223495 User submitted reviews online!!
Frontenac State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (651) 345-3401
CGID11544

Frontenac State Park

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   10   8   8   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
We pulled in on a Friday late morning and got a lovely non-reservable site in the first loop. Site itself was large, with a fire pit and solid table. Slight slope down to the road which I could accommodate with a 3" board under each front wheel on the motorhome. Good electricity (121 volts) and solid Verizon 4G coverage, and about 15 digital TV stations detected. Campground is well patrolled and there was no trouble of any kind while we were there. Lots of kids on bikes having a great time racing around (we think of them as a floor show). Some fine hiking too along the ridge of the bluffs, finding several points of interest, finding geocaches left in the neighborhood, and attending a most interesting naturalist hike were among the available activities. Only down side - Ranger station sells wood for $6/bundle (which is expensive for the area) and, when I got it to the site, I found it was not totally dry - rather the fire struggled to stay alive and was hissing/sputtering until it really hot and the moisture was driven off. We hooked up the toad in the ranger station parking lot. They were nice about that and you have a lot more space than trying to do that in the campground. We had a great long weekend at Frontenac State Park. I'd need to recommend it to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
Our price was $22 per night for a non-electric site plus the $5 per day admission fee. This park is definitely not big rig friendly. The site are rather small and very tight to get into with rocks and trees on both sides. The hiking/bike trails are very nice. There aren't enough electric sites to accommodate a crowd on weekends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Nice campground on the bluffs overlooking the Mississippi. Sites were a little close together for a state park, but they were a good size. Rangers were very helpful and pleasant. Leaves were at peak, beautiful views. Several flat hiking trails along the top of the bluffs, plus a few more challenging ones. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Very nice campground high on a bluff overlooking the Mississippi. Clean restrooms. Great location to tour the Great River Valley. Stop in Stockholm for great pies and in Red Wing at the pottery and shoe store in town. Very few sites have a clear southern exposure so the satellite dish and ESPN was not usable. But plenty of antenna stations available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
This small park is located on the bluffs of the Mississippi River. The view and colors will be spectacular in the fall. The sites are average size and very close together. There are plenty of hiking trails, (some were dark) and access to the river. The campground hosts were excellent. They went above and beyond to make sure everyone was having a good time and happy. We are hoping to return for a few days in the fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
This is a beautiful state park above the Mississippi River with woodland spots. Some spots are hard to back into but the park staff will work out sites with you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Beautiful park! We backed into our site 19e, which was tricky due to a curve in the road, trees and boulders, and as we were setting up we remembered there's no water at this campground. Just electricity. The sites are spacious. Walking distance to paths to explore the hillside overlooking the lake/river. The bathrooms and showers were clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
A popular park with an extensive network of trails along, up, and down the river valley. The sites have mature tree cover, and are large and level. All the electric sites equipped with 50A service. There is a water hydrant in each loop and water at the office and dump station. The non-electric sites are of comparable size and are also accessible to large rigs making these a practical alternative if you can get by without shore power. The trail network is especially well planned and maintained. It offers a mix of difficulty levels and distances. The park is in an isolated area with no highway traffic nearby. The campground is open all year with one of the electric loops kept plowed making this a good choice both for cross-country skiing and for those early-season shakedown cruises. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com