206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Denver West / Central City KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (303) 582-3043
CGID11658

Denver West / Central City KOA

Camp Information
Sites
71
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   7   9   9   4   9   1   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
This is not your typical KOA! We try to stay away from KOAs when we can. This one, on the other hand, was fantastic. The setting is gorgeous. Yes, it was interesting getting to the location on the top of a mountain, but the views are excellent and it's only 8 miles off the interstate. They have long, level, concrete pull-throughs, which we picked for an overnight stay. They have some head-ins overlooking the valley which I would love to come back and spend a week in. They have 2 hot tubs, a rec area, and serve pizza and wings at your site! It just doesn't get any better than this. I would love to come back here again and stay longer! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
This is the second time we camped here, and we hope there will be a third. This is a fantastic place to stay sitting amongst the mountains at 9,000 feet. The staff was friendly and helpful checking us in quickly - as they did two years prior. The sites are level with the camper sitting on a concrete slab, which are large and level with easy access to all the hook ups. We had plenty of room to set up a 12 x 12 domed canopy for cooking and eating in comfort. The wood was delivered to our site while we were gone, piled nicely under the canopy since it was raining. The bathrooms are cleans and the shower stalls are large with plenty of room. We would go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
We seldom stay at a KOA. However, we needed a place for several days along I-70 and this fit the spot. This is one of the nicest KOA's we have seen. Gravel roads/streets and concrete pads with a patio. Good voltage and water pressure. Great staff in office. As previously mentioned, it is a little strange getting to it. Here are the GPS coordinates which will lead you right to it. N 39.79099, W 105.50960 They are what we used and they are correct. Lots of mining history in this little town. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$43
Price reflects VK discount. If you make the drive out here, pay the extra money for a pull in site with a view. The drive to the park is winding with very steep grades. Altitude is around 9000 feet. You must actually pass the park and then wind your way down and back up to it several miles. We saw one fifth wheel stalled on the way to the top of the hill (probably overheated). We fought gusty winds during our stay and needed to lower the satellite and pull in slides and even encountered a dusting of snow late May. Dog area is not fenced and has no grass along the busy roadway. WiFi worked fairly well as did Verizon. Sites are concrete (and too narrow for the price IMO), but all else is large gravel and dust. Casinos are close but groceries are not. We enjoyed the view but will probably not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
Came back for a couple of nights. We lived at this park two seasons ago. It's still a great place. Owner has continued to make improvements to what was already a top-notch park. The access problem is due to City Council, who does whatever the casinos tell them to do, and the casinos think they will get more business if they force you to go through town first. Even though there is no place to park an RV in town. Yes, you have to drive it back up the hill, park on top, and take a shuttle back down. City Council definitely needs a clue stick. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Yup, it is weird to get to the campground, but follow the signs and the directions and you'll be fine. The campground has a gorgeous view, all concrete slabs, nice owners, fully stocked store, good Wi-Fi, cable TV is good too and if we ever come to this area again, we'll camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$46
Got caught in the dark, crossing the divide and had to get off the interstate. A quick web search told us this was the only place within an hour. What would be any otherwise awesome RV experience was marred only by the route to the park. Obviously, the new Central City Parkway did away their previously direct entrance at the top of the mountain. Now one must descend and ascend the mountain an additional time and navigate downtown tourist trap Central City and the related foot traffic and abysmal city side streets. Lots were quite level(concrete) and water pressure was good. There were no pull through sites available and had to disconnect our ATV trailer to back in. I will sleep in a Wal-Mart lot before I try getting into this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
This is an exceptionally nice park. Big pull through spaces with two sewer connections, strong electric supply, strong water connection. The people checking us in an helping us could not have been nicer. Very nice view from site. I did not give a 10 because the Wi-Fi was intermittent. And access to this park was difficult. You have to go around problem turns and grades to get here. You can see it from the main road but you cannot get here without going through steep narrow curvy streets downtown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
This park is in a wonderful location and has much potential if the staff was not so RUDE. The women who checked us in (from Texas ) was the rudest counterperson my husband and I have ever encountered. She made us feel like we were bothering her. Then the outside person who helped us to our site swore in front of our children. I have never felt uncomfortable at a KOA until this one. Hopefully the management fixes this issue soon as we would like to stay again. The park is beautiful and great views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
We don't typically expect much from a KOA. They are acceptable but never outstanding and always overpriced. But this one breaks the mold. It was an outstanding RV park. Nice level concrete pads, excellent hookups, and a view on top of a mountain overlooking Central City that offered some awesome sunsets. They owners were great. Two dog runs and everything perfect. It takes a bit of climbing up narrow roads from Central City to get to it but it's easily navigated in a large motor home so it's no problem. We will definitely return and stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
The view was excellent and the campground gave us easy access to some great nearby mountains (like Mt Evans). However, the bathrooms were not always clean and the women's room showers had a lot of hair in them every morning. The men's room was clean. If I went back to that area, I'd still stay there but I won't give it a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$43
We found this park to be great! We camped on the top side where there is a fantastic view. The sites have concrete pads and patio, with fire ring. The reception for Wi-Fi was very good. The steep roads to the park were really not a problem to us. The location was perfect for what we wanted to do, including driving through the Rocky Mtn. National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
This is a very pretty and well maintained KOA, nice landscaping, level concrete pads, easy pull through and back in spaces. The only drawback is the steep grade and one hairpin turn getting up to the campground. Even though you are in the mountains the parkway is very close so you have road noise all day & night and there is an apartment complex right next to the campground. I would stay there again, because it is such a short distance from the city but you are still away from it all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
We were a monthly here last year (see my July 2010 review) and came back for a one-night visit. Everything is the same. Best Wi-Fi/Internet of any RV park in the country, windy as all heck because the Continental Divide is right there in front of you (but the view is to die for), shade trees for tent campers only. Cougar/bobcat, bear, Old Prospectors and other wild creatures right outside your door. Hundreds of miles of 4WD/ATV roads & trails, including the famed Oh My God Road, within a 5-minute drive. When in Gold Country, pay attention to the "No Trespassing" signs. Those Old Prospectors are VERY serious about their claims. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Fantastic views. Great location. This was the Colorado RV vacation we sought. Very friendly and helpful staff. Fast Internet. Close enough to Denver but up in the Rockies. All in all, a great campground. We'll stay here on our next Denver trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
The park is a typical KOA. Water pressure not very good. Electric marginal. Some staff friendly. Others not. Make sure you pay for only the nights you stay, as there is a no refund policy. Nice laundry. Caution: This campground is in Central city, NOT Denver. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Staff very friendly. Good sized pitches with picnic tables. We were at the top of the hill which had beautiful views of Central City, although it can be windy! There are 2 indoor spa tubs, lounge area and a good size laundry. A shuttle bus from the campsite takes you down to Central City if you wish, not sure how regular they are. Not far to drive into town, approx 1 mile. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$44
The Wi-Fi was intermittent and we were told by a gal at the front desk that strong winds knocked it out a few days before and it had been a problem since. Then another host told me that there was nothing wrong and that it was me (it was not). The 30 and 50 amp electric was VERY low voltage (<100V) and a camp host said that it must be my rig (it wasn't - 20 amp was fine and hookups elsewhere have been fine), but said he would send someone up to check it. A while later, no one had appeared and we went out on a day trip. A new neighbor was setting up next to us as we were leaving. When we came back later that day, no one had ever checked our electric and the new neighbor had left for good. I can only imagine he had the same problem with the electric. We should have left as well. Bathrooms and laundry were clean, but for the price, I expect the electric and Wi-Fi to work properly and the hosts to not be so flippant. Worst place I've ever stayed in over a year of full-timing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
This is a nice, clean campground. A little difficult to figure out how to get to it, but worth it. Easy to get into and out of. Good Wi-Fi connection. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
The staff is very friendly and helpful, the sites are large and spacious, well groomed. There may be no pool but there are two hot tubs to enjoy. Note that the campground is on the top of a hill and exposed to the wind and elements but no mosquito's and the fabulous view make up for the this. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
Wonderful park and people. We parked "on-the-wall" which overlooks the city. WiFi best of any park we have been in this summer. We missed an offer of 3 for 2 pricing because we didn't check their website. Comments of others about the drive up the hill to the campground is accurate and it is an adventure. If ever in the area again we will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$46
We stayed at this park when it was Gamblers Edge RV Resort. Access to the campground is it's biggest drawback. The road to the campground has a 19% grade. If you have any power issues with you rig I recommend you stay elsewhere. Other than the access, it's an OK park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
Don't come here looking for a forest setting --it's basically on the top of a hill overlooking Central City, but views it has in spades. I'd highly recommend the upper sites facing the Central City overlook rock wall, but only if you have a motorhome (the hookups are on the wrong side for a pull-behind) to drive straight into the space. Spaces 43-45 still have a pretty good view of the Central City area (and they are back-in), but just not as good. The lower, pull-through sites have a view of some condos (not my thing). When we checked in our confirmation stated that we had Wi-Fi and cable. Wi-Fi was fine, but cable didn't exist. When I asked the front desk she said that cable wasn't included. I stated that it printed on my receipt and then she said, "Oh, well it's not working right now." No biggie for me because I picked up the networks over-the-air (to get the news); I didn't stay here for TV, but they should give you the full scoop when you check in. IMPORTANT NOTE: You have to drive all the way down into town in order to get to the campground! You can see it on the right when you come in via the Central City Parkway, but you can't get to it (unless you want to jump a guard rail!). Go down into town and take the first right (just follow the blue trailer-icon signs and you'll get there). Watch your brakes --it's very steep!!!! We followed a bumper pull in whose brakes were smokin'. Our price reflects a KOA discount. We will stay here again (next weekend, as a matter of fact). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We lived full-time at this campground for over four months in the summer and fall of 2010 and I must say it is one of the most, if not THE most, pleasant RV experiences I have had so far. The store is so well stocked that people from the neighboring apartment complex shop there. The owner and staff are top-notch: I have never seen staff as friendly and willing to accommodate one's needs. The water tastes pure. And the Internet / Wi-Fi access is the best I have ever seen at an RV park: fast and reliable. I would give this place six stars out of five if I could. The only drawback is the road that you must travel to get to it. The city makes you drive all the way down into town, take a very sharp corner, and then drive back up the steep hill you just descended to get there. The purpose of this is to increase gambling revenues at the casinos -- stupid because there are few (if any) places in town to park a big rig. Use low gear and exercise patience and you'll have no trouble. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$43
We stayed at this park when it was Gamblers Edge RV Resort. Now it is a KOA. Rates are about the same. It is very high up and you have to climb to get to it but we don't care because it is a great campground and worth the climb. It is centrally located and so lots to do in the area. They have a hot tub and no pool. Used the laundry and it was clean. $1.25 a load to wash and the same to dry. Sites are ample, views are great, staff was friendly. WIFI was fine until a big rig pulled in next to us and blocked our signal but that is not the campground's fault. Great place. Will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
The drive here was adventurous to say the least. Better to disengage toad - very steep. The staff is friendly and helpful, the showers and bathrooms new and impeccable, the hot tub delicious. The mountain views are breathtaking. Good Wi-Fi and satellite reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com