214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Mill Creek Campground & RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (785) 636-5321
CGID1159

Mill Creek Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
47
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   7   9   8   6   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
Great staff and an overall hidden gem of a park. Gravel sites in a treed setting. Ours was a pull through 100 feet from a nice creek/river. No cable, but digital channels were excellent. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
Very nice clean campground. Dirt roads but well maintained. Clean picnic tables, freshly painted, no junk laying around. Very good Wi-Fi. Only drawback was noise from a train track that ran close by. Wouldn't have been as bad if we could have been farther from tracks. Nice people, well managed. Not much in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
Charming town and the owners have done a great job making this a nice park. Everything worked great, the down side is the train noise and the locust this time of year (nothing they can do about that) very noisy. Good overnight stop and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Very friendly staff. Very little road noise. Good dirt and gravel interior roads site was level. Campground is kept very clean and well manicured. Downside is the long freight trains that are parallel to campground. Pretty loud, but they are going slow so not so bad, with windows closed. The tiny town of Paxico has 3 amazing antique stores one of which is staggering and filled with a lot of great stuff. Definitely worth a visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Very nice CG. Close to I-70 but no road noise. There is a railroad track very close to the CG, but didn't bother us with the a/c on. Nice hosts and lots of site room with a huge area to walk dogs. Utilities worked perfectly. Some shaded sites and a storm shelter is available. There is a small bar/grill within walking distance that has bar food that was very good. I would recommend as a 1-2 day stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Great campground next to a nice little stream which I am sure is very nice in the spring. We really enjoyed staying here and it was busy. The only drawback were the trains that ran all day. However, they seemed to stop at night and so we got a good nights sleep. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
Mill Creek CG in Paxico, KS is a new stop for us. It is few hundred yards distance from I-70 so car/truck noise is a small concern. The sites are gravel, spacious; plenty of room to run the dogs or in my case hit practice golf balls. They have a nice strong, free wireless and we even had some shade trees. The owner/host was very pleasant. Paxico is a blink town – you blink and you missed it. The closest good restaurant ( as recommended by the owner ) and grocery was about 8 miles away from our site so come with your refrigerator fully stocked or plan on driving. Our satellite dish worked fine and our weather radio picked up a NOAA weather radio station ( Kansas does get tornadoes, the park has a storm cellar and we heard distant storm rumblings while we were on site ).Their bath facility ( 3 showers, two toilet stalls were more than adequate but their laundry – 1 washer and 2 dryers was old and had seen better days.They do have a nice kids playground. Our price reflected a Good Sam discount. The possible bad news is that the rear of our rig was less than 100 yards from the train track which at times ran every 50 minutes with horn blaring and from the start to finish of every train took slightly over one minute to pass our site. Every passing train was a rig shaker. If you’re a light sleeper, this will not be a place you can enjoy. If there were no trains to deal with I would give this park a 9 but because of the trains and the associated noise I give them a 6. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
Just an overnight stop but a really nice campground. Full hookups but no cable. TV reception with antenna has four channels. Long pull through sites. Lots of shade in our area of the park. If you love trains this is the place for you. Many trains during the day that blow the horn for crossing at campground entrance. During the night, though, not too many passed. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
Wonderful park.Very Clean, well maintained. Electric power good. Water pressure good, but very hard water. Satellite access depends on the site & trees. It is easy to get to. Follow information in travel RV book. But there is a train track you must cross to get to park. If you take it slow it's manageable. We were in 45 ft rig with attached vehicle. We heard 3 trains in the afternoon, but none during the night. The host/ owner very nice. I would stay here again, next time for longer than one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$17
Nice little park right off the highway. Old, but owners try to keep it clean. I would use this park again especially as a one night stop over. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Great place for overnight off I-70. Excellent Wi-Fi connection. Clean restrooms and showers. Large level sites. Super nice hosts. Plenty of shade sites available. Storm shelter on site. Overall well maintained facility. Would stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Nice small park that was laying out by an RV person. All roads and sites are good gravel and wide . Sites are very wide and long. Hookups are side by side but due to large sites it was no problem at all. Sites are level, have water, sewer, 30/50 amp with no dips in voltage plus lots of green grass around the site. Wi-Fi was on all sites, free, and fast. Verizon cell and air card worked well. Sat. TV will work on most sites and all if you have a dish on the ground. Bathrooms and showers were super nice. Park has a storm shelter that is more in the ground than on top of it. It was was made with heavy cement walls and top, a nice item to have around this part of KS. Play ground equipment for the kids. Only issue is the two train tracks are very close to some sites. I would guess in 200 feet and the big boys run all the time day and night. They were not a problem to me but some people may not like the noise. I-70 is on south side of park and you can hear some noise from that as well on outside but not inside. Owner was very nice at check in. We liked the park a lot and will return. Rate was on Good Sam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
Stayed 2 full days at this nice campground. All drive through sites, level, 30 & 50 amp available. Camp Host was very nice. Easy access to Highway 70. Will recommend to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Reasonable overnight campground traveling on I-70. Campground has good access, but is sort of hap-hazard in layout. It seems like some sites are in the street and other places the street is in the sites. Good gravel, level sites however. One third of campground appears to permanent / construction worker sites and another third seem to be a regular crowd. Worst issue is noise from either the Interstate or the train that seems to run about every 2-3 hours, 100 yards from the campground. Some of the staff didn't seem to know what was going on but the owner was helpful with assistance. Some of the sites have a distinct sewer smell, this may because of all the rain in the area and was only objectionable when the wind was not blowing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
It is practically on top of the railroad tracks. Cute but I asked the person at the office if the trains were noisy, and she said she doesn't notice them. RIGHT! I asked how often they run, and she said 2 times an hour. I asked my husband if he wanted to reconsider but NO. Paid $5 for firewood that was wet and didn't burn. The trains truly ran 2 times an hour, every hour all through the night. Couldn't sleep much, got up, didn't even take a shower, and got out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This campground was very nice, well run with friendly hosts. Railroad runs until about 10:00 PM, and only short runs of cars. The town of Paxico is cool and is worth checking out when camping here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$28
Close beside active train tracks, however, long pull through sites and much area in the campground to walk on grass or take hiking trail. Very convenient off of I-70 about 20 minutes west of Topeka, 20 minutes south of Manhattan and 50 minutes east of Abilene. In beautiful Flint Hills and Tall Grass area - many scenic drives close by in the beautiful prairies. Come here for the scenic drives and nice getaway from city areas. Much better than available campgrounds in Abilene if you are going to visit Eisenhower Museum. Lovely scenic place. PP limit is 2 days. Town of Paxico, population 200. We stayed for 3 days and found it restful and enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
The campground no longer honors Passport America but is a Good Sam participant. Park has storm shelter. Previous reviews mentioned old trailers here but there aren't any now. Nice shade trees. Lady who checked us in was very nice. The only reason for the seven is because the train does run right beside the campground and it is a mile off the highway. Would stay here again on our way to Denver. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$17
The lady in the office was friendly. This is a campground where whole families are living in older trailers. We were one of the two non-residents for the night and we were put side by side close to the train tracks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$13
We needed a park with long pull thrus, and this park has several. A well kept park and access is fairly good. Downside, not the friendliest folks operating it, or we hit them on a bad day. The worst part, is that the long pull thru sites are right by railroad tracks, with a frequent trains day and nite and there is also a crossing nearby. If it is late,or a long pull thru is a must,then this park is for you. We will most likely not stay here again. A PP America park so the rate is reasonable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2008
$13
This would have been a pleasant stay, except, we were given site "M". The site was not level, it was within a foot of an old 5th wheel that was falling apart, the water connection was under a huge wooden box that I had to lift up, and the railroad track was within a few feet of our bedroom. When we walked around the park later, we found nice, long level sites (all empty), that would have been great. Sometime you wonder where these RV park people have their heads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
Clean park with friendly owners. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
This was a late night stop over which was fine. Easy access and set up. No frills but a very pretty green campground on I 70 just west of Topeka. Very convenient to highway, but no noise down in the hollow...except for trains at the far end. Not a problem for us, with air running. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$13
Quite campground in a beautiful setting along Mill Creek. Close to a local winery and small Historic Village. Far enough from the interstate that there is no highway noise. Gravel sites were good size with a picnic table provided. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$9
This was a nice surprise. A very nice RV park. The spots were long and very level. We would definitely go back. We had to cut our stay short because of a repair problem with our rig. The owner was very helpful in finding us a repair shop. We hope to visit the park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$20
A sort of fun place. A walk into town, if your active, is easy and the restaurant has excellent home made pies and some sandwiches; but it closes early - maybe at 5 PM. The trains are a challange but not overly hurtful unless your a light sleeper. Contrary to one comment here, trains do blow horns in both directions but because the west bound one does so on east side of town its barely noticeable. Would stay here when trying to line up schedule for getting through Kansas City in non-rush hours or weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$22
Located next to a railroad track in a quaint little town with lots of antique shops. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2004
$24
This is a jewel of a campground. Everyone was friendly and helpful at check-in. The park is well maintained and is spotless. The trains passing by were were interesting and no bother at all. We will definitley stay here again as we travel through the state. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2003
$22
This is a lovely, well-maintained campground. The sites are level gravel and ample in size. The grass was well cut. There is a storm shelter on the premises. The personnel are very friendly. The only drawback is the noise of the train, but this is offset by the campground's proximity to stores within walking distance. A short distance away, there is a store which sells Kansas wines, which may be sampled, and other food and gift items. We wanted to attend church on Sunday morning, and there is a beautiful historic Catholic church nearby. Would definitely stop again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Very nice park. Flat pull thrus on gravel. Easy to manuever through park. Very clean and well kept. Adjacent to town of Paxico which is small but has 9 antique shops and 1 cafe. Would have given higher score except next to train tracks. The trains pass by quickly with no whistle noise. We would make a return visit here if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Very clean, flat sites, plenty of room. Would have given a 9 except very close to r/r tracks. Trains came by several times during our overnight stay. Really wasn't bad, went by pretty fast. Campground is within walking distance to small town of Paxico, which consist of 7 or 8 antique stores and a small cafe. Great overnight stop for us. Would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$18
We are new at the RV game and found this park very nice. We could walk into town and do the antique shops and lunch. It is close to the rail road tracks, but we love the sound of trains. Check out was 11:00, but my hubby and a migraine and it was no problem. We were told to stay as long as we needed. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2000
$17
Nice clean park, pull thrus, storm shelter, fishing. Only thing wrong close to railroad, about 6 - 7 trains per night. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com