221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Rockview Valley Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (973) 293-3383
CGID11655

Rockview Valley Campground

Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   5   8   4   3   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Nice little campground for us as an overnight stop while traveling I-84 westbound. We were given a site in the "rally" area which was spacious and quiet. My only concern was that we have a 40' motor home and the entryway to the campground is extremely tight with low hanging branches. Once inside it is also very tight by the office for a turn to the area we were in with more low hanging tree branches. Also, if you are coming from I-84 and choose to go to this campground there is a approximately 135 degree left turn required onto River Road which was at the limit of our turning ability. Owner's son was friendly and helpful. Cable TV included in price. We would return if in the area if we were in a smaller rig, but don't think we would in our current rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
I am usually flexible when it comes to different campgrounds. Some great, some not but I usually try to adjust. I have to say that this time I just couldn't get past that unsettled feeling. It was quite empty of any regular campers other then seasonals. I understand October does get slow once the weather gets chillier and the kids in school. It was just unsettling as I found the place rather 'sloppy' for a campground. Sites were lacking numbers and I had trouble finding the water spigot to attach to the camper for it only to be a hose not attached to anything on the ground under the dried leaves and brush. I think it may have been originally screwed onto a board as the other sites had but didn't see anything around. Took a walk as I usually do once we get settled to see 5 empty beer cans and 1 bottle thrown off to the side in different areas. The young girl at the office was very friendly but found everyone else not. None said hello, waved or even gave eye contact of any sort. Did not have a fire ring or picnic table at the site even though we didn't plan on using one because we were leaving in the morning. The campground looked like it would have great potential and maybe its better at the height of the season but I have to say that.I wasn't feeling very comfortable here. They also just accept cash. No credit cards. I wish I have been told that upon making reservations, but I was not. I feel bad giving such a poor review. Wish I could of truthfully done better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
We stayed here one night en route heading north and were almost the only people we saw in the open grass rally field part of the park or elsewhere, which seemed odd on a late June weekend. Large bathhouse. Good cable. Wi-Fi did not work at site, AT&T 3G was a weak signal. Would probably not return because of the strange deserted feel to the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Spent the summer season (May 1-Oct 15) of 2011 and the month of May in 2012 here. Main area consists of seasonal tenants who come here for many years and have permanent porches, gardens, etc. at their sites. Annual rate of $2,150 includes winter storage. I was unable to get a good seasonal site this year as the park is filled. It is a wonderful family park with weekend activities, especially on holiday weekends and a great Halloween "trail of terror" put on by the seasonal campers at the end of the season. They have a great rally field for overnight and short stay campers. In 2012, there were some staffing changes though the excellent manager remains the same and they were still shaking down in May. Prices at the camp store are great. There is a great hiking trail up along a huge rock that gives you a great view of three states. Wi-Fi is available only at the office complex, but there are plenty of tables to work at in the rec room. My only complaint is that it is kind of expensive to have your black water pumped. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
$35, is over priced for 30amp and no sewer. We parked on the wrong side on the rally field and could not get roof top dish TV reception. Sprint cell and Internet were slow, 1 bar at best. Quiet park. No trouble making left turn mentioned in another post, start from right side of road and swing wide, no trouble. When leaving you can make the right turn if you are VERY careful and traffic allows. We went straight at the light, made left turn around in paved wide area of road just past the red light, returned to light and made easy left turn. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
We had reservations, but when we arrived, the only person on-site was the owner's mother-in-law, and she had no idea what to do with us. We finally parked in an open field which was muddy from rain. When I called earlier for reservations, I was told the sites were full hookup and 50 amp; but there was no sewer and no 50 amp sites. The campground map showed the campground as "Shippekonk Campground," not Rockview Valley Campground, but it is the same place (address and phone). I would not stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This really is a campground, not an RV park, except for the "Rally Field." Most RV sites are occupied by what appear to be permanent (seasonal) RVs. Very large tenting areas that seem to be very well done. There is a pool we did not use. We left the Tri State RV park across the river because of the noise. This one was very quiet. The unique thing we liked about the park is the large "rally field" ringed by water and 30 amp electric hookups (no 50 amp). There would be no problem parking a semi truck in these sites: swing around in the field and back up to the woods. A site on the north side of the field allows satellite reception. The park is 1.6 miles from US Rte 6 in Port Jervis. The turn from Rte 6 to River Road is a real killer. Getting back to the Interstate from River Road is even worse. STRONGLY consider going into the village and using side streets to turn and enter River Road from that direction. This is a good distance for us, and there are not many parks to choose from. We will come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Friendly staff. We camped as part of a large group that had mostly tent sites. Sites are good sized. The one camper site we used was not very level and we couldn't reach the electric hookup with 50 feet of cord unless we parked on the hill but the office allowed us to move into a different site. No sewer hook ups but dump station available. Campground has a group area as well as tent and trailer sites and rental cabins and trailers. Pool on the small side but very clean. Very small store with ice, firewood that they will deliver to your site, basic supplies as well as candy and ice cream. Playground, field, game room and even a 'baby' playground with baby swing and playhouse. The baby playground could use some cleaning up but was a nice touch since we had a 15 month old with us. Crafts for the kids, Breakfast in July breakfast with Santa was fun. Nice screened in pavilion. Hiking trail that ends in one of the prettiest views in New Jersey. This is one of the few campgrounds we been to as part of a large group that did not give us a hard time about being a little loud (30 people around the campfire tends to get a little loud). Close to Stokes State Forest and the Delaware River. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com