214909 User submitted reviews online!!
High Plains Camping was rated 8 out of 10 based on 130 user reviews. Phone: (785) 672-3538
CGID1158

High Plains Camping

Camp Information
Sites
86
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   4   8   8   5   5   5   8   6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
The campground is conveniently located right off of I-70 but that is about the only thing positive I have to say about this campground. It is very run down, with tall weeds, overgrown areas and grass that hadn't been mowed in a few weeks. A strip of grass had been mowed leading to the mini golf course, but the tall grass lay in piles (ready for bailing). Weeds and stickers are everywhere. We stayed here on two occasions (one night only) and found this to be true both times. Potholes everywhere, even in the approach to the office. Bathrooms had dead bugs and smelled of urine in both the men's and women's bathroom. No pride of ownership here. Don't be fooled by their pictures or their claims. We will not be back. On a positive note the Hunts Bros. pizza was good and the pool was clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
This is a campground that I would consider as strictly for an overnight stop. Easy access from the highway and very easy pull through spots. This campground is on the plains in Kansas so it is very dusty and windy. There are a lot of native weeds and stickers. We constantly had to pull the stickers out of our dogs paws and fur. This park is a non-smoking park so if you smoke you have to do it inside your RV. This didn't bother us as we don't smoke. There is a small free mini-golf course and an above ground pool. The pizza and pub on site had very good pizza. They will even deliver pizza to your RV. We stayed here one night as we were driving through Kansas. We would probably look for another campground near the highway the next time we drive through Kansas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
A good park easily accessible to interstate. Very pleasant staff. WiFi weak, cable OK but much static. Restaurant on site after 4 pm and pizza delivered to sites. We would stay here again. This is our third visit with improvements from previous times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
There are fairly new owners here that are trying to make improvements to the campground. Spaces are large but there are no shade trees which would be an issue in the summer. There really isn't much around this area to make one spend more than a night that I could see but we were just passing thru. Restaurant on the premises but we were there Easter so it was closed but there was another one not affiliated with the campground that was open. Pretty cool huge statue of Wild Bill Cody and a buffalo closer to the town of Oakley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
Easy access from highway. Some road noise. No trees, all gravel and dirt interior roads. Good for overnight, but cost was OK with Vet discount. I have never seen a smoke free park before. On the plus side Jacks pub on site was great and what a value!! Poor Cable and no Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
I saw good reviews, but I was not impressed. There were signs posted everywhere on things you could and could not do. It was excessive. The pool was dirty and there was mention of a waiver, but didn't see one anywhere. The hot tubs were locked up and when we did get it were not very clean. Restaurant next door was great and good prices. Was nice we didn't have to unhook our towed vehicle. Dog parks are always nice, but the weeds to get to this one were not. Also, they of course want you to pick up after your pet, but no trash can to put it in?? If you decide to stay here, please take note of all the signs it was kinda sad. Less is more and having a nice clean park without all the signs and postings would go further. Would not likely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
Easy access from highway. Some road noise. No trees, all gravel and dirt interior roads. Dusty and dreary. Good for overnight, but cost of $36 seemed high. I do not smoke, but owner reiterated 7 times that this was a smoke free campground. On the plus side the Colonial Steakhouse, right at entrance, had superb fried chicken and buffet with good food and a good breakfast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
The only downside to this park is the lack of shade. The Kansas high plains wind also makes putting out the awning not recommended. The sites are all pull-through, long and quite wide. But they are gravel with spots of grass here and there. The roadways in the park are also gravel and wide. The park has very good bath house facilities, a nice pool, a decent restaurant right outside the gate and a gas station (with diesel) right across the street. The owners refer to it as a "RV resort like park" and that's true if you read between the lines. It is NOT an RV resort, but a very nice campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Very nice campground. Lots of space and level parking. The office staff was very friendly and willing to help. Nice quiet town with all services that you might need. We would camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Great stop on our way to CA. This is a clean park. We especially enjoyed the pool and hot tub after several days of travel. The owners are there and do everything they can to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. Plan to have a good meal (reasonable prices) at Colonial Steakhouse right next to campground. We will definitely be back in the future. (The no smoking rules did not bother us at all. It was nice not to have to fight smoke in all the public places!!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
This was just an overnight stay for us. Very convenient to the freeway and a nice long pull through site. Park is clean, front desk people are friendly & helpful if not a bit over-zealous about a few rules. But you can tell they care about their park. We'd use this as an overnighter again if we pass through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
We stayed two nights in this park and its a very nice park. We don't have a pet so can't comment on the thorns & burrs. The whole place is very well maintained and our sight was very level for a gravel site. There is a picnic table at each site and some grass. The water, electric, and sewer worked just fine. It's an easy park to get to off either I-70 or Hwy 83, but the road entering the park has some bad pot holes and rough parts which need to be repaired. Very friendly owners and staff. They have not finished the pub restaurant, but hope to get it completed soon. Everything was very well maintained. It is across the street from a station to get diesel/gas. The Colonial Restaurant is in front of the RV park and has decent food and prices. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
The rate reflects the Good Sam discount. This is a good overnight stop for travelers on I-70. We were there for 3 nights and would watch everybody pull out in the morning and the place fill up at night. The ‘high plains’ are windy and can blow up at any time. They warn you about putting awnings out. On the plus side, pizza and wings are available from the campground office and they will deliver to your site. After a long day driving, it is an easy meal to prepare, just put out the plates. Gas and diesel are available at the truck stop across the street, and steaks at the restaurant next door. The sites are gravel, level, wide and long, with grass between. We were able to park our 41’ 5th and 20ft tow vehicle in our site. There is, however, absolutely no shade. On the negative side, there are some serious potholes in the entrance way off the highway. The owner tried to tell me that the water supply was excellent as it gushed out of the pipe, but water volume out of a spigot does not translate into water pressure. I had to bypass my filters and water softener. Even with that, the pressure gauge read 30psi, which is too low, barely adequate to take a shower. You definitely cannot run two faucets at the same time, and don’t flush when your significant other is in the shower. If you have pets or like to walk barefoot, you have to watch out for thorny weeds and burrs when walking, as they will get into paws and feet and your fingers as well when you try to remove them. The park wifi was very inconsistent, both for trying to connect and connection speeds. I have seen faster dial-up. Luckily, the Verizon Air Card offered a good connection with descent speed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
Price reflects American Legion discount. Park sufficient for a short stay. Thorns spoken of previously are prevalent in the grassy areas. Sites were fairly level and easy to access. Park just off the freeway, but the noise was negligible. Met by very friendly owner. We would return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
Nice little park. Very rural and not manicured but easy to find and quiet. Owners and staff are great. Really helpful and working hard to make this park something special. Small store with hats, dog bags, ice cream etc. you can even get a fresh baked pizza. Steak house next door. All gravel park with small grass areas for each site (watch out for wicked stickers getting in dogs feet). Baths and showers very clean as is laundry. Good place for overnight. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$31
This was a great RV park. Sites were pull-through and level on gravel base. The owners were very friendly as well as their friends who helped them out. They just installed a pizza oven in their store/office and are in the process of remodeling a barn into a pub that will serve beer and some food. Wi-Fi worked fine but cable connection was really bad. They had free DVD's you could borrow so we watched a movie at night. Stayed one night, but we would have stayed longer except our schedule and the weather forced us to move on. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
Wonderful park! We've been full timing 6 years now so have seen a lot of parks. Don't write enough reviews for as often as we use this site. Usually "standouts" or warnings or "stay away". This is a standout! Very obvious the owners are intent on making this a top of the line facility. Everything was meticulously maintained and working. Newly renovated miniature golf, large collection of movies to loan for free, newly added pizza parlor, pub to be open soon. Wonderful hot tub after a day on the road. Community bon fire planned one night was rained out. Very interesting decision to make a smoke free park; you can smoke in your rig or your car but not on the grounds or in the buildings. The policy is very clear on their web site, so if that's an issue for you, there are no surprises. Easy in-easy out, and I think all pull through. An added plus is a very good restaurant just a walk across the drive, and an easy in gas and diesel station right across the street. The park also has propane filling. For people just wanting to get off the road for a night or two in this area, its hard to beat. And I could easily see it as a destination park for those living with-in a few hours who just want to take the kids and get away for a long weekend or a vacation. Our rates reflect the Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$31
We stayed here for an overnight. Owners are super friendly and helpful, and the park is very easy to get into and out of. Wi-Fi was a little slow, but worked. Cable TV was good. We would rate the park higher but did not use the restroom facilities so we cannot evaluate them. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$32
This is a "mom and pop" owned and operated park. It is open year round. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. The parking spot was level and access was very easy. The propane station was easy to access. There is a cafe within close walking distance. We did not go to the cafe. Water was available at the campsite in freezing weather, but the faucets are not heated. Hoses must be disconnected when water is not flowing in order to protect faucets from freezing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
The park is laid out well, and the sites are fairly spacious. It appears most sites are level. Our site was long enough to park the car behind the motorhome. All utilities worked well. We did not check out showers or restrooms, so can't comment on that. Wi-Fi was iffy during our two-day stay, but we were at the back of the park, which may have been a contributing factor. There are very few trees in this park. Also, there are lots of grass burrs. This park has been improved since our last stay and pride of ownership shows. We will always choose this park when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
This is a mediocre stop-over at best. The owners are nice people but the place is a big gravel parking lot (yes, it is level) with hook-ups. There are no trees here but there are no trees in most of western Kansas. What there are way too many of is burrs and thorns that will get in your clothes and shoes and the paws of your dogs. I have never been in any campground where my dogs could not take a walk. The Wi-Fi does not work well. Cable works OK and water/sewer/electric are all fine. Some of the people staying here are not people you would want as neighbors, and there is no one policing them or their free-roaming dogs. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
This is a very well maintained campground. The owners are friendly, helpful, enthusiastic, and working hard to make this a great place to stay. Road is gravel as is the pad. Long level pull throughs and very big rig friendly. Space around the RV with a few trees, plenty of grass and a picnic table. Be aware that there are lots of large burrs in the grass if you are walking your dog. The bathrooms are old but spotlessly clean and the laundry is large and well equipped. Wi-Fi is slow but cell is good. There is a small store, pool, hot tubs, and miniature golf on site. It was very quiet. There is a great restaurant next door to the campground, with great food at great prices. We would stay here again. Rate reflects Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
Overall a good park. Very windy. The owners are nice with good senses of humor. They are located right next to the very good Colonial Steakhouse if you are looking for a good meal. The actual RV site was satisfactory - nothing to write home about. However, the condition of the rest of the park amenities was excellent. The pool and hot tubs were in good repair. I would not hesitate to stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$37
This is a great campsite. Be sure to visit the "pyramids" while you are there. A good restaurant right next to it, fuel across the road. The showers, bathrooms, and laundry are first rate for an RV park. The only reason I rated it 9 instead of 10 is because of the native thorny plants that take over when the grass isn't there. Just make sure you don't drive in them or walk in them. Also, make sure you don't let your dog in them! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
High Plains Camping is not a destination park, although the owners have plans to upgrade this stopover/one-nighter (a term found in almost all previous reviews) The campground is an easy off/on from I-70 but therein lies one of the big problems – constant car and truck (engine brake) noise the entire time we were here. Our stay sounded like we were camping in the I-70 median. The sites are gravel, they offer a number of 10% discounts (Good Sam, WIT, military, teacher etc.) and the sites are within easy walking distance of a nice restaurant - Colonial Steakhouse – but even with their discount their one night fee seems excessive for what they offer. A truck stop is directly across from the campground entrance. High Plains offers free Wi-Fi (we couldn’t connect at our site), 25 cable TV stations (we didn’t use as we have a satellite TV) and 5 local TV antenna stations. FM and NOAA radio stations are available in the area. They also have an on-site laundry and swimming pool and plans for a on-site Pub but smoking is prohibited anywhere on the camp grounds except inside your rig (fire hazard danger maybe?). There was a steady wind so don’t plan on deploying your awnings.. The water, power and sewer connections are more to the front of the rig ( strange location ) rather than to the back or middle as in most parks so we had to pull almost into the exit road to utilize the connections. Our departure was somewhat crazy as a camper had been allowed to set up on the exit road thereby rendering what appeared to be an exit impossible. The owners are relatively new and very nice with plans to improve this park including new higher power panels on a proper pedestal. They also say they are open year round (really, in the Kansas winter?). If one isn’t bothered by the above observations then this park will meet your needs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
This is a convenient stop on I-70, easy-on, easy-off. Good overnight, with all hook-ups and plenty of room in long pull through sites. There is a restaurant within walking distance and a fuel stop directly across the street. Nothing to make me stay longer than overnight, but a good place to spend the night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Easy access on/off I-70, this is a quiet campground with clean bathrooms and friendly staff. Long level sites sufficient to keep the camper hooked to the truck for a quick overnight stop. Sites had very little shade, but that is to be expected in this part of the country. Good place to stop for a quick overnight stay. As a bonus, there is a nice place to eat adjacent to the campground, that was easily walked to. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
This was a rather bare campground, but the sites were spacious, the owner very friendly. They will be adding many improvements in the future. A Steakhouse was next door which made it easy for dinning out. We would stay here again for an over night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Good campground for overnight, convenient to I-70 with restaurant next door. Didn't really notice traffic noise. Gravel drives and sites, sites are level and easy access for big rigs with toad. Very nice, clean laundry with 4 regular and 1 oversize washer and dryer. Nice little miniature golf course. No pool yet but they are working on one. Good areas to walk dogs. No real shade. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Woodall's rates this place at 5 stars. I would give it 4. Well maintained gravel parking lot style park with everything you would need. On Site friendly owners look to be investing $$ in the park. Would stay here again.$36 rate is with Good Sam discount. 360' view of the high prairie, interesting but dull. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
Now this is how to handle a transient park! We got tired going through Denver and decided to find a place to stop for the night. We went through the reviews an found this place ... called them while on the road. Given our ETA (11pm) they took our reservations and said there would be directions on the door for us. There were! The directions were clear, the park lit well - even at night and there was no trouble finding our spot nor parking our rig. They left a phone number to call in-case of problems. But there was no need. The spots are *very* large, easily able to accommodate our nearly 45x14 rig. Wi-Fi was WPA with a pass code and fast; not some rickety ISP or worse Tengo. The water pressure was great, filling our freshwater tank in about 15 minutes (usually parks take 30-45 minutes or longer) The park is pretty much 100% transients ... we wanted to sleep in and by 10am (when we departed) the place was basically empty. We travel the Texas to Montana route a round and this is our new stopover point. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Previous reviewer is dead on when they said it is a gravel parking lot. Cable TV is offered, but unwatchable due to fuzzy connection. There is an above ground pool which is roped off, presumably because it is not ready. I would not want to be here in a storm, it is flat out open. That said, there really isn't any other option for many miles, which is probably why it is so expensive. I would try to avoid, but is an OK place to stay if you must. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Friendly owners who just bought this park in December. They where very helpful and extremely professional. The sites and roads are rock gravel, but well maintained and level. It was not dusty even in high wind. Sites were large enough to pull through with toad hitched. Easy in, easy out. They have RV supplies, light groceries snacks, ice, etc, and a cute gift shop. Next door to a great restaurant. They are easy to find at Exit 70 on I-70. Would certainly stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Easy access for a large RV. The owners were very helpful and seemed to be adding features (there was a putt putt course and they were adding a pool). Park is convenient to the interstate but was quiet at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
New owners have recently acquired this campground and are actively upgrading and updating the facilities. They have installed cable and plan to have a pool ready in the immediate future. Their laundry is large, air conditioned and clean. The owner was extremely friendly and welcoming but was up-front about allowing smoking only in your RV, not on the grounds or in the buildings. The sites are easy to access being large and roomy. Ours was level but all are in the open. We felt that this was a good spot for a one night visit while travelling through Kansas, although a bit highly priced for its current state of development. When the amenities are completed it should be a better value for your dollar. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
The owners were very nice and friendly. The park for the most part is a large gravel lot. Sites are level and hookups convenient. A couple of things in the area of interest are the Monument Rocks and, well, the plains. But the wind was horrible and when we were there the temps hit 111. Yes you read that right. It does have a pretty nice restaurant next door and a truck stop (fuel) across the street and convenient. Was relatively quiet from I-70 noise or appeared to be. Really not fair to say as the wind blowing would drown out any noise. A good stop for a night or two at most. But as for me you can have Kansas. I do believe I saw Auntie Em and ToTo in that wind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
We stayed one night and found this to be a great campground. Everything worked fine except the Wi-Fi. It worked great at first but by evening it was unusable. A lot of campers came after we did. Cable was good, and our satellite dish worked great. Our site was level gravel. The laundry room was immaculate, as were the rest rooms and showers. They are doing some improvements, like adding a pool. The putt putt looks like fun and a free game is included. We would enthusiastically stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Nice park with very friendly owners. Very clean bathrooms and showers. Fun mini-golf course. Nice laundry. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Fair campground for an overnight. Noisy with hyway and truck jake brake noise. Pretty much a gravel parking lot with full hookups. Good restaurant in front of the campground, which makes a mean sausage and egg biscuit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Gravel parking lot, no fires allowed, pull through sites with minimal leveling required. Electric service (30 amp). Owners/office staff very friendly. Extremely noisy from interstate traffic and truckers engine braking on exit ramp (the campground is right off the exit ramp). Many short term people in campground due to harvesting time. Would only stay here again if necessary for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Great hostess, helpful and friendly. Level gravel sites with grass between sites and spruce trees between. Cable TV was a plus and the bath house was the nicest I've been in. I especially liked the 2 room shower stalls with a chair for "stuff" and the bath room was spotless. I also appreciate the "no smoking" campground; so nice not to see cigarette butts all over the place. We played mini-golf and horseshoes and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
New owners have raised the rates, but have not done much to justify it, even though they have big plans. We have previously rated this park higher, but it is now only a 6 for $36/night with Good Sam discount. Wi-Fi is so slow it is useless. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Pro's - level, large sites; large laundry room; bathrooms very clean and modern; decent cable, but somewhat limited channels; owners friendly and helpful; restaurant within walking distance Con's - the Wi-Fi was terrible. Kept dropping off no matter what time of day. We have been traveling for 30 days now and this is the first CG that we have had trouble with their Wi-Fi. We also felt that the nightly rate was very high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
It is the plains and lack of trees is normal as is the wind. All gravel so can be dusty, but found owners nice and good one night stay for 45 ft rig and car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
Current owners have worked very hard to improve this park and have amazing plans for the future (pub included). Restrooms are immaculate and huge. Nothing to interrupt satellite reception. However, "No Smoking" policy seems at odds with owners desire to make park more popular especially as their main complaint appears to be that they are fed up with picking up 'butts'. I would suggest that provision of butt receptacles and notices to remind patrons to leave 'no litter' would generate a friendlier environment. Not withstanding the previous comment, we will return whenever we are in this area because this intersection provides an excellent steakhouse and diesel fuel together with a fascinating antique emporium. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
Very nice park, easy to get to with long, wide and level pull-through gravel sites. Very friendly staff. All the hookups and Wi-Fi worked great. They have just put in cable TV, normally do not use cable but there was a storm coming through and it was great the watch the local channels. Did not use the bathrooms. Close to I-70 but, no noise. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
We stopped here for one night. Large level sites, full hookup, very nice owners trying very hard to make a difference. Verizon cell/data signal is strong here. Propane is available here, easy access on your way out of the campground. My only complaint is the grass had lots of stickers which stuck to the bottom of my shoes and my dog's feet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
New owners of this award winning park are RVers who do UNDERSTAND!! They recently added cable TV and are working (previous life as a contractor) to make the campground a super pleasurable place to stay for 1 or many nights. Sites are gravel and roomy. Decent restaurant next door and super convenient to I-70 as well as KS83 which we took from Kansas panhandle. Only reason not rated a 10 is because all changes aren't complete. PS. Owners live upstairs from office and encourage contact for whatever reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
Park is clean and neat but not many amenities. New managers plan to open a club room and snack bar soon, followed by a swimming pool. Cable TV only has limited number of stations. After planned improvements, camping fee may be worthwhile. As the park is currently, it is overpriced by $8 to $10 nightly. We would return again but only for a one night stay at this price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$31
This is a tough park for me to rate. Let's start with the good. Large level gravel sites and gravel roads. Water pressure high and quality good. Very nice owners with big plans for upgrades to the park. Some truck noise from the truck stop across the street. A few things bugged me here. The back row of pull through sites have the hook ups in the front. Unless you have a very long sewer hose, water hose and cable line (25+ feet), you will not be able to hook up. The row in the middle have the hookups in the back, fine if you unhook your toad. Keep this in mind when they assign a site to you. On the rules sheet, they claim this is a non-smoking park, smoking allowed in your RV only. I realize they are free to make any rules they want at their place. But seriously, won't the Kansas winds keep the smoke from bothering others? I did smoke outside and nobody said anything. All factors considered, we would probably stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$36
They have only owned this park since last December and are doing great things. Cable should be up and running by now. The plans for this park are incredible, i.e. the pool, a pizza shop, and a storm shelter. The owners know what makes an RV park work and are working overtime! There are many stickers when walking your dog, but the owners are even trying to get rid of them. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$31
We stayed here two nights. The rate of $31.50 reflects a Good Sam discount. Sites are gravel, fairly level, and wide. Bathrooms/showers were clean and spacious. The laundry is one of the best I've used and there was always a strong wi-fi signal. The owners are very accommodating! They have continued to make wonderful improvements since they purchased the park. Also, very dog friendly with a large open area to exercise our golden. We would absolutely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$26
New owners. They seem to be putting a lot of money into improvements. Even sites, quiet area even with the truck stop across the street. Wifi works well. Recent installation of DirectTV access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$31
This park is set up for overnight RV's but could be a good location if visiting area attractions. It is basically a large gravel lot with services. The sites are very large as you can tell the 30A sites have been reduced by half. They have little extra's like a playground and good Wi-Fi. The biggest plus is the great laundry facilities with lots clean of washers and dryers. Exceptional for a park of this size. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
What a great way to run a CG. I wish the rest of the in-n-out one-night parks would take lessons from these folks. Neat, clean, convenient location, plenty of room for easy hookup, quick and efficient registration, well identified sites, all good things. And best of all, a super efficient and friendly host. There is a possibility that you might be rocked to sleep or even be awakened by sudden "breezes". After all, this is the high plains of Kansas. The truck stop across the highway can generate a little noise but I don't think most RV'ers are light sleepers so it should not be a problem. High Plains CG WILL be on my itinerary the next time through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
We ended up here mostly by chance. Looking at various sites ahead on the iPhone, this one seemed to be about the right distance from where we were to be a good place to spend the night. We called about two hours out and told them what time we expected to arrive. She said there would be a nice space waiting for us. All spaces are pull-through so we didn’t bother unhooking, just pulled in and hooked up. The space was monstrously huge. This place has all of the amenities, hot tub, laundry, miniature golf, adjacent restaurant, vegetable garden, Wi-Fi and friendly staff. The Wi-Fi did not work for us. I think we were too far from the antenna and I was too tired to play around with it. Besides, I had my own Wi-Fi hotspot card with me. All of the hook-ups worked as they should. There is a large vegetable garden. They told us to go pick whatever we wanted. We ended up with some cucumbers, green beans, and a few others. Close to the highway, but very quiet. Next door is a wonderful restaurant with homemade fried chicken. It had a full buffet as well as a full menu. Excellent food! We will stay there again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
We were traveling through the area and looking for a decent place to stay when I came across High Plains. After researching their website and going to their facebook page, we decided to give the place a try. There is not much in this region. I posted on facebook about coming and immediately received a welcoming reply. Upon checking in, the owner gave us all the info and even had an organic garden we could help ourselves too if inclined. The brochure for the park was very thorough even including county information in case of weather issues (Kansas has strong winds). Although close to the highway, easy on/off, the park is extraordinarily quiet. We would definitely stay here again if traveling through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
Great RV park. The sites are long, level and wide. Park is nicely maintained and has many nice features for things to do. The park is mostly gravel with some trees and grass. The host/owner is very friendly and helpful. WiFi was great. I would highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
Great place for overnight off I-70. Excellent showers and restrooms. The Wi-Fi was strong. The sites were large. Walking distance to restaurant. Paid $27.00 with Good Sam discount. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
OK, this is not a destination RV park and it's not fancy, but this park is surprisingly well done in the middle of rural Kansas, attached to a small, 1900 population town. The owner is a widow, who bought a run down park and started renovating and is one of the most pleasant and competent RV Park pro's we've ever run into. The park has everthing you need. It's easy to find, easy to get into, the sites have plenty of room and easy to level. There is plenty of place to walk your dogs and there is an organic garden on site that you are welcome to pick from. The showers and restrooms are exceptionally clean and the shop is well stocked with practical and fun products. The owner is very knowledgeable and helpful. She used to be a full timer and was able to help us select the parts we needed to solve a plumbing problem we had. She also had a selection of DVD's and books in the shop. There is, also, a family steak house next door, with pretty respectable food, if you don't want to cook. All in all, a pleasant surprise after a long day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
This is really a nice park, the sites are level, easy access to I-70, fuel is across the street, and a restaurant (which is pretty good) is within walking distance. Best of all, they understand customer service! Verizon access is good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Level gravel sites close to I-70. Good stopover when traversing Kansas. Pleasant staff and a nice fenced dog play area. NOTE: well water has a high sulfur content and will tarnish silver jewelry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
We greatly enjoyed this campground. The owners were refreshingly kind and friendly, the sites long and spacious, and everything was well maintained. They have a little organic garden from which you can get things in the store. Wi-Fi was good and no problem getting a signal on dish. We definitely will use this park again when passing through this area of Kansas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
This is a great stopover site if you're traveling through western Kansas. Sites are huge and completely level. Great owner. Great little store on site. Laundry and bathroom/shower facilities great. Restaurant within walking distance. Easy on/off interstate. We would choose this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Great place to spend the night, but more would be a waste. Not a lot to do and no cable TV. There is goofy golf and chasing the rabbits, but the steak house next door is a 10. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The sites are real nice, wide and long. I would tell all my friends about High Plains. There isn't much between KC and Denver and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
Nice campground, long pull-thrus with plenty of elbow room. Office staff quite friendly & helpful. Relatively level gravel sites, good water pressure, reliable electric (even through a storm with lots of lightning). No cable TV, however the free Wi-Fi had good reception our entire two day stay. Easy access from I-70 and US83, but the entry is a bit bumpy so take it slow. Try the fried chicken at the Colonial Steakhouse next to the office - its great! We would absolutely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Very friendly host. Grounds are spotless. Lots of room between sites. Close to interstate, but road noise not too bad. Big showers and very clean restrooms. Steakhouse next door must be good, lots of cars there as well as truckers. Very nice place to spend the night We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
As far as Kansas plains campgrounds go this is the best. A very friendly host and hostess with immaculate sites and campground overall. In an area where trees are sparse this campground has managed to provide trees along the borders of the park. Tree stumps between the sites and elsewhere would indicate high winds caused damage which accounts for why there are few trees at the sites. The vegetable garden is a plus and we took advantage and picked Swiss chard, Cukes and Zuccinni. A very comfortable RV campground at a reasonable price. This is a good jumping off point if you are going west towards Denver - only 250 miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
The owner is absolutely wonderful! We experienced car trouble while camping here. She found us a mechanic, and was very accommodating in allowing us to stay over past our reserved time. The campground is very child friendly. There is an excellent putt-putt course and play area (with separate swings for little ones). Wide, double-head showers were an unexpected treat! The on-site organic garden offered a wide variety of fresh vegetables, something very hard to come by when you're travelling. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
This is an absolutely wonderful place to stay for a night on your way to your final destination. The owner, is delightful. The entire campground (showers/restrooms, landscaping, overall appearance) is spotless. There are two hot tubs, a fenced & clean dog run and a vegetable garden all available to guests. But one of the nicest things is the restaurant located next door. After a long day's drive, it's so nice to just walk across the parking lot and have a really nice, reasonably priced meal (without having to unhook your toad). They're also open early for breakfast. What a bonus. Not only would I definitely stay here again, but I would probably drive out of my way to do it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
A wonderful place to stay. Lots for the kids to do. Nice grassy sites. A fantastic u-pick organic garden. The operator/host was wonderful. We had a great time. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
Great overnight campground, after a 12 hour day we were greeted by the nicest staff. Sites are level pull through. The kids loved the playground and putt putt golf on site. Us adults loved the hot tubs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
About the only campground I have ever rated a really deserved 10. Very pleasant owner, extremely clean and neat large bathhouse and laundry with multiple showers, toilets, dryers and washers. Gravel nicely spaced sites with w,e,s, and grassy tent area. Moderate number of trees; this is surrounded by the tree free high plains. Large children's playground. Free to pick organic garden. For fee miniature golf with nice course. Right next door steak house restaurant (different owners) excellent food, salad bar at good prices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
This is a great park, easy to get to and get around in. Sites are very level and very large. Staff is very friendly and helpful and owner lives on site. WiFi works okay: used our own wireless mostly for secure connection. Some faint road noise from I-70 but so far no trains like our previous campground! We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Near the reception desk is a whiteboard giving the weather conditions. The staff is very helpful, even giving us a couple of biscuits for our dogs! Very professionally managed! There is a good fenced dog run and the steak restaurant was reasonable (slow service but the food was good). This CG would have had a 10, given the large clean washrooms, etc., if I hadn't needed to do laundry. I was amazed to see the dryers were only $1.00, until I learned that was for only 10 minutes!! They were not efficient either. The laundry room is outstanding: there is a table for folding clothes, an iron and ironing board and a game table with a jigsaw puzzle on it, to pass those multiple 10 minute cycles when you need to add another dollar! We would definitely stay here again, but wouldn't plan to do laundry while here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
We stayed here as an overnight while passing thru on I-70. We found it to be very clean and well managed. The staff was very nice and helpful. All utilities including WiFi worked well. Large graved pull through sites with some grass. Close to I-70 by no road noise. There is a steak house within walking distance that we ate at and found to be average. Its also open all day. Overall a nice park that's very convenient, would recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
This is a very good park that is easy on and off to the interstate. Very friendly, helpful staff. A good restaurant next door. I would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
We stayed overnight at this campground on our way west. Although the campground is adjacent to I-70, there is little road noise. Sites are large, level and gravel, easy in/out. The restrooms and showers were exceptionally clean and well maintained. A playground, miniature golf, and hot tubs are available, although they were not open yet during our early season visit. The steakhouse within easy walking distance next door says they cut their own steaks, and ours were excellent. This was a great overnight stop, and we would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
We stayed here twice, for two days each. This is a nice place to stop by, great restaurant just in front, and a great truck stop across the street. Nice sites, many with plenty of room for big rigs. We were here in Oct/Nov, and the place was fairly quiet and deserted. If you're in the area, stop and rest. You won't regret it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
This is a great place to stop when you're traveling I-70 across western Kansas. We stayed here last year and found it as nice and convenient as before. Full service truck stop across the road w/ easy access and restaurant next door. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
A nice small park to visit if you are on I-70. All roads and sites are gravel. Sites are level, wide, long, have water (hard water), sewer, 30/50 power (one 50 amp and two 30 amp outlets for two sites) on site we were on. The voltage dropped from 123 down to 117 with a 16 amp load per leg. Wi-Fi was free, worked on all sites but was fast at times and dead the next time. This could be someone downloaded movies and taken all the bandwidth. This way only one person can use the Wi-Fi system. Parks needs software to stop his type of problem. Verizon cell and air card worked well. You can find a small number of TV channels over the air. You have a truck stop on Hwy 83 across from park and a good place to eat next door. Park has a U-pick organic garden and if items are in you pick. The playground equipment was the best we have found in years of travel. You will hear noise from I-70 and trucks but it is not bad. Staff was helpful at check in. Rate was on Good Sam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$23
Very friendly owner. Good drive entrance way. They even had a garden for travelers to use and leave donation. Walking distance to restaurant. It's too windy to put out the awning or cook on the grill outside. Clean, level gravel pull through. Best WiFi out there, good enough to download a movie and watch. Close to I-70 so easy to find and get to. I used the gas station across the highway when we left to air my tires. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Stayed 2 nights. Comfortable and clean. Near highway but no noise problem. Lots of bunnies hopping around! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
This is a clean, neat and well-run park. The sites are long and level. All utilities and the Wi-Fi worked well. There is limited TV available, no cable. There is not much shade as the trees are small: otherwise I would give this park a 10. It is fairly close to Highway 83, but road noise at our site (235) was minimal. We did not use the showers, so can't comment on that. They have a garden with vegetables that guests can pick for a small donation. There is a restaurant within walking distance and an easy in and out gas station across the highway. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Nice, well maintained park with level sites. Easy on and off highway 70. Wi-Fi and utilities worked well. Very nice and helpful owners and the U-pick garden is a nice touch. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
We stopped here in order to visit Gove, KS (named after a distant relative). We selected High Planes because of all the positive reviews and were not disappointed. The adjacent restaurant served up the best hash browns I've ever eaten. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Very well maintained campground. Wi-Fi worked well. Sites all open so satellite was good. Will stay again if in area. Very personable owner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
We were only here overnight, arriving late and leaving early, but it seems like a friendly, nice campground. The sites are level, gravel and very wide. It looks like they've removed every other campsite from an older configuration, which makes for sites that are ample to park a trailer and truck or motorhome and toad side by side. A nice change from narrower, tighter sites elsewhere in the midwest and east. No trees, so no problem for satellite access; the Wi-Fi was intermittent, but when it was good, it was very good. No frills, but very adequate for an overnight stay, if a bit on the pricey side. Our rate reflects a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
This is a nice park. Nice level sites, clean bathrooms and showers. We took a nice walk around the park and met some really nice campers. We only stayed one night but would recommend the park to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Very nice park. We have stayed here several times when traveling. Nice friendly people work here. While staying here: they went around to all campers and told them of a high wind warning and suggested we stay another night. Sure glad we did, because that was some tough wind. Would have been dangerous to drive through. There is a great restaurant within walking distance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
The meet and greet and information given to us from the lady in the office was excellent. Was very well organized and friendly. A little pricey for the area. Rate is based on Good Sam discount. DVD movies are available free with a $5 deposit. Very nice, easy to maneuver park. Spaces are long and wide. Showers were roomy. Did not use what appeared to be a nice recreation room, 3 hot tubs for adults only, miniature golf course, laundry or horseshoes. Lots of room to do your walking. Steakhouse nearby was recommended, but was not good the day we went. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
This is a very nice campground and we stop here every year. Sometime in spring and then again in fall. Nice people own this place who are very helpful and friendly. Clean campground. Quiet and a nice place to stop for the night or stay awhile. A nice restaurant within walking distance of the campground with good food. Will be back here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
Rate shown Good Sam discount. Site level. Cable TV snowy on some channels. WI-FI worked fine. Public computer in laundry room. Laundry had only two washers working due to lightning strike day before. Restaurant within walking distance. Town of Oakley 5 miles south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
As stated by last reviewer, this park is quite nice. Has good level sites, easy access. Has very friendly and helpful staff who go out of their way to make you welcome. Has easy access to Monument Rocks, but not much in the way of other services if staying for a few days. Only negative was a strong unpleasant odor. Not sure the source, but with all the rain in the area and the construction improvements may have stirred up some old farm odors in the soil. We had to keep the windows closed and the A/C on for our visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$29
Large sites, gravel 'n grass with some shade trees. Has 3 spas, a nice store both for camper supplies and unique gifts. The showers were huge and spotless, restrooms were the same. Has a neat little putt putt golf course, a huge meeting room, actually a meeting barn, playground, 3 dog walking areas, 1 nicely fenced and the whole place is neat, clean and orderly. They were doing some upgrades that should be complete by the summer season. Owners and their staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make sure your stay is pleasant. Will go out of our way to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$29
Roomy, level sites. Easy access. Nice personnel in the office. Bathroom/showers very clean. Did not use laundry but did notice that it was also very clean. We stopped here on the way to Topeka. Not much in the area but did find the Monument Rocks which is a must see! Free Wi-Fi worked well. Not much in the way of antenna TV reception. Would stay here again for overnight. Restaurant on premises very nice and reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
Lots of grass for the dog, miniature golf, hot tubs, great restaurant next door with best French dip ever. 6 showers/toilets/sinks. Laundry room very nice. 1/4 mile from highway, but traffic didn't bother us. NO TRAINS. Would recommend or stay again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
RV parks in Kansas are few and far between. We "discovered" this one by necessity as the KOA we intended to go to further east in Wakeeny turned out to be closed for the season when we arrived (after calling ahead and being told that it would be open). We forged ahead to Oakley as darkness fell after a 500 mile run from central Missouri. This is a no frills park but has big spaces that are easy to get into (gravel). When we arrived we discovered that the owner was away at a conference. But she kept the park open and set things up for an honor system of payment. The Wi-Fi works wonderfully, unlike the situation at many more upscale parks that should and could have better systems. The park gets high marks because its here and the owner runs it conscientiously. We would recommend it for anyone in this neck of Kansas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$21
The owner, is wonderful--she even asked me if I had a AAA card so I could get a discount! The campground is extremely clean and the rest room and shower facilities are a delight to use. Washers and dryers are available for use at the registration area along with an array of sightseeing/camping information from several states. There is a large game room as well as a wonderful organic garden. We will definitely stay here again next year! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$31
We stopped here as an overnight spot en route home to Colorado. The hostess was very nice and informative, and our spot was easy to access, a nice, level pull-through spot. We didn't even have to unhook! The spots are all grass, which made it very nice. There is a big Travel Plaza for gas across the street, and the Colonial Steakhouse is a short walk from the campground, and the food was pretty good for a restaurant in the middle of Kansas! The free garden was pretty picked over, as it was late Summer when we stopped there (almost Fall), but my wife found a nice pumpkin which she took with her. I'd definitely recommend this place as a stopover place en route to somewhere else. As there is not much in the area, it really isn't a destination campground, but then it does not try to be. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
We stayed here going to and coming back from Oregon, probably the best stop we made. The Colonial Steak house is just outside the fence of the RV park and we took advantage of their excellent steaks. This park is a must stop for anyone traveling on I-70 or US-83. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
A very nice park: sites were spacious and level and easy to maneuver. Good electric, water, and Wi-Fi. A great place to relax and take it easy: too bad we were on a schedule and only spent one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
Very nice little campground. Level sites, Wi-Fi worked. They have a free organic garden. We got a mess of beans for dinner. Very friendly. Would recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Good Sam rate. The best campground we have stayed in during this three month trip. Nicely landscaped, wide level gravel site. Good TV and very good Wi-Fi, as promised. Many amenities including the organic garden and mini-golf. Wish we could have stayed longer. Very friendly and efficient owner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Lovely park -- best we've found in 30 years of RVing. Every attention given to the comfort and convenience of the visitor, including double showers for those needing assistance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
This is probably the nicest overnight park we've ever been to. Check in was quick and easy, and the store was the most well stocked I've ever seen at an RV park. The U Pick organic garden is awesome. The sites are level and for a road-side park, decent sized. There was plenty of space to walk our dog, which was also nice. Compared to most places we've stayed, High Plains has the best amenities and was a very nice place to stay. I'd definitely stay again, should we ever find ourselves in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Wow, we were pleasantly surprised. This was a GREAT campground. If you have dogs, this is the place for you. Our entire site was grass. The dogs loved it. The park is large enough for a good walk and the campground has a large, fenced in dog run. One warning, there are wild rabbits everywhere. They drove our pups crazy. The showers were wonderful. Great water pressure and very clean! The owner is wonderful. She is so accommodating. The previous comment re: poor TV reception is true, but one channel came in great. We don't really care about the TV. The WiFi worked perfectly! We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Convenient to I70 and good for overnight. Antenna TV and Wi-Fi had terrible reception. Roads and sites are gravel with grass between the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
We overnighted here and it served our purpose admirably. The owner is super nice and goes out of her way to get you situated in a suitable site. She helped us locate some particular services in the town of Oakley and even made a phone call for us. The only improvements we could see would be to pave the sites and interior roads and to provide cable or satellite tv. We never use swimming pools or hot tubs/spas even if they are provided. There was remarkably little highway noise even though it is near a freeway and a very busy highway. There is a playground for kids. The trees we saw didn't provide much of shade. The entire campground was very well groomed and extremely neat and tidy. The owner has making improvements since she took it over and is doing well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
The park is OK but overpriced at $30 for one night beside the expressway. This is a traveling overnight only park. The office staff was very nice & helpful but we could not get the WiFi to work. They charge $2 additional for more than 2 guests. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
This park was one of the first ones we stayed in with the travel trailer we had just purchased. The park was gravel and generally in good repair. The sites were easily accessed. Most every site had a pull through which makes it easy on the first time RV owner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
This place was a nice stop just off I-70. The owner was very friendly. The roads and sites were gravel and in good condition. Sites were open, plenty long, and level, but just a bit close to each other. There were no trees to speak of, but this is the “plains.” Each site had a table, but due to the almost constant wind, fires were not allowed. The free Wi-Fi worked well, but there was no cable TV. Three off-air stations were available with good reception. There appeared to be several activities for families—playground, mini-golf—but no pool. Restrooms/showers were older, but clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$29
This park is right off I-70 with easy access to the park and your site. The park is mostly gravel with some grass between the sites which are mostly pull-through. It had been raining, but there was enough gravel that the roads and spaces were not muddy. Even though the park is close to the interstate, we didn't notice much traffic noise. The office was closed when we got there, but our reservation along with a map to our site was waiting for us outside the office. When I went to pay later, the lady in the office was very friendly and helpful. The park is right next to a steak house that offers a buffet as well as menu items. We opted to order off the menu and found it delicious. We would definitely stay at this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$29
Easy access to this park and to your site. Nice wide long spots.Grass in between each spot and the base of gravel is very level. The park is very well layed out and kept very clean. Owner was friendly and very welcoming. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
The only reason this park is not getting a 10 is it did not have cable. Friendly staff, clean park, wide sites. The restroom/showers were clean and had air conditioning. It was off the highway, easy on and off. My site was on the grass, it was level. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
This was a nice park for our overnight stay. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The sites are gravel and were level. There are small patches of grass between sites, but most of the campground is gravel. There was a well worn picnic table outside. No fires or charcoal grilling because of the windy and dry climate. Most of the sites do not have shade. We did have a very hard, fast rain and it did flood, but most of the water had soaked into the ground by morning. Even though the sites are side by side, they park every other one. There are 3 hot tubs, but no pool. The laundry room is large with public internet access if you do not have your own. Washers are $1.50 and dryers are at least $.50 but more likely $1.00. There is a lot of free travel information for surrounding states in the laundry room. Wi Fi is free and was a good connection. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Great campground for an overnight stay when heading through Kansas on I-70 or US 83. Easy on-off of both roads, but the large sign for the campground is after the entrance when driving north on US 83. Extra long pull-throughs are level and roof-top internet satellite dish friendly. Good restaurant adjacent to the campground. We are full-time RVers and stopped for the night as we have before and will again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Just our kind of campground. Roomy sites, rural type setting, large grassy areas for walking the dogs, very nice owner/operator. Not a "resort" type place, but we don't look for pools, spas, hot tubs, games, get-togethers, or "activities". We like a clean, roomy, quiet, friendly campground, where we are comfortable with the dogs, where the hookups are well-placed and work well, and where the in-and-out is easy. We were in a 40' motorhome towing a car and it was very easy to get around without unhooking the car. We will definitely stay here again, if we are here again at days' end. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
Long level pull thru sites, and the Wifi was excellent. Ample facilities in the restrooms, and they were spotless. The store is very well stocked, and the prices are reasonable. It was surprisingly quiet, even though I-70 is very close. The nearby Colonial Steakhouse was very good. We will definitely come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$27
Like many Western campgrounds this is a gravel parking lot. Sites were large and mainly pull thru. No cable, but about 4 stations available with the batwing. Staff nice. Very nice laundry room and cheap also. Good for a one nighter. Easy in and easy out. Very windy, but that not their fault. We would return. Rates is Good Sam rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
Great place to spend the night, very friendly, clean, and easy access, would come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$33
This park is very clean, has easy on/off access (even for big rigs)from I-70, and the staff is very friendly. The wifi was not working, and the power plug socket was broken on our site. We discovered that problem after it was too late to get someone to fix it. The socket was broken and we had to keep getting up every few hours through the night to get it to make contact. My biggest problem with the park? It's too pricey for what you get. Rates of about $20.00 would be more appropriate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
When I first pulled into this campground I was leary about staying here. I did decide to stay and I am glad I did. The laundry room, campstore, and bathrooms were spotless. The staff was very friendly. There is not a lot to do in Oakley, KS and the campground is a great place to stop for a couple nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$24
Campground on the corner of I70 and Highway 83. Good signage and wide entrance to campground with good area to stop and register. Office friendly and efficient. Good access roads to flat pull-thru but narrow gravel sites. Sites could have done with a bit more maintenance. Laundry was spotless with plenty of machines and also travel guides/information. Surprisingly muted road noise. Good place for overnight or visiting Monument Rocks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$24
This was one of the nicest campgrounds we stayed in during our month-long cross-country trip. The bathrooms were the cleanest we've ever seen! The staff were all very pleasant. When we woke and discovered we had a flat tire the female owner/manager came with an air compressor and then called ahead for us to the tire repair shop in town where we could get the flat fixed. Less than 50 yards from the campground office is the Colonial Restaurant which served the best cheeseburger we ever ate! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
What a breath of fresh air! This is one of the nicest campgrounds we've seen in awhile. We are fulltimers meandering around the midwest and the campgrounds in Montana, Wyoming and Nebraska (that we hit) left much to be desired. This place is definitely someplace I'd stay for awhile if there was more to see in the area. The help was extremely friendly and helpful, the bathrooms sparkled, the laundry room was spotless and loaded with traveling info, and the camp store-wow-I don't think I've seen such a well stocked, neat and not a speck of dust on anything (NO layers of old dust on the canned items like most camp stores). And the way they park the rigs, all the fifth wheels in one row (with their diesel trucks in front) then behind the back ends of the fifth wheels the next row is all class A motorhomes. WOW I loved the organization. It's clear to see from everything involved that the owners have Rv'ed and they take pride in their establishment. They should be proud I wish there were more of them out there, not just someone who thought they'd make a quick buck off some campers. The only reason I did a "9" instead of a 10 is because the interior roads are gravel and there's no pool (we personally never use the pools anyways) We prefer a Hot tub anyways, which this place has three of. Great Park. We'd most definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
Very nice campground. Grass sites, but were level, we never unhooked. The restrooms were very nice and clean, the laundry was the nicest one we've been in. They had a tv set, a computer, magazines, iron and ironing board, tables and chairs, and travel info in the laundry room. Very nice playground, the only negative was the putt putt golf, and it looked as though they were working on it. Nice sprinkler play area. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2006
$22
Well first of all they charged for wireless, I'm sorry but that is unacceptable. Sites were not paved and very dirty. Other people staying here were very strange. Staff was very nice though. It was the closest place on our highway route. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
Stayed there last Labor Day weekend for a family rebellion (reunion). This is as nice as any campground I have stay at here in Kansas. The help is friendly and one of the better campground stores I have be in. Sure beats having to find a grocery store for that bottle of mustard. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$23
Very friendly place to camp, owners are very friendly. This campground has a lot of remodeling going on, with new owners. We have camped there twice this year. We were very impressed with restroom cleanliness and outstanding inside painting theme. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com