206572 User submitted reviews online!!
Sundowner West Camper and Recreational Park (Closed) was rated 6 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (785) 823-8335
CGID1163

Sundowner West Camper and Recreational Park (Closed)

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   7   3   8   5   8   1   10   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$1
Phone number is disconnected and the sign for the campground was taken down off the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$26
This is a good park for big rig over night. I think it also would be nice for families as the overall campground is large and the spaces are roomy. They supposedly had Wi-Fi but there was no signal. Restrooms seemed pretty good. Very convenient to the Interstate. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
Not well marked as we pulled in, unsure as to where to stop to go into office. Advice given was to go pick out a site. Very old park, not very well maintained. Trash cans overflowing. Didn't use restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
This campground was nice with long pull through sites. Lots of space between sites. Asphalt pads with grass in between. Great place to stay along I-70 regardless which way you are going. Price was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
Easy access ½ mile north of I-70. Older campground located in a rural setting among rolling hills west of town. Checked in by a humorless grump. Hard pack gravel/asphalt sites with large grass space between sites. Lots of room to maneuver on the interior gravel roads. Mostly shaded tiered level sites adjacent to a pond. Water and electric worked well. Sewer was at rear of site. No caps on the sewer connections. No cable and 11 off air stations. Good cell phone coverage and did not use the park’s WiFi. Lots of dog waste and duck droppings all over the park, don’t wander around after dark. Residents living on the property drive too fast stirring up dust and placing RV'ers at risk. Would want to check out the KOA or other campgrounds in the area before returning. Don’t think we will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
This is a great campground for an overnight stay. Close to the Interstate. Fairly level large sites. Some shade trees. Nice little pond/lake. The geese made walking a chore as they left droppings everywhere. The school buses speed through the camp but all in all we would stop again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
I feel obligated to report the condition of this campground to the public. Every sewer connection at every site was wide open without any covers. The garbage cans on our site and elsewhere were full. Trash all over the ground. The place itself could be attractive if kept up. But because of the unsanitary conditions, I do not feel it is safe to stay there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
An interesting park. Great for a night's stop on the road. Peaceful, but not far off the highway. Enjoyed sitting out during the evening and enjoying the peace and quiet. A little pricey but very clean, nice surroundings and just a good place to spend the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
We pulled in here after hours, picked a space, and paid in the morning. This is a Good Sam Park so the rate is with the discount. (They don't ask for your card.) Space was plenty long, level, and easy access. We used none of the amenities other than the space which worked out fine for the night. It's about a half mile off I-80 so it's easy to get to. Our rating is based on the above, as we didn't use any of the other amenities. If passing through, we would stay again, as there is sufficient room between spaces, and the utilities were good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
Good spot for overnight stay. Long pull thrus, gravel & pretty level. An older park and office area needs repairs. But the parking sites are nice and they have quite a few sites with trees. Would stay here again if traveling through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
Great park, lots of room between sites. Great WiFi inside the trailer. Only stayed one night, but would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
Perfect overnight stop. Close to highway but far enough not to be bothered by noise. Office is sparse. Staff is very friendly but not uniformed and office smells like cigarette ashtray (WELCOME weary travelers!?). Sites are hard pack gravel (old chip and seal), plenty wide and extremely long pull-throughs that are pretty darned level. Grass between sites. Some odd ponds next to property are off limits and not entirely pretty to look at. Pool is small and on this day seemed inundated with what appeared to be a couple dozen locals (?). Electric boxes are tired but functional. Sewer hookup was scary. Ours was above ground an uncapped (with slight odor, naturally). But for an overnight stop, it's all good enough. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
Long pull through spaces. The site was clean, but the pool wasn't. There was a thin layer of dirt on the bottom. The price is very reasonable and we would come here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
Rate reflects weekly rate. Long, pull-through sites and fairly level. Some trash blown through the campground. Nice pond stocked with fish. Excellent Wi-Fi. Very quiet. No noise from highway or permanent residents. A flock of geese to eat your stale bread. Laundry is fine - 5 washers. Take a site close to the pond away from the rest of the crowd. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
First impression was not good. Entrance hard to turn into with no signs as to where to go or where to stop. Office was not open until that evening and then only for 3 hours. When we did go into office, it was not clean and had smoking and other odors. Park had gravel with a little blacktop mixed in for streets. Park is on a hill so no sites are level. Would stop here only in an emergency again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
OK for an overnight stay. Some garbage on the grounds and the restrooms allowed smoking and were not the cleanest, but again for the price/location and an overnight it works reasonably well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
Good overnight park with clean facilities and functioning connections. Nothing fancy but good for an overnight. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Nice stop-over, convenient to the interstate exit, easy pull throughs with hookups. Nice campground that we only saw briefly. Salina was extremely hot with a record high of 112 degrees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
Okay park for an overnight. Not too far off the Interstate, but still far enough to not get any traffic noise. Long pull-through gravel sites that are fairly level side to side. Sewer connections are questionable at best. Just a PVC pipe sticking out of the ground at odd angles with no threaded connection or other fitting, so all you can do is stick the end of your hose into it. Some sewage odor since you are very near their "holding" ponds. Also, there is a flock of tame geese that leave their markers everywhere so you must be careful where you step. We might stop again for an overnight stay. Rate shown reflects Good Sam discount plus Good Sam $5 off coupon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
Pros: Easy in / out, all pull through's, bathrooms (used at 9am Friday) were pretty clean. Con's: Wi-fi did not work, 30 amp hook ups worked as long as you only ran one thing at a time. When we would use air conditioning (100+ weather) along with water heater, breaker would trip. Campground is positioned on a slight incline and sewer connections are on the high side of each campsite, so even with a sewer hose support, hose will not drain properly. First night we stayed, we wanted to leave our bedroom window open due to the constant breaker issues, but the smell of sewer throughout the campground would not allow us to keep the window open. When we asked the guy at the counter for a recommendation of a pizza place in Salina, he just laughed and said "no one knows good pizza around here." This campground is advertised as an "Oasis in the Midwest". No thanks, I will continue to the next "Oasis", thank you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
As others have said, close to I-70 but no road noise. Was easy in and out, manager gives direction to your site as roads in park were a little confusing. Power, water and sewer worked as they should. Gravel sites a little narrow, we were able to level without any trouble. Nice over night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
This campground was fine--nothing wrong with it but nothing to set it apart either. The campground was clean, as were the restrooms. It was a good place to stay for a night when traveling but we wouldn't stay more than one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$26
This is a lovely park in a rural setting. It is 1/2 mile from the interstate and has no highway noise. We arrived when the office was closed, filled out the registration form and found a level site for our 38 footer. The park, while not new, is well kept and provides full hookups (50 amp). The sites have old blacktop and gravel pads with extremely large grassy lots. There are many trees and and a fishing pond. The rate is with a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
We arrived in a 40 foot motor home. No one was in the office. The sites are on a hill and many were obviously not level. We selected a site that appeared to be the most level. We pulled into the site and could not level. The front end was too low. We left and went to another campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
Stopped at Sundowner West RV on the way to Arkansas. It was a easy check in. The people were sociable. This is one of many stays at Sundowner West RV Park. It was very enjoyable found it very clean. The lake made the stay feel very comfortable. We will stay here when ever we travel though Kansas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This is a rural park that is nice and quiet. It is a bit outdated, but is was quiet with lots of space to walk the dogs. We were greeted by friendly staff. We had a full hookup site, but did not use the sewer service because it was on the uphill side of our site. It appeared that all sites where like that because of the orientation of the sites. The price was very reasonable the park is easily accessible from the interstate. We stopped here while traveling from Colorado to Kentucky. We did not use the bathrooms or showers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
We were going to stay here for a month, but only stayed here for 2 days. Lots of kids, lots of full timers, lots of dust. Staff friendly, just not what I was looking for. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Lots of local people in the pool, we did not use it. Park overlooks a shallow lake, lots of large ducks that left deposits over most of the campground. Good for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Great place for an overnight stay. Big pull through sites, many with 50amp. Pool smaller in size but not tiny as compared with others we have seen. It was very clean. Kids from the adjacent mobile home park were here as were several locals, it appeared. No trouble for us. Not a lot of shade but big sites. Easy in and out with a big rig. Sewer caps are missing on many sites. Pond appears to have lots off fish. Resident geese to feed as well, and surprisingly well behaved when fed! Wouldn't want to stay a week, but overnight was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
Easily accessible long pull through spaces. You can pick your own space. Nice setting near lake. Distance between coaches is good. Office is only open from 4:30 to 7pm. Sewer connections were uncapped and many were broken so you could not seal sewer connection. They never dumped the trash cans in the week we were there. They would remove the bags placed on top of the 3/4 full trash barrels. The smell was nasty from the rain that added to the trash cans. The restrooms and showers needed a good cleaning, and the trash can was overflowing. The shower room was hot, and I had to start the room air conditioner going immediately to make the room tolerable. I could barely reach it, and I am 6'2". The laundry room was filthy. If not for the room air conditioner it would have been unbearable and smelly. We had to figure out how to turn on the air ourselves, and it was not running. The washers and dryers needed repair or replacement. Only the middle dryer worked properly. One dryer had a jagged metal edge that caught clothes and damaged them. We felt sorry for the Cocker Spaniel puppy who was allowed to be chained up outside all day every day. There is a very small pool. We did not feel comfortable using it because of the teenagers from the adjoining trailer park making it their personal playground. Rate is based on weekly rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
We stayed two nights so we could visit the Eisenhower Presidential Center and Russell Stover Chocolate Factory and some other places. We have stayed at this park a few times over the last 20 years and its very adequate. Sites are not close together and have good view of lake. Very good WiFi. You pick your own site after registering. Noted the store is depleted and not much in there. Very good overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
This park has an interesting layout on a slope overlooking a nice pond with several pairs of friendly domestic geese. All of the sites have paved driveways and are quite level although the grass between the sites is on somewhat of a slope. Wi-Fi was just okay where we were since there were several trees between us and the transmitter. Select a site with a clear view of the Wi-Fi transmitter on the office for good reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
A couple notes about this park. Be careful on the county road leading to the park. It is rather narrow. Although the park has a map to its sites and the 50 amp sites marked, I found a couple errors. In addition, our sewer connection didn't have a cap and had grass growing into it. I ran water just to check flow before dumping. Nobody in the sites below me complained about backup so I guess the system wasn't clogged in our row. We would stay here again. It looked as if the families that were here were having fun on this holiday weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
This is an older park with widely spaced spots. Has some trees but it's mostly non-shaded. Has lots of grass and green. It's quiet. Park needs some work and love. It is an adequate place for an overnight. Neighbors sewer was plugged which caused a back up into his hose: ugh. Probably the best choice in this part of Kansas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
We were worried crossing Kansas on a recent trip, nice campgrounds seem rather limited along I-70. This is a great place, we camped near the office the Wi-Fi worked great, the pull through site we had was absolutely HUGE, our 5th wheel and truck is 61 ft long and my brother was transporting a tractor trailer from Denver back to Indiana, there was enough room for us to pull in leave our truck hooked up, and his semi parked behind us. Office was closed when we got there, but extremely friendly on the phone and accommodating people, well kept facility, and very quiet and easy access to I-70. Would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
We paid the Good Sam rate for full hookups. This is a clean but worn, older park with generously sized sites and friendly staff. This is a decent place and rate for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
A nice overnight stay, we had no problems. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
Good spot outside of Salina, KS to stop for the night, all sites are pull-thru and many available that are long enough for coach and toad. Sites over look a small pond, pond was full of debris. Good electric and water, sites mainly level, only needed a few adjustments. Zoo down the road. Quiet area far enough from interstate so noise is not a problem. Only adjustment that could be made is the lack of trash cans in park, had to hunt down one that wasn't full. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$26
Very nice place to overnight or even spend a few days. We were there only 1 night but had a pleasant experience. Park was clean and plenty of room with wide pull through spots. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$26
This looked like a nice park at first, plenty of sites available, and a host that said, "Just pick your own". We hunted around to find a level spot. Found a nice spot and then found the sewer hookup - it was an open pipe into the ground with a rock laying on it. Sometime in the recent past someone had made a large mess which included large clumps of TP still all over the ground around the sewer pipe. We went to 2 other sites that were similar (open sewer pipes) and finally took one in a different area without a sewer hookup. The campground literature asked campers to use the large trash barrels around the area. I had to go to two barrels before I found one that was not full. They had not been emptied in a long time. We'd stay here again, but only as an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2005
$25
Nice spot for an overnighter. Most sites overlook a small lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$21
All sites were long and pull-thru. Small duck pool and pool has ducks that come by your site to eat. Park also has a storm shelter that you may need in this part of Kansas. Places to buy fuel and eat about ten miles away. No road noise here. Staff was nice. Park O.K. for couple night or week. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com