223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Ashland City RV Park (Kreher Park) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (715) 682-7061
CGID11627

Ashland City RV Park (Kreher Park)

Camp Information
Sites
33
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   9   3   6   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
This city run campground is very close to town. The interior roads are on asphalt and are full of potholes. All of the sites are on weedy packed gravel. Some sites are larger then others and all sites are back-ins. The sites overlooking the lake were taken by monthly renters. Almost all of the sites were taken by 3 P.M. during the middle of the week. Reservations are taken only for monthly stays only. The utility box contained 20/30 amp service. The electrical voltage was a little weak, hovering around 119. The electrical box and water spigot were on the appropriate side. The dump station was located on a sloop, making it hard to drain the tanks properly. The campground has WiFi but we did not use it. Verizon air card and cell phone worked well here. There were 3 showers per sex and you needed the code to use them. The separate bathrooms were for the public as well as for the campers. The showers and bathrooms were clean but not very appealing. We did not use them. There is a camp host onsite. There is a EPA Super Fund project going on next to the campground. This will last at least for 2 years. The only entrance to the park was being worked on while we were there. There was some noise from the construction site but it was not that bad. The campground was quiet at night. We would come back to this park if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
A wonderful little park in the heart of Ashland. No reservations and no plastic accepted. Cash or check. Self register, very easy. Recommend arriving early afternoon to claim your site. Make sure there isn't a receipt on the post at your site. That tells your someone has it already. The park fills quickly by late afternoon. Sites are open and very level. Easy satellite setup. No big trees in the way. Kids can swim from the lake beach very close by. Can't say enough about Ashland. We were so impressed with this small, but very clean and beautiful downtown district. They have maybe 15 +/- outside building wall murals that are simply amazing! Two ladies did them all over several years. Local restaurants are real nice and people there were so courteous and friendly. It is a great place to stay to get to the Apostle Islands tour if you're towing your car. Enjoy! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This is a great park in the heart of Ashland. Some of the other reviews I read were not very positive and I'm not sure why. The sites were some of the largest we've ever experienced, most other RV parks would cram two campers in the sites, this park reserved for just one. The trees weren't large, but they are growing. The grounds were very well kept and the park sits right on Superior with a fabulous bike trail that goes for miles around the lake--wish we would have had our bikes! Also, if you are a fishing person, there is a really nice boat ramp adjacent to the park. It's a great location for checking out Bayfield and the rest of the area. We would definitely go out of our way to camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Nice park with a great location in Ashland. Beautiful view of Lake Superior and old iron ore dock. Located next to a swimming beach, boat launch, and a running/walking/biking path that follows the waterfront. The park is open (very few trees), but most of the sites are spacious and look to be able to accommodate larger RVs. The bathrooms/showers were OK. They weren't excessively dirty, but the facilities are older and showing their age. On the plus side, the showers were hot and free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$17
Ashland’s Kreher RV Park has 33 rentable sites with water and electric (14) 50 amp, (19) 30 amp, but no sewer. The sites are gravel and not very level. There is a dump station but it is on an incline, making it very difficult or impossible to completely empty your tanks. There are showers located in the public area of the park but they are locked except for the hours from 6:30-10am and 6-9:30pm. The rate is $30 per day or $550 monthly. We camped in site #23, a 50 Amp waterfront site renting it for one month. This site is adjacent to the public area of the park including a children’s playground. The park has no curfew and we observed unsavory activities late at night that made us question the level of security. There is no barrier separating the public area from the RV area except a shallow drainage ditch. If fact, there is a footbridge that connects the playground to campsites #22 & #23. This created constant foot and bicycle traffic through our campsite, by local residents as well as other RVers. Many people here seem to be genuinely ignorant of basic campground etiquette; others just don’t care if they offend. When we brought this to the attention of park authorities, we were told that the people here are not accustomed to having boundaries. Being from Wisconsin ourselves, we expected better! This constant annoyance made this one of the most unpleasant camping experiences we have had. If privacy and security are important to you, you will not be comfortable in this campground. After noticing cautionary signs nearby, we learned that Kreher Park is situated on a contaminated landfill and is adjacent to an area designated as a Superfund site. While swimming is permitted at the park beach (there is no lifeguard) it is prohibited a short distance away due to the presence of toxic sediments. For official information, go to: www.epa.gov/region5/cleanup/ashland/pdfs/ashland_rod_201009.pdf. The Iron Ore Dock, a current attraction, has been designated as being unsafe and is scheduled for removal 2011/2012. Our experience in Ashland outside of the park, has been very pleasant. In fact, the people of Ashland are clearly proud of their city and they make visitors feel welcome. The one exception is the local coin laundries which are a disgrace and greatly over priced. The laundry in nearby Washburn is nice and cost is reasonable. Ashland’s many murals, brownstone buildings, unique shops and cafes are a unique feature. The town has many areas to bike and public parks for recreation. Although Kreher RV Park is in a beautiful setting with gorgeous sunsets, we would not have stayed here if we had known about the situations we described. We will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Kreher RV Park is the city campground of Ashland,WI. Having recently stayed at another city campground, we have a good basis to compare the two parks. Both parks had nice adjoining beaches, fire pits, picnic tables but here the similarities end. This park has shower facilities that are only open from 6-9 both AM and PM, has no Wi-Fi, the sites are gravel and only somewhat level as opposed to paved in the other park. If you are here for a month, then you probably got a 50 amp hook up. Otherwise, plan on 30 amps. They have no site sewers but do have a dump station and their $30.00 per night ( $10.00 increase from the 2010 rate ) was $5.00 more than the other city park and in our estimation is OVERPRICED for what they give you. Kreher’s dump station is not level but is on both sides and so you need to check it out to maximize the emptying of your tanks. Campers staying in Kreher for a month at a time get to make reservations. The rest operate on a first come, first served basis for available sites, so arrive early to have a chance at a site. Our Verizon cell worked as did our Mi-Fi but the latter was kind of slow. We ended going to the in town McDonalds and posted our blog photos from their site while enjoying coffee. Lastly, their address is 310 Prentice Avenue. We tell you this because this information is not available on any internet sites we came across and nobody seems concerned enough to make this correction/addition to their internet listings. Their sites are spacious with grass around the gravel and viewing the 12 huge building murals and a visit to the Benoit Cheese shop, (23920 County Hwy F ) in Ashland is a great way to see the area and entertain yourself. If coming to the park as a drive in camper, get off the road early to have a chance at getting a site. One last comment, we had our 30 power pedestal cause a problem. The host and maintenance foreman for the park was there to remedy (replace parts) within 15 minutes. That kind of response is a huge plus in every camper's opinion including us. Well done and thanks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
As described by previous posts. Didn't give it a higher score because sites are gravel, no sewer hookups, and not all sites are really level. We barely made leveling out with jacks at site #16 without having to add blocks to keep support under rear tires and jacks. Limited hours for use of showers in morning and evening at least at this time of year. Good Wi-Fi is available at the Great Northern Lakes Visitor Center on Hwy 2 at west end of town and is much better than at the Vaughn library at Main St. and Vaughn. Wal-Mart super center at east end of town on Hwy 2. We had service on our car at the Honda/Toyota dealership and were very satisfied with service and cost. We would definitely return if in the area again. A beautiful spot and a good value We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
The location is fantastic--right along the lake shore with a sandy swimming beach and boat launch, and also next to the historic giant Ore Dock. The campground is level and grassy. Open sites for good sat signals (as OTA signals are limited). No sewer hookups, but there's a free RV dump for campers to use. Wonderful town! Historic brick buildings, 19 large painted murals (some a full block long!), nice paved bike path along the lake, and shops all within a few blocks. Quiet and peaceful with great sunsets! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Lovely city RV park next to bay that leads into lake superior, on water, off US2 by Ore Dock. Sits in the shadow of a huge old iron ore dock. interesting but quiet area of state. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com