining establishments. My experience with the staff at this campground was fantastic. I received a phone call from the campground manager a few minutes after I booked my reservation through Encore Resorts/ELS's reservation service. The manager advised me the office closed earlier than most other campgrounds, at 4:00 pm, so if I planned to arrive past that time, she would have all my paperwork ready for me in an envelope outside the office. I really appreciated her personal phone call and kind professionalism in running the resort. Upon arrival, I found our paperwork and other materials as promised in a clearly marked, neatly put together envelope in the night box outside the office. After picking up our materials and gate card, a staff member came over in a golf/utility cart and escorted us to our site offered his help with anything we needed and made sure we were settled in. We had a nicely graveled pull-through site in an open area of the campground. The gravel was nice, providing us peace of mind from sinking since we did have some rain. We had strong/steady 50 amp electrical service the whole time. Water pressure was ok, but could have been a bit stronger. One annoying thing was the position of the sewer, the pipe extended off the ground nearly a foot, making for an uphill sewer dump for us -- I've encountered far worse uphill inclines, but it was still a bit agitating since fighting gravity while trying to dump the tanks is never fun. Every site had a picnic table and fire ring. The grass area between sites could have used some mowing since it was nearly calf high. We walked around the rest of the park and saw that there are many seasonal sites, and lots of variety in "types" of sites -- some are out in the open field, some tucked away among the trees in the woods, some seemed in a more rustic area up on the hill, etc. The diversity in sites was neat to see and we were pleased to see that all the sites, including the seasonal ones, were neat, clean and tidy. One problem we had was with our AT&T cell phones, we have not been having much luck with them since traveling in NH -- service signal was basically zilch; I could send/receive text messages at my site but I had to drive out to town to talk on the phone. Verizon MiFi card signal was also weak, resulting in an ultra slow internet connection for us -- enough for quick emails but not swift enough for much else. This campground seems to have great themed weekends every weekend during their peak season -- we happened upon "Halloween" weekend which seemed like a huge hit with the kids at the park. We had a great time watching everyone dressed up in their costumes and handing out candy during trick or treating. Halloween has always been one of my favorite holidays, so why not experience it in August! Aside from the planned activities, the park had a great covered gathering area, a large pool area with a kiddie pool and big pool, complete with water slide. The grounds were clean and pretty nicely kept up. The campground is situated in a really nice spot on the pond (not sure if there are actually waterfront sites, but the park has unobstructed views of the pond and walking trails adjacent to it). I'm not sure if Tuxbury Pond itself was ever a swimming pond, but it is looking a bit green and grown over with vegetation these days. This park heavily enforces the display of vehicle passes and use of the gate keys to get in and out. FYI, don't forget to return your gate key upon departure or they will charge you! The roads within the park, which were most if not all unpaved roads, could definitely use some grading and resurfacing, there were some very large ruts and potholes in the roads. One morning after a particularly heavy rain, we noticed a good few of the roads experienced severe erosion from the rain water running along the side of it. The main entrance driveway was one thing we did not particularly care for. From entering on Whitehall Road to reaching the gated front entrance/office is a decently wide dirt road that snakes on for 3/4 of a mile (we used the odometer on our car to measure). Going in and out in our car is one thing, the little bog and surrounding woods are rather enchanting. However, driving in and out of it in our rig was rough and bumpy and nothing near enjoyable. The road definitely shows signs of heavy use -- often probably at too high of speeds, erosion, weathering and general wear and tear. Some nice things we experienced included: basically our whole stay... without doubt the location is fantastic, but beyond location we applaud the amazing management and staff, all the well thought out and executed activities for kids and adults, nice level sites and an overall well looked after resort. Our one complaint: nothing against dirt/unpaved roads but the ones in and around this park could definitely use a lot of TLC! I would definitely come back and stay here again. We paid half the nightly rate using our Thousand Trails affiliation special discount for a total of $24.50 a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
When we drove up to the resort, the dumpsters all 4 large ones were over flowing with trash, all these sites could not have filled them in one week. It was our first hint to turn around. We were told to head only one way to the left..we well also took a tour to the right, OMG seasonal sites were dirty, unkept and the whole place needed repair. The only thing that looked OK, was the pool area. We left, couldn't and wouldn't stay We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
CG is .8 mile off pavement in gravel road. We used Passport America for the discount. Three of us were traveling together and all 3 reservations were messed up but they had plenty of room for us. We all had open grass sites with FHUs in open area of CG. 3 washing machines at clubhouse & 2 at another location. Rooftop TV dish worked OK. Wi-Fi at the RV was acceptable. Sprint cell & internet access wasn't reliable. Old Salt restaurant was great place to eat, ~ half an hour away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$50
THE GOOD: Large sites available, friendly staff, clean facilities. We camped in the "PW" section. There were two pools and a man made "lagoon" that was also clean and provided a beach-like atmosphere. The seasonal sites on this side were occupied by an older crowd that, for the most part, were very friendly to us weekenders. Seasonals on the other side were a younger and more rowdy crowd, still were friendly. THE BAD: Playground was not within an eye view of any site. Very little activities planned for the Memorial Day weekend; one craft on Sat morning.\, one movie on Sun. Actually, one that was scheduled for Saturday at the lagoon never happened. CONCLUSION: I will return - hopefully more activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com