219086 User submitted reviews online!!
WaKeeney / Hays KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 103 user reviews. Phone: (785) 743-5612
CGID1167

WaKeeney / Hays KOA

Camp Information
Sites
79
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   10   10   8   8   7   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
I have stayed in a lot of KOAs and most look very similar in appearance. While this one didn't look a lot different than the rest, the biggest difference I noted was the way the campground was maintained. The roads and sites were gravel, but no pot holes or washout areas were present. The grass between the sites was cut neatly and not full of weeds, and the roads while not overly wide were plenty big to maneuver my 37' class A and towed vehicle to my pull-through site. I didn't have time to use the pool on this stop, but it looked well kept and clean. The office staff, two young girls, were professional, helpful and very efficient. I personally can't give a campground a 10 rating unless the sites are paved and there is a patio available, but this KOA is one of the nicest ones I have been in. I would happily stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
Office staff very difficult at best.. Very tight roads make it hard to maneuver a 40' RV. Close to I-70 so a fair amount of freeway noise. Wi-Fi was very weak. Overall not worth the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
We like this KOA and have stayed here twice before the present owners who took it over in 2009 and two times since then. The owners are friendly, helpful and truly seem to care that people have an enjoyable stay. The restrooms and showers are spotless. There is an ice cream social at night and pancakes for breakfast. We have never been bothered with any noise on I-70.The sites are gravel but level. We will always stay here when traveling in this area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$41
I gave this a high rating because it is exactly what I hoped and expected it to be -- a good way station to spend the night in the middle of nowhere. The hookups were easy, the people were nice, the bathrooms were spotless. There is freeway noise but that calms down late at night because there isn't a lot of traffic going through the middle of nowhere in the middle of the night! A perfect place to stop and regroup when driving across Kansas, midway between KC and Denver. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Clean KOA just off I-70. While close to the highway, very minimal road noise. Highway is straight and level so no trucks climbing a grade. Flat gravel sites with plenty of space and green grass with picnic tables. We were there a day before the season started so the water to the sites wasn't on but everything else was spotless. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$25
Don't usually like KOAs as they are pricey and cramped but we just needed one night to rest off the road. Was extremely cold so didn't get out much, but could tell was a nice park. Roomy spots, clean & tidy. No attendants due to the time of year, but they were friendly and helpful over the phone. Would stop here again if need be. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
Close to highway, easy access to and from the freeway. Some highway noise but not bad. Sites were level gravel pull-thru. Large enough for a tow vehicle. Staff was friendly. This was a good spot for an overnight travel stop while traveling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
I wish all RV parks could be this nice. Sites are relatively big, with grass. Pool is nice and open in September. Wi-Fi is fast. Showers are clean. I would love to come back. Nitpicking: Shower / bathroom was hot and humid despite large fans. Shower heads were only 5' 5" high (never hire a short plumber), and we were asked three times what kind of dog we have (we are a little sensitive about this). It is close to I-70 and there was some noise, especially trucks (could deduct 1/2 star) but not as bad as some. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Access is a little confusing; but if coming off the interstate, take the left right before the gas station - it looks like the driveway. No KOA sign. interior roads and pads are gravel, but hard and level. Utilities are good. Although next to the interstate, it was pretty quiet. No off leash dog area (what is wrong with KOA?) but good grass areas to walk the boss. WiFi stinks but you can link to the nearby motel and playground. This place is one of the cleanest KOA's we have used. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This is a nice overnight for our drive from Oklahoma to Denver. In August the park was only about 1/4 full. Roads are a bit narrow, but OK. Grass everywhere and a few trees. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
The hosts were welcoming and efficient. I made reservations two days ahead, and I received email confirmation with specifics. The grounds had grass and young trees. There were playground and pool, neither of which we used. Bath house was clean, spacious, and modern. This KOA was right off I 70, and so there was road noise, but there you are: It's convenient. We definitely would stay there again. Wifi was so so, but great Verizon coverage. Cable was available and hosts even offered to loan us the actual cable since we don't carry one. I declined the offer with thanks. Only reasons I rate 8 instead of higher are1) email confirmation could have included more specific directions to the place, not just exit from I 70. 2) wifi was patchy 3) road noise 4) same rate, even if not all services used We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Sites were gravel but fairly level. Restrooms were clean. Road noise was minimal. 70 cable channels. I would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
We decided to stop here on our way back to Kansas City after being in Colorado for a week. We saw their sign about 30 miles out and called and reserved on the fly. Manager was very nice and accommodating. We had a nice wide pull through site, totally level, which was great that we didn't have to unhook for the night. Cable, Wi-Fi and cell signal ( AT&T) were all great for us. It is right off of I-70, so the road noise is definitely there, but we had the AC on, so didn't notice it at all inside. They offered ice cream every evening and pancakes in the morning during specified hours, but we didn't go to either one of those. They do lack any bigger trees for shade, and a lot of the trees around the perimeter were dead, which is why we've dropped the rating down to 9. But if we were coming through Kansas again and needed to stop for the night, we would definitely not hesitate to go here again and would recommend to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
Rate reflects use of points. Clean campground, nice people who run the place. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Not much happening in Wakeeney but if you need an overnight this KOA fits the bill. Easy in and out with long sites. Noise from the interstate but hey you're in KS and almost everything is by the interstate. My biggest complaint is that the Wi-Fi was useless. I could not connect on iPhone or iPad. Ice cream tasted good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
Nice KOA with well stocked camp store. We enjoyed their pancake breakfast and their ice cream social. Lots of space between sites and in the campground. This place could use a fenced in pet walk like mosts KOAs have. Price reflects KOA member discount for Kampers cabin. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Great campground; nice hosts This is our second time to stay here and we will stay again. There are nice wide and level sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
We stayed here overnight and would stay again. The sites were level and spacious and the water pressure was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
This is nice place for an over night stop. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is right off I-70, easy to get in and out. You can't ask for more for a over night stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
This is a good park for an overnight stay. The site was a full hook up, pull thru that was very long and level. Easy in and out with diesel fuel at the same exit. The park was clean and the host friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
What a lovely campground, close to I-70 but not noisy, so a great overnight stop. Sites are all long level pull throughs so no need to unhitch. There is lots of grass, but not enough trees. The pool is lovely, and not a bad size. Everything is well kept and very nice. Wi-Fi worked well. There is a truck stop at the interstate exit, very convenient for filling up before the next day's drive. We chose a W/E site as only one night, hence lower rate inc KOA discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
Extremely friendly and professional staff; clean park, nice level, long & wide sites. Also noticed the tent camping spots looked ideal. Will definitely stay here again. Don't really remember nightly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
The rate is with the KOA discount. I can't find any cons with this campground. We stopped there on the road from Denver to Kansas City and we are glad that we did. The campground is really very nice. The sites are pull-thru sites and pretty even. They serve all you can eat pancakes for $2.50 every morning and at night they have an ice cream social for $1.50 and the best root beer float for $2. The owners of this campground are extremely nice and sure make you feel welcome. I wouldn’t camp any place else if we would ever be in the area again. The rest rooms were immaculate and so is the little dining area where the breakfast is served. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$19
Nice campground for an overnight stay. Right off I-70, easy in and out. No problems for big rigs and long sites. The staff was very helpful and friendly. If in the area I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
When we read on the KOA website, that this campground received the 2012 Presidents award, we thought it had to be good, and it was! The owners were very nice and very helpful to your needs. All sites were level and well groomed gravel. Cable TV had a lot of channels, and the WiFi was very fast. The washrooms and showers were spotless. The pool was small but big enough to cool you off. Plenty of grounds to walk our dog. Would definitely return when passing through again! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
We stayed here in a fifth wheel for an overnight. Convenient to I-70 but low traffic noise. It was a short ride on the bike into town for dinner. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Definitely not a destination park and pretty much what campers have come to expect from a KOA park in the way of ammenities. That said, it is a nice park with easy access to I70. There is some shade but not an abundance. The pool was one of the most refreshing we've found, especially given that it was 100 degrees the afternoon we arrived. The management was friendly and cooperative. Lots of grassy areas for your dog walks. Would stay again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Great place to overnight on the way across Kansas. Quick in and out for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
Great location half way between KC and Colorado Springs or Denver. Great owners who really take pride in the place; they host an ice cream social each night for $2/pp and do a pancake breakfast as well. The pool is a little small, and there is virtually NO shade so it is HOT HOT HOT in the summertime. The kids slide is a little rickety metal older model but is super tall, and there is (again) no shade over the playground either so be prepared. The KOA is very easy to find, well lit, and on the access road parallel to the highway, but I don't recall hearing highway noise. The sites are nearly perfect level so we didn't unhook and were fine; it's a perfect place for one night! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
The owners were amazing and super friendly! You want to give them business just for being so customer oriented! Site was level and hook ups, wireless and cable worked great. Our kids loved the ice cream social and it was a bargain! My only real complaints would be that the pool could be larger and the site would be far more inviting with larger trees peppered throughout. It was right off of the freeway, but the noise didn't bother us and it was worth the convenience to freeway access. We stayed here for one night on our way across the country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
Great people, great park! Definitely a park used by others on their way to and from another destination. The lots were very wide and long and level - staggered so you are not looking in to your neighbors living room window. Large field in back to walk your dog, or stretch your legs. Owners were great! If you stay there you must stay for the all you can eat pancake breakfast - it's only $2.50 + tax. We will definitely stay there again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
This price reflects the KOA member discount. Typical KOA restrooms-clean and efficient. Sites were gravel, level and spacious. Convenient, great one night stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
This is a very nice KOA. Close to I-70, but traffic noise is low. Owners are very friendly and eager to see that we had a nice stay. Restrooms were spotless. Wi-Fi was good. The grass has all been mowed and trimmed. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
Stayed here for an overnight. Very pleasant owners. Bathrooms look recently redone - except for the ceiling. Internet was good. They seemed to be in the midst of getting ready for the season so grass was not all cut nor picnic tables all out. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$36
We stayed here while coming across I-70. Very nice KOA Park with friendly staff. Pull through site very level, electric and water was up to standards. Nice place to walk our dog away from the camp sites. Allowed a nice quiet nights sleep. The only thing that concerned me is if you are east bound on I-70 and exit for the park there are not any signs directing you, I happen to see the KOA sign sticking up down a road that parallels the interstate and figured out how to get there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
This is a nice park for an overnight stay or if you have business in the area. Easy access to the interstate, but not too noisy. Good sites and easy access for big rigs. We had a nice visit with the couple who own the park during the evening ice cream social. They have made numerous improvements since taking over and are doing a good job of operating and maintaining the park. Good cable TV service with lots of channels. Restrooms/showers in great shape and very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
This is a normal KOA park: fairly small sites, but level and well maintained. The pool was nice and the showers were very clean and well kept up. There is no shade, but we were here in late September so shade is not an issue. It would be a very warm camping experience in July or August. We would stay here again. It is not a destination camp but an excellent over night stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
OK if you are extremely tired and need a pull over for the night. Would not make this a destination to be sure. Interstate noise, plain vanilla grounds. Not sure if we actually got 50amp service promised since we were only able to run 1 AC without tripping. It was struggling in 100 degree heat. No shade to speak of. Maybe in another 20 years when the little trees have matured. Some artificial shade over picnic tables might add some character. Certainly overpriced. Female desk person curt. Wi-Fi and cable TV ok. We would definitely not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
This park is one of the best we have ever stayed in for many reasons. Although they do not have shady sites, absolutely everything else is great. The staff are probably the friendliest people we have ever met at a KOA. Everything is clean, and their "Pet Walk" is maintained, which other parks don't normally do. We have stayed here before, and will continue to do so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
We stayed here one night. Good stopover campground (in the middle of nowhere). The restrooms were exceptionally clean and even had glass-tiled walls. It ws like an upscale locker room. Good interior gravel roads and level pull throughs. We did not use the pool, but it was clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
We stayed here one night and it was a very nice RV park. The staff were very friendly and helped us to our site. Really a great place with full hookups, nice laundry and store. They even serve a pancake and sausage breakfast each morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$43
This KOA is really making improvements. At the rate they are going I would imagine in a year I would be changing my rating to an 8. Despite being located right on the highway, the campground was very quite. We just finished a 42 day cross country trip, and this KOA by far had the nicest bathrooms out of the 17 campgrounds at which we stayed. They also featured a $2 a person pancake breakfast which was excellent and a nice way to start the day. The owners were very friendly and working hard to improve the campground. The pool, playground, and dog area were all very nice as was the view of the farm fields located behind the campground. The sites themselves were very barren and dry and our picnic table was very deteriorated to the point of not wanting to sit at it. These were the only negatives. The campground was very good for what it was, a nice place to stop for the night while driving through Kansas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
This is a great little campground for an overnight stay. The sites are immaculate, super clean facilities, and great staff. The kids enjoyed the pool and playground. Would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
Staff was efficient and friendly. Park is located just off I-70 frontage road, but did not notice highway noise. Sites and roads were gravel which made for a dusty environment. Park is big rig friendly as roads and sites angle well to allow movement through park. Pull through sites accommodate any size coach with any number of slides without unhooking tow. Utilities were well placed and modern. Wi-Fi worked fine. Pool was not heated and too cold to use on a hot day. This is a very typical KOA as it has all the amenities, but is overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Gravel roads and level sites. Staff was friendly. Spent one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
The owner was fantastic for coming out to meet us after hours and assisting us. Site was easy to get in and out of (and we're 73' nose to tail). Some complain because it's not all concrete - well personally I think it looks a whole lot better without all the concrete - looks more like a pretty campground rather than a well laid out parking lot... Just my opinion, but I like nature. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Only reason for not giving it a 10/10 is even though the sites are level, they are not concrete. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this KOA. We stayed here (2009) before these new owners bought it, but it is the same great campground. Great location! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$31
Easy access to and from freeway; had noise from freeway but bearable. Has a good laundry and spotless bathrooms. Was okay for a one night stop. Wi Fi was good. This place is under new management and as usual, KOA seem to charge more for nothing. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$37
Nice place for an overnight stop. The owner was at the desk and she was a little argumentative. Maybe she was just having a bad day. Interstate noise was pretty bad. There were nice, level, dirt sites, clean showers and restrooms. We missed the exit as there was no sign on I-70. We would stop here again but only for a one nighter! Definitely not a 10, no hot tub or exercise room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
We keep coming back to this park, and will continue to do so. It is under new ownership, and they have big shoes to fill, but I feel confident that they will do so. Sites are long enough that there is no need to unhook, and ours have always been level. Easy access from the interstate, clear view of the sky for satellite, although they have free cable TV with more than a few stations. We'll keep coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
We don't normally stop at KOA'S as they are usually way overpriced. Not much choice in this area and we were pleasantly surprised by this one. Price is a little more than we like to pay but is not bad for what you get here. Very nice man checked us in and welcomed us. Facilities were clean and modern and utilities were well placed and good. Sites were fairly level gravel and nice sized. We use our Verizon card for Internet which was strong here so did not try park wi-fi. Decent cable tv and good view of southern sky for satellite if you choose. We would not rule out another stay here if in the area. We camped here in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Nice, small campground, good for an overnight stop. Level, gravel sites and plenty of grass for dogs. The price shown includes KOA discount. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This is a good place to stop on our drive through Kansas. There are not a lot to chose from in this part of Kansas, but this is a nice one. It isn't super pretty but it is clean, level and well taken care of. The WiFi and cable TV were very good. The people were very nice and they have an ice cream social each evening. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Used this site as a stop over on the way from Louisiana to Colorado. What's not to like. Convenient to the interstate, but I never heard interstate noise. Level lots. The owner's could not have been any nicer and accommodating. Full hookups. Finally, the pancakes that they serve in the morning are restaurant quality. I would highly recommend this stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
We used this KOA for an overnight traveling through western Kansas. The site was nice and large and well spaced and long enough for big rigs. No shade. We also used a Kabin and the campground owner had the AC on for us, which was nice in the 100 degree temp. The men's shower house was immaculate and newly refurbed. The women's shower was kind of pathetic and needs to be refurbished. The water pressure was poor and the shower plumbing seriously needs to be replaced. Hopefully a remodel will happen and the women's shower will be as nice as the men's. That's the only negative. Other than that, good experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
This is not a destination town but a very nice campground. The owners are very friendly and we enjoyed visiting with them.We also enjoyed the ice cream social and the morning pancake breakfast...both for a small very reasonable charge. The bathrooms are on the older side but are very clean and very well maintained. We stayed 1 night but agreed to return if the opportunity presents itself. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Great site. Friendly people that went out of way for us. Don't understand the low rating from other person. Great pancakes in morning. Would give it a 9 or 10 but WiFi was weak. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
Nice neat RV Park beside I-70. All sites seem to have level gravel covered driveways. No problems with the utilities although the Wi-Fi seems relatively weak since we are close to the office and have a "low" signal. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2010
$34
BEWARE OF THE NEW OWNER. We had read the great reviews for this park so we stopped for an overnight on our way east. We were the ONLY people there when we pulled in and the office wasn't open so we went into choose a site. The new owner was walking from her rig and she asked what we needed.I said water and electric only since we were leaving early the next day. She said the full hook up sites were longer. I asked the difference in price and the full hook up was $7 more. I could tell the site we had chosen was long enough so I said we would take the W/E site. She then snarled "well if you stick out you'll have to unhook". We were the ONLY people there! I told her we would unhook if that was the case. Then when we plugged in our voltage protector it said that the 30 amp plug had high voltage. We checked several sites and they all read that way. We told the owner and she said she had heard that but the 50 amps were fine. So we moved to a FHU 50 amp. That one and all the ones we checked also read high voltage. We weren't going to take the chance of frying the rig so we decided we would stay but not hook up. When we asked for the tent rate, she said we would have to move to a tent site. We were the only people there! She argued that she couldn't let us stay in our FHU site and not charge us FHU rate. She was very RUDE and customer service was her very last concern. Her only worry was how much money we would pay. Be careful of the electric in this park!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$22
The campground was clean and neat, and the facilities worked well. The staff was friendly and accommodating. She even had treats ready for my dog! The park is for sale, and, the owner believes, has been purchased. In all likely hood, it will be under new ownership next spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
Typical KOA with very friendly owner/manager on duty. We only used it as an overnight while traveling I-70 but had no problems at all. Would definitely stay when traveling in the area. Price reflected KOA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
It is an easy to find park with long, level, pull-through sites. Everything was very clean, and the showers had a dressing area. There were 70 cable channels that came in clearly. The Wireless worked well, and the owners are very nice. It is very close to the highway, so expect some noise. We will return if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
A great campground with plenty of stuff to do for kids. It had nice level sites, and cable TV that had more than 8 stations. Also had a very good dog area. We will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
This is a good campground: Level sites, friendly staff, beautifully landscaped. Ice cream in the evening and pancake breakfasts in the morning. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Convenient to the interstate so you will hear traffic noise. Smallish pool and older playground but the kids enjoyed both. Restroom/shower was clean and adequate. Ice cream social every evening and pancake breakfast every morning for an extra, reasonable, charge. Nothing much else to do but a very adequate place to overnight on the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Nice clean park. Close to the highway, so traffic noise is to be expected. Staff was extremely kind and the restrooms were very clean. Only problem with this campground was the pool area. Liner on the pool was detaching from the side. We unfortunately stayed here on the 4th of July. The sun does not go down until around 10:30 and festivities in the town started late. Not much sleep that night, but was not the campground's problem. Easy in and out and close to the freeway. Spaces were very large and we did not have to unhook. Enjoyed our stay. I hope if this place sells, the new owners keep it just as nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
Great place to pull off the freeway, and this place is close to a 10. The reason it's not, is that it's close to the freeway/noise, and the pull through sites are all gravel. Other than the two above negatives, there are MANY positives: cable TV, Wi-Fi, pool, hot tub, pancake breakfasts EVERY morning. Ice cream social EVERY evening, nice store, clean grounds, spotless bathrooms, nice mowed lawns, excellent doggy area, easy in and easy out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
We actually stopped in May and June. Facilities were much improved on the June visit. Campground is for sale but maintenance is still good. Had the ice cream and the pancake breakfast both very good. They had expanded their hours in the evening which was nice. Open until 9 PM. Still closed a good part of the day. A nice and convenient stop half way between Denver and KC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
Spaces were level. Showers and facilities were very clean and well maintained. Good for an overnight stay. Road noise was at a minimum for KOA's. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
This is the second time we camped here coming and going to Colorado for vacation from Kansas City Missouri. I would recommend it for a one or more night stay. The park was clean and open til 7PM. Management was friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
Nice enough KOA. Long pull through sites and park is well gravelled. Good wi-fi and good cable tv. My major complaint, and I marked them down signficantly for this, is the hours. The office is closed 19 or every 24 hours, open only five hours daily. If you want to register, or resolve a problem, of buy something you need, you are out of luck. Who closes a business 19 hours out of every 24? Ridiculous. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
The Cabin had a bad odor and needed repairs. The door dragging and the wood was stained and dirty. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Very nice park, attendants friendly, really a nice place to stop if passing through or to stay awhile. Very clean, well maintained grounds. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
This is our third stay here in the last 2 years. It's a good stopping point for us from St. Louis. They are always very friendly and serve a excellent pancake breakfast. You have road noise from I-70 but it really didn't bother us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
We stayed at this campground overnight on our way from St. Louis to Denver. It's a nice campground; the sites are wide and long enough to allow you to leave your tow vehicle hooked up overnight. The staff is very courteous. The store is well stocked and the merchandise is reasonably priced (this is quite unusual!). The pancake breakfast was a nice touch. WiFi service not only worked, but it was fast! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$43
Great place to stopover! Nice clean pool, daily breakfast, nice ice cream social. Big level sites. One of the better KOA's, and it shows! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Our stay here was mostly nice. The pool water was not very clean and well kept it seemed. The Pancake breakfast was nice. Everyone here was very nice and helpful and the park was overall pretty well maintained. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Great over night stop off the highway. Clean and safe campground. You won't go wrong if you need to rest after a long day driving though Kansas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$43
Good park, well kept and very clean. Easy pull throughs and very good folks to take care of you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Nice park with easy access to I-70. The staff was friendly and helpful. The sites were easy to get into and out of, were of average size, level gravel pads with a grass area for each site. Has a decent pet walking areas. They even provide a hydrant for those dogs inclined to use it. Would visit this park again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$29
Although right next to I-70, we found the campsite noise level not too bad. We were in the back. Trees are young and growing, so shade is limited. Sites have plenty of space length-wise and in-between. WiFi worked just fine, no fee. Everything was clean, mowed, and nice. Staff was very bubbly and friendly. Sites are gravel and level. Utilities were just fine. Pool looked great. Evacuation area is in the women's bathroom, not underground, not posted on campground flyer. Perhaps a bit unnerving in really bad weather. Pancakes and sausage served up on weekends (fee). Not much in the area to see, but a nice overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$29
We stayed here in the middle of a small dust storm - dreadful wind and threatening storms. We came in after hours and were able to get to a our site quickly and set up quickly. Due to the weather, we did not use any of the amenities. What we did see of the park, we could tell it was well maintained and family friendly. It was a very nice KOA park in Western Kansas. However, I won't give it a "10" because we don't like parks that charge/penalize us just for having children. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$26
We changed our route to avoid storms and still ended up pulling into this park during a tornado warning. Staff was great, and facilities adequate as we spent a somewhat wet and windy night. The park is not particularly scenic but we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
The people in this campground were very friendly. They have an ice cream social every night. The sites are a little close together and if you need a sewer hookup no matter which type of site you book you need to specify that you need sewer or they will put you in a spot that doesn't have sewer. We had to be moved after we realized we had no sewer. This is a clean maintained campground and even though it was next to the Interstate the road noise was minimal. We would stay here again for an over night stay if needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$28
Once again we weren't disappointed. We will keep coming back as long as the current owners are here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
Nicest KOA I've stayed in in a long time; will definitely be back We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
Interstate 70 across Kansas seems like a wasteland and then we found the oasis that we were looking for, the Wakeeny, KS KOA. We had planned to stay at a different location on our westward trip, but we went farther than expected. We called ahead and checked to see if they had sites available. The extremely friendly staff said, “Come on!” and we did. When we got arrived, during business hours, we found the office was closed, but a note was on the door explaining they would return soon. All of our paperwork was located outside with instructions telling us which site to go to. Only later did we find out the reason why the office was closed, the staff had taken one of the campers to a local doctor after they became ill! How about that for service? Definitely worth the stop when you are traveling through Kansas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
FINALLY a KOA that has all it's stuff together. On this 3 month trip we have been at WAR with corporate KOA and there WIFI service, this is the FIRST KOA of 8 (that we stayed) were we have connected to WIFI. Corporate says it's the local campground problem, but corporate still has their name hanging out on the shingle, they refuse to assume any responsibility, THEY SHOULD. What happened here was that WaKeeney had their head turned on straight (instead of the restof the campgrounds that were sitting on their upturned thumb), instead of saying, just 'click' on it, THEY provided written instructions and in those instructions you will find 'another' step that actually does take you to connectivity. All those other KOA idiots should contact WaKeeney and acquire a copy of their instructions, even they might be "enlightened". At any rate, this is also the VERY FIRST KOA we have ever been too that DID NOT have a 90% of the sites taken up by 'permanents', THERE WERE ZERO of them!!!! Made for a VERY, VERY comfortable stay. This place is clean, sites are level, access roads are great. There is no shade, but there is no shade in Kansas anywhere!!!! WILL stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
This was way above your normal KOA. The price was good, the staff was excellent and the wifi worked like a charm. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
Very friendly staff. Easy pull through sites. Good wifi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
Extremely nice staff and very helpful, easy access off the highway. We will be stopping here on our return trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
We had stopped here before, and wondered if it would be as good the second time around, and were pleased that it was. The only complaint could be that, as late in the season as we were, the pancake breakfast wasn't available. A small price to pay for the convenience and the warm greeting, welcoming us back. We will always plan our trips to include a stopover here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
Very nice campground that has all the amenities that you would expect at a KOA. The owners are very friendly and make us feel at home during a wet & cold couple of days. It's just off the freeway, but the traffic noise is minimal. We marked this campground on our GPS and will camp here again on our way across Kansas on 70. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
Excellent KOA for an overnight stop. Very clean and very helpful staff. They escort you to your site. Sites large enough to accommodate any sized rig. Will definitely stay again when going through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
This KOA was fine for stopping overnight. The only comment we had was that the showers were cooled by fans and no A/C. Staff was friendly and efficient. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
Very nice laid out park. Close to I-70 so you do get some road noise. Ice Cream from 7:30 - 8:00 and then a very reasonable pancake breakfast in the morning. The staff was friendly and the sites all appeared to be very level. The rate was with a KOA card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
Very nice KOA. Sites were good sized and the kids enjoyed the pool. Staff was very friendly. Provided a free snack for canine guests. Had an ice cream social at night and a pancake breakfast in the morning. Sites were level and had a picnic table. Road noise was not bad. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
Stayed at this KOA for two days. Well kept park, friendly mangers. Large pull through gravel sites which are very level. Wide roads. This is a very busy KOA due to its location at the junction of I 70 and 283, midway between Denver and Kansas City. It is very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$23
There's nothing "special" about this campground other than it's convenient location to the highway, and the owners. We have stayed here on 4 or 5 occasions while traveling, and will continue to do so. Wakeeney is not a destination sight for many people, but that shouldn't be a detraction to this campground. It is one of the best overnight "destinations" we have found, and will keep planning our trips to include a stip here to unwind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2005
$27
Convenient, easy in and easy out campground. Great place to stop for the night, but nothing special. I would have liked to have felt a little more secure, however. I would probably stop there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2004
$27
Typical KOA in the middle of nowhere with the major redeeming quality of being convenient to the interstate and a big truck stop. Most everybody here is an overnighter and for this, the place is excellent. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2004
$30
Awesome overnight campground; we made it a point to return here on our return trip. Sites are spaced out well, full-hookup pull through sites and cable tv; clean pool and spa. The all-you-can eat pancake breakfasts each morning were delicious and served in a friendly atmosphere. Great staff. If we're in the area again and need to stop, we'll definitely be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$26
Nice clean campground. Just off the interstate. Easy access, level, pull through sites. Sites very close together. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com